(2012/01) Jan 2012

Just out of curosity, how do u gers come up with ur nickname?

Ok, me first. Coyote is a wild animal (Canis latrans) of the dog family so my nick is associated with my dogs (Cody+Yukie). When you read it fast, Cody-Yukie sounds like Coyote.

(X): oh I see. For my 1st scan slightly more than 2 weeks ago, the gynae had only given me a rough indication, coz he had said my gestational sac is big (indicating 7 weeks then) but my fetus is small (indicating 5 weeks then), so he can't confirm. When he had said that, I was a little concerned, wondering whether my bb is super undersized!

By the way, the current gynae had changed my multi-vits. His eyebrows raised when I inquired abt the vit A contents (5000IU). He was quick to reasssure though that the amount is far from the maximum we can take and does not present harm to the bb and that it is simply his personal practice not to prescribe so much to a pregnant lady. The current multi-vits hv fish oil, iron and calcium. I'm more comfortable with the new multi-vits.

I seem to have lost the preggy symptoms and discomfort. My appetite is back, not as bloated and burpy, bowel movements more regular, able to sleep, less tired...

Hope it's means a smooth 7mths ahead and not something else.

good morning ladies
TGIF!

snowwhite
if you are 1 week late in your menses, means that you are 5 weeks pregnant. Number of weeks of pregnancy starts from the date of your last monthly period. so if you see a gynae now, you should be able to see a sac.

carpediem
of course you are welcome to stay here! but i think better to deliver in 2011, don't have to rush with all the dragon babies.

spotting
i had light spotting during my last pregnancy, and i had a daughter. so far no spotting for me. maybe i will get a boy? hehe...

Tuete_Cottage: Cheers to the weekend! Hurray!

Coyote: So your nick came from your love for dogs. Interesting. And good question!

For me, I actually prefer simply "Carpe Diem" which means "seize the day" about living life fully in the moment. I add "Ms" to the front coz most time in forums, the nick "Carpe Diem" would already have been register by someone else!

I can't remember how it had made an impression, probably from the movie "Dead poet's society", if I'm not wrong? By nature, I'm actually a procrastinator, so this is a reminder to fully use every moment, as time wasted is not time we can get back. I'm working towards trying to be more pro-active.

Good Morning Mommies!

My MS getting bad to worse. Simply no appetite for anything. This is so unlike my #1 pregnancy. Sweet, sour, spicy dun seem to curb the MS, so frustrated with it.

Snow
I had spotting during the 1st n 3rd trimester for my #1, a boy.

My no 1 born at edd 26april2001 weight 3.75kg, no 2 edd 6april2004 but waterbag leak due to a fall on 29feb, induced labour born on 26 mar weight 3.45kg, No 3 due 27 jul 2010, due to my high bp, forced labour born on 30 jun 2010 weight 3.5kg..

(X): don't worry, my gynae did say for me to expect symptoms become less as I progress in our first trimester. so it may be normal for you too. When is your next gynae appt?

You know girls, I'm thinking (thinking only) abt renting a Doppler machine which will enable us to hear our bb's heartbeat (after we have heard the bb's heart at gynae's else we may frighten ourselves if we can't pick it up). I think once the bb's heartbeat can be picked up by machines, being able to hear it is the most reassuring sound in our first trimester.

But wonder whether this is a good thought? Coz it can be frightening if we can't hear the heartbeat coz we don't know how to use the machine right?

my appt is tmr! Can't wait!
Got to choose a sat so hubby can go with me. MOn to Fri, he's too busy.

Though i want to go on weekdays and take MC. Haha... Maybe i save the MC for later weeks.

Cheerbear!!!
Are u here? From my posts, u still cannot guess who i am ah??

I'm the one with Giant Baby. Haha...

(X): yah, I've heard abt this childcare centre a couple friend had registered their toddler for. Maybe they've been registering this nick in all the forums I've tried to join. Heh

wow, forum is so active - guess everyone is relaxed & looking forward to the weekend

So I finally told my 2 sisters about my pregnancy 2 days back. Have not told anyone else yet, but will tell my ILs this weekend. My parents are off for a 2 week cruise, so will tell them face-to-face when they get back.

On the EDD, yes - quite unlikely that any of us will end up delivering on our EDD, or even close to it! I did a quick calendar check yesterday & realised that the online EDD tabulation from baby center counts your EDD as the last day of the 40th week (i.e. 40w,6d), which is technically abit overdue. So for my case, since I am doing an elective C,it would be about 3 weeks earlier (about 38w)on the 1st week of Jan...& am thinking if baby is growing well, might even ask my gyne if I can deliver in late Dec 2011 instead!

