(2012/01) Jan 2012

halo mummies.. been super duper busy.

x, i know who r u liao hehehe :p

welcome and congrats all new mummies to be

mummies with #2 now, do you feel diff when u hv #1 and #2? for now, i dont feel like i am preg leh except feels more tired.

physical activity
actually i have gotten go-ahead from my gynae to continue with light, low-impact exercise during my pregnancy. i put on 18kg for #1 and had problems losing my weight after that, so would prefer not to put on so much weight this time around

mscarpediem
if the milk is pasteurised, then it should be safe. just like taking fresh cow's milk that has been pasteurised.

maddie
congrats and welcome to this thread! I am also a bf mum, except that my daughter is 2.5yo and still nursing!

mscarpediem - yes, best to check with our respective gynes on what type of exercise we can/cannot do...if there is bleeding, then better just lie down as much as possible. For my case, I am lucky that my pregnancies are v smooth (touch wood), so I am still doing boxing & other exercise with kinect just to keep fit.

Cheer bear - nope, don't feel any different, except maybe a tad more sleepy some days. Oh, and hungrier!

cheer bear: i do have less appetite, occ feel nausea and feel like vomiting. and insomnia. can't sleep at night. same like first pregnancy. tho i think maybe i was more tired for first pregnancy.

echo: how do you stop the night feeds? my gal still wakes up for latch, more now esp since supply dropped and teething. are u planning to bf all the way till delivery n tandem feed?

Hi Maddy and Green4life, welcome..

Hi coyote, i start to feel like a pig too. Ate supper last nite, had nightmare, heartburn and burp thru' out the night. dun feel good lor

MayC, i think exercise are suitable for pregnant mummies once we stablize.

Ya, TCM is good. I tried for 2 years for #1 , desperate, get to see TCM and luckily conceive after 3 months of treatment,

Hi Cheer bear, not much a difference for me for #1 and now. Still having MS , sleepy and feel more bloated. Just that I m not as anxious as during 1st pregnancy.. hee hee.

Hi tuete,
I had not really gone thru my first screening too. Going on Thurs.

maddie
if your girl is only 14 months, it may be difficult to stop the night feeding. at 2.5y, my girl still wakes up at night for milk. we tried to night-wean her a few months ago, when she was 2y, but she wasn't ready for it, so we didn't continue trying. when i tested positive, we started the night weaning again and it's more effective now. i have not given her any milk at night for the last 2 weeks. i am hoping to totally wean her by the time she is 3yo in Dec, but if she is not ready to wean, I would also be ok to tandem nurse.

mayc,
oh u feel hungrier.. hmm i dont leh. but i find is gd coz means u r taking more food but of coz hv to control abit la if not later put on wt too fast :p

maddie,
when i had my #1 i also had ms and feel like vomitting so some sweet, biscuits to keep in the bag will help.
as for insomnia, so far din apply to me coz will be tired and sleep like a pig :p

jowinbaby,
same here.. dun feel anxious like when i had my #1 and sometime i even feel like i am not preg so sort of worried. going for my appt on this fri evening and hope i can see the heart beat

coyote - thanks for sharing the blog! Yes, her belly got huge, but she still had that maternal glow, very pretty!

Meanwhile last nite I was watching "I can't believe I was pregnant" on Discovery Home & Health (its a weekly series) & marvelled at how some of these mums can be full term & not even look preggers, or gain much weight! Where does the baby hide inside their bodies? And more amazingly, some of them drink/smoke thru their pregnancies not knowing they were preggers & still have perfectly healthy babies

X- you are down 1kg? I am up 1.1kg now!

cheerbear - yah, I put on 11.6kg for #1, & am aiming for 10-12kg this time round. I am petite, so cannot afford to put on too much.

x,
my edd shld be early jan based on online calculator but my gynae yet to confirm with me. he say can see heartbeat then confirm with me which is more accurate.. i trust him coz #1 was one day b4 my edd

so when is yours?

mayc,
i put on 20kg for my #1 guess is becoz eat too much liao so now this one i am going to control coz i did not lost all the 20kg so now cant afford to put on more.

