(2012/01) Jan 2012

Ritzc,
Did they give u a proluton jab? Because when I was spotting, I actually insisted to get the jab.. But then again, it was around 6-7weeks of my pregnancy.. Did they ask u to up your duphaston to 3 times a day? But if cervix closed and placenta is healthy, I think should not worry.. Maybe u been walking alot? Because prior to my spotting that time, I had gone for an engagement party and was all jumpy and excited and the the next day must rush to 24hr clinic because of the brown discharge..

Really hope a complication-free pregnancies for all mommies.. And when I thought I had happily cross thru the 2nd trimester, I vomited my lunch out today..

Anyway, any mommies on iron supplements? I'm on iberet tablets and since eating them, my stools had been black.. Look at it so scary lor..

I still haven't tried swallowing the DHA fish oil capsules.. The thot of swallowing can make me vomit.. I haven't even peeled out one capsule yet.. Does it smell? I'm slowly trying to overcome my fear of tablet swallowing.. I still gag when I force myself to swallow the iron tablets.. Haiya.. How like that?
*trying hard to overcome fear*

RitzC,

Hope that you will be fine soon. Am going to see gynae tonight and pray that everything goes smoothly.
Going to knock off soon, bye gals.

silsilly
i am not on iron though but on multivits which had high iron content also. Stool went black also....nothing to worry about. I did a simple test of not eating the pills one day, stool went back to normal colour.

I heard from someone to eat the fish pills at night to minimize taste and funny oily sensation....u can try eating at night :p

jingles - wahh I didnt know got so advance stuff.. only heard before is to use finger to massage the perineum to prepare for the stretch while birthing.

hq - u heard before perineal massage??? u know anyone who had practice this and really works? but its kind of scary lei...insert and massage lei..i hear liao also freak out

jingles
wow that device looks quite cool. i wouldn't mind trying something like it, but I've decided to sign up for hypnobirthing lessons, so probably won't spend on any more birthing equipment. i think perineal massage is no harm to do, although the extent of tearing can also be due to other factors. I had a 3rd-degree tear because my baby was delivered facing up, instead of facing down, which can cause more tearing.

jingles: read dat article..i am not comfortable with inserting some objects into the vagina...better consult the gynea if u wanted to try this

silsilly: I also ate my fish oil at nite..so dat i dun vomit..cos when i ate in the morning..then vomit out..the fishy taste is yucky..

Apple: if its brown discharge..i think no need to worry too much..probably some old blood..i had dat last wk..not alot..i think cos i walk too much dats why have it

echo - cool lei...hypnobirthing i think only pte hospitals have...are you delivering in TMC? Ya...actually i read some comments also...they said perineal massage is not nec. good as sometimes the massage can tough up the tissues and caused it to tear more...

I cant remember cos that is like almost 2 yrs back I think it's DIY leh ... or get the hubby to help - which I seriously dont think the hubby will do it ???

One pt to note, check w gynae if he/she is pro episiotomy - if yes no point of massage,they will just cut to prevent tearing or any complications.

Silsilly, my spotting stopped initially after taking duphaston, but think on Sat I stood too much when I went to support my hubby in his 21k run. The bag deposit system there screwed up so I ended up standing for more than 2hrs; tried sitting for a while though. Then end of the race hard to get a cab so we walked quite a bit to indoor stadium for late night dinner. It was really carelessness on my part coz I thought I was fine. Now ended up worse than last spotting, coz at least the last one stopped that day, this time it is still around after a few days though lesser now. Then again, if I had not quit my teaching job, I would be standing throughout the day from 7am to 2pm everyday, so can't help thinking probably my cervix is originally weak.

Sadhana said the jab was not necessary in my case. My second spotting happened on sunday so I went to 24hrs o & g instead, the gyne did not give me any more support except cream for my v infection.

jingles
yup i'm delivering in TMC. but i don't think it depends on the hospital. maybe you are thinking of waterbirth? my friend who recommended me this class actually delivered at SGH.

hq
that's true. i guess if you want to have a routine episiotomy, then no point to massage. but if you want to avoid, then this could be one way to do it.

Silsilly,
I'm on iberet tablets too as I had iron deficiency the last pregnancy. Also taking neurogain fish oil & calcium. But i guess it's a good trade off bah. Constipation in exchange for less giddiness.

Echo
Yes actually looking at water birth and doula but understand they do not have this in kKh. So got to shelve idea away...

Ritzc
Aiyoh cannot lei. Stand long hrs and under sun bad for preggies!! Must rest more, best with feet up.

Hq
DIY?! Waaa I think i will not dare to DIY :p scared lei..

Mummies under Benjamin Tham
Wonder if u have ask him recommend in CL? Heard last time he got contacts lei.

Hi all, I'm in my 17th week now & is cfm a gal.. Until unless the bird grows out during my detailed scan, which is in 3 weeks time. :p we scanned from the bottom & there is no bird spotted so far.

