(2012/01) Jan 2012

U know what my husband say immediately after I was finished vomiting? "do u need to eat dinner again? Let go to that coffee shop..." Points to coffee shop ...

StefSean: Wow, you're pregnant for less time than me but you know the gender, so good. Hope I'll know the gender when I see the gynae tomorrow.

JTML: Yah I know, my FIL is like that. So when I do that for him, it makes me paiseh. Haiyo...

MayC: I know! My friend and her colleague took a bus when she was pregnant. Her colleague got offered a seat! She offered that to my friend.

When it comes to giving up seats, I realize the Indians are the most gracious group of ppl. As throughout my first whole pregnancy, they are always the one that gave up seats to me. Teenagers are the worst. They even snatch seats from me or pretend to sleep even when I'm heavily pregnant at 8 to 9 months with super huge tummy.

Even till now when I carry my boy after childcare to take mrt after work, it is still the gracious Indians that gave me the seats. White collar ppl dun even bother.

Thus if I know I'm not feeling well, I rather cab to work rather than tolerate the whole journey.

blue_y: dun torture ur hubs! hahaa!! im thinking of iud but mayb will find out more w my gynae aft this birth la. =) my fren did iud for abt 2+ yrs, she removed when she was ready for #2 and soon aft, she got preggers. tink it works la. haha!

stefsean: wow! congrats on thr 2/3 of confirmation! hehee!

vanniety: my fren posted in her fb that she wanted to die cuz she whipped out a bag in the mrt to puke this morn. hahahaa

Talking abt graciousness on public transport, i saw a pregnant looking lady n her teenage daughter enter train.. Im kind of always auto for this kind of thing so i call out to ger n offer her my seat. She look kind of 5mths 6mths size...not fat but only tummy very round n protuding.. Turn out she decline me immediately saying," no its alright, im not pregnant. Tq" think the paiseh one is me lorr not her.. She look steady cos i think she might have gotten tht reaction frm pple alot... But she nvr explain her physics so i derive tht it is medical..

Jamie - haha.. I wonder why we women can live w/o it but men cant... Aniwae ive heard theres side effect to having iud or the other one have side effects tht will affect us physically... Dunno how true..

Just curious, this pregnancy, any ladies kind of feel high libido n keep wanting to do it or anything related to it? Cos my previous pregnancy, im kind of like tht.. Cant explain why.. But this time round im adopting the pls dont disturb me or touch me attitude.. Cos i feel so tired n sleepy like 24/7... Luckily hubby still can tahan... Haha..

On Oscars or blood test, to me its not abt the cost... I will keep the baby in whatever condition it comes into this world.. Thus i feel ive no need for this.. Ive brought the lil one to be grown in tummy n i just cant dispose of it if its believed to have disabilities or deformities.. Cos it has a heartbeat n its a living thing... So living with this principle of life, il embrace it as it comes..

Im now suffering from bad bloating n backache.. Im lying on a small bolster on my back as im typing... Feel like i want wwe wrestlers to 'throw me' on my back... Haiz!!

JTML - Lol..your Hubby is amusing!!
what was your answer to him when he said that? Hehe!

Re: Oscar test
For me I did my Oscar test just to know so that I can prepare myself mentally If baby turns out really DS. Not that I will abort it but just to mentally prepare myself. I think It's not easy to handle or bring up DS kids.. So i feel that being mentally prepared is impt.

Re: Gender at 12 weeks
Still need confirmation at 16 weeks as 12 weeks is still pretty early to tell. Some Gynaes may see something but will not tell you yet till they are pretty sure. I think my Gynae is pretty experienced and she's right for all my 3 kids but for my sis case, she told my sis her #1 would be a boy at 12 weeks but turn out to be a girl at 16 weeks. So I'm still anticipating the gender of my baby as much as the rest of you

BlueY ihave one night but I ren....keke I the one always asking for action not my husband.

