(2011/11) Nov 2011

Mag, during the March Taka Baby Fair the Pigeon Sterilizer was going for $199 (U.P $309.70)

Includes:

Pigeon Rapid Steam Sterilizer

Bottle & Baby Food Warmer

3 x BPA FREE wide-neck bottles (240ml)

2 x BPA FREE wide-neck bottles (160ml)

Liquid cleanser (200ml)

Nylon brush

Flip Top Moisturizing Wipes 70s

Cleaning Brush

Since we are on the topic of sterilizers, how big is big enough for a sterilizer? How many bottles should it be able to sterilize at one go?

ent29, I got the Pigeon one cost it can fit in bottles of any size. And most importantly, the base can be remove to clean the lime scale accumulated from all the sterilising.

I sterilised my NUK bottles, Avent pump parts and bottles, teats in it.

jmi .. ya my next appmt will still b at KKH on 29th Jun .. selected Dr. Wee HY tat my BIL booked his service for both baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] ... thanks hoh at least i hav a guide line now ; ) hughug heeeee

I'm still very blur lor, dun know wat i need to buy, still nt sure abt the gender of my bb..

little one: take care and hav plenty of rest.

Jmi: Wah! It sounds like it's a very roomy steriliser! Hmm, I shall go check out the Pigeon one then. Thanks! Any other brands to recommend?

ent29, the other popular brand is Avent. Not sure about other brands NUK, Tommi Toppie & Tollyjoy etc

Ladies, can't recall the full set but it is advertised on straits time today. Incl the rapid sterilizer, some bottles, liq cleanser , breast pad n not sure if there r anymore. Goin for 128 up 199

I didn't do the cord blood thingy.

1. Cos I'm a Thalassemia minor

2. After talking to my gynea on the use of the cord, we feel it wasn't a need.

Vis,

for my no 1, i didnt store at cord blood bank.

I donated mine.

I personally prefer the pigeon rapid steam steriliser as compared to Avent one.

Cos pigeon one can fit any size of bottle for most brands n its easy to clean or descale.

The Avent one has more parts n not compatible with quite a no of brands of bottles.

Think the taka bb fair has better offer due to bundled deals.

Its worth the wait ah as wont be needing the things so soon.

This time round i wont be buying so early.

Will do up my wishlist of the things i need n get my family, relatives n frens to choose what they want to give from there.

Will save me the trouble from ending up with more than 1 set of the same thing..lol

Aniwei still need to clear my storeroom of my baking stuffs n kitchen toys..dh has been nagging at me about that..haha

Hi mummies, today is free and i cant wait any longer, so went down to do a check, doctor said is 90% a boy!

Happy

Sterilizer>

I bought Pigeon digital 3-in-1 (Sterilizer+millk warmer+food warmer)at $125 at OG a week ago. They have the buddle pack from left over sales.

Is very worth it. I was told that pigeon has more space compared to Avent, so decided to go for it. Any bottle can use too. =)

Just went to Taka sales, member additional 10% on top of sales item. Tml going to Philips sales, thinking of buying Breast Pump. I'm considering Medela or Avent. Any suggestion?

Jmi,

That's the set I bought. I agree it's roomy and very fast. Sterilize in 6 mins flat. Thumbs up!

Vis,

Cord blood banking is up to u. I personally didn't feel the need to bank my babe's blood so didn't sign up for her. Won't do it for 2nd baby too. Some parents treat it as a form of insurance for their kids.

Anyone going to the mothercare sales at west coast plaza tmr? Hubby says wanna bring me there for brunch and chiong sales. Haha!! I wanna check out the beautiful aden + anais brand's muslin swaddle cloths. They look sooooo cute and sweet with those pretty prints! I'm a sucker for such things. Hee!!

Gonna go watch pirates movie with some friends now. Lades, enjoy ur weekend! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vis, din store in cord blood bank. My sil and bil r doctors they said no need so I jus follow wat they said lor.

Jmi, u r thalasemia minor? My daughter also a thala minor. We din know until when she was abt 18mths she had a blood test. We whole family went for blood test then realized it was my hb a thala minor. Is ur 1st one thalasemia minor?

Memorablechocolate, u going to Philips carnival sales? K help me check out how much is the airfyer and steamer cum blender? The airflyer is their new tecnology fry food without oil. Thanks. Btw, I prefer medela than avent. I used avert few times cos it was a gift but I really dun like. Medela is good!

Starry, how nice u k hav movie w friends! Some more is midnight show sia. My hb go drinking w colleagues and I'm at home take care of my girl. Really jialat! Enjoy ur movie!

Frenlop,

my fren who bought airfryer is raving about it.

Is it really good?

I havent got time to take a look.

Oh no..if my dh hears this he is going to bang head..too many kitchen toys until my tiny kitchen no space liao.

Memorablechoc,

i prefer medela.

Tried avent but the suction is not so good n got lesser yield.

