(2012/01) Jan 2012

mrs gui, I mean I going baby fair on fri & wkends.. prenatal massage maybe going again in nov ba..

echo, yeah, they juz opened a new branch in united square..

birdbrain, $20k to retrieve the cord blood from public bank?? sure anot?? that's more ex than storing it with pte bank for 20 yrs.. seems like most mummies decided to donate.. hmm..

vanessa, I stopped going for facial since I preggy coz read tat ultrasound machines & some of the chemicals not good for baby.. normal facial shld be ok.. but mine is pkg which include machines, etc.. so dun wanna go & not use the machines & waste $..

moscato, I waiting till late nov to cut my hair short.. my colleague say short hair very auntie.. sigh..

Mrs Gui, maybe can combine gathering with the rest of us on facebook! There are abt 20-30 of us!

my last facial was 1 mth ago.. i think my next facial will be after confinment..

still thinking when to cut my hair.. sigh.. been keeping long hair for the past 10 years.. i cannot imagine myself with short hair.. =<

morning mummies
i also feel a little reluctant to cut my hair short but i guess putting on the weighing scale of losing more hair vs aesthetic. I choose to retain more hair on my scalp lo!! :p

jkids/jac
kekeke I cut mine now so that all in office can get accustom to my new hairdo...so when they cut in dec they wont be shock and irritate me by comments when i gg to pop!

morning mummies..

i'm not intending to cut my hair short. Will tie up during confinement. Most imptly, i cannot take short hair without rebonding. sure "pom pom" one..

moscato
morning! u v cute
a pom pom moscato

i v scared la..not much hair left...so better prevent more from dropping...heard from exp mummies they will drop in clumps later. So better try my best to upkeep hair now and not stress them out :p

Morning Mommies!

Seems like some of you have been getting your hair cut already! I'm planning to get it cut in Dec. I think its better to tie up, unless you can carry really short hair. Or else it will be super hot and hair sticking around the neck is super uncomfortable!

Qiqi- wah 20 -30 of u gals chatting in FB? If all gng to meet....we must book the whole place le! haha! Hmm..have you gals met up yet? If not can all meet tgt? But venue will be a prob if we have such a large grp of preggie women! hehe

jac- oic...so u will be at the baby fair on Fri too? Maybe can see you there hehe..cos I'm taking half day leave to go also...duno wana squeeze on weekend ;) And I manage to get the Mothercare mag ystd. Aiyo the babies bellies ad so small...i almost miss it! But i manage to find it eventually! Looking forward to the massage nx week ;)

Mrs. Gui: We have ard 60 members in our fb group! Haha. I'm also going to the baby fair on fri! Maybe can get to meet some of u all there

Hi hkbaby

Good morning!!

Oh ya hor...is 16 weeks instead of 14 weeks...

I think i am not only suffering from poor memory but also suffering from poor maths...haha

Jac,
My husband says I prob remembered or interpreted the sccb staff wrongly about the cost of retrieving cord blood. I went to googgle it and this is what I found.

http://infopedia.nl.sg/articles/SIP_1399_2008-12-04.html
"Currently, the cord blood unit (CBU) management fee is US$25,000 but locals are provided the unit at a discounted price of $26,000 for unrelated cord blood. In the event that a donor’s child requires its own cord blood units that was earlier donated, there will be no retrieval fee for that CBU subject to three conditions- that the cord blood unit fulfilled the stringent banking criteria and was banked; that the cord blood unit is available at the time of request; and the advice from the Transplant Physician to use the donor’s own cord blood unit. In the event that a donor’s sibling requires a cord blood unit and the donor’s cord blood unit is found to be a match, the retrieval fee for the donor’s donated cord blood unit is at S$2,500 subjected to the same three conditions."

Good morning mommies! Thursday le!! Woohoo!! 1 more day to weekend!

Medory: Welcome!!
We'll be delivering at the same hospital. Did you sign up for the antenatal class?

Jac: yupz mine no machine..normal facial with ampules. just looove the face massage and the beautician does do shoulder massage as well.. really relieve the tension!

i'm going to cut hair 2nd week December..hehe..didnt wanna cut too short..i really look like aunty with short hair cos face is big..haha.. so prob will keep it slightly above shoulders so at least still ahve option to tie up my hair.. cannot imagine not washing hair/bathing during confinement

Vanessa: Nope i've not sign up for it, did you? I'm still thinking if i should hehe...

