(2012/01) Jan 2012

Idali - I am also only going for my 1st visit at about 10 weeks, cos my gyne doesn't want to see patients before that unless there is a need to (bleeding etc). As X mentioned, you should get your 1st scan print out with baby length, estimated EDD, blood & urine test. Also have a couple of questions you want to ask the gyne ready. The next visit would be about 2 weeks later for the OSCAR test.

X - so yes, we are eligible for maternity as long as we were employed the 90 days (3 months) prior to delivery. So as long as you get hired before your 6 mth of pregnancy, is married, & baby is a Spore citizen, then the employer has to pay maternity benefits.

Gyne charges - I think $100+ to $200+ would be the norm for the 1st consultation?

Idali - hi hi another tmc mtb...;) which clinic n gynae u frm? For 1st visit, usually its nothing. U'll take weight, urine check n just c da gynae... Will b fun n memorable.. Not to worry...

X- I guess mommies who are looking for a job now had better find one soon before the bump starts to show by 5-6 months. Of cos it really boils down to the nature of the job. For instance, if it is in retail sales & entails alot of standing, carting heavy boxes, running around, then the employer is right to think twice. Otherwise, if it is for a more professional/managerial role where finding the right fit is difficult, I doubt they would not hire you because of the pregnancy.

Idali - i wanted her! Hehe.. But last week when i call up clinic, they told me her schedule for jan 2012 is full, cannot slot me in.. So sad.. When did u book ur appt?

blue_Y
So ironic. Ytd news was talking abt declining birth rates. Record low.

And here, we have gynae's that are FULL. Haha...

MayC,
Good fit or not... if you are gonna be out of action of 4 months, potential employers will definately think twice!

X - true, true. I wouldn't want to be out of action for 4 whole months either. For #1, I was on maternity for 4 straight months, but other than month 1, I pretty much spent 1-2 hours a day from month 2-4 working from home, clearing emails, going on conference calls etc & just to keep in the loop on what is happening in the office. It gets quite boring otherwise, with just you & the baby & no one else to talk to. Plus baby pretty much just nurses & sleeps the first few months, so its good to have some work distractions to keep you busy.

X - yeah.. How ironic.. But perhaps theres many rushing for dragon babies? Although i believe children are inborn with their characters not bcause of which animal yr they r born in.. But to each his own...

Did anyone of u ever undergo Oscars b4? My #1, after quite a long time thinking over, i told myself, il keep her in whatever condition she is.. So i didnt undergo. Gynae advised too, unless u decide u might not b able to take it n touch wood wan to abort or what, if not, if u go through n u know u have a DS fetus, ull have 5 to 6 months of stress knowing what ul undergo.... In fact its up to individual...

coyote: about the cost comment from SIL, i think cost 2,3 years ago one cannot be compared to today's cost liao. Inflation plus etc. Even food prices are rising,Those good blanded Milk powder now is 50-60 per tin. too bad my pay never increase. haha. I brought Milk powder for my SIL, because she breast-feeding last year I was shocked by the price tag myself.

ladies y is it tat always feel nausea ar? 1st trimester lik tis or wad? very irritatin de feelin of nausea & puking. haiz.... Any solution?
I jz keep drinkin lime juice & all de sour & sweet stuff. de feelin is terrible! i hv to wait til i c my gynae for medications ar!!! cant tahan! i dun feel lik doin shopping or basically cant werk! HELP HELP!!

Anyone her still drinking kopi? Can drink anot. Me trying not to drink, but at the brim of ZZZzzz. My ah ma say ppl in olden say frindrink kopi. BB will be dark..dunp true anot.

piggyB, I cutting to drink 1 cup a week liao for coffee. I drink diluted lipton tea every day still. trying really hard to cut.

I used to drink green tea thru' out the day & 2 cups of coffee. Now totally not drinking, having withdrawal syndrome..heez. Eyes barely can open. -_-

hahhaahh I avoid due to the website consistently say avoid caffeine; not because baby will come out dark dark ahhahahha, those old wives tales.

Idali, I avoid big meals now, so not much waste. yesterday I had 1 small mashed potato from KFC for dinner. Then I tried avocado juice and then I couldn't finsih it, then went back home bloating. hahahhaha HUsband just couldn't believe his eyes.

I avoid caffine for the same reasons lah, but when i told my ah ma i dun drink kopi. She say "u scare ur bb come out dark ar?"..=)

Wow, u all eat a little bit only...me constantly hungry. Me just eaten lunch @ 12.30pm. Now hungry again..sighz

haha (X) but if the food not satisfying for the little one inside, i will bloat , heartburn and then puke out..
Have to keep on trying which food. Alot of times i ordered already, one taste and gosh. i dun feel like eating already.

I m on bed rest for a week. Now a home. Just went to steam 2 small potatoes and add some butter n salt later. Not sure ok anot.

Peanut - hehe .. Smh is singapore motherhood.. If u scroll down from the main forum page, u can click on the bulk purchase.. Thts the shopping haven

jtml : wah mashed potatoe & juice? i feel so hungry bt cant eat much la. haiz... i hv to depend of lime juice. dis nausea feelin m nt able to handle it. tats bad!
i jz wan 2 lie on bed onli & do nothin.