Nick - MayC is just from my name, while "orny" is a term of endearment that we use to basically mean "sayang".

mscarpediem - the hospitals have doppler machines for rental?

How much is the rental of the doppler machine?

Well... i guess we all want to keep as much mementos and U/S pic of our baby throughout their growth stage.

I hope tmr visit can hear bb HB. My 1st gynae visit, was 4W6D. Gynae say to early to detect HB, so he didn't even try.

Echo: Thanks! I agree with you coz of the potential huge number of bbs in dragon year. I'm also concerned abt my child being the youngest/smallest of all in 2011. Haha, caught between a waterfall and a hard place, but nem, healthy bb is the most impt!

Hi gals, Morning..

Hi Coyote, same. i can go off 1 hr earlier today. Let's see if i can rush finish my work and go off. hee hee.

What i have been buying ah.. err. since #1 pregnancy, i spree from overseas link like gap, old navy, gymboree, drugstore etc etc.. at times combine with my friends to get bulk purchase. Till the extend that i set up my own blogspot n sell items when i resigned and be a temporarily SAHM for nearly 1 yr. Now i am back at work.. no time already

I got my nick.. easy. My name is Joanne, my Hb name is winston + our baby = jowinbaby.. keke..

Hi carpediem
Actually i prefer 2011 baby. Aim for it but fail, end up 2012. Cos i felt dragon babies very competitive and have to " fight" with many of his/her peers, just bcos many parents like dragon babies. Dun wan my children to feel so stress when they born. But too bad la.. fated..
Cannot C-sect too early to get baby out =P

hi (X), thats good that MS subside for you. u can enjoy pregnancy more

Morning laydees....! ;)

Ms Carpe- u know, statistic has it that only 5% of babies r born on their edd. The rest r often before or after.... More is before, i think?

Snowhite - nvr heard b4 about the spotting theory...
cos my #1 is a girl... Ive no spotting until the day b4 delivery which is one of the sign of labour...

Coyote- ive been buying so much stuffs here from the most nonsensical to the useful ones.. I bought my medela pump frm a spree here....n baby clothings n books too....

Aniwae when is it still considered rabbit year or when is the start of dragon year?

CNY is 23 Jan 2012. So on or after this date, would be dragon.

Jowinbaby,
So far no MS for me. Only felt tired, lost of appetite and severe bloatedness.

Hi (X), yup, thats the dragon date

But once after 1st Jan 2012, all children have to go under the 2012 educational system, where they will study with children of the same year, despite rabbit or dragon. If dun wan compeitiveness, have to deliver before 2012.

Hi Carpediem,
ya lor. Preferably in 2011. But never la. wat to do
Back to the words again " most impt health"

i tot all along we study with children of the same year?

Exception was only for 1/1 babies. Can choose either join the year before or the year they are born.

I also think year end babies are slightly disadvantaged during the first few years of life. Will eventually even out when they are say 8yo or so. And of coz... healthy most important.

Dragon or rabbit, Dec or Jan babies, leave it up to fate.

Ms carpe - for my 1st baby, i bought a heartbeat listener.... Both me n hubby took turns to listen as and when we feel lyke it. Since its juz a listener, we depend on prev gynae visits to tell us roughly where baby's head is positioned then hoping to estimate where heart it. Until labour, we still couldnt really hear any heartbeat.. Lol.. We only hear swishing sound of movements... We both arhh.. Failure.. Till now, that thingy still nicely packed in box.. Will take it out to try our luck this tyme round... Hehe..

But whats da gd about it is we can plug a special part into mp3 or cd player n let baby hear music or we speak into the tummy mike n sing n talk to it.. It works cos i do it nightly with baby symphonies. When my baby was born, she was very active n would quieten down when she hear me sing or read. N intelligence wise, she picks thing up very fast and now able to recognise a large assortment of pictures n speak correctly by th age of 13mths. So i derive that communicating to womb does help tremendously....

hi blue

where did u bought ur baby listener? Price?

Is it more for us to hear baby heartbeat or more for baby to listen to music etc in the sense of tai jiao

Hi (X) oic. Now 1/1 still can choose? Oops. I dun remember already..

Sian, after eating my mac breakfast. i feel like puking

Yeah, I managed to squeeze a slot to see gynae tmr instead of next wk
The clinic nurse is very nice. Tmr is 7.5wks, hopefully can see more development. Wish me luck!

Jowinbaby: Next gynae visit, do get anti-puking medicine. I hv nausea (no vomit) but still get it just in case.