X & MayC: I dun even dare to take my weight now... i keep feeling hungry every 2 hrs. I think i'm going to b overweight soon!

Thanks echo and MayC for responding.

(x): I think in general, it's because our temperatures are raised as pregnant ladies. In general, my husband's body temperature is higher than mine. But this week, when I cuddle up to him, his body feels cooler, and he comments I feel warmer.

But to be safe, do monitor your body temperature. If it gets feverish and you feel unwell, do get medical attention.

I'm getting a tummy but not much actual weight increase!

Gd morning/afternoon!

Anyone already has a visible tummy? I think i don call mine a tummy but when i wear belt, can feel the fats buldge liow.. Sit down must take off belt.. Then can breathe better.. Hiz.. Wonder when tummy starts to show for #2?

Reading from "Pregnancy Encyclopedia of Pregnancy & babycare": Week 8: The fetus is now abt 2.5cm. All the major organs are present, although still developing. The ears and eyes have formed and the skin covering the eyes will eventually split to form the eyelids. The middle ear, which controls balance as well as hearing is also developing. The heart is now pumping with a regular beat, and blood vessels can be seen. As the arms and legs grow longer, the fetus begins to move around and starts to kick, although it is still too small at this stage for you to be able to feel it."

Mscarpediem - i find this stage quite depressing horr.. Cos one, nvr tell anyone abt pregnancy, two, put on 'ammo shield' ard waist area, three, all these n yet never look pregnant yet...Only like putting on pounds.. Hehe

(x): sorry, I have not communicated clearly enough.

What I was trying to say is because our body temperature is higher, things around us (including temperature of the air around us) feels Comparatively cooler, so we'll feel cold, which may be normal. You may want to monitor your temperature just in case it gets higher than normal though

Blue - yah, I can't wait for my belly to show properly & be 'officially' preggers!
Its now neither here nor there, & even if you stand in front of people seated in the reserved seats in MRT, no one knows to give up their seat to you. I love the whole pregnancy process & knowing that there is a little one growing inside of you.

I think for babies #2, the belly would show quicker than for 1st time mommies.

Blue_Y: Yah we just look fat now... Sighz....

But nem, just take it as a period of guilt-free eating. My philosophy right now is if I'm not eating harmful food (e.g alcohol, cockles, lalas etc), most food have *some* value to the developing bb, so just eat lah. :p This may not be the most healthy philosophy.

Speaking of food, I'm thinking (not craving) for crabs. You all reckon it's ok to eat it? Or should it be eaten only at an appropriate trimester? (e.g 2nd/3rd since possibility of chromosomal defects would not happen then?)

MayC - i think arh.. Cos i think we both nvr get da chance to go thru the ms process... Thts why we dun mind going thru it.. Hehe.. But im dreading the end stage where bad constipation kicks in.. Sigh.. Hope wont b dat bad this tyme round..

MayC, i think so too. Cos our muscle and tissues are stretched before. I felt my pants are all tighter now. I mean the waistline/ bra line seem to expand. I asked my HB if its time to bring out my maternity pants to wash. He asked " so fast"? Or maybe i m bloated. Those normal pants, i simply can't clip on

Welcome Green4life and Maddie!! Yeap, more mummies with no.2 babies.

Ms Carpe Diem,
I've eaten crabs for my previous pregnancies before. shdn't be a prob whichever trimester. I purposely ate crabs when having no.2 to see if it really prove that the baby will have thick hair. and she did! even for my nephew coz my niece had little hair so ask my mum to cook crab when my sis was pregnant with her son. I read in a beauty health book that crabs are good to promote the production of keratin or something like that.

cant read the previous archive but I think someone is asking whether u get milk or colostrum when tandum breastfeeding. Ur body still produce colostrum and it comes out if u nurse after delivery.

