(2012/01) Jan 2012

Qiqi, same as e rest, I bot during 5th-6mth lk tt. When nt so tired n more enthu for shopping esp aft detailed scan n gender is also confirmed.

CT: u nv knw lei, my aunt had 3boys and 1 girl aft tt. Finally. Hahaa!

Snowwhite: mine's 26th under caroline khi too. Makes me wonder if she celebrates cny? Hahaaa!

Lush, do tk care! Best to consult gynae on things to eat too! Altho I tink dairy prods are a gd n safe choice!

I think 5th to 7th mth is best to buy stuffs cos somehow your energy will have returned to almost normal.. N also gender is confirmed.. Also gd to wait out for sales n events lije taka babyfair, motherhood fair, mothercare sales, robinson/JL sales, kiddy palace sales.. All will give better pricings...

Lush - just eat normally n healthily.. No durians hor... Learn from me.. I got high fever after durian cos our body as of now is already warm.. Plus the durian heatiness... Rest more.. Thts impt.. Hope that clot will go away.. Tc of yourself yah....

(X): keen to knw abt e blood test u mentioned. Wats it called? Cn replc oscar? My #1 I didn't do any tests so totally duno anything.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi mommies, so i went for my 1st scan this morning - finally got to see #2!
Baby is doing well, size-wise about a week bigger than based on my LMP &amp; my EDD is now a week earlier at 20/01/2012! Baby is 9w1d, and 2.4cm in length. I guess #2 babies are typically bigger than #1. Am just happy that everything is progressing smoothly.

Btw, asked my gyne about the pre-natal vits (am taking the GNC one), and she said to half the recommended dosage (1 tablet instead of 2) cos the vit A for 2 tablets was at 125%! Asked her how much folic acid I needed - cos 1 tablet = 400mcg &amp; I know some mommies are taking 5mg, and she said 400mcg is sufficient cos they always overestimate the real requirement &amp; we get vit &amp; minerals from our food intake anyways. I guess diff gynes have diff schools of thought on this...

OSCARs - am taking this in 3 weeks time. She said this is about 90% accurate in detecting down syndrome/chromosomal abnormalities vs. the amnioscentecis. The nurse told me that it cost $385++ inclusive of the full blood test. Don't remember it being so ex?

Meanwhile have been spending the last few hours baking for the charity drive tomorrow!! And still not done cos I have to make several batches of cookies!</font>

me went see gynae today le. Baby is well at 22.4mm. Now is 9 weeks. Blood clot diminished and left a little. Yeah.. i m safe. Gynae confident to bring me thru 12 weeks and scheduling me for Oscars in 3 weeks time...

hi jamie, its call triple test. I asked my gynae if i can opt for this. he recommend oscars . trple test accuracy is 70% while oscars is 95%. Beside i m over 30yrs old le.. hee hee.

Gals, remembered i asked about VBAC, my gynae is encouraging but warn me abt the risk of burst scar. So if i m onz on VBAC, i have to start now.. Plan and dun get baby too big for delivery.

MayC, hi 5..My EDD also shift 1 day earlier , which is 21/01/2012.. Gynae commented what a nice number. haha!!

Oscars also in 3 weeks time.Yes, nurses mentioned to me the Oscar is $300++ before GST. I may subscribe to TMC SBI to get 10% off all the tests.

I given obimin, fish oil, calcium pills today. Duphaston also reduced to 1 pill per day.Instead of 4.

<font color="0000ff">Hi mummies
Sorry to interrupt...I'm from Jan2011 mummy group..

I have left over 4 bottles of D.O.M which given by relatives during my confinement month. Thinking to sell it away. PM me if you are interested. thanks</font>

<font color="660000">ms Carpe Diem,
Thanks! My boy only 8 months old so cant understand much n will cry if dun carry. Lucky for me the main caregiver is my mil so he's more sticky to her, not so much to me.

Blue_y,
My first pregnancy no Puking, no loss of appetite. First tri very easy. This one is the exact opposite.

Jamie,
Ya quite weird but it really does start moving on it's own. I'm telling myself it's the vibes frm bb hehe. N yes I do get cramps wen I carry my boy alot like today when no one else is hm. Now my abdomen abit achy...</font>

Hi, ladies, anyone has experience with Dr Sadhana as gyne? Has been pondering whether to continue with her after my ivf success. Or whether should change to a normal gyne. Am 8 weeks pregnant now...

MayC haha your turn came but indeed the wait was worthwhile. Hee imagine your next appointment is the detailed scan...really save some $$ lor. My next appointment is coming Monday... Scared....And excited.

Hi redqueen, I'm still doing household chores. I dread doing them now too cos I'm always so tired. Luckily my Hubby vacuums and mops the floor while I wash the toilets and iron the clothes. I'm thinking of part time helper too but hv not really put in the effort to find one.

Hi romona, welcome onboard!

Jtml - i just made appt with a part time helper for next wk. I surrender liow... I just feel like resting all the time and feel real tired very fast... Envy those who still got the energy to do chores.. Even im dragging myself to work these days....

