(2012/01) Jan 2012

littleone,
i heard that beco is still better than ergo although i have not use both of them b4.

x and rest of the mummies who r interested in getting beco... i wonder if we combine our order and purchase will it be cheaper? any1 want?

Cheerbear,

I think only agape selling Beco now.
But still abit too early to be "shopping" for things now i feel. Haha...

I originally wanted Ergo. Then I met this mummy who was using Ergo and went to ask her about the product. She said its good but she also alerted me to Manduca.

Ergo and Manduca are very similar (I think) but the difference is only in the infant inserts. Not sure about Beco. Will go search more info on it! (^_^)

im thinking if i shld get another breast pump too. Last time was using ameda. But that was in 2007-2008. Dunno if its still working effectively or not.

ginger: me same as you. Must go to my store to dig it out & test. If work, i think i will go buy the silicone thingy coz too long liao.

gingerleaf,
same here.. mine was in 2008 and dunno if it is still working.

btw u did mention b4 that u hire a CL from PEM b4? how was it like? the CL is experience? can share more. thanks

ergo vs beco
there are differences between the two. the body of Ergo is shorter, which could be a problem once your baby grows taller. beco has a harness, which makes it easier if you want to carry your baby on a back hold. of course, price and patterns are also different. ergo is also not so easy to use for newborns, have to buy a special insert.

Cheer bear, I type quite a lenghty post abt her the day before. You may wish to look back for more details.
Anyway, in short, exeperiences with her isnt good. Not saying the agency is bad, coz its just a representative of the agency. Just that we basically find it hard to get along with her n her hygiene practices. I think finding a good CL is really very much based on luck n strong referrals/ reccomendations.
Therefore, I think I will just do confinement catering this time. Much cheaper since its CNY period anyway.

stella: thx for the heads up. =) shall eat wo worry again this round. whahaa!

re: ergo
i've been using since my girl was 8mths old. recently stopped cuz she prefers to run/ walk on her own. love it to bits! use bjorn, beco and MIM sling b4, i'd say the sling if gd for infancy and ergo is best aft tt. =) the only thing abt ergo is cannot face front. so if baby likes to look in front then u gotta look for smt else already. =) i cant rmb but either patupam or manduca has that feature. HTHs!

gingerleaf, do u knw of anyone who's had confinement catering b4? my mum did my first round for me that time but this time cuz cny period, i quite paisay for her to do again. furthermore, that time we had maid to wash n clean up. now we dun.

Thanks for all of your tips on baby carriers! Will take time to explore them through that shop in novena 2 and through reading. Thanks all!

Littleone: what are the reasons you will have earlier birth? I also hope I'll be able to give birth early... Heh

Pinko: Wedding costs mainly borne by my hb including my si dian jin. Since this was the case, my parents didn't expect from him also. But knowing my relatives will give them the ab, they offered to pay for their tables (with all their/my relatives) and they keep all the ab from them as well.

The diff between ergo beco patapum n manduca is that its meant for different built of bodies. I love beco cos pretty design mah. But hubby cannot beco.. The whole thing is too super small on his broad shoulders. To buy need to try 1st.. But they all serve same purpose tht is to let baby sit instead of being hang at crotch area...

One more thing, ergo n manduca n patapum has the head support that can cover baby up n prevent neck from swaying when sleeping. Beco is plain backing to carry baby in front. Simple featured but very pretty.but i think its ergo that has to buy the insert for extra cost if u wan toddler to sit. I tried. Abit mafan for me...

wow.. you all super pro and experienced in bb carriers leh..
I have got no idea what you all talking about! hahaha..
what sit? head support? etc..

I will look thru this page again in prob 6 mths time

today is a 'toilet-busy' day for me..
been to the loo like 10-15 times already!
tiring but happy.. have always been wanting this kind of feeling when ttc-ing..

actually i read that it is not so good for babies to face out. it's bad for their spine to be carried this way and easy for them to be overstimulated. facing in is the best. when they are older, can carry them on your back for a better view.

blue_y
I like the sleeping support. that is the main reason why I bought a patapum. very useful when bb falls asleep in the carrier.

piggyB:
I have got 2 appointment next week.. dunno which to go?
1. Gynae from TMC. Met her on 13june.. u/s didnt detect heartbeat.. then keep saying, maybe have to wash away next week. Very demoralising

2. Gynae from ESH. My mum's gynae. Very experienced. Never visit her before.

I am still deciding.
What do you think?

i just receive a quote from a CL for CNY period. She quote me $3450 and asked if she can go back for the 1st 3 days of CNY.. wa seh.. ex!!
She is good and recommended by my cousin, but the price is very high..

i guess, this 3k++ rate for CNY period is quite "fixed".