I'm having insomnia every night and I'm getting so frustrated abt it!! I used to fall asleep unknowingly in the afternoon so I thought that was the reason for losing slp at night. But now I control myself not to nap in the afternoon n go to bed by 12 but still can't slp till 4+!

I get alot of cravings everyday but can only manage to eat abit of it n I dont feel like eating anymore cos i will feel nauseous when i gets too full. But after about 2-3 hours I'm hungry again.

Anyone facing the same insomnia problem as me? How to solve this problem?

Btw, I read we shouldn't eat anything raw or not fully cooked. What about sashimi? Is it still safe to eat raw salmon from jap restaurants??

I saw my blood tests today. This pregnancy is over already. I wont be continuing this thread further. I wish all the mamas here a smooth and happy pregnancy.

Blue - Possibly. If I had bad MS for #1 & if Kieran was way naughtier, I would be thinking twice about having #2. I have loads of friends who are dead set about never having another baby!

On constipation, I am already having abit of it...all input, little output...no wonder I am gaining weight!

styliciously - So its confirmed that eating crab = thicker hair for the baby? It would be great for girls, but I think it doesn't matter so much for boys
In fact, I wish Kieran has less hair cos he is always sweating from his head...going to have to trim his hair shorter this weekend.

Wearing maternity clothes - so soon? We are off to Batam this weekend, & I am thinking if I can still wear my bikini & not scare anyone in the pool!

Steffy - Oh no, am so sorry to hear that.
Hugs & take care ok...spend some time to 'bu' your body for the next pregnancy

Pinko - NO - better not to eat anything partially raw/uncooked, including soft boiled eggs.

Styliciously: we can eat crabs?? My gf told me better to stay away from shellfish like lala, prawns (unless it's really fresh ones) n crabs cos got 毒. Nv heard that it can result in thicker hair in bb! Which trimester did u had crabs? I do have cravings for crabs now but I'm afraid of not being able to eat..

Has anyone of u started to 进补? Can we take brand's essence of chix?

What kinda fruits can we take? I wanted to drink watermelon juice but hb dun allow say v 凉 I cannot drink..

Styliciously: Really? Wow! The hair is on top of head right? Not all over body?

Pinko: my gynae mentioned that particularly in 1st trimester, not to eat raw food including sashimi. Concern is over improperly handled raw food which leads to food poisoning. However, my acquiantance under Dr Adrian Tan previously was told (middle of 2nd trimester) that it's alright as long as you eat a variety of fish (not just one type) and if you're sure the sashimi is properly handled.

Steffy: Sorry to hear about your loss. Please take care n be strong. Can always try again!! But may I ask what kinda blood tests did u take to find out about this? I went for my first gynae appt at 6+ wks but no blood tests were taken..

Carpe Diem: Haiz.. I'm a total sucker for sashimi but looks like I need to stay away from it now.

Mayc: I have a strong feeling I'm expecting a princess so perhaps I should start eating crabs now? Hehe..

Anyone of u tried/heard of the myth to shave bb's eyebrows n trim eyelash so that it can grow out thicker n longer?

I guess whatever we eat, importantly is that the food is being thoroughly cooked, never raw, not even eggs... I love ban mian but through pregnancy, i always request fully cooked egg...
Abt crabs- no wonder my 1st one didnt grow much of her hair till abt 6mths..im gona start eating crabs! :p abt food fruits to eat, i think it is all right to eat any kind of fruits foods as long as its handled properly... Watermelon is gd as its high in fibre..

Cheer bear - wah... So fast? Is it water retention?

