(2012/01) Jan 2012

may:

it mus b fr yr bb! i have felt its kick and movement too since week 9.its already my 3rd one so i know its the kick, and not gas or any other thing. u will feel it esp when you lie down on yr back...

how often do u see your gynae now?

i am into week 11 and i am seeing my gynae this week and its a gap of 5 weeks. is such gap of visit nomrmal? long or not?

Similac Mum 700g to let go at $12. Expiry 10/2013. Free 2 sachets Similac Mum, Similac Musical CD and Cocoa Butter samples. PM me if interested.

5684948.jpg

May: most prob ur baby saying hi!
my nausea is v bad today!!! I had totally no appetite n only had soup for dinner. Forced myself to drink n eat.
its so sad to b hungry n yet no appetite.

Jkids: I c her every 4wks.

Blue_y: I ordered the durian ice cream from the bp. Hahaa. Gg to eat it ltr. Hopefully hv appetite for that. @_@

jkids
about 4-5 weeks is normal, esp if your pregnancy is progressing fine. it is good news that your gynae doesn't want to see you so often. means that everything is going well!

zhuzhu
i think the standard is 10% off TMC services.

i also lost weight - 0.5kg since last visit. hope i can maintain this, don't balloon out. last pregnancy, i gained 18kg and only managed to lose 10kg. this time, if i can gain just 10kg, will be happi liao. hehe..

Jkids, I saw my Gynae at 6.5 weeks and at 12 weeks. The next one will be at 16 weeks. So the gap between my 1st 2 visit is 5.5 weeks. Then subsequently will be every 4 weeks. For all my prenatal Gynae visits, they are normally on the weeks 12,16,20,24 (multple of 4). Then come third trimester, it will increase to every 2 weeks from week 32 then from week 36 it will be every week.

Morning sweet mtbs! Been quite a while since i read the posts... Just bz with work, feeling tired, nausea after meals n complaining abt smells to hubby.. Hehe.. I guess im in my 10wks plus( not sure... Lost count cos i feel my last gynae visit till the nxt one on nxt nxt wk is like eon away!) my symptoms r reducing i feel... But the sensitive nose stays n the afterfeeling after meal still remains...

May - i felt the same feeling like twice recently.. Fluttering kind tht stops after awhile... I guess its the baby too cos the last time i felt this was in my last pregnancy..

Jamie - wahh.. Pure indulgence!! Hehe .. Enjoy.. U deserve the best.. Btw i think i know which bp.. Izit the ice cream one? Quite a lot of pple buy from them right? Seems delicious...

jkids,
I'm seeing my gynae every 2 weeks. But that's cos I had a miscarriage before this. As what Echo says, it's best if your gynae no reason to see you often. It means everything is progressing well. 4-5 weeks in between each visit is quite the norm.

Jkids-i try prolong my appointment. so now i am 13weeks, today is 2nd time visit gynae. 1st visit at week 6 to detect the heart beat.

Jkids - typically, the appointments would be like what Stefsean mentioned - every month for now, then more regularly as we get closer to the EDD. I had my 1st at 9+ weeks, going for my 2nd (OSCAR) this week (12 weeks+), and the next would be at 16 weeks for the detailed scan.

Quickening - that is what the fluttering/kicks are called right? I have been feeling that too the last week, especially when I am sitting v still at work, or lying down & paying attention to the belly
Did a google search & most mommies mentioned the earliest they felt the baby was around week 15-17 though...

echo - I hope to gain about 10kg this time round too! I lost all the weight from #1, but am getting older - don't want to end up with saggy tummy & stretch marks!

qiqi: Glad to hear that bb is fine. =)

My ms oso betta, not so much bloating too. =) Bin eating a little way too much, seems like i am putting on weight too fast. =(

jkids: I think 4-5 weeks is normal. I am see my gynae @ 4 weeks interval. I am schedule for my oscar on 16/07..so excited! Cant wait to see my bb. =) Then I will be seeing my gynae the next for my results.

zhuzhu: u signing up for the SBI? I think i most likely would ba, we can sign on the day we do our oscar right?