Stefsean I say 'go home first, later then eat....' I was not hungry until this morning 5am. NO choice drink Milo eat bitcults.

Seeing the gynae today. Nice weather to sleep in today!

Chrysalis: I observe the same thing too. Malays also are more gracious about giving up their seats.

Jtml: Oh dear... Did someone mention anything about drinking red date tea to reduce MS? Anyone tried it and find it works in reducing their MS?

Your husband has quite an interesting reaction though, somewhat cute.

Blue_Y: I find my libido higher during this pregnancy. My husband on the other hand is concerned about the bb getting hurt.

About backache, are you able to lie on the floor? And able (very very gently) to align your spine to the floor such that there is no gap in the small of your back? Just be intentional yet gentle in moving your body while adjusting position, being prepared to stop anything if anything feels wrong... I find just relaxing against the floor helps relieve my backache.

Wow Stefsean: Very early morning post!

Re: getting seats on the MRT
for me, when i board the train at city hall after work, it will usually be pack till the door there...so i guess preggy o not, those seated one will not be able to see u also..

During the last pregnancy, when i was abt 6 mths preggy or so..took a bus, was standing beside a young gal who was seated..she was super busy on her fone lor..also din give up the seat to me..i can't be bother to ask, as the journey wasn't too long

Re: dinner
2 days ago, went to MIL place for dinner..find the dishes not appettising, ate a bit..then went back home n ask hb to order KFC..
last nite, he ask, wan to order Mac or not..

Morning mommies - rainy Thurs morning!

Btw, another thing for mommies to consider & talk to your gyne about, esp 1st time mommies - cord blood donation/storage. We donated #1's, will most prob do the same.

Jtml: Thanks for sharing on the bb bonus and CDA stuff. It's great that you have ready milo and hot drinks for those early morning hunger pangs.

Thanks MayC also for sharing on cord blood storage or donation.

Question to all: Do any of you know of good pre-natel pilates classes which are not expensive?

jamie: Oh no, your friend must be really mortified. It almost happened to me too, but i was in a bus and luckily i managed to wait until I alighted. I got my bag ready and puked away as soon as I got off the bus.

Not a good day for me today. I've been having headache and nausea since I was on the train this morning until now. Don't feel like moving or doing anything now.

Btw, what prenatal vitamins are all of you taking? My gyne for #1 gave me Oscal, Obimin and Neurogain. My new gyne now from the same hospital only gave me Folic Acid. I'm wondering if I should go and take Neurogain even if she didn't ask me to.

Vanniety, I'm also only taking Folic, gynae says I only needs to take neurogain and fish oil after 1st trimester. And also, he is also quite cautious about my pregnancy as he saw some blood lining during the last scan, but I say so far no bleeding, so I'm also trying to hope everything will go on smoothly.

chrysalis20, thanks for your input. Both gynes didn't explain the timing for these vitamins. I should ask her during my checkup next week. Please take care and I hope everything goes well with your pregnancy.

Hello Good morning to everyone - alots of post this morning already.

Rainy day nice to zzz , but I puke all the way to work. Lucky this morning got a lift to office if not dont know how to manage, I cant puke in plastic, once I didnt it I end up puking more maybe becos of what I see or the smell ... @.@

Btw for 1st time mom , if decide to store cord blood check w your friends that already did, there are referrer discounts.

MsCarpe : if I am not wrong there is only 2 compy that store cord blood 1)Stem Cord and 2)Cord Life. These are like private that's way got those referer discount stuff, the rest shld be categorised as donation to the hospital.

Do correct me if I am wrong ... Pls

Ohh yes : There is the Anmum breast feeding Forum on 13 AUg 2011 12.30 - 5pm at Amara Hotel
Reg Tel: 83035560
This is very good - ok lah the goody bag is good , the last time I went Wong Boi Boi from TMC was there to show baby massage very worth the $12. Overall very informative.