For me, wat seems true from the myth table are I crave for fruits, oranges(!!!), carrying high & veri moody.. Not forgetting of my terrible breakout, lol..

Hope all of you are enjoying your pregnancy journey so far too..

Hi mummies...

I'm new to this thread and oso first time preggy for me..

any tips would be helpful! :p

By the way, wat are u ladies using for prevention of stretch marks??

lynn
hello
i am also a first time mummy. I am currently using elancyl stretch mark cream, heard that its v good. You can get them from any neighbouring pharmacy.

morning mummies ! anyone getting Baby Plus? My cousin got it and she said it's quite good for her 16mths old girl.

I have a colleague who is going to US soon, Im wondering if I should ask her to buy anything? I heard there are some baby products which are cheaper in US. Does anyone know what we could buy?

Thank.s

X .... I was looking at the myths.. I exhibit half half from each category leh.. how? I crave for saltish food in the morning, but at 5pm+ I crave for cold sweet drinks.. lol..

My friend said that I dont have any breakouts, thus Im having a girl! Yet some said that since my MS worsens at night, it's likely to be a boy. haha.. I wonder...

lush
morning! hmmm did a random readup on babyplus.....sounds quite interesting. but have u seen the product before? its the sound emitting from the device too loud?

Snowwhite,
I have thyroid. But this was before being preggy. Still having thyroid now.

But there are some that develop thyroid only when preggy. Like Gestational Diabetes. Some go away upon delivery, some have it still.

I have tyriod b4 pregnancy but no need medicine no syptoms.But during pregnancy did the blood test its abnormal hence need medication.
Anyone have this issue?Me uncomfortable about taking such medication during pregnancy although a specialist did reassure me that it wont affect bb.

snowW: I never had any thyroid problem however just before I knew I was preggy #1 I have an annual check up which show high level of T4, and at the same time tested +ve,
so the specialist told me it was hyperthyroidism (graves disease) can be pregnancy induced. so i took med and by the 5-6mth the hormones in the body balance it out so no need med, till after birth, then continue w med even when BF specialist say med wont interfer w BF. for my case he quite sure by 2 yrs I will recover : I recovered before that as I got preggy as ladies w thyroid hard to get preggy (but bb didnt continue nothing to do w this)6mth later test again I was all clear then preggy again

Dun worry, the medication for thyroid is safe.
U better guai guai eat the meds. Else, risk of baby developing thyroid.

Heng my #1 was safe. Haha...

U hyper or hypo thyroid? Mine was Hyper... now... hypo after doing the iodine treatment.

babyplus
One of the mummies here used babyplus for her #1 - i think it's MayC? Based on her feedback and my own reading up, I went and bought a unit from Amazon. It's much cheaper than buying locally. I read that the sound that it emits is audible for us (so cannot use in office) but is soft enough not to damage baby's ears.

snowwhite
i was diagnosed with hyperthyroid (Graves disease) after #1. took the med to stabilise my thyroid so that I could conceive. 2 months into this pregnancy, my T4 reading normalised, so I'm no longer on any thyroid medication. but you should take your medicine! if your thyroid levels are not normal, there is risk of miscarriage. thyroid medicine is definitely safe and important for the health of you and baby.

echo
wow.....but i had received feedback from another mummy..that some bbs not suitable to use this due to their positions in tummy..by way do u know where to get this in singapore?

hmmm waiting to see if MayC pop by to ask her on this product..

Oh hq, mine is hyperthyroidism as well.Before pregnancy for me i dun need any medication at all and doc did say i am ok to conceive.I have slightly hyperthyroid during my 2nd pregnancy but still dun need med.
However during this pregnancy(3rd) it worsen T4 high and TSH <0.01 so gynae ask me to consult specialist again.N was asked to take med to bring down T4 as its unhealthy for mummy and might cause miscarriage.Taking propl....which i read is harmful during pregnancy but specialist assure me nothing to do with bb...
So hq u take med during ur pregnancy?

anyone still need CL ? my friend just finished her confinement n very happy w the service - the CL is still in SPore this week , can call her

Name: Ya (3) Hua(2)
9816 1235
6769 0832
** note CNY pricing **

jingles
i think if you google 'baby plus singapore' you will see the website for the singapore distributor. i think it's selling for $318. they might also sell it at places like the motherhood expo.

