(2012/01) Jan 2012

Qn to all mommies: How had your diet change after pregnancy?

For me, I usually have a low tolerance for spicy food and I used to love stuff like 老火汤 (double-boiled soup) and porridge. But since my pregnancy, my appetite for sour-spicy (eg Tom yum, mee Siam etc) have increased and I find porridge and double-boiled soup bland!

So many wee hour posts
Hope that it will be over soon so that u gets can have a good nite rest.

Carpe diem - sinseh saw scan pic n said good. She felt my pulse n I asked her can tell that I m pregnant thru pulse, she said can. Gave me some med to brew for an tai. Asked me to avoid sex, heavy items, heels, Jin bu, dang gui n rest more.

Same here, whenever I have mild cramps my mind will start to run wild. But I keep telling myself no spotting n serious cramps shld b ok.

Carp diem - if cannot take milk, try soya drink n cheese?

Coyote: Sounds really good! Jia you and continue to take good care of yourself.

I can take anmum milk, took goat's milk also because I had wanted some variety for breakfast and I used to enjoy goat's milk. Soya drink is a good substitute sometimes too! For mothers who take it regularly in place of cow's milk, do try to go for hi-calcium ones. I've heard that normal ones lack calcium.

Carpe Diem, thanks for the assurance

Last night i had a scare.. suddenly after bathing, i wiped and stain of blood flows.
Immediately, i called my gynae back to TMC 24hrs clinic. So can imagine my bill
Gynae checked and do not know why, he said maybe its the stale blood from the blood clot flows out. Baby heartbeat still there and normal. Was given 1 week of bed rest. This really gave me a shock.

Coyote, my gynae also asked me do not take tonics right now. After 3 months.

Talk about insomia. Same, i woke up n pee and hard to fall back to zzz. Infact there are 2 times i had nitemare.

Appetite also so so.

Tks carpe diem.

My diet changed in terms of qty. Last 2 wks I couldnt finish my main meals esp breakfast, that half slice of bread made me feel nausea. And I have to eat on the dot at every 2 hrs interval. This week it changes, I can finish my main meals and not so hungry in between but I will still have tea breaks. No cravings for me so far. Only big difference is I become lactose intorlarence. Pregnancy milk will cause very bad tummy ache n laosai. Now even normal milk I will have loose stool abt twice daily.

Jowinbaby - how much is the bill for 24hrs clinic? What time was your consultation? Gd that u see gynae, at least can make sure that nothing is wrong. Do rest well.

While I am chatting here, hubby is clearing the storeroom so that we can free up space in the spare bedroom
I felt guilty n offered my help. He declined my offer n ask me to rest. Hehe this feels good ;)

Just came back from Dr Adrian Woodworth clinic. Suppose to be in my 7th week. Scan shows sac but no fetus or heartbeat. Was ordered blood test to see Hormones level. Going to have another blood test on Monday. Dun feel good about it...

Good morning ladies!

Carpe diem, I used to be able to polish any kind of food for all 3 meals. But since week 5, my appetite instead not my diet changed. I can only eat one third what used to eat. And this is after efforts trying to eat. I tried many food but so far can't find any food particular to my craving. Still finding....I try to eat cos bb needs nutrients to grow. I have nice lost weight due to leeser food intake. My mum try to make soup for me everywkend at least I get the nutrients.

Same like coyote, I can't take bread now...feels nausea....I take light that all these ms is good.

Hello to all Mummies...just went to my gynae (Dr Eunice Chua) this morning & confirmed 6 weeks pregnant. =) Managed to see my little one's heartbeat..hope it will be a smooth-sailing 1st trimster. Anyway this bb will be my #2.

Was surfing the web about my loose stool and found this infomative page saying some experience constipation and some like me having loose stool during first trimester.

http://www.pregnancy-health-center.com/pregnancy-first-trimester.html

It also mentioned that heartbeat may not be heard is due the inaccessible position of the baby. So bunnymuffin and adel, don't worry too much ok.

Welcome piggyb, when is ur EDD?

Just experienced xue si on discharge again. I realized this happens every time I walked too much.

Feel like eating my green tea ice cream.