In the meantime, see if taking small sips of water can help?

Blue_Y: Wah, sounds interesting. You play the music throughout pregnancy or only in 1st trimester?

Yah, I was wondering whether to get a Doppler or not coz I don't know whether I can locate the heart. Scardy I position wrongly, can't hear it, I may frighten myself more, haha.

Blue_Y: Can you tell me more about your heartbeat listener? Model, company, price etc?

Tuete - its both heartbeat listener that comes with a mike/speaker that can emit the sound into the tummy... I read that baby's chest in later stage more to the right.. N yes, doppler is mainly for hearing heartbeat.. Can c or not arh? Tht one very accurate. Mine is known as 'Core Prenatal heart listener'. Bought off the shelf in kiddy palace... 50 bucks? Cant remember...

But if ur into listening heartbeat, do get the doppler rental... But 1st must learn arh.. If not you cannot hear ul panic... Hehe

Ms carpe - i start frm ard 18 to 20 wks when i read that they can hear n react to sounds..i do it till birth... Jus lie down in bed, plug that tummy speaker into mp3 with soothing baby symphonies, n plop the thing on tummy... Few minutes daily lor... But if u want to hear heartbeat, i cannot tell u cos im a failure myself.. Hehe...

My gynae quite expensive. As it's my 3rd child not into monitoring from early stage hehe...
It's ridiculous that m 4 wks preg from the last menses date...rite?hehe dunno lah...

My first gal i have spotting and 2nd boy I dun have spotting...
Hehe...

Tested on 18May.. vy faded line.. shld be +ve cos still no mense.
Called up clinic to make appt next Fri...
kao_sad2.gif
so sad my gynae refused to take me cos EDD ard CNY...

i was worrying a lot cos my EDD now is 22 Jan 2012, which is 1 day before CNY!!! hopes the date shifts later on...

the doppler sounds interesting! now sometimes i wonder if bb is still there... haha

Hi Dreamy gal, dun worry about the CNY thingy. Usually people will deliver earlier than EDD. So its b4 CNY. Its just that if you are hiring CL, better be fast and also they charge higher.

On the bright side, our baby are clever to be out on time to get angbaos lor.. kekeke =P

i am also interested in giving bb to listen to music as 'tai jiao' but at how many weeks can i start doing that?

currently im just about 5-6 wks and going for my first gynae visit tmr (so excited about it!!). does the music i listen/watch now makes any difference to bb growth? cos i like to listen to pop songs like those of lady gaga etc and watch action movies.

will it affect anyhow?

Hi jowinbaby, i hope so too! then can collect CNY angbao & baby showers gifts... so clever! hahaha

yah only prob will be the CL. think it's too early to hire now rite? usually when then start looking huh?

seems like all the MTBs here all prefer a rabbit bb or born in dec'11 but personally i hope that since my EDD will be in 2012, i hope it can stretch to be a dragon bb. afterall, if bb is born in 2012 and gotta fight with all the other dragon bb, i rather hv a dragon bb too! *keeping my fingers crossed now*

mscarpediem - Orny is not a word in any language. Just something hubby & his siblings made up years ago, & which Kieran & I use to denote "sayang" or "so poor thing" depending on the situation. Its just one of those random made up words (which Kieran has alot of!)

qiqi - its so weird that your gyne rejected you cos of the EDD. Is she planning to be away for long leave for CNY? Otherwise, most of us would end up delivering on random dates (usualy before) rather than on the EDD.

Listening to music etc in-utero: I used Babyplus which imitaties the mother's heart beat instead. It comes in a little pouch which you strap around your waist & use 2 hours/day from week 18 onwards.

I used it with Kieran & I guess it makes a difference in terms of him maturing quicker, being an easy baby/toddler, independent,very cheerful & well behaved (Then again, not like one will ever really know how much it contributes, cos personality & character would be part hereditary & nurture as well). He also said his first word & started walking without support by about 7-8 months, which is supposedly one of the benefits of BabyPlus. Just incase it does help, I am going to get a new BabyPlus for #2 as well(my old one is spoilt).

Pinko- if possivle give soothing clasicals like baby mozarts which is supposedly able to stimulate these tiny ones in the tummy... Perhaps it also make them calmer and in the late stage, will calm them enough so wont be twisting so much until in a position not suitable for normal delivery.. But reading book to them n getting mommy n daddy to keep talking to them helps a lot too... Usually in 5th to 6th month can already...

i just slept thru the night listening to radio.

I believe in noisy environment training. And i think it works. My #1 can sleep thru all the noisy, anywhere, anytime. Hehe...