SnowW: yes i took it during preggy it's ok - yeah I think the spelling was propl.. something , the dosage is very small like 5mg or 1mg ,

I think like (x) say : better take the med and take blood test every 3 mths.

jingles: babyplus - you can ask MayC she uses it and have good comments. or go back somewhere in end june or early july there was a discussion on baby plus.

snowwhite
how much PTU are you taking? i took a very low dose in the first 2 months - 25mg every other day. best would be for you to go for regular checks with your endocrinologist, measure your thyroid levels and don't take more medicine than you are supposed to take.

anyone still need CL ? my friend just finished her confinement n very happy w the service - the CL is still in SPore this week , can call her

Name: Ya (3) Hua(2)
9816 1235
6769 0832
** note CNY pricing ** sorry forgot to add recommend by Yen ling

Hi echo,
Although i have strong history of tyroid problems with my mum family but i never hear them needing to take any medications at all.Hence m super uncomfortable that i have to take med this time round and i "act smart" go n do research on the med that specialist prescribe and m confused whether this med(proply...) is harmful to bb or not...
I did take these 2 days n m feeling kind of worried and confused and guilty whether m harming my bb.

The vice of internet.
We google too much and doubt doctors professional advice. Haha...

Pls... just eat the meds given!

Hehe, true ttcx.Somemore i doubt a senior consultant advice hahaha...
The bitter taste of the med is making me sick....n headache...
So 50mg tab and eating two a day...overdosing??

snowwhite80/(x)
:p dont trust too much on the internet. As what my GP always say, things in the internet can kills. Dont overbelieve in what they say. Just treat it as a guideline. If its 100% trustable, we wont need doctors/specialist anymore :p

jingles - sorry, busy busy today in &amp; out of meetings...

On babyplus, yes I used it for #1, &amp; he hit his milestones quite abit earlier than a typical baby. Then again, you will never really know the contributory factor from babyplus vs. genetics, diet, pure luck etc!
But just to be fair to #2, am using it again. I bought a new unit from eBay, then realise that my old unit still works. So now I have 2 sets!

snowwhite
your doctor will prescribe the right level for you, based on your T4/TSH reading. i was only slightly hyperthyroid, which is why I took a low dose. your TSH is much lower than mine, which is why your dose is high. Like (X) says, please just take your medicine! It is good that you read up on your own, so if you have concerns you can discuss with your doctor. In life, especially for medical, there is no perfect solution, it's all about weighing out the risks - what is the risk of taking vs. the risk of not taking. If you don't like your doctor's answer, seek a second opinion with another doctor. But pls don't decide on your own what med to take or not take.

Hi all, more shopping experiences to share...

Went to the Taka Baby Fair at lunch time today and bought a whole bunch of stuff. I know, it's extremely early, but what can I say, I'm an excited first-time mum-to-be

In case any of you are interested, Mustela, Medela, Pigeon etc are all on sale.

Happy shopping!

Its my first time needing to take tyroid med hence very annoying for this pregnancy. As long as BB is not affected in terms of IQ n deformities and is very healthy i will take it...

Hq - thanks for the recommendation

mayC - thanks for sharing on bbplus. Will definitely check this out when I go shopping during weekend

amaesing - wonder if u manage to spot bbplus while shopping this afternoon? :p

jingles - sorry i didn't see it at taka today. my colleague's baby was also on baby plus, and he says that his baby is "more alert" than his peers but he also said it could be genetic

i am into w14, but my appetite doesnt seem to improve. i rem last time, i woke up one day i found my appetite going back to normal. time time, this one is extremely long. i told my hub if i don't resume my normal appetite, then i will have a not-enjoyable pregnancy.

my gynae has no medicine to recommend me. he said have to endure and eat.

i have not been eating well coming to 8 weeks
is afraid bb has no nuitrion? i eat more vege and porriage, little meat. will tat be ok for bb?

i heard there will be many rabbit boys...i wonder how true...

jkids
tats interesting! where u heard from rabbit boys? :p but i did notice that year of rabbit seems to have more preggies around....same here...i had not been eating chicken or pork. BB seems to be more interested in fish......what about eating bean curd and fish? they are also good to replace meat.

amaesing, what did u buy? any good deals? much cheaper at taka fair?

jkids, seems like more rabbit girls to me leh.. 2 colleagues &amp; 3 friends &amp; 2 mum's friend's daughters all baby girl leh.. tat's y I'm secretly hoping mine is a boy ;P.. but boy/girl doesn't matter la.. most impt is normal &amp; healthy.. btw, if u r worried abt not having enough nutrition, maybe u can supplement your diet with maternal milk? I read it's quite nutritious but mummy can put on weight fast..

jingles, I'm also thinking whether to buy babyplus anot.. not cheap.. abit doubtful, like not much scientific proof/ logic.. but yet alot of ppl says it's good.. I'll probably buy from US thou..

jac
put on weight fast :s thats scary....later put on weight fast cannot remove after preggie duno how :p i am also thinking of buying but i will like to see it (bbplus) live first before i buy lo. I wan to hear if its loud....or if its heavy as its supposed to tie to waist. I read from somewhere else, there is no scientific proof also. Some forumers suggest stick to classical music or even nursery ryhmes will do...but the website of bbplus said that the sound produced by the machine is different?? cos its like in pulse and rythmn..duno got to hear to get wat they mean...somehow it reminds me of whales or dolphins making those ultrasonic sound underwater :p