Good morning... I am so sick & unproductive with MS that i rec'd an email that I missed my dateline!!!! crazy... now i have to tell boss why i missed it. say 'I having been puking'???

Higher sex drive: i remember it is due to the "happy" hormones surge during pregnancy. That's why some mummies "want more". heh heh... But some mummies would experience otherwise. Like me. could be tiredness or MS or discomfort or worry for babies. Many reasons.

JTML: Cheer Bear suggested red dates drink. I bought it on Tues. Taking it on and off. I took it coz i can't drink water anymore. I will puke. And i have been drinking barley, which according to folks, its too "cooling". So i alternate. Between barley and red dates. Hopefully both will neutralize. It does work to some extend, especially if i drink it warm.

Ms Carpe Diem, like hq said, there are currently two private companies storing cord blood (i.e. for your own use). The 3rd one is the public cord blood bank. Once you choose this, it will be "donated" and if your child's cordblood matches someone who needed it, it will be given to him/her.

Usually, when the cordblood is used, they would take the entire pack of it. its not like they use half for that someone and then leave another half for future use. That's why, when you sign up for public donation, they have to state this clearly to u.

For keeping cordblood in the private storage, you need to pay annual storage fees. For the public bank, storage is free (since its donated).

I delivered #1 & #2 in KKH. Cordblood is extracted by your gynea. so it is not the hospital, but the gynea that is the factor. for my #1, her cordblood was privately stored. We kept it with Cordlife. For #2, we opted for public, to be donated. But govt being govt, there were some boo-boo with forms, approvals, bureacracy etc. End up, they couldn't let us donate!!! So my advice is, once you have decided which platform to store the cordblood, do it soonest.

Once the cordblood is extracted, stored in a medical pouch, tagged properly etc. Someone will come and collect. Whether it is the private companies or the public bank, collection is done by them. So you need not worry. And at these banks, they will do a contamination check etc.

If you ask me why I did private for #1 and not for #2. Well, i found out from a biomedical researcher that the longer duration of the cordblood stored, the less usable it is. Just like fresh food. The longer u keep in the fridge, chances are the quality, taste, nutrients will also decrease. It applies to cordblood too. But the most important reason was, when my #2 was diagnosed with a type of congenital heart disease. And I asked the cardio if my #1's cordblood can save him. He flatly answered,"can't." and went on to tell me about the limitation of cordblood. so sad lor...

Good morning! Such a nice rainy day to laze at home BUT too bad gonna work..hee

Blue: I am like you but the opp. For #1, i am like "pls dun touch me" but for #2 I am sort of in a high libido. But hubs too stress & tired by wk to do anything..haha

Anyone here started drinking chicken essence or red date & gouqi tea? My mum ask me to drink that chicken essence 1-2/wk & the red date tea like alternate days. She just say to stop when nearing EDD.

Cord blood banking
Ya... when u go hear those talks, they only talk abt the pros of storing the cord blood. But when u speak to doctors on the actual usage capabilities, it's really very very limited. Haiz... All these fancy things to really squeeze us.

I've the following items for sale. 

1. Babysafe sling (used only once) dark blue colour $30
2. Baby Bjorn carrier synergy (dark blue) seldom use $180

Interested can PM me. 

Mscarpe: I'm looking for pilates or yoga classes after starting my second trimester too. Maybe all mummies here can join tgt and form 1 class. Haha.

I heard that yoga or pilates for pregnancy r good for labOr. Am first time mummy, so need to stretch more for ease.

Ms carpe: I'll keep u posted u if researched any.

Is there any other mummies who r interested?