I see my gynae every 3 weeks.
Sounds like alot compared to the rest. But i'm not complaining. Haha...
Look forward to this sat visit!

Quickening
Erm... feels like tiny twitching ripples. I felt some these few nights. I'm week 12 now.

Good morning moms! I'm new to this thread and also a first time mom...am both excited and nervous!! my bb's EDD is 15-Jan-2012.
I'm constantly worrying if everything is ok and MS hasn't been very kind to me. It's reassuring to see you all sharing your experiences! Thank u~~

<font color="0077aa">Peanut: Quickening feels like light fluttering of butterflies in the abdomen area. Like something is crawling quickly inside ur tummy or slight tickling inside the tummy. Hope I've aptly described the feeling. =P</font>

btw I have a question... what is the normal weight gain during the 1st trimester? The last time I went to the gynae at Week 10 i only gained 0.2kg...is it normal?

Welcome Vanessa!
Ur EDD same as mine.

Dun think there is a standard weigh gain guide.
I lost 1.5kg at week 10. Haha.

Hi (X)! wow! same EDD! that's soo nice!!

my next visit to gynae is next thurs..can't wait! your visit to the gynae is every 3 weeks? so good...mine's every month..my gynae refuse to see me any earlier...haha... but i always cannot wait to see if bb's growing well and stuff

wow! you get quickening now? I don't feel a thing.. and i think my baby bump is not that obvious yet...hehe..think i am a worrywart..bump too small also worry, not getting MS as usual also worry!! can't stand myself sometimes...haha!

Quickening - yes, feels like a little thing doing a flip inside your belly! But its not too obvious esp for 1st time mommies, cos baby is still tiny - like 8grams now?
Once you are into week 20+, then you would feel the moments everyday. Sometimes even see the ripples on the surface of your belly when baby kicks/pokes on the side!

Vanessa - welcome! Yes, there is no standard weight gain for 1st trimester, though sites like babycenter estimate this at 3-5 pounds in total. Also, our weight fluctuates day-to-day (water retention maybe?), so somedays I am up 0.5kg from pre-pregnancy, other days it can be 1.5kg! As long as you gain weight more or less evenly in 2nd &amp; 3rd trimester, &amp; your gyne doesn't nag you for gaining to quickly/slowly it should be ok
Target total gain should be about 10-12kg I suppose.

Btw, I am also quite paranoid, with all the cases of MC &amp; stuff. For me its worse, cos I don't have any pregnancy symptoms (no MS, no tiredness, etc) &amp; baby bump is hardly visible. Sometimes, I wonder if I am really even preggers! And I keep wondering if baby is growing normally, so can't wait for my OSCAR scan this Friday!!

Hey MayC! Thanks for the advice

sorry i'm a little blur..what is OSCAR scan?

my best friend also didn't have any pregnancy symptoms when she was preggie but she gave birth to a healthy and lovey baby girl! so don't worry yah~~

Mayc,

envy u to the max. If my pregnancy could be as easy as yours, i would not mind #3. Told myself it would be my last as the MS this time is horrible.

Good am to PM all

btw quite a handful of us is seeing dr woodworth, any comments abt him other than his chop chop pattern? Am thinking of switching to him...

hi cyy,

for me when i was deciding which gynae to go to, i didn't get very good reviews about dr woodworth so didn't go to him in the end.. maybe those mommies that are already visiting him can give you more feedback

Vanessa - there was a discussion on OSCAR on this thread earlier. Its basically a test for abnormalities, but not compulsory. Do a google check? Its a standard test they admister on preggy mommies - just require urine &amp; blood sample, &amp; done around week 12-13.

gingerleaf - argh, don't envy me! For one, I have to make sure I don't overeat cos I am hungry all the time! Overeat, then suffer the consequences of indigestion!
And occasionally I would wonder if I am really preggers cos I don't feel or look particularly preggers now &amp; start getting paraniod that baby has stopped growing or something cos there have been cases where the heartbeat just stopped &amp; the mommies didn't even know till their scan

I didn't have any pregnancy symptoms for #1 as well, but was more clueless the last time (plus younger), so I think I am more of a worrywart this time round. I can't wait to have a big belly &amp; start looking &amp; feeling more preggy!