Like to share this too:

Aspartame is NOT your friend: Stay away from artificial sweeteners of ALL kinds!!! These are so toxic and bad for you just imagine what they can do to your baby! Avoid sugar-free gum, and check labels, because anything that says less fat or less sugar may very well have Aspartame or Splenda in it.

Hi coyote.
About $300+ lor. Ex hor. It about 8.30pm.
Such $ need to be spent, incase anything happen..Resting well today. Thanks

haha. i also enjoy some privileges. My HB volunteer quite a number of things..He used to throw plates there for me to wash after meal. Now, he washed it all. He bathe for #1 except cooking that he dun know.. keke

I am opposite of yours.. constipation. So heed X's advise, eating prune now..
I am still on 4 hours intake..else my MS come n feel nauseas again, plus that bloatness seem to be there always.

Aspartame is articial sweetener like EQUAL brand? I remember i had to take some of these during my last stage of pregnancy bcos of GD but i avoid. Looks bad eh.

Indeed not cheap but still have to spend.

If possible shld avoid artificial sweetener unless gynae advice so. All artificial items are chemically processed so no gd for health. What we could do now is to ask for "less sweet" for drinks/etc.

For mummies who have #1 already, may I know how much do u need to spend per mth for a kid?

jowin
oh dear hope you are feeling better after the bed rest. so you only had bleeding last night but no more bleeding after that?

artificial sweetener
agree that we should avoid this and other chemicals or processed food as much as possible. for #1, I even gave up ham and sausages, but i am more bo chup now with #2, cannot bring myself to give up one of my favourite things.

Jowinbaby oh good to hear your baby is okay., rest more okay..try not to walk... Keke good that your hubby is automatic .

Carpe I used to be meat eater and big eater. Now, is vegetable fruit and carbo .... Red meat is out... I'm left with sliced fish, Cannot have too much oil in cooking method. Quantity is less also. Hehe. U know 1 pop iah...

Oh I got the twinings lemon and Ginger keke it says no caffeine. The smell of Ginger is so soothing...

Hi ladies....been a tiring but fruitful family day out with my loved ones...
But from abt yesterday and today, ive been feeling very bloated easily...hungry easily...then after eat...i feel my mouth so tasteless and seems like my food up to my throat..but no way i can vomit out...really sucky....

I got really hungry at 1am lat night...to the extent of tummy grumbling... nowadays no discipline lar this tummy...think baby dunno night or day..thts why eat up or give out gas even at night...sigh... hope this period wont last long...cos i hate the want to vomit..nothing to vomit feeling...is this ms?

Blue_Y: I'm totally feeling the same as u! Gets hungry easily but after eating (without much appetite) I feel the food up my throat yet nothing comes out. End up coughing madly n dunno isit cos I'm sick so I cough or cough to vomit.

Feel soooo sick yet cannot slp..

N I jus finished a flea mkt today at SG Flyer. Thank god for mum, godma n hubby to help me out... If not I will worn out from all the loading n unloading!

Wow, more n more mummies got symptoms n join me' here in wee hours Liao.

Past two days I've been ESP nauseous too. No vomit tho. Eat less then feel sick until next meal. Had tomyam cravin last night, for someone who was asking about spicy stuff cravings. Yup I also tend to want spicy n sourstuff now.

Coyote: baby spending is really quite cheap if u go for the basic necessity. If u breastfeed totally then in the long run it is cheaper. Still I paid for a good quality pump which cost me $699. Most pumps u can get for $200-300. Thought that would cover 10tins of formula, which can disappear as fast as one a week. End up also fork out $300 for chest freezer to store all the FBM. Am hoping that can total BF this one as well so will half the cost. Guess bottles n teats n sterilizer too but think this is all start up cost. Hard to count by per month. Then the other main $$ eater is diapers lo. Initial use will be high cos need to change 2-3 hourly, and even after 30min if you get present from bb. Once u have got all yr bb stuff, then is just what u want to indulge in. Like pretty clothes, accessories n toys. For us we got a maid so that is indirect cost. Plus whatever childcare arrangement u plan lo if not sahm. Did I miss out anything else?

Thanks coyote for the encouragement.

My stoopig Hubby just told me a fortune teller once told him he has 2 children but 1 in the end! Doesn't help me in anyway!! Hate n doesn't believe in these things... But y Muz he tells me at this time!