I find my tummy lots of air wind typhoon wat have you... Any method to rid of it? Can i rub ruyi oil on tummy? Is it safe? I feel sick having this stirring wind bloat feeling in tummy...

Blue_Y: today I check with ob abt medicated oil for bloated tummy on 1st trimester, she said not a problem. I did applied nutmeg oil for few times on tummy during my #1's 3rd trimester, my boy seem ok leh.

Jtml - I will engaged a part time cleaning company in Sept since we won't consider maid, still trying to find the right one. Anyone has recommendation?

CT, ya, she is. So u heard good feedback about her? She's quite good and patient with me thru out my ivf, so hubby wants me to follow up with her. But am thinking she did be quite busy with ivf as she is the snr consultant in the field. So thinking about changing to a gyne from amk kkh clinic..

anns: thanks for that.. I very tempt to rub ru-yi-you on my super super bloated tummy today...Strangely, although bloated, still very hungry, now munching bread b4 zzz...
wonder if continue at this rate, weight surely balloon ;p

Lelebe it good to feel hungry... For past few weeks I only can eat mash potatoes bread fruits, this week finally I ate full meal. Hungry look for healthy snacks lo. I still bloat but now finally can eat... I ate kiwi fruit banana and yogurt etc.

Great! I felt so defeated that I had raised white flag. Looks like i not alone to start think about part time cleaners service. NTUC also have but I still looking. I search some websites ahmah on wheels, also but still waiting for friends to recommend.

Jowinbaby &amp; MayC: Congrats! Continue to jiayou and let baby grow big and healthy! (^_^)

Kimmyksc: your PM is switched off. Please switch it on so that can PM you.

Partime Helpers:

I have partime helpers from China. The previous one I had just MIA now I'm using new one. The prob with them is that you need someone to be around when they are doing the cleaning in case they are not honest.And they won't be perfect in their cleaning, so do not have too high expectations of them.

I heard that NTUC provides part-time maids as well and theirs is the cheapest amongst the various agencies. I think they charge $220/mth for 3hr weekly cleaning or $260/mth for 4hr weekly cleaning. Got these figures from my neighbour. Hope it helps some of you mummies out there! (^_^)

I cannot resist my craving and had 7 raw oysters and 4 slices of salmon sashimi yesterday. Feeling so guilty now. Hope bb is alright.... =(

Jowinbaby, how do u get rid of the clot. Was there anythin u did? How long did u have the clot for?
I quarrelled w my parents tis mornin, wonderin these upheavals will make my uterus more stressed up, but i couldnt help it leh.. :p

Lush, the doc detected a blood clot in my womb as well. Was given hormone pills to strengthen the placenta. Not sure how it's going tho. Next checkup is on 14July. Can't wait!!

May, i knw Oscar gives inaccurate results, scaring quite a bit of mums n end up gotta do amnio.. Was hoping blood test cn clear all at once.. I'm turning 28 this year..

Blue_y: I'm alot more bloated too n the tummy like, showing abit earlier. Gynae say tummy muscles looser+bloated, that's y.. Tummy muscles looser!!!
((( btw, cn share the contact for ur part time helper? I also bth the hsework alr! Usually I do when my girl naps/slps at nite bt nw when she rests, all I wanna do is to zzz too..

Hi mommies, just back from our charity sale - everything sold out by 2pm, including my cookies!

Felicia, the nurses at TMC quoted me $385++ for OSCARS, about $1300++ for amnio. If the OSCARS results are clear, then won't have to go for amnio cos that has a 1% risk of MC. Some mommies might opt out from both (these are optional) if they think they would keep their baby regardless of the results.

Chores - We had a part time helper but she retired a month back cos her hands were aching. We found her through an agency, but subsequently engaged her direct &amp; paid the agency fees to her instead. We had her for almost 2 years &amp; she was v good, but we were lucky. The previous ones were quite sloppy &amp; some left scratches on the parquet floor, broke things, &amp; bleached the toilet floor...getting a part time helper is like getting a maid, alot depends on luck! Just going to do our own house cleaning from now on, more flexibility as well cos we don't have to wait around for 4 hours while the part time helper cleans up.

MayC: congrats on see ur # 2..

Jowinbaby: glad dat gynae reduce ur duphaston intake..

PT Helper: I had PT helper over the wkend also..normal days i only do the wahsing and hanging of laundry..nowsaday after work, i just feel like lazing on the bed, not doing anything..even my boy wans to play with me i oso got no energy

jamie: the other day i was sitting at the table, drinking my milo.,.suddenly got some quickening feeling..duno is it stomach churning or wat..but i prefer to take it as bb doing somersault inside my tummy..

Lush: i think u take it easy now..dun take durian..durian too heaty..beef is more for iron..probably can try..

Ritzc,
From my personal opinion, dr sadhana is good and gentle.. But she is bz with ivf patients doing ER and ET on many days.. Sometimes even during appointments, she will need to rush to kkivf to do the procedure for several people..
I think it's a good idea that u switch to amk kkh gynae.. At least you will get more personalized attention and still be under kkh..

Anyway, happy 8 weeks! Hee~
Haven't seen you in awhile.. Hope u doing fine..