Just had my second gynea appt today n bb is very active with a strong hb. Crl 2.6cm at 9 wks. Had the routine blood tests n e ds blood test done n now my both arms are aching. My ms is still bad so doc prescribed a stronger med for a week to stop e vomiting. He said 8-10 wks shd be the worst part then shd get better. I'm crossing fingers and toes. Adjusted edd is 9 Jan 2012. 3 wks time will b e nuchal thickness scan. Abit stressed abt that but praying for the best. I asked doc if there's anything I shdnt b eating n he said can eat n drink anything in moderation but try to stay away frm gap food coz of the radiation issue. Even coffee he said is fine but absolute maximum is 4 cups a day.

hi gals, can ask you all a question? will you feel concern if you feel slightly better around week 7 plus on your morning sickness. Appetite is still 30% of pre-pregnancy and if it is not the right food, some of it will be vomitted out.

But there is not spotting or cramps.

stella - 2.6cm at week 9 is a pretty decent size. Congrats!

overthemoon - you should be happy that your MS is getting better, esp if you are not having spotting or cramps! Most MS peaks with the hCG levels around weeks 8-10, then subside by week 12.

Mommies, read somewhere that if you have MS, you are 50% more likely to be having a baby girl
I had no MS for #1, and none this time too, so I guess its another boy for me.

thanks MayC, all along my MS is usually nausea, with only last week as peak...no appetite....I still don't have much appetite and there's much burping and boobs are getting bigger....I still abit worried....hope everything is ok in there.
I don't mind a girl or boy...so long it's a healthy baby....

Overthemoon, I am at Week 9, and slightly better. Doesn't matter even if you feel slightly better as some of my friends didnt even get any of these morning sicknesses, and the baby is fine. (only 75% of the women will have morning sicknesses, according to research)

And it's true that you cannot take any drinks with caffeine as it is dangerous for your BB.

This is from Babycenter.com ---

Because caffeine causes blood vessels to constrict, it may reduce blood flow to the placenta. And because it easily crosses the placenta and reaches your baby (who then metabolizes it very slowly), caffeine may directly affect your baby's developing cells.

http://www.babycenter.com/caffeine-during-pregnancy

MayC,
high 5. I have a boy... hoping this would be a boy too.

But my close GFs are betting that it's a girl. Haha...

Thanks MayC! Ya for my boy I had very little ms. This time it's terrible. I'm hoping it's a girl but it cld jus b as my gynea says, each pregnancy gets harder with age as ur body isn't as strong as it used to be.

Overthemoon: for my 1st pregnancy I had a little nausea during 2nd month then nothing le n my boy is fine. I had bleeding but it was because of low lying placenta n that was close to my 2nd tri le so not connected to ms at all.

Felicia: agreed caffeine is bad in large amounts.
And preferably it's better to avoid altogether. Personally I'm a coffee drinker n I do take a cup of coffee now and then not more than a cup on any given day. I drank coffee and a glass of wine occasionally in my first pregnancy as well n during breastfeeding n my boy was born at 3.3 kg, slps well, eats well and learns things amazingly fast so I'm not as worried. I believe everything in moderation n healthy diet n exercise plays a part as well. No offense I hope, this is just my own opinion.

stella - maybe yours is indeed a girl
The link also mentioned that if you had no MS for #1, then you are unlikely to have MS for #2 as well...but since you are having it this time round, it could be a little girl that you are hoping for! Anyway, at the end of the day, as long as the baby is healthy, that is all that matters.

Consuming food in moderation - I agree that we don't have to go all out to avoid stuff unless its smoking/raw meats. An ocassional cup of coffee/tea should be fine.

X - somehow, it seems like alot of us who already have boys want more boys! My sis had a boy for #1 too, & is pretty happy that she is expecting another boy for #2 (6 months preggers now). My dad, on the other hand, thinks boys are way too noisy & rather have more granddaughters. My #1 claims that 'prawn baby' (his nickname for #2) is a boy, so lets see if he turns out right.

Meanwhile, am still waiting for my boobs to get bigger! The only time they did was when I was nursing & a colleague asked if I went for enlargement!

overthemoon,
sounds like u are in good shape. Can eat, no MS, boobs bigger.

MayC,
Ah... those up 2 cup size moments...
I want it back. Will keep BFing #2 for as long as i can. Kekeke....

Wah i very happy hear got ms is girl... i got 3boys no ms while having them. I'm having ms from start hit jackport for this pregnancy. If its a girl Wow i'm sure it will be a tiara in the family.... if a boy my last hero... 4sons to carry my coffin when i p.a.p...

felicia
no offence, but i don't think it is fair for you to say that caffeine is "dangerous". i think it is up to each mother to decide on her own (with the advice of her doctor) what foods she should or should not take. caffeine is definitely not a forbidden food and you may be spreading wrong information by saying that it is "dangerous" and that you "cannot take any". it is good to share information with one another, but in the end, it is up to each one of us to make our own decisions.

yeah CT if it is a girl definitely you can dress her up! so cute!

I am so counting down to my next appointment partly due to worry, partly due to excitement...