Baby expenses
There are also immunization jabs, PD checkups visits. Car seat, stroller, toys, clothes... can hand me down from friends or relatives. Agreed with maddie, diapers are the killer. I BF my #1 so milk formula not a problem to me. If not, u will be surprise how a tiny baby can consume tins of FM in a week.

sigh.. i slept at 12am but auto wake up at 5am!!! continuously 3 days in a row!!

wonder how i can cope during office hrs if go on like this.

i had my 2nd scan ytd. there's heartbeat, 7 wks. thk ovulate 1 wk late erm, but gynae said to go back scan in 2 wks time to confirm! make me worry can!! argh!

I read that spicy food will causes acidic act up and it might worsen the ms. Best to avoid mummies. I think it would b doubly worse if u have gastric like me.

Happy Sunday mummies. Raining.. Good to rest and sleep in.

I've been sleeping rly well, thankfully. Yea feel the same bat food too! Can be v hungry and order alot. But appetite really became smaller, poor fiance has to finish all the food for me. Also quite stressed cos marriage plans have to be brought 6mths earlier. Just bought our wedding bands, so pretty!! Hopefully baby grow healthily
))

Bigroundeyes good to hear good news from you.

Bunnymuffin: ignore what he say. Maybe he is trying to say his worry due to consulting fortune teller, but don't take it to heart. Focus on for baby okie. Tat is one reason I alway tell my older folks don't ask anything about me or I will fan nian with them.

Bigroundeyes, u r back! Gd to hear gd news from u, we were wondering how r u.

Adel, congratulations the wedding bells are ringing....double happiness!!! So when is ur wedding day?

Bunnymuffin, men can be very insensitive at times. But they don't mean bad, just scold them n forget abt their stoopig comments...hahaha. This morning I was changing my hp wallpaper. Previously it was my dog's photo and I changed it to my hubby n my photo so that baby will look like us instead of my dog...haha. Hubby saw it and insensitively commented that photo is too orangey, sekali baby come out got jaundice. Wao Lao!!!!!

Pinko, how's biz? Rest well today ok.

I hope that I will have milk to BF.

Hi mommies, hope everyone is having a restful rainy Sunday
We got back exhausted from Batam yesterday & I slept for almost 11 hours last nite!

Adel - congrats on your upcoming wedding...having to plan for a wedding plus prepare for the upcoming baby is no mean feat!

Baby expenses - some are core necessities (stocking up on FM if you are not BFing, diapers, some bulky items like a stroller, baby car seat if you drive. It all depends on how much you want to splurge really. For instance, there are cheap strollers for $100+, and also top end ones for $1300+ & of cos, you can rely on hand me downs. As for the breast pump, if you are nursing, that is a necessity - but check around to see if you can borrow one rather than buy. There are also places (usually chinese medicinal halls) selling cheaper FM & diapers with free home delivery (usually above $200). These help to save quite abit - for instance, I used to get Kieran's Huggies for $15, though it sells for $19+ in normal supermarkets & his Gain IQ cost $58 vs. $62+.
We also started 2 bank accounts for him for regular savings & bought insurance. And of cos during the first 1-2 years, the vaccinations add up to quite abit. As for regular PD expenses, check if your/your hubby's company covers it, most would cover medical & dental.

Bunnymuffin - Hubbies can be insensitive at times! Don't think too much into it!

Cramps - I am having on/off minor cramps as well, I guess it is a sign that the womb is expanding! My weight definitely is

Adel, congrats!! yeah.. double happiness.

echo, thanks. I am fine now. Still continue to rest as much as possible. Touchwood. So far no more bleeding. I hope the blood clot will just disappear.

chiffoncake, me too. i woke up 3 times to pee these few nights. after tat, hard to get back to zzz.

JTML, thanks.

Bunnymuffin, ya.. men can be insensitive. Mine just made me v angry.

Coyote, majority of the mummies will have breast milk. However, the process of BF initially is very tough and we have to v hardworking to continue BF even day and night, to make sure we have the supply.