Joyojoy,
Go see another opinion. Maybe the gynae from TMC using lousy machine.

jowin
i'm thinking of just doing confinement catering cos of CNY. it is too ex to get a confinement lady during this time!

joyojoy
why don't you go and see the 2nd gynae to get a second opinion? since you already know what the first gynae is going to recommend.

carp diem,
it is not my choice but more of natural. My fluid in the placenta is too low and it might be endangering my bb if keep him inside. And by 37wks my bb already 2.9kg, Dr checked everythg and feels that it is safer to be out then in. So decides to induce. But the day before bb is supposed to be induced out, my bb decided to come out as I have brownish discharge. But during labour, induce medicine was used as my dilation not big.

piggyB :me too ... i wanted to rub chinese oilment on bloated tummy to expell the wind...but gynea said better not
any remedies?

cos b4 preggie, oil rub rub, wind will goes away...

Hi Joyojoy,

dun mind if i ask is it becos you still in very early stage that why cannot hear heartbeat ... understand from my gynae,he say only begin in 6~8weeks for heartbeat.

jamie: I order from natal essential during my last confinement..

Re: Carrier
I had a bjorn original, ergo & MIM sling..bjorn original i cannot use it when my bb abt 4-5 mths old..too heavy and it doesnt have support at the waist..ergo only use it a few times..think i use more of the MIM sling..but this round, i decide not to use any carrier..cos i find it too taxing on my body..anyway i also sold away the bjorn n ergo long time ago..

Joyojoy, my Gynae couldn't detect hb at 5-6 weeks too but he was very positive. Said it was too early. Went back at week 7 cos I didn't feel well, and tada! Hb was detected. Take lotsa rest okay!!

joy: since u are not regular in your ovulation, this could be the reason for late ovulation. but it's okay.. don't worry, baby would be fine, just a tad latter than expected.

yes.. seek a second opinion. No qualms about that.

Stef:
Geraldine Tan

Wen:
My LMP is on 1 April and gynae say i might have O really late so BB only 6 weeks when i had the u/scan.

Adel:
My greatest worry now is how many weeks i am into now? If i am really at 6 weeks, not so bad.. but what if i am already at 10/11 weeks?

Peanut:
Yes, thats what i have been praying. Ovulate late, thats why havent detect heartbeat.

All:
Anyone have done their scan at 6 weeks?
- How big was the sac?
- Manage to scan anything within the sac?
- Mine was 1.18cm with yolk.. but nothing in the sac yet. Thus gynae say might be failed pregnancy.

Morning gals,

An update of my appt yesterday.

Dr Douglas Ong scan baby at 7 weeks. Heartbeat detected and baby measure at 0.85cm. Everything looks ok but gynae say must be very careful as still in early stage. Will see him again in 3 weeks later.

My EDD is 31/01/2012.

morning mummies.. nice weather to zzz at home but hv to work

joy,
maybe becoz u ovulate late? i only see hb at ard 7wk+

mummies refering to carpe diem's post on the link..how many of u sleep on the left? i cant leh.. will feel breathless leh.

Joy: do you remember when you and Hubby did baby dance for you to have conceived this one? You can count from there as well.

That's good news Apple

So are you predicting BB to be a boy/girl?