Steffy - oh dear... U take care gurl.. Stay strong n may u be given health and strength to try agn... *hugz*

bluey,
i dun think is water retention coz can see abit of my tummy and normal pants too tight liao and very uncomfortable esp sit down.

eat crab = bb more hair --> not sure of this but i did hv crab when i hv #1 and he did hv more hair but also becoz of this my mom keep saying that he is very notti (cant keep still).. so dunno how true.

sashimi - i did check with my gynae b4 on this and he said is ok to have one or two pcs. he also joking said "u r not eating the whole fish".

shave bb eyebrown - did for my #1 and dun seems that it is thicker leh.

Steffy - sorry to hear that, do take good care and try again later.

I am still eating seafood and shellfish, as long as they are properly cooked. I love crab, will eat if I have the chance...yummy. Egg wise I will request for a well-done, so no more half-boiled eggs for me. The food I will miss is steak...haiz, cannot eat medium-done. I heard that cannot take Mayo coz is using raw eggs. But hor, all burgers got mayo rite?

pinko - Jin Bu should be 2nd trimester I heard. Fruits wise I will take a varieties but I won't take pineapple and cut down watermelon. My SIL experienced sharp pain when she drinks melon juice.

I got a small bump and started to wear looser bottom. Hopefully no colleague will notice. I also stop wearing heels as I feel my back aching.

To all mums having #2: so it means some of you had eaten crabs when you were having #1 and went on to have successful pregnancies is it? When did you all eat it? 1st trimester? 2nd trimester?

juz wondering whether your colleague has noticed the difference in your eating habits? they asked y i didnt eat much and started to drink cold water...hmn...felt it was a bit too early to tell them...

mscarpediem - everything in moderation should be fine. I don't remember, but I am sure I had crab sometime thoughout the 9 months of pregnancy! As long as you avoid alcohol, smoking, & raw meats (incase of food poisioning), everything else in moderation (even occasional coffee/tea) won't do harm. In fact, the more types of food you expose your baby to in-utero, the less of a picky eater he/she will be! For instance, I had durians & bittergourd through my pregnancy, & Kieran loves them both.

coyote - I had mayo in my tuna salad just this week. Slipped my mind about raw egg whites in mayo. Oh well, as long as there no diarrhoea, then its OK.

MayC
Agree that it is good to expose your bb to different types of food. Even when i was bf, I still ate different types of food, including chilli and durian, and my daughter is quite an easy eater

raw egg
i know we are not supposed to eat raw egg, but i ate tiramisu in my last pregnancy, and that contains raw egg. but i love it too much to give it up! anyway, raw food is not in itself bad, just that if you get food poisoning (like salmonella or e coli), then the foetus will be affected. so as long as you don't get any good poisoning, it should be okay.

Oh MayC, moderate is fine but try to not have too much tuna. High in mercury.

jkids, my colleague asked me why I am having fruits daily recently? I told them to ease constipation which is partially true ;)

Thanks for all your kind assurances! Now think I'll try to ask a few kakis to indulge in good crab together heh.

And ooh durian, have been thinking of it for a while too... hee hee

echo: yup hope no glitches in pregnancy such that cannot bf. cross fingers.

pinko: i had insomnia for first preg n now. first preg i nap when i can. even afternoon also, cos it helps if nighttime confirm cannot sleep. also find if i lie in bed n stone is less tiring than getting up to watch tv or eat. but see how i feel lor. now jialaat cos by the time i CAN sleep, my dg wake up n cry. yawn.

re eating crabs etc. had crab regularly during first preg. my gal still fine n sparse hair. more than mine when i was a kid la. also had sashimi cos gynae said singapore sashimi shd be ok. need to avoid big fish only cos of the mercury thing. also had a bit of wine here n there. gynae said jap women have sashimi and french women have wine during prenancies n they are all ok. mayo if taken from bottle i think ok cos egg is pasteurised. is the freshly made one in restaurants that use raw egg. try to avoid half cook eggs. avoid tinned food, processed food like sausages and ham, carbonated drinks as far as possible. think key is not to take too much.

durian ppl say is to gain weight during preg. esp if yr bb is small.