Maddie, haha. After we deliver, we will all have more wee hours together.. chatting online.. cos we need to BF/ pump out our milk at odd hours.. kekeke

Just read an article on Sunday Times, THINK , Page 31 about mother breastfeeding. Quite a good article. Mummies who like to know about breastfeeding can read. Save $$

JTML & coyote : ya! am back! hehe! was worried for the past 2 weeks! thanks for both of your concern! so touched that u guys really care!

peanut: i used to have gastric pain. now worsen with pregnancy. i keep craving for spicy food!! thats explain i always so bloated!

mayc: medical hall really sell cheaper? which one?

jowinbaby: wow! 3 times!! how many weeks are u now? am a light sleeper so now once i woke up i gt problem sleeping! its frustrating as i nd to work the next day! i will get cranky if little sleep.

Coyote: My EDD is 26 Jan.

Carpe Diem: Yup..my appetite definitely changed, i am not really a fruit lover. But now keep wanting to eat fruits & raw vegetable. And my craving for soup increase like alot lor.

Bunnymuffin: Just ignore ur husband's word & take care of urself & bb.

adel: Congrats! Marriage preparation can be quite exhausting. Dun tire urself k~

Just went for a gynae check yday..i am 6w3d preggy..saw the little one heartbeat..this is my #2..my #1 just turned 4 this yr..

maternity clothes
i prefer to buy from an actual shop cos can try. i am XL sized, so hard to estimate my size from online measurements. for #1, i bought a lot from Spring Maternity. i will probably go back there again this time.

actually i thought of buying some maternity clothes today, esp cos got sales everywhere. but i only had 1 visit to the gynae, so haven't seen bb heartbeat yet. i read so many cases of MC here that i am a bit scared that something might go wrong. i will be having my 2nd visit to gynae tmr, hope that can see bb heartbeat. then can an xin a bit and start buying things!

breastfeeding
it is really a money saver. there is some start-up cost initially to buy breast pump (esp if you are going back to work) and few other accessories (breast pad, nipple cream, nursing bra, nursing clothes) but I think overall it is still much cheaper than FM. it can be difficult in the beginning, but if you are nursing your child directly, it will be much more convenient.

agree with jowin that most mothers will have the ability to BF, you just need to work hard to establish and maintain your supply. best way to do this is to read up before so that you know what to expect. here are some BF websites that I found to be helpful:
http://www.kellymom.com/
http://www.drjacknewman.com/
http://www.askdrsears.com/

food craving
i super crave spicy food. i feel that it stimulates my appetite so that i can eat better

sleeping
how come so many mummies here have insomnia? i am total opposite, feel so tired all the time. nowadays sleep very early at night and even try to take naps during weekends.

Thanks coyote, mayC, jowinbaby and piggyB! Intend to ROM in July. Prolly postpone the actual dinner to after baby's a yr old cos Im too tired!

Like other mtbs, I feel very bloated all the time! Only crave for soupy stuff but not sure if it made me feel worse. Haha! Does anybody know where to get worthwhile and modern maternity clothes? You see, I'm only in my 20s this year. Some maternity clothes I've seen are rly ugly >_< giving up my heels for good too. Haha. All of these, for my babylove.
I think the motherhood fair's a good place to get deals. Fiance said it's much cheaper to get bottle sterilizers there. Haha he knew cos he bought a set for his friend.

Chiffoncake, yes..3 times
very tired and sleepy at work too. But just auto wake-up and i realised, its about the same timing per night. I am 6W,7D today

Actually, you can see if you can fit into those loose top or baby doll dress, instead of maternity ones. Except for maternity pants, it is still necessary.

PiggyB, same here, i bought some of my maternity clothing online before and also my gal's clothing.

echo,Thanks for the links. I need some revision after stopping for 1.5yrs. Perseverance is the word for BF.. haha!! Wonder how long can i BF for this #2.

Be positive, i m sure you are to see #2's heartbeat.

Food craving, same as piggyB, i prefer soupy things like mee etc. Lately the puking increase and bloat easily. No cravings but seem that all i ate, dun really satisfy me.

Sleeping, I am also tired. Weekends , i can nap 2 times or more. Feeling weak. Dun even have mood to bring #1 out, especially now , there are barney show, sesame show. Felt guilty to keep her at home with me, while the kids enjoying. Haiz.

Adel, you can see online like Old Navy or GAP clothing. Its more trendy.

Baby stuff. Let's wait for more fairs and Isetan Private sales. Usually there's really good discount. I also need to buy new sterilizer, bottles etc etc..