My mummy friends advise me to cut my hair till a length that can still be tied or bun up, so that won't feel so hot during confinement..

I can imagine flies above my head hahaha

jingles: think better dont perm now. Becos of hormones, the curls might not turn out good too.
Think my friend permed during preggy or during confinement, the curls didn't last. We guessed it's due to hormones..keke

jingles: don't think should perm leh..perming is very damaging to the hair..just thinking about how much hair i'm gonna lose after giving birth, I wouldn't want to risk doing any damage to my hair now.. i've signed up for hair treatments in hope that by maintaing the health of my scalp and hair now, I wouldn't lose too much hair after birth..hehe.. cos my hair quite limp le, lose somemore hair i will be botak!

Medory: I've just managed to convince my hubby to go for the ante-natal class so should be signing up for it. Though some of the mommies around me comment that it's not necessary, but I am a clueless 1st time mom..my hubby lagi clueless..haha.. so maybe just go for more information..at least wunt karang kabok when things happen lor.. hehe..

Morning Vanessa, glad you enjoyed ur facial. Shiok rite...getting a massage! Will relieve the tight muscles!
About washing hair and bathing....how many of the mommies are rally going to stick by that rule ah? I cannot imagine not washing hair and not bathing for a day! Somemore confinement, our body will be hot and sure to perpire more! Dun bathe now can? I think later hubby and baby dun wana come near us!

Oh i bot this lemongrass shower foam from SMH BP and started using. Suppose to be good for getting rid of wind. The also have shampoo, may get it and use during confinement! So can bathe! haha

Welcome Medory!

Adeline- 60 ppl! Wah that is a large grp manz!
Ya maybe we should all just meet at the baby fair! Since most of us will be going! Then arrange the gathering there! Can share the what are the good bargains too!

Plink- Thanks for the link! Will bookmark it!

birdbrain, thanks for the info! abit hard to comprehend.. but i guess they mean it's free if u retrieve your own cord blood, $2.5K if u retrieve your sibling's cord blood &amp; $26K if u retrieve an unrelated person's cord blood.. not sure if my understanding is correct.. after much discussion with hubby &amp; my mum last nite, we've decided to donate to scbb as well..

vanessa, feels good being pampered rite? helps takes the pregnancy woes away..

jingles, i think not advisable to perm/color hair now leh.. read that the chemical &amp; smell might not be good for baby.. also damaging to our hair.. i'm having streaks of white hair now but also dun dare to color.. so depressing.. can't imagine lumps of hair dropping after delivery?? EEKS!!

mrs gui, the motherhood mag got any advert on motherhood fair? the bumwear sales lady was telling me that they won't be at the oct baby fair, but they're gonna be at the motherhood expo fair in nov.. exact dates not confirmed yet.. not sure if true anot..

moscato/vanessa/jac
thanks for the advise...
i rem another preggie mummy who perm her hair around this trim, she claimed that perm hair will prevent hair loss during confinement. Not sure true bo...but I am afraid of the chemicals as what Jac mentioned.....

Vanessa
I also not much hair left :p so...got to be v careful. Thats why decide to cut short and not make hair so stress out..cos short hair less weight also. My hairdresser was like trying to pscyho me to do those treatment last week, to prevent hair loss. I was hesitant la...duno simi things inside the treatment also...better play safe than sorry.

i think better go for the class
its good to gain some knowledge and know what we are gg to face in a matter of few months. Dont wait for too long to register lei....if they have some exercise to teach you, your tummy may be too big to do all those exercises le.

Jac
i think its 2.5k to retrieve and 26k is the amount for upkeeping one account in this special bank, much more expensive compared to overseas. I guess the most important factor to note will be the 3 pointers.
yahhh when my friend told me i was quite worried...its clumps lei....frightening.

vanessa, i think antenatal class is good, esp for the hubby.. hubby was oblivious to what he was getting into.. but then realise that there's lots of stuff to learn after attending the class.. tell him he don't believe, go class liao then he realise &amp; got more involved in all the baby prep.. somemore tell me muz buy mrs wong's books for him to read.. good la, save me from all the nagging..

