(2011) TTC 2011 Mums!!!

Haha, not super mommy lah..just that hubbie and I want age gap between the 2 kids to be 2 yrs...and since still breastfeeding and not sure when will succeed, so try earlier lor..haha..

Anyway, based on my experience from having #1, apart from knowing your cycle well and BD when fertile, also very important to relax and not stress! So all of us jia you yet relax at the same time yah? =)

Hi PrestoRabb,

i don't noe if it helps. From my experience, once you know when you O den do away with the kits. my last pregnancy, i strike when i do away with the kit. Maybe doing away with the kits u feel less stressful.

No lah, do away with kits and temp charting difficult to tell when fertile rite? But then again, when I had #1, I only relied on observing my CM, no kits or temp charting. I'm not diligent enough to do charting and I guess I was pretty lucky last time! I hope it will be the same this time round!

My gynae's advice is to just BD every alternate day, not just during fertile period..like that can ensure that egg and spearm won't miss each other =)

In terms of relaxing, basically try not to stress yourself..be it due to work, family or the desire to have a baby. When I was TTC #1 during a stressful period at work, I had no luck. Once work stress disappeared, #1 was conceived =)

Hey girls, thanks for sharing your experience. It's great to know that I'm not alone in family planning.

I think stress is a killer factor. Once stress, all the hormones go awry. So I guess to relax is to stop thinking "This is IT. I must do IT now" ?

BTW, I read abt folic acid. It is good to supplement your diet with folic acid even way before conception. Helps to prevent birth defect. Then there's also the caffeine intake. High caffeine intake constricts the blood vessel hence, increasing the chance of stillbirth. And also prevents iron uptake.

Hmm... I'm a caffeine junkie. Love my milk tea and my kopi. Very hard to restrict my intake... usually one cup in morning and one cup in late afternoon. Hee Hee...

Hi Pommes: Totally agree with you! Best to do IT out of love and closeness with hubbie, rather than for the sake of TTC..guess this helps to take the stress away!

Re: folic acid, yes, should take folic acid at least 3 mths before TTC. Can buy at Guardian pharmacy, 1 mth's supply is about $3.50...dosage is the same as those I get from my gynae..

Re: caffeine, dun think you need to worry too much. When I was preggie with #1, gynae said that 2 cups a day is ok...intially I continued with my ice lemon tea, teh tarik and teh peng...but gynae later asked me to watch my diet cos' I put on weight too fast (she was worried that I will have a hard time losing weight post-delivery)...so I cut down..until now, such "good" diet habits remain with me...giving in occasionally to my favourite bubble tea =)

pommes - i think 2 cups seems fine.. maybe u can cut down to 1 cup. no need to give it up totally now. And yeah... we are all in the same boat.. facing the same problem.. so we shall boost one another confidence !!!!

Haa... i didn't know that i ovulated late and it was my first month taking bbt.. told hubby can shoot in without worries.. haa.. but who knows that made me pregnant lah.. =P so sometimes without any planning also can conceive leh! haaa..

PrestoRabb>> Thanks! Can I check whether the 100 tabs last you for 1 mth? What is the dosage? Those I get from gynae / Guardian are 30 small tablets for 1 mth, each tablet is 5mg of folic acid.

evie,

2 weeks wait.. it's the time after ovulation and before we get our menses.. we'll wait for fertilisation & implantation to happen.. if it's successful implantation, that will mean that we are pregnant! haha.. =P usually it's 14 days lah.. but it differs from one person to another...

and if we our menses is late, that is because our ovulation is late. luteal phase (2ww) is quite constant from one cycle to the next.. may differ 1 day or so only..

Pommes,

no lah.. not 2 wks frm AF is due.. i'm still waiting for it to report or it has decided to take leave for the next 9 mths! haha..