With medela, find it more efficient at emptying the boobs, better n easier let down.

thanks frenlop, starry, lynzi, rainzz and jmi for ur reply.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my frenz told me to put... but i oso dun think there is a need too..

Happy weekends to u gals!

frenlop, we have yet to check if my boy has Thalassemia minor from me. Hopefully not.

Lynzi, I've recently packed up my store. Made space to move stacks of diapers, carton of wet wipes, toys which my boy can't play now into it. I now need to clear the bed in my boy's room and reshuffle the wardrobe in there to make space for #2.

Morning ladies!!

Jmi,

i just bought a whole new wardrobe for my boy so got lots of space for his sibling too.

But i must get a new single bed for him as he is still sleeping in the cot that we converted to toddler bed.

And that reminds me, i must also change the blinds in his room.

So many things to do but i dont seem to have the energy.

Just came back from Philips sale. FYI the price for Avent electric steriliser is $135 with some freebies.

The dual electric breast pump was $550 if I still remember correctly.

Manual single pump at $85.

There are also other misc baby stuffs. I saw the blender cum steamer was sold out. Bring cash if possible as the queues for NETS/ credit cards is crazy. Pay by cash and you can collect over the counter.

Super duper crowded so be there early!

Happy shopping. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi little_one, please take care and rest more.

Hi Ladies, have been busy with work and have not been active in the forum lately. It seems that most of you will get to know the gender of the baby soon... my next appointment is 13 June (by then i will be in my 16+wks)... wonder if I am able to know my baby gender (depending how cooperative my baby is).

It also seems that most of you have started to buy baby stuffs... that's fast! I only started to buy a few baby clothes (usually white ones cos I do not know the gender yet).

I also went to the Philip fair just now.. The air fryer is same price as outside.. 349.. But got free 3 packs of new moon fried stuff... My mum is in love with it now.. Haha.. The q is vv long n the weather is vv hot also...

Just came back from the Philips sale.

Got my hairdryer n flat iron..lol

Later going to go out again for dinner with frens at straits kitchen.

Dinner for 3 persons birthday including my dh n meeting up with his fren who just came back from working at middle east.

Hope i wont merlion the good food out.

Then will go karaoke till 1am and then adjourn to our fren's house for the match between man utd n barcelona.

Have a great weekend, ladies!

hi mommies, i was at mothercare (west coast) this morning and managed to get their highchair at special deal of $38. the sales is not very fantastic though. only 15% off storewide. probably only good if u know exactly what u wanna get. i was very tempted to get the romper packs! designs are all too irresistible. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but my hubby nagged and nagged so didn't get to buy.

frenlop,

hubby and i take turns to go out with friends. haha! i am the one who is usually more reluctant to go out. 'cos after i had my lil' girl, i really prefer to stay home more. think mothers are all like that? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hubby also always go out for drinks with friends. so last night was my turn lor. hee! but must admit, after having a child, it's difficult to plan anything. everything evolves around her now. when have 2 even worse!

memorable,

i also second medela. one plus point about medela is that the shields have sizes. when u get the pump, the standard shields given are M-size. i forgot the measurement. you can opt to buy shields with slightly larger dimensions ard the nipple area to form a more comfy fit 'cos pumping is supposed to be pain-free.. can't do so with avent, only one size and some mommies complained that avent ones are too tight around the nipples (especially for those more well-endowed) and cause nipples to get very very sore during pumping.

wendy,

slowly buy, still have many months to go. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lynzi,

so shiok! enjoy ur saturday evening! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sorry, went to Philips sales after posting so didn't see d post after. D air fryer is arnd $200+. alot ppl buying. Think is good deal. Buy above $200 can buy birdnest at $33. =)

Hmm I went ahead to buy d Philips duo pump n some milk storage containers. Spend alot.

Sorry, went to Philips sales after posting so didn't see d post after. D air fryer is arnd $200+ I think. Alot ppl were buying. Think is good deal. Buy above $200 can buy birdnest at $33. =) today last day of Philips sales.

Hmm I went ahead to buy d Philips duo pump n some milk storage containers. Spend alot.

Memochoco.. 200++ only meh?? I buy for 349 yest leh... T.T

Janice

Welcome.. Yes.. Most mummies here is due late oct - nov.. =)

Hi Huishan, nice to meet you ^^

Wow I see how many already prepared n started to buy baby stuff, I've not done anything yet :D

Welcome, Janice! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Are you a first time mum too? We have a table that we compile the information of so we get to know our commonalities! So you can fill in the following:

Nick:

EDD:

Gynae:

Hospital:

BB#:

Boy/Girl:

Area you stay in: (Just for fun!)

Morning ladies!!

Welcome Janice!

Today im craving for bak zhang.

Arghhh..so need to find some later.

And yes im going to eat Mac too today as i wana get the coke glass..look so chio.

Will collect all colours to replace the old coke glass..haha

Today is also hubby's bday..tot of baking him a cake but i got no energy.