jac
i also heard from another sales girl there is gg to be a fair in nov. She also told me one thing la....if there is a major fair gg on, other shops like mothercare will also have some sales gg on de..so dont really need to cramp in expo to get the best deal :p

i bathed daily during confinement with herbs i got from medical hall. But shower before evening time while the sun is still out there. I didnt wash for hair except on the 3rd or 4th day. Convinced my mum to let me wash cos bringing bb for checkup. After that her friends &amp; my aunties said shldn't wash hair...so she forbid me to wash until bb's full mth party..

jingles, so we've got to pay 26k to upkeep the account? so confusing..... i never hear b4 that perm hair helps prevent hair loss leh.. maybe it's illusion? coz perm creates volume so feel that lesser hair loss? hahah.. but confirm my hair quality gets worse everytime after i perm/rebond/color my hair..

mrs gui, i confirm gonna bathe &amp; wash my hair during confinement.. that's the good thing of not having any CL/elders ard to nag at u.. hahah.. mrs wong also says its ok to bathe &amp; shower.. hygiene is very impt when u handle baby &amp; breastfeed.. but juz to play safe, i will bathe everyday with herbal water &amp; the lemongrass shower gel (i also saw on BP, but haven't buy yet.. good?), &amp; wash hair (+ blow dry immed) every alternate day..

Jac- there is the Parenthood fair in Nov. From 11-13 Nov at Expo Hall 5B. So bumwear will be there. Hmm...seems there are alot of fairs going on huh. Maybe if cannot get the stuff in Oct, still can go in Nov. As Jingles mentioned shops will also have sales so no need to go expo to squeeze. But i stay near Expo area, so I dun mind popping down to take a look.

Moscato- wah so u only wash hair on day 3/4, can tahan ahh? After that almost 2-3 weeks nber wash! Wahh....i dun think i can tahan so long. My idea is to wash then use hair dryer to quickly blow dry dry. Will bathe with the herbs plus use lemongrass shampoo and foam....I think should be ok! Suprisingly my MIL told me to bath and wash hair...or else will stink she say. Nber expect her to be so modern. I suppose she did that when she was doing confinement and she is still ok now...so she nber forbid me to not bathe for a mth!

Jac- same thoughts! I'm going to bathe and wash hair alt day too. That is the best I can do le. ! week dun wash will drive me nuts cos i got oily scalp. Imagine the oil and dirt on the head *yucks*

The lemongrass shower foam is pretty good....bathe liao will have this very cooling feeling...like peppermint on the skin. I bot the ginger and lavender cream as well. Not bad leh. the heat actually thru out. I apply at nite, in the morning i can still feel the heat. I think i will get the shampoo in Dec. So during confinement can use. Oh if u like the smell of lemongrass, after bathing, the shower foam will leave the lemongrass smell in the bathroom for a long time. Quite nice...like air freshner!

You not getting any CL? Then who do confinement for you?

Vanessa: That's good...it's hard to convince my hubby though haha...cos he's banking on his mum's help..but i'll try to convince further keke..

Actually I thought of switching on the air con during confinement leh. Can or not ar? My mum said it's ok as long as don't catch a cold. She said anyway we're already exposed to the air con in the hospital already. I intend to wash my hair everyday also.

tied &amp; bun up my hair lor. just have to tahan.
Think i should be doing the same for this round. Want to do a proper confinement. Don't want to have frequent headaches in future so better be safe. :p

the ginger cream u bought from SMH hor..apply thin layer hor. My friend passed me and i used it. My tummy was burning and red the next day. Quickly applied aloe vera and luckily it went away. Maybe i applied too much or rub for too long or maybe i'm sensitive to it..haa..
The lemongrass shower gel is from Taiwan. I checked with my Taiwanese colleague, they never heard it'll get rid of wind during confinement but refreshing to use. Better than nothing.

adeline: aircon can..fan cannot...as what ppl said. Even sinseh told me so. But don't know the logic. my hb cannot take it w/o aircon so we on aircon during bedtime after a few days. :p

but my ceiling fan in the living rm is always on during the day during my confinement.

Hi there cyy..hopefully we can enjoy the new year goodies before we pop haha..

I love lemongrass smell..I think as long as don't bathe too long and just quickly dry ourselves would be fine?

Moscato- ya the ginger cream super hot, that why i bot the lavender cream to mix, to reduce the heat! U apply on your tummy? Can meh?
ya its from Taiwan and the packaging looks quite funny! But as long as nice smell, cooling to use I think it should be ok. But I think still must use the herbs to bathe la...to play safe...to get rid of excess wind. About slleping in the aircon room..hmm...duno whether can or not...i know cannot face the fan direct cos scared catch cold.