Morning Monday ... hope all of us will have smooth days ahead... My MS subsided but still visiting me here and there .. I was told we can write in to LTA if we do not want to use seat belts while driving?

Anyone got any idea about it?

CT
It's so dangerous not to use seatbelt while driving! My gynae told me that I can place the seat belt under my bump and, if it gets uncomfortable, can put a small cushion between the belt and my belly. You are now responsible for 2 lives - better to be safe than sorry!

CT: agreed with echo..must put seat belt while driving..i think there is some seat betl extensions meant for maternity woman..can look around for it..

Think i did not make myself clear. Oscar ($400+) is definately more accurate than triple blood test ($150++).

But, all these test just gives u a probability. So, for me, i dun think i want to pay so much for Oscar. I'll just do the triple blood test and take it from there.

Good morning gals.

May, Zhuzhu and gals..Thanks.

I am well but MS did not subside but add on. Been weak and puking over the weekend. This pregnancy i on n off suffering from lower backache. For #1, none backache at all. I tried not to carry my girl at all, still backache.

CT, not sure about LTA but its really not safe to drive without seatbelt. I drove this morning and really find it abit uncomfortable to have a belt over tummy. Like echo said, maybe have to try put a small pillow over.

Lush, the gynae did nothing but to prescribe duphaston 4 pills a day and 1 pill of uetrosgan. ( forget how to spell). Very minimal walking, bed rest if possible and cannot carry heavy items at all. Rest Rest Rest..

Oh dear, dun agitated yourself.. stay calm.. We have to be very positive..

Yes, joyjoy, how's ur checkup over weekend?

MayC, i agree about the error on Oscars and i have friend been thru the amino test and very tough period to wait for result.. Sigh. BTW, congrats to your good charity sales!!

Perhaps pregnant mummies have such baby luck shinning on us.. hee hee.. i just won a pair of concert tickets.. kekeke

jkids: how many wks are u now?
today i feel better...duno is it MS subside or wat..yday after i LS, feel so much better..
but then at the same time oso worry..cos i am only abt 8wks++..so hopefully by next wk checkup, can confirm dat bb is fine..

zhuzhu, yes.. haha.. a pair of jacky cheung tickets worth $198 each.. hahaha... so lucky.. Baby can hear him sing soon..lol.

U searching for job? Good luck!!

jkids, normally after week 12, it shd subside. but depend on individual too.

Jowinbb &amp; MayC: Glad to hear that both of ur bb are doing well! =)

RE: Housechores
I have a part-time helper to come to my hse weekly to clean-up but I am still doing my own laundry which is I am struggling liao. The pile of clothes to iron..=(

CT: Maternity shops like spring or kiddy palace sells the seat belt extension for pregnancy. I still think it's better to belt up.

jowinbb: So lucky. I think preggy really got bb luck, I just some money at mahjong over the weekend..hee. =)

RE: Bloating &amp; MS
I am feeling betta, wouldn't bloat as much as previously. But on-off will still bloat, so i still need to control the amount i eat at 1 go. (Very hard to gauge =P). MS much betta already, think should go away by 2nd tri?

hq: Tried the twinnings lemon &amp; ginger. Works for me and I love the taste. Thanks.

CT - yes, wear your seatbelt!! Better be abit uncomfortable for the sake of safety! Speaking of safety, 1st time mommies with cars, please remember to start looking out for car seats for your babies before you deliver. A good brand to consider is Britax/Safe &amp; Sound (Aussie brand) - that is the one our #1 has been using since birth till 2+ now.
Btw, it is actually illegal for babies to be in the cars without carseats - though I know LTA doesn't really strictly enforce it....but all it takes is for an accident for the baby to fly off the mother's hand into the windscreen

jowinbaby - wah, so lucky! Congrats on winning those concert tixt.

MS - read that it should subside by week 10-12 for most people? I am really thankful that I don't have MS for this pregnancy as well, really kudos to those suffering from it. Hang in there, maybe 1-2 more weeks to go! My problem is always being hungry (every 2 hours), then eating &amp; feeling bloated. Weight hasn't gone up that much though - up 1.1kg at week 9+, which is not too bad

MayC, i still maintain my weight. Perhaps i puke alot. Lets hope we dun gain too much this pregnancy.

PiggyB and MayC, thanks.. haha.. crazy me, seldom like to participate in lucky draws. This winning tickets made me thought that i may have some luck. So participate in a few draws at the malls. Hope i can win something.. lol..Greedy me.keke

Good morning ladies.

xttc: you not going to do amnio test?

I'm going to skip OSCAR as I won't be in town for that period. Already booked amnio apptn in August with my dr.

MayC - we can claim a portion from medisave for amnio test rite.

jkids - My MS is getting better *touch wood* since 2 days ago. Hope yours will be better soon.

jowinbaby: so lucky, so far haven't try my luck on anything yet.

Quickening on 1st Trimester?
anyone feel that? not sure is it just our tummy gas as I read most women can feel it between week13-16.

jowinbaby: not actively searching lar..just happen dat last wk went for one interview..which send sometime back..hopefully got good news