Envy all mummies who are visiting their gynaes this week. I'm counting down. 3 more weeks to the next visit on 25/07.. Long way to go..

mayc,

dun fret! AM sure u are destined to have another easy pregnancy like your 1st! =D

Oh ya, I hate indigestions... get that every evening even when I eat in moderation.

MayC - Thanks! Will do a google check on that

so envy you don't have any symptoms for #1 and this one..

i could do without the awful feeling of MS and bloatedness!

I jus went for my 3rd gynae visit today with dr adrain woodworth. He is indeed v chop chop n jus tell me everything is fine. When I ask if I can eat sashimi, tuna etc he say can cos small amounts is ok. I find him a 'everything Oso ok gynae'. Lol

But all the edd he gave me on 3 visits are all different n I wonder why. First was 15jan, 22jan n now 18jan. Makes me so confused of why there is a difference in dates. Anyone experienced this too? Care to share why?

Pinko,
Baby grow at different speed. Also.. some are smaller/bigger than others.

The CRL measurement estimates the EDD. So if baby is more curled up, CRL would be shorter (pushing EDD back). If stretched, appear longer, so EDD earlier.

Normally gynae will stick to the first dating scam to determine the EDD.

MayC: My tummy suddenly went down, I guess mainly bcoz not bloating as much. When i look at my tummy now, I worry of bb is going healthly inside. Sighz..

Hi Pinko,

from what i understand from my gynae, the EDD is based on the length of you bb at the time of scan.. i did my 1st scan at Week 6 and my EDD then was 19jan based on the length of bb at that time.. my 2nd scan was done at Week 10 and my EDD changed to 15jan. Then my gynae says she will set the EDD at 15jan cos after that the baby's growth differs for different babies so the EDD will not be accurate already.

as for sashimi and tuna, based on my gynae's advice and reads from other forums that it's better not to take cos it's not cooked and the level of bacteria activity on it will def be higher than cooked food so not very good for bb

i looove sashimi before i was preggie and it took me alot to resist it! but well, for the good of bb i guess i can only 'sacrifice' lo... after my confinement i sure go wack sashimi..hehe :p

Hi all, I'm having fever n jus puked for e 1st time this pregnancy.
terrible. I can't imagine those who hv MS n vomiting daily.

Blue_y: didn't manged to try the ice cream, fell ill ytd.no mood no appetite. N my girl suddenly start to reject me. She pushes me away n whacks me if she's cranky or wans to slp. Usually its the extreme opposite. :'( she was down w sore throat n ulcer since fri morn bt gt well ytd. I'm wondering if its cuz I force feed water n med.

Pinko, same as vanessa, my gynae measured the length of e fetus to get my edd n hw far along I was. Tis wkd I'll visit her again n she says that shld b 11-12wks alr, will b able to b more certain of e edd n age of fetus.

piggyB: i think we can sign up for the SBI card on the day of oscar scan..but i am just wondering if its worth paying $100++ for it..cos normally we only had 2 scans with TMC..duno hospital bills got discount o not..

jamie: when i had slight fever, the nurse at my gynae there say OK to take paracetomol..suggest u call up ur gynea there n check on the flu medicine.