Hi zhu zhu

adel: I quite like the maternity clothes from dorothy perkins &amp; topshop. I can still fit most of my jeans just that I have problems with the buttons, I bought a belt expander from Spring so I can still wear my jeans. As for tops, currently I am wearing 'S', when I get bigger I just get 'M' or 'L' size. Wat I am really gonna miss is my heels..I love heels..

Echo- tks for the links, I have bookmarked them n will go thru slowly.

Adel- now a lot of tops are loose-fitting and with long length that can cover your butt when u wear leggings. I find this type very suitable as maternity top. Is in trend now u can find them everywhere esp Mophsis. For bottom I will most probably wear my current with the belt expander frm kiddy palace.

Tks all for sharing the expenses. I will see what hand me down items I have n see what else I will need to buy. So far I have offer on pump n stroller. Hopefully I can get baby cot too

Gd evening ladies....as usual im feeling hungry but mouth feel rather bland....yucky! Unlike some who cant sleep, i think ive reached my sleeping beauty period...can sleep anywhere anytime...not a gd thing cos im working and im always fighting to stay awake during the day...i dont know how long i can persevere this...wish i wasnt working though...

Adel - when i was pregnant previously, i never bought any maternity wear except for the pant extender to add on to normal pants or jeans... nowadays in fashion are loose chic tops..can get those....very nice....n save cost cos maternity wears are ex.. what you need in future is some good maternity bra...these are most important....
and wow..postpone dinner to after baby is a year old? i like those kind where one walk down the aisle looking very gorgeous and with a baby in hand...pple will envy...i like that..im not that traditional so its something i like to see...

i think my breasts are feeling quite tender..anyone feeling the same too? cos i lost most of my 'fats' on chest area after ending breastfeeding...now i think i can feel im gaining some back... happy for that but not for anywhere else...hehe

Baby expenses - on top of the normal expenses, i think its all up to individuals....esp if you have a girl....expenses wise...wow....so much pretty stuffs to buy...but importantly, do top up the baby bonus cda a/c cos it is very useful and helps lighten the load of medical expenses for when baby is born...immunisations etc....all can use CDA...if you top up 200, govt will add another 200 on top of what u have in the a/c...so the 200 the Govt give is able to cover jabs, check-ups....very useful...and impt..

Hi mummies...i am in a panic now..i was so hungry just now and ransacked my fridge. Found a block of brie cheese and cut out a small chuck to eat...AND i after i have eaten it, I suddenly remember that Brie cheese is one of the cheese that we should not eat during pregnancy. Me &amp; my hunger pangs, I am so worried now that it will affect my baby. Sobsob! My hb says not to worried coz took a small bite only. But still can't help but worry..haiz..

Hi piggyB
Its a small portion and do not worry. Brie cheese is made with raw milk, which may contaminated easily. This is like eating raw egg etc. Just make sure that you dun have stomach ache, diarrheal or any symptoms of food poisoning. Dun worry, ya..

Yawn... another wet day. How i wish i'm at home snoozing...

Wah... looks like we have a few new additions over the weekend!

I just found out I was preggy last thursday. I should be between 4-6 weeks preggy.... Have yet to confirm as I'm still waiting for my gynae appointment.

This is my 2nd pregnancy. My 1st pregnancy was 9 years ago. We have been trying for the 2nd one for more than 5 years till we nearly gave up and wanted to go for IVF. In fact, our 1st IVF cycle would have started in July. But thank god, we managed to conceive at the very last minute and henceforth, save us the pain of having to go through ivf. (^_^)

I've been urinating very frequently, esp at night. Around 4 times each night, every 3 hourly. Its disrupting my sleep real badly. Not much nausea and craving yet but backache and constipation seems like my best friends now... =(

I went for thai food yesterday and realised lemongrass will stimulate miscarriage. Is it true? I'm so worried coz I've been suffering from slight cramps througout the night... So scary... Should I consult some A&amp;E or something? But there is no bleeding....

Thanks for all your advise!

Hi mummies...good morning! =)

Jowin: Thanks! So far no tummypain or diarrhea. So I guess i am safe ba..

May: Congrats! For this pregnancy, my bowel movements oso not so good...=P

(X): Ya..wish i am at home now..So sleepy now..haha