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD> EDD </TD><TD>Gynae </TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Birth order</TD><TD> Predicted gender</TD><TD> actual gender </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ms Carpe Diem</TD><TD> 31-Dec-11 </TD><TD>Dr Quek Swee Chong </TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> #1 </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Littleone1705</TD><TD>1-Jan-12</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tiny Bubu</TD><TD> 4-Jan-12 </TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD><TD></TD><TD> #3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maddie </TD><TD>7-Jan-12 </TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cheerbear</TD><TD>7-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>b_cup </TD><TD>8-Jan-12 </TD><TD>Dr Tan Hak Koon</TD><TD> SGH </TD><TD> #2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Felicia Low</TD><TD> 9-Jan-10</TD><TD> Dr Chen L.H</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stefseansharbabes</TD><TD>9-Jan-10</TD><TD> Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#4</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>styliciously </TD><TD>10-Jan-12 </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> #3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>CT (yoyoblue)</TD><TD> 10-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Suzana</TD><TD> kkh </TD><TD>#4 </TD><TD>60%Boy-40%Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stella Rodrigues</TD><TD> 10-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr C.K. Khoo</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yong Hui</TD><TD>10-Jan-12</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peanut (Veronica Chau) </TD><TD>11-Jan-12 </TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua (TLC)</TD><TD></TD><TD> #1 </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tuetecotage</TD><TD> 11-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Anita</TD><TD> NUH </TD></TR><TR><TD>(X) ttcx</TD><TD> 15-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Cheng JP </TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD> #2 </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Idali</TD><TD>15-Jan-12 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bunnymuffin </TD><TD> 16-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelly K</TD><TD> 18-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Wong Mun Tat</TD><TD></TD><TD> #2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amaesing</TD><TD> 19-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>HQ</TD><TD>20-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Quek Swee Peng</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>TBD </TD></TR><TR><TD>Echo</TD><TD>21-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jowinbaby </TD><TD>22-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Cheng LC </TD><TD></TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>50/50  </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pinko</TD><TD> 22-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lebebe</TD><TD>22-Jan-12</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Michele Xie </TD><TD>24-Jan-12 </TD><TD> Dr. Hii Hoi Chin.Mt A</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>MayC </TD><TD>25-Jan-12 </TD><TD>Dr WK Tan </TD><TD>TMC </TD><TD>#2 </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhuzhu</TD><TD>25-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr SP Teo</TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>PiggyB </TD><TD>26-Jan-12 </TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD><TD>#2 </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jamie</TD><TD> 26-Jan-12</TD><TD> caroline khi</TD><TD></TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Blue_Y</TD><TD>27-Jan-12</TD><TD> dr eunice chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2 </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>May (zanie98) </TD><TD>28-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr CH Koh</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD> #2 </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gingerleaf</TD><TD>30-Jan-12</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD></TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Apple Khoo</TD><TD>31-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jallo </TD><TD>end Jan 2012</TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD> #2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Millie'sMum </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> #2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>SnowWhite </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> #3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chiffoncake (bigroundeyes) </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> #1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adel </TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>joyojoy</TD><TD>6-Feb-12</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD><TD>Girl</td></tr></table>

joyojoy,
Dun scare urself first. Just see how the next gynae cheack goes. My LMP was 6 Feb. Haha... so by right, i shd be like 4mths preggy. But no leh. U/S measurement when i first saw the BPF was only 4W5D. 2nd U/S 3 weeks later, growth was adjusted to only 6W6D. HB was only detected then. Keep praying!

Joy let hope u see something for the next appointment. Most probably your doc ask if your period is regular, if irregular then maybe that explains why did not see heartbeat although your LMP is 1 April. I did not scan at 6 weeks, I scanned at 7 week plus.

Cheerbear:
I think so too..
Abt sleeping, i am used to sleeping on left and right. Then last night, i restrict myself to sleeping left only. very uncomfortable. like no freedom.. haha..

Stef:
We BD quite regularly.. i really dun know when to start counting..

(X):
Your LMP 6 feb, then when you didnt your u/s to detect BB at 4W5D?
You also have irregular ovulation?

JTML:
Yeah, my period is very irregular. each cycle can be from 30-50+ days..
And i dont ovulate regularly

Cheerbear, i sleep on my left too when i pregnant with #1. Felt alot better when i sleep on my left.

Joyjoy, dun scare urself ya.. perhaps you O late?
R you going this weekend for your appt? Dun worry.. stay positive!!

Hey Jowinbaby - did you get my PM on LC Cheng? I'm at his fertility clinic so waiting time is very short.

Actually, what's the reason for sleeping on our left? I normally sleep on my left, so no issue for me, but just curious as to why.

(x): Yes, the study puts the number of stillbirths for women sleeping on the left as 1.9+/1000 births and in other positions as 3.9+ /1000 births. The numbers are small, but technically if you compare the figures, other positions have double the risk than sleeping on left side.

Joyojoy: I think this study is relevant for late pregnancy, which they define as more than 20 weeks. I think for this nz-australian study, they were specifically interviewing women in their 3rd trimester. So we can use the results for our sleeping positions later.

Also joyojoy, understand you are worried. If you can, see if you can concentrate on finding a gynae you're comfortable with and in arranging an appropriate appt date (1 week later? 2 weeks later?) Believe all children developments (including in our wombs) are different. My embryo was also small for its age in my first scan but seemed to have caught up (although still a bit smaller than usual) when I had gone for my 2nd scan 2 weeks later. So it may be the case for you?