So looks like will need to hunt for a cake too later.

lynzi

i was craving for bak zhang on weekends too cos my neighbour was cooking bak zhang outside the flat but did not satisfy my craving as my house downstairs de not nice.

lynzi - yes i love the new glass too..wanna get all of them..got the first one alrdy..now im aiming the nice pink one...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] been wanting to eat bak zhang too but now prices so high then pple keep telling me..eat tt get indigestion..esp for preggers...sigh..nvm i wil tahan abit more..maybe in june when the price got back dwn then i eat..tong!!!!

morning ladies!

ent, i just found out that the very famous roast pig is in Ubud (where ur villa is located)... can go there and try.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jasmine,

why never ask your neighbour for some n pay her?

Im sure she wont mind since u are preggy n craving.

My mouth is literally drooling now..imagining it filled with lots of mushrooms n chestnuts..yummy

Leikela,

whoa..u so fast got it.

Yah im aiming esp for pink n purple.

They will intro new colour on which day ah?

Last time was every wed or thurs.

Lynzi

mil told me they cooking kee zhang and is oily, i wont like it one.

huishan

same like u i prefer nonya zhang.

leikela

yes all bak zhang price increase le. early this month my boss ask me order bak zhang for him at this amoy street, uncle say all fully booked till mid june (even after the festival).

wa, so much talk abt bak zhang... makes my mouth water, but i don't dare to eat leh, dunno whether the glutinous rice would give indigestion or not... nowadays digestive system seems cranky...

Good morn mummies!!hope u had a nice weekend!!

I was slacking at home..haha..

talking abt Bak Zhangs - my mum's neighbours make very nice ones!!

but sadly doesn't agree with my system..had it puke it.

hello all,

bak zhang?! it's v indigestive instead. I had 1 few weeks ago and that night i couldnt sleep at all cos bloated stomach. if really wan to eat, must drink chinese tea.

bleh, ent,

i tot u both talked abt villas at bali beach itself so i din comment cos i never stayed there. if u're talking abt villas in Ubud, Bali then i have a v good recommendation for both of u. The Royal Pital Maha resort! i've been there few times. i love the resort cos is v private (the guests next door cant even see you), quiet w nice scenery (pool and bedroom is facing valley). We stayed at the pool villa and had naked sun tanked no one can see! hahaha.... remember to bring some nice CDs or ipod to play ur own music.

starry, how nice is ur hb! even i hav the chance to go out i dun tik i can stay later than 12midnight. actually i had a good conversation w hb last week abt taking care of #1 and #2. since then he has waking up in the mid night to soothe my girl and up early morning to look after my girl so tat i have enough sleep.

airfyer:

thanks mummies for checking out the price. i heard good review abt this and my colleague oso physco me to buy. i'll prob get one fr outside since the sales is alrdy over.

getting babystuff:

for my #1, my late mum was v pantang. so she prohibited me getting anything until 2 months before i delivered. i got most of my stuff fr cheong choon store fr chinatown and the baby hypermart fr kaki bukit.

lynzi - i believe its thurs coz the pink one is out on 2nd june..yeah i got mine on sat night when hubby wanted to tapao macs to eat during the soccer match..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] shape is real nice!

wow, bak zhang! i like! but my tummy doesn't like very much. had one last week and suffered from indigestion. yummy though. haha!

janice,

welcome! when's ur EDD? give us a simple intro? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

did you mommies have an enjoyable weekend? mine was busy and tiring. no rest with an active 7mth old in the house! we went shopping and bought highchair, IP camera (for watching baby when at work. haha) plus gonna get the play yard also, either tonight or tmr.. spending a lot these days.

frenlop,

my hubby owed me! he can suka suka come home late from drinking with friends, go JB for supper etc. i'm the one who is always at home. lol! glad to know that your hubby is more understanding now. my hubby still needs more training, but i won't expect too much lah.. he is the sort of man who will do things, but tries to shortcut a bit! caught him a few times taking shortcut when caring for our babe liao. just yesterday afternoon, he changed her diapers and put it on the wrong side. not the pull-ups k? those side tape diapers!! can't believe he did that. grrr... but now think back it's kinda funny. lol!

Hi Ent29, yes I'm a 1st time mum ^^ my details as follow:

Nick: Janices

EDD: 9/11/11

Gynae: TLC Dr Paul Tseng

Hospital: TMC

BB#: eh... Wat is this?

Boy/Girl: Girl

Area you stay in: woodlands

Glutinous rice contain lots of wind so easy to get indigestion. Cannot take it on empty stomach.

Starry,

i rented out my play yards.

Think going to stop renting out soon..will clean, disinfect n keep.

Actuali i rent out a lot of things..my bumbo chair, high chair, bouncers, jumperoo, exercauser n lots of toys..lol

Finally got my bak zhang n devouring it now.

Soooo nice n satisfied!