X: i also feel the same way after what happened to my #2. Best is, the researcher told me i might was well write off this whole cordblood thing. My #1's cordblood is now 6 years old. And he told me, most reports that we see about how cordblood did save lives or cure some illness/cancer never cross a storage life of more than 5years. sigh...

tulip7 : Tks for the infor , yeh they tell you alot abt the pros... I will have to consider about no2 as it also involve $$$

Peanut: yes for pilates .

piggyB: yes I drink chicken essense not very often though compare to #1, also cant really stomach it daily - what a waste - later puke out ..keke

tulip,
u mean the cord blood cant store for more than 5 yrs? then y those company sell to us in package for more than 5 yrs?

i did store my #1 cord blood but not going to do this for #2 since they say sibling can share if touch wood anything happen.

glad that u like the red dates drink and is helping u.. for my #1 i like to drink plain water and is ok but not for this #2

oh ya any harry potter fans here?

the part 2 is finally out and i wan to see leh but scare no gd for bb... any comments?

Is it ok Nt to drink plain water? I also can't tahan plain water especially warm water.. I will feel nausea ..
Then end up I keep drink sweet drink

Cheer Bear: No, you can store as long as you want and can pay. Currently it is capped at 25years? But the longer u store, the rate success of being able to use the cordblood is lower. And what this researcher said, those successful cases we've heard, the cordblood that was used was less than 5 years old. Meaning, still relatively "fresh".

Hope u understand what I'm trying to say...

For those mommies delivery at At Alvernia
I just managed to get to Sister Kang the senior lactating consultant-very nice lady, she can conduct traning course for caregiver (husband, mum, sister, maid , mil etc)main focus is on breastfeeding, handling of EBM , caring for bb e.g. bathing
4-5hrs 1 session cost $200. yipee i can send my maid there, cos giving birth near CNY my mother sure no time for me ...

Cheer Bear: I am also a harry potter fan. But i am going to skip this last movie. Will rent the DVD during confinement! The image of voldemort and nagini not too good for baby lah...
same like u, I don't know why this baby so picky, don't like plain water.

Clinther, I have not tasted plain water since i'm 6th weeks. i really puke like some idiot. drinking barley and also red dates water now.

tulip,
got it.. thanks for your explanation

clinther,
is ok not to drink plain water but dun drink too much sweet drinks.. maybe u can dilute ur sweet drink.

wat i told tulip and it works for us..
get those instant red date drink and make yourself. wat i do is use 2 packs to make 1 litre of water and drink so it is very dilute and got taste which is better than plain water.

fyi 2 pack shld be 400ml of water but i do up to 1 litre.

tulip
can try drink 100+. Less sweet compared to other soft drinks and can replensih the electrolytes you've lost during puking. My gynae's recommendation. I survived on 100+ during my first pregnancy. Puked from 6 weeks till 6.5 months....

hq,
I took breastfeeding workshop conducted by Sister Kang (organised by mum's fairy). She's nice and knowleageable. I also took Wong Boi boi's parentcraft lessons. Found sister kang a lot more nice and approachable. Don't make you feel like you lack common sense or are silly....

cheer: Me is oso harry potter fan, i watch all the movies. So the last one oso wanna watch, bt knowing my hubs & pil they sure will not allow me to go watch one...sighz..

Birdbrain, thanks for the tip! I was thinking of drinking such stuff on saturday. But my husband stopped me, saying it might be too "cooling". I would try when barley and red dates doesn't help me anymore.

Wah... your MS lasted 6.5months!!! u r one strong mummy!

Rainy and dark day... i feel like eating laksa, ban mian or tom yam soup.

(X), I dont ms when I wake up. but I cant stand having something in my mouth when I sleep now. and retainers make my mouth drier, so I just stopped wearing. My merlion is at its worse from 4pm onwards. just makes me feel sick. So I can eat a heavier bf and lunch (but cant be oily stuff), but only a mouthful of rice in the evening. I also realise I cant drink too much liquid in the evenings. it makes me prone to ms. So nowadays I will just eat plain rice with Korean Seaweed. I find it so tasty & easy to swallow! duno if too much seaweed is bad for bb?? ;p

I'm usually too shy to ask for seats in the mrt. hhaha... I will subtlely rub my tummy but usually people ignored me. Sometimes I get a seat on the priority seat and I will be so conscious.. what if an elderly or someone with a bigger tummy stands in front of me, then I will have to give up rite, can I tell them I also need it? haha... so far it has not happened yet.. phew..