PiggyB: below are the disc we will get with the SBI card

A) Hospital Services+
1) Savings on total hospital bill upon delivery:
$100 off total hospital bill for single-bedded rooms (including suites, deluxe and super deluxe rooms)
$80 off total hospital bill for 2-bedded rooms
$60 off total hospital bill for 4-bedded rooms
2) 10% savings on Detailed Scans, Oscars, X-rays and Ultrasound scans conducted at Fetal Assessment
Unit, Level 4 of Thomson Medical Centre.
3) 10% savings for father, mother and child at Thomson Medical Centre’s 24-Hr Family Clinic
4) 10% savings at Thomson Medical Centre’s Retail Pharmacy
5) 10% savings on services at Thomson ParentCraft Centre.
- Childbirth Education Classes
- Breastfeeding Counselling
- Infant Care Training
- Confinement nanny placement (5% savings)
- Postnatal Home Visits (20% savings)
6) 15% savings on Health Screening Packages for Parents and Grandparents at Thomson Lifestyle
Centre.
B) Specialist Services+
1) Obstetrics and Gynaecology
Inpatient Services
5% off professional fees*
* Maximum of $100 per delivery/hospitalization stay
2) Paediatrics
Inpatient &amp; Outpatient Services
10% off* professional outpatient consultation fees
10% off* total inpatient fees
* Maximum of $100 per outpatient/hospitalization stay
C) $450 Savings with CordLife+
D) 6 months insurance coverage by AXA Life for newborns+

zhuzhu: Thanks for the info! =) Look at the discounts, hmmz wondering like wat u say worth it anot, Somemore this time i not signing up for the childbirth education classes.

jamie: From my understanding, only can take the normal panadal. The other versions cannot take, but best is go to GP to get meds. Just remember to tell GP that you are preggie.

PiggyB, zhuzhu, thx, I guess hv to call gynae liao.. btw, I didn't sign up for FBI tt time cuz e recept at my gynae says their clinic nt under the scheme lei. Located at tmc bt nt under the scheme. Bt the counter staff at tmc main recept says they are. V strange la. Mayb u can check w ur respective gynaes.

FBI/SBI - I signed up the last time, but yes, like Jamie mentioned, not all gynes at TMC are covered under the scheme. Still saved then cos of the $100 deduction from room rate &amp; prenatal classes, but might not make sense if this time round if the u/s, detailed scans etc are not covered. Anyway, can just ask during payment of the scans &amp; I think the allow you to sign up on the spot.

does any mommies out there know if there is any pilates/yoga classes conducted in Sengkang area?

I feel soooo unhealthy not doing any exercise at all...eat and sit, sit and eat.. haha .. thought I should do something about this before i really put on weight that i can't shed after birth!

vanessa
you can check with your gynae if you can do light exercise. my gynae gave me go-ahead to continue with my gym workout, as long as i do low-impact exercise like walking on treadmill, elliptical machine, stationary bike, etc. now I still continue with light workout 1-2x a week. and at 11w i have not put on any weight at all.

Hi mummies-to-be

I have an authentic fuschia pink agnes b bag to sell. I bought it on impulse. Its hardly used and still in very good condition. Its very roomy, good as a diaper bag. It has 2 side pockets and a zip pocket inside.

Anyone interested, please email me at [email protected]

5688638.jpg

5688639.jpg

hi echo,

guess i'd heed your advice to check with gynae if i can start doing any exercises.. am doing some walking after meals but don't think that is enough :p

vanessa - if the pregnancy is a low risk one, then light exercise should be ok. So everything that echo mentioned above, plus swimming, brisk walking. I am actually still doing boxing with my Xbox 360 kinect, but just making sure I don't jump &amp; overstrain myself.

Anyway, the surest way to lose weight after delivery is to breastfeed! Way easier than exercising - just need to sit there &amp; prop baby on the nursing pillow

piggyB: ya lor...cos 10% disc on Oscar and the detail scan plus $100 off for the hospital bill..like bo hua leh..think i dun sign up liao..

Hi MayC,

I agree! all my friends who breastfeed slim down really fast...but then again i have heard of cases where some mommies were not able to breastfeed due to insufficient supply etc

I just hope I am able to breastfeed coz I believe it's the best for baby... but then again I am not seeing any significant increase in my bust size yet!

Thanks for sharing the type of exercises that can be done
will check check with gynae then will start to do some..

Good to know many mummies' MS is getting better. Me... aiyo, still like that. Vomitted at 12midnight last night. This morning also... ran to the toilet. sigh... My colleagues asking me, when will this end? I also dunno... but i hope not the full nine months of MS man!

Doing my OSCAR this Thurs. Crossing my fingers they can't see the gender. coz there's a chance of having a girl? We're hoping for a girl....