(2012/01) Jan 2012

ya lor MayC. That's what I thought too. Maybe my gynae she's blocking this period of time for CNY vacation...
haii... now I hv to decide after next Thur 1st checkup with her, whether should I hunt for new gynae or continue with her and allow arrangement for Obstetrician replacement to do my delivery....
Any experienced mums out there can advice me?

Hi gals, i saw topic about the music to let baby hear. It is good to start with music ( Tai Jiao), conducted by TMC. However, please be very cautious about the loudness of the music. I had attended the maternity course during #1 pregnancy. The instructor had especially warn us about this. We have to find proper way to let the baby hear the music instead of blasting on the ear phone and place near to tummy. Reason being, once baby's ear drum are form and can hear, we will not know if the ear phone u had placed on the tummy is actually beside baby's ear. It could have burst their tiny ear drum, especially loud pitch sound.

There are cases that baby born are deaf to ealise that this is not genetic but by human doing during pregnancy. Poor thing.

I am not discouraging on letting baby hear music, just have to find the correct way. I guess the expertise that introduce music to unborn children can recommend us a better way

I only play the music like normal way last time and baby can feel the beat and response by kicking.

I hope i m no offence to anyone

Hi dreamy gal, its not kiasu to search and find a CL now. Can do booking. Cos CNY is hard to find CL and not every CL willing for CNY period too.

MayC: OIC, so interesting!

Blue_Y/(X): Such different approaches to nurturing the bb, but both having good results hor.

Qiqi: Like (X), I would prefer to have the same gynae throughout. My gynae of first choice was also not available around my EDD date, so I had asked for friends' recommendations for other gynae choices.
Right now, I'm look-seeing Dr Quek

jowin
agree with you that we need to be cautious about putting earphones on our tummy. best for us to just listen to music on our own. now, when i'm driving, i also try to listen to classical music, instead of my pop music.

mayc
i am interested in babyplus. where did you buy it from? how much was it?

jowin - yes, I am sure there has been cases of parents with good intentions who end up damaging their babies' hearing from strapping on headphones & turning up the volume too high

echo - you can get more information from http://www.babyplus.com/. There is a tab on testimonials. I would endorse everything that the other parents mentioned, except that Kieran didn't sleep through the night till much later! I bought mine from the States previously - it costs about S$300+.

SnowWhite,
This most rides got put warning to disallow preggy. U sure u want take the risk and be shaken, overturned, swinged at high speed?

Else, just go and enjoy the place, take photos, eat and ride kiddy rides.

blue_y: when u read story book, do u read as normal or like i read on some previous posts that use a mike to connect to bb?

btw, is cramps a common thing in early stage of pregnancy? im experiencing some cramps on my bottom right abdomen mostly and sometimes on the left side.. am abit worried abt this.. =(

Yes... Loudness is an impt factor. Imagine if we speak to tummy, baby can hear.. Therefore no need to be loud.. Their hearing are much more sharper than us. Just take an example in water, sounds r quite amplified. Thus wat i read is nvr use loud sounds on tummy. Just a soft soothing one will do. They can hear us very well...

Pinko- i read normally.. While in bed, n no more activity, relaxed..i read slowly in a tone soft gentle but audible...They can hear because our voice box in body mahh.. Our voice is their soothing sense... I did it same period at night so baby knows its night time n after reading i go to sleep. Cos babies r born with no knowledge of day n night.. So daytime im usually on constant move.. So night time, i settle down n read to indicate its mommy here n mommy going to rest.. N so shld bb... The impact? When she's born, it didnt take long for her to sleep the night thru n prolly wake up abt 4am for milk n thts it.. The next feed is morning liow. Then a month or two later, she sleeps thru liow...But diff baby diff.. Not same...

coyote - On babyplus, it is only US$149 actually, but the distributor in Singapore marked it up to S$318. I had my original babyplus unit shipped from US cos they didn't have it in Singapore back in 2008, but the pricing ended up being even more expensive because they labelled it as fragile & ended up packing it in a huge padded box so I paid alot for shipping!

I am planning to get my 2nd unit from the Spore site. Am still partially skeptical how helpful it really is, but don't want to be unfair to #2 since Kieran might have benefited from it!

Then again, like Blue mentioned, every baby is different, so #2 might not respond the same way #1 did!

blue_y: hmmm.. so its actually good to start reading when 5-6mths preggy so as to regulate the bb's sleeping pattern after she is born? i heard b4 that when mummies listen to a certain music during pregnancy, after the child is born, when he listens to the type of music (eg. rnb) it becomes v active and even dance to it cos its a familiar sound to him?

btw, is cramps normal? i do experience some cramps on the right abdomen n wondering if its normal... cos first pregnancy is v worrying..

cramps? what sort of pain? Like muscle stretch kind? Mild pain ok, coz uterus expanding. Like some more sensitive women can actually feel ovulation pain. But if sharp pain kind, with spotting, better go see gynae. Fear of the unknown is pretty scary!!!

MayC,
Can't u reuse the set that u have? Why must buy new one?

Orny sounds like Or Ni (yam paste), my fav hot chinese dessert.