Adeline,

Not adviceable to switch on air-con during confinement period, though yes at hospital we are exposed for the first few days but better than exposed to air-con for the whole confinment period.

Medory, yeah that's my quote to everyone also haa.

oh i found the info on singapore expo website liao..

Parenthood Fair 2011
11-13 Nov, 11am-9pm
Hall 5B
Organised by Motherhood

moscato
i agree with u also...its better to do a proper confinement. But well I guess its all up to individual preference bah..for me, i think no a/c, no direct fan, this is to prevent rheumatism when we are old - as all our pores will be open up wide wide during labor esp if you are opting for natural birth

mrs gui
you still have the link to the products mar, i am keen to look at the lemongrass product :p thanks hur babe

cyy: really ar? hmmm then maybe i on only when the weather is extremely hot? Maybe on to cool the room while i'm in the living room and off the air con after that when I enter my bedroom?

For my case, I chose to follow old woman's tale. Though not whole mth not bath, I bathed every 3-4 days n washed my hair cos I really feel my body was weak during the confinement time. My hands got numb when I washed them w dettol handwash. Wound cleaning is after every toilet visit which the nurses will advise u. Otherwise, wet towel clean the rest of body daily. All windows n doors r closed during bathing w ginger n ginger skin boiling hot water. Was advised to drink 1 small glass of DOM when done which I didn't do. Will try tis time in moderation cos want to breastfeed.

Think we shld adjust these routine based on our individual body.. Hygiene is definitely impt but also only w strong body we can tahan the limited rest expected fr breastfeeding esp the nights which will take at least 1-2 mths for routine to stabilize.

hope everyone has a good lunch!

i decided to now take train to marina bay in order to get a seat. no pressure. the only difference is i reach home 15min late but its worth it. y didn't i think of this earlier? ha.

I just had the most satisfying lunch: SUSHI!! so siok..was shaking my body with joy when I was having the sushi and my colleague though I was like a baby. haa

Mommies hope all of you had a good lunch!

Ya Dec &amp; Jan mummies get to enjoy cooler weather so at least no need to on air con or fan.

Jingles- here is the link: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?581296/5445476

Can buy one bottle to try first see if you like it.

hkbaby-wah so serious, wash hands also will numb, then how after every toilet visit gota wash hands rite? dun tell me need to use warm water to wash as well? That means also cannot do any hse work la cos most will touch water. Bathing the baby also cannot do?

mrs gui
errr....true lei my friend did told me before. Real confinement is no touch water AT ALL.
no do house work, no bath lady (tat is why must have CL), no wash hands, wash face (use hot towel to wipe)

Wow i haven't had sushi for a while but sashimi is still my most craved food hahaha..

I work at some ulu place and all i get everyday is normal food

Mrs Gui &amp; Jac: yes facial's super shiok but still as comfy as before cos i couldn't lie flat on my back..so i was in a weird position the whole time.. tummy tilted to the left but shoulders and face still facing ceiling..haha..but the beautician gave me 2 pillows to suport back and leg so not too bad..hehe..

about bathing and washing hair..i dunt think i can tahan 1 day! haha..but they say use herbs to bathe wor..but those herbs contain ginger and after bathing still will feel hot lo.. i really cannot imagine how..haha..

Plink: Thanks for the links!

jingles: yah lor the perming chemicals very smelly one..hehe.. think those ampoules for hair treatment can use but cannot use any machine lo..my hair treatment package actually comes with the infra red treatment. After pregnant cannot use so they replcae with other things lor..
Thanks for the advice on the prenatal classes..i've been procrastinating! hehe..so what to wear to these classes ah? cos for weekedays after work will be in office wear mah..need to change right?

Jac: yah i agree..my hubby machiam dunno what he is getting himself into..ask him to read up also lazy..so better go for classes..i need him to be able to support me when labour comes and not ask me what he should do!! haha..by that time i no energy to tok to him liao..he karang kabok then i jialat..haha

Medory: yah try to convince him..cos Mu,'s methods may be outdated already..hehe

Adeline: I will be switching on air-con during confinement too..prob 25 or 26 degrees bah..it's actually better than fan

moscato: Fan cannot cos it's constantly moving air which will introduce wind into our bodies. for air-con it's stagnant air so not that bad...that's what i heard...