Oh yes, I also dont like plain warm water now. 100+, Coke, ice soya bean, ice milo dinosaur and other icy cold drinks are like heaven to me. But I only dare to take a few sips. I will do a loud "ahhhhh" as I sip and felt so good for that 10sec. hehee.. hb will always stare at me when I do that.. ;p

Cord blood - Yes, you have to read up & make an appnt with the private/public banks for them to explain further & answer any of your queries. We did meet up with the lady from Cordlife but after much consideration (& knowing how exaggerated most claims are), we decided to just donate.

Also note that if it is a genetic disease, then most prob all the siblings' cord blood would have the same genetic defect & the cord blood would not be useful in that instance.

btw, lawyer called to say my new house has finally TOPed and can collect keys already. But I think I cant visit rite? even though my unit is not renovating yet, there will be other units that are renovating, so by rite I cant go?

am so looking forward to seeing my new place... mil say I cant be there when they are renovating my place, but I can still move in during pregnancy. I just cant paint or carry anything.

Cheer Bear, I also want to watch HP7 !! Can or not har? ;p

tat day hb insisted on me watching Super 8 with him, sigh, I was closing my eyes most of the show. I dun wan to be lookin at monsters now! hb say I overreacted.. grrrrr...

i am into my week 10 and counting down everyday to leading back to "normal" meals . though this is my 3rd time going thro this, i stil find it very tough and phobia on what to eat everyday- super low moral. i have gone thro 4 weeks of abnormal life...i always pray it will be over soon, else i will go crazy, ha.

Hello fellow mommies,

I'm expecting my first child and am super excited! Seems I am kinda lucky, cos I didn't experience much morning sickness and all. pray that it'll stay the same throught out my pregnancy.

@clinther: do share with me on the yoga/pilates course prices ya? we can do yoga when we are expecting right? as long as first trim is over...

Hi mommies updates for those in week 12 from online site:

Week 12
Baby: The fetus now measures about 2.5 inches from crown to rump and weighs between three-tenths of an ounce and half an ounce. It is fully formed, from tooth buds to toenails, and your baby's job now is to continue getting larger and stronger for the rest of your pregnancy. With the most critical development behind the fetus, the chance of miscarriage drops considerably after this week.

Mom-to-be: Nausea and energy start to improve. You may be experiencing occasional headaches, dizziness and fatigue from hormonal changes. If it's your first baby, you still could be wearing loose-fitting clothes, but if you've had other pregnancies, you'll probably start to show earlier and may be in maternity clothes. The typical weight gain by now is about three to five pounds. Fathers-to-be might also experience pregnancy symptoms, called couvade or "hatching," during the third month and at delivery, including nausea, abdominal pain, appetite changes and weight gain.

Tip of the Week: Most women develop stretch marks on their abdomen, breasts, hips or buttocks sometime during their pregnancy. They won't go away, but they'll usually fade after pregnancy. Despite claims from manufacturers, creams and oils don't minimize them. It depends on your skin's natural elasticity. Gradual rather than rapid weight gain may help, as well as avoiding excessive weight gain during pregnancy.
+++
Ayn - welcome to the forum
If you haven't gotten MS, you should be quite safe cos it usually subsides by end of the 1st trimester!

On exercise, swimming/yoga/pilates/brisk walking should be fine. I am back to doing my Xbox kinect boxing as well!

Hi moonlightmist,

I will like to order the combo kit.

Is it still on???

1. I want one box.

2.bra extender, black.

3.Will transfer S29.90 to the POSB account tonight.

4. My Address: Blk 437 Yishun ave 6 #07-2064 s(760437) My HP:96683024