Evie>> I'm not familiar with TCM, but I think you can (and should) take folic acid. Afterall, I don't think the soups provide you with the folic acid that you need. Do check with your GP / gynae if you're unsure. If you need a gynae referral, you can check with me too =)

Jaster>> Wish you lotsa baby dust! Last time with #1, I checked on the HPT 1 week before menses was due (cos' I gan cheong lah, and also cos' I just felt kinda weird down there)...and I got a very faint +ve!

Anastasia,

haha.. really ah? i scared i go test.. got faint line but later AF still come.. by then more disappointed.. haha..

Pommes,

thank you!!!

let's jia you together.. =P

Hi, long time nv come here. Suppose some getting gd news huh. Congrats to those having little joy inside u.

Am not trying at the moment, as hb wanted a dragon boy... Got to wait long long until neck can touch ceiling liao

Jaster>> Got faint line means confirmed preggie. No matter how faint the line is! If faint line and AF still comes, you need to see gynae real quick. This happened to one of my frens. Gynae prescribed her with pills to stabilise pregnancy, and everything went smoothly thereafter!

anastasia - yeha, u can go chk if the pills are the same.. cos I only bought it once from Unity and didnt chk out the other pharmacys.

leeling - choose a timing in the morning before u wake up, even before u go toliet or stand up from bed. Lets say if u choose 7am.. then every morning take your bbt at 7am.

prosper - just out of curiousity.. why did ur hubby like dragon bb..? cos some pple avoid it as its more competitive. I was thinking if i miss rabbit then its dragon le.

leeling - oh yes one more thing, make sure if u have a gd sleep.. i remember its at least 3 to 4 hrs of undisturbed sleep. Otherwise the bbt recorded may be distorted. But if u do not sleep well for the night is okay... cos we are only looking for ovulation day/trend and not analyzing each and every bbt taken.

xiu - im a fan for HK drama serials too. am watching Sisters of Pearl 掌上明珠 too.. the typical family fights.. haha.

xiu - yeah.. that is nice.. but i havent watch urs yet. finishing up 掌上明珠 first.. hee.

leeling - ya... anyway we are supposed to get gd hrs of sleep... for gd health reasons rite.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

read someone post abt Pregnancy complications.

For your infor, if u had upgraded to an integrated shield plan (pay via medisave), u will be covered with Pregnancy complications.

Only 5 insurer company sell this shield plan.

NTUC, PRU, Aviva, Great Eastern and AIA.

As the Pregnancy complications, most of them only cover up to 5 type.

If want to choose which plan, need to do some read up wor.

kerqing - me me me.. haha. Yar, me got the Prushield + NTUC Women Illness coverage (which also cover preg complications). But such policies got 10 mths waiting period.

Heard recently Pru came out new product, no need to have the 10 mths waiting period. Dunno if the premium is higher or not.

Hi ladies.... AF reported just reported for me.. am really a predictor of AF but not BFP.. sob sob. Better luck next month... (",) Keep telling everyone and myself jiayou !!

PrestoRabb,Prushield only cover 4 type of Pregnancy complications.

Yup I know of the product. Need alot of read up to be done. The premium is not cheap. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

whats the 5th one they do not cover..? actually hor touch wood we dun get those complications man..its only buying for "an xing"

PrestoRabb,

If im not wrong.

Aviva, dont cover Pregnancy complications.

NTUC, cover 5 type Pregnancy complications.

PRU, AIA, cover 4 type Pregnancy complications.

Great Eastern, cover full range of Pregnancy complications, up to 20 types.

the common 4 coverage is as below:

1) Ectopic Pregnancy

2) Pre-eclampsia or eclampsia,

3) Disseminated Intravascular Coagulation &

4) Miscarriage

PrestoRabb, let's jia you together!!

Insurance for pregnancy complications.. me first time heard abt it. But then just to share something here.

my DH's friend whose wife just gave birth. What happened was they signed up a package for natural birth. On that day itself, found that she needed to do a cesarean birth instead. Ended up that they have to pay for 2 packages and cannot cancel the natural birth package. The bill ended up quite hefty.