(X): sometimes when i cough, i get cramps that feels more significant, other than that, it comes n goes. not exactly sharp but its of bearable pain.. no spotting though.. is it normal?

coyote - Yes, it is audible, like normal conversation noise, but goes "dup dup dup" (heartbeat sound)& the rhythm changes as the pregnancy progresses. They have an audio sample on their site.

X- my unit became spoilt towards the end of pregnancy #1 & the sound became weird. I have to go back & double check though, maybe the contact point with the battery got loosen or something (hopefully), then I don't have to get a new unit.

Speaking of or-ni, I haven't had that in a long time. Yumz!

Anyway, its Friday, am gonna take off earlier. Have a good weekend everyone

Pinko,
Can't tell if it's normal or not. Try to rest more if possible.

Again, if unsure or u are feeling worried, better call gynae to cfm or go for U/S.

hi All

Happy Wkend ahead.

Just had my tea break, so happy though its just noodle n beehoon. Going off earlier to pray for my baby ^_^

Coyote, X - Im also going for my first appt to see Dr Adrain Woodworth @ CCK. What about u gals? Btw, im about 5-6 wks now. Will I be able to hear bb heartbeat tmr? What kinda questions should I ask him about?

Pinko: I was able to hear my bb's heartbeat at 6+ weeks and you may be able to hear it too. Let Dr Adrian Woodworth advise you.

It may be advisable to keep your questions to 3-4. Think the most usual qns are:

1) How's your bb? Everything as normal so far?
2) Dos and Don'ts - in terms of diet, activities (e.g exercise, travel etc)
3) wlWhqt are the expected processes, tests you'll go through or can go through by your bb

Carpe - 3 to 4 qns only? i have like 1001 things on my mind to ask him now! omg... is he the patient kind who will ans all my qns or the wanna-get-it-done-fast kind?

btw, how many wks r u at now??

Pinko can help me ask your gynae, is it safe to ultra scan weekly or twice weekly. will the ultra light damage the foetos nerves?

Pinko: I know! But if my experience is anything to go by, you won't remember all the qns, so might as well focus on the more crucial ones.

CT: The first gynae I've seen had told me that current ultrasound technology is safe. Shld be safe once every two weeks.

Carpe - My first appt is tmr.. N i wrote down some of the qns i wana ask n it came up to 10! omgggg... looks like im a kiasu MTB! keke

Pinko-if got spotting sure kena scan by gynae.
Ms Carpe - my last gynae dr kelly loi say no good to scan frequently unless got spotting need to check bb condition.

Coyote, pinko and (x): all the best for your appt! I saw the heartbeat but did not know we can request to hear the galloping sound too haha

Didn't know it was eat with family day yesterday, was having meeting with boss last evening, can claim the half hour back? ;)

Great Singapore sales! I wonder whether online sprees have GSS, time to stock up for #1

Pinko: I wrote down a list of qns for my gynae in the first appt for #1, managed to ask about 15 qns in 3 minutes bcos he would only answer yes/no ;) I agree with Carpe Diem about remembering the most crucial ones, I get my hubby to remember and ask too

Morning ladies! Its a gorgeous Saturday!

Steffy - implantation if im not wrong takes two weeks.. Shld b within those period. U still having spotting arh? Hav u seen ur gynae?

Pinko - my 1st one, i got so much qn... Skali go inside see the lil one in black n white, everything forgot... When my gynae gav a scan pic to bring home every visit, we were so 'hypnotised' that we forgot our questions..! Lol! Clever doctor! Think im gona heed some advises here n write em down... Hehe.
N to the topic of reading to ur lil one, i think the rational is to let baby hear your voice way when still in womb and associate it as the ones of its mother. N ur husband's too... When bb is born, it'll hear many voices, nurses, visitors, doctors etc.. So therefore it'll help in the sense it can pick up the familiar voice that has been cooing at it for 9mths.. It might calm baby betta n bond can b made faster...

It is almost 6 days since i have spotting and bleeding. They said scan also cannot see anything coz it is too early. The hormone pill is making me sick.

Pinko, my previous visit at 5wk7days I can't hear heartbeat but gynae say is normal. So u don't be too worry if u can't hear at current stage. Today is mt 7wk6days, I hope we can hear it.

I want to ask abt the 2wks of duphaston whether I need to continue. And whether there's a need for me to take other vits besides colic acid. And tests coz I m above 35 and #1.

Can ask boy or gal? Wahahaha......

Steffy, try to bed rest more.

Ok gng to McDonald eat pancakes b4 heading to TMC.

Saw the tiny heart flickering. Gynae say can see, no need hear, but I insisted and hheard the gallops. awesome moment.

Steffy: yes.. I hate the hormone pill too. But it's suppose to help stop spotting and make your uterus stronger to support the baby and I heard u must finish the course. I know it's awful cuz I had it and was miserable for a few days until I call my Gynae and ask if I can stop( cuz I don't have spotting. She is kiasu). Jiayou dear. Have to bear with it. Hugz.

Keep sleeping to forget about the nausea. Wake up for meals.

Coyote how is the appointment?

Me came back from my appointment , can see heartbeat, dr Adrain tan was more positive about this one. Phew.... Last pregnancy he said a bit small and say let's monitor, we lost the pregnancy that was nearly 2 years ago and he still remembered.