(2011/11) Nov 2011

Good Morning Ladies,

Was on off-in-lieu on Monday, thus today seems like a Monday to me... Monday bluess....

Im into my 7weeks, 2nd appt with new gynae this Fri eve. Hopefully can see bb hb, cos the last round of visit, I was there to cmf pregnancy and cld only see the sac. It was a very worrying past 2weeks.

Wendy- take good care of yourself. rest well.

I have been following this thread for awhile now.

Finally can post in here as im 12w1d today!

Expecting my no 2.

My first one is 3yrs plus.

Hope im welcome here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ent - u shld call ur gyane..u did ur test quite some time back right? my nurse called me the very nxt day to tell me if result gd or not then she said full report get frm my gynae when i go for my nxt appt (which is like a 3 to 4 wk wait) so im sure ur shld be sitting somewhere in the clinic...go call!

hahah meet up..everyone in west meh??!!! got anybody stay in punggol/ sengkang area?

Hi Wendy,

My oscar result is also borderline case. In fact, my reading was worse than yours. 1:315 and I'm 33 this year.

My gynae called me personally to tell me the result as she wants to assure me that everything is fine and she's very sure that BB is ok given that the NT scan is good. As long as the ratio is > 300 we are consider low risk group even if it is borderline case. There must be a cut-off somewhere. She share with me that NT scan is actually more accurate and Oscar does have many false alarm. She does an avg of 3 amnio every wk and in her 10 years of practice she has only 2 cases of DS.

She refused to let me go for amnio even if I harbour any thoughts. Actually detail scan in wk20 can pick up abnormalities too.

My worst case scenario will be if detail scan pick out something then I will go for amnio and touchwood abortion can still be carry then.

For now, I very hopefully that BB is gonna be ok...

So dun worry too much ya :D

Morning ladies! Gg suntec to shop for clothes before gg for my OSCARS in d afternoon.

Rainzz

Its ok to consume abit of liver coz we need iron. Everyting juz eat in moderation. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Leikela

Hehe. I moved out of Punggol recently. Would love a mit up wif all d mummies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jjj,

me too having a bit of 'monday' blues.. hope the next few days quickly pass!

lynzi,

welcome and congrats! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] we have a very good mix of 1 timers and 2nd/3rd timers here.

leikela,

we have have a central gathering in future also. a lot of friends i know now stay in punggol/sengkang area. many many young families there.

aabunny,

YES I do feel bloated but I must admit, less bad.

Do you all still puke?

When I bloated, I still have the want-to-puke feeling. Sometimes got a bit... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Morning, ladies!

Been a while since I posted..busy with work..nice to see new mummies joining. Warm welcome [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ent29,

No news means good news ba..try calling the clinic to check, I am sure everything will be fine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Snowpear,

Will be praying for u and ur baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

aabunny,

yes, i still feel bloated after heavy meals. but manageable, not as bad as during 1st tri, where i have painful gassy stomach too.

iemik0 - oh wat a pity! i was at marina sq last fri n bought some clothes for one of the maternity shops there..haha but its more fancy le the dresses tt i chose n found tt fit nicely..haha wanted more office stuff but didnt like the designs tt were suitable for office..oh well...will buy more norm dresses for tt..then can reuse after give birth....

aabunny - yes! i still haf burping n nausea esp in the evenings...i only puked once in my 1st tri...but start of 2nd tri n i already puked twice...not sure..if it will get better for me..or im one of those who will continue throughout...my birthday is in less than 2 wks time n we dare not make dinner plans coz my appetite still bad so dont want to waste money n effort..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

yiaks, and i thought we could eat more peacefully in 2nd trimester.. i also feel bloated although not as bad.. and i cannot really drink milk or related stuffs, the bloatedness gets worse... do you still drink powdered milk after getting supplements from Gynea?

welcome lynzi!

Starry,

thanks for the welcome!

I really salute u for having another one though your girl is still young.

That time i didnt have the heart to have another one yet as it wasnt easy to get my boy so really love him to bits till it made me resign after my maternity leave ended.

Quite regret now cos the age gap will be 4yrs.

I read got many teachers here??

Who are they?

All the best cos its not easy to be preggy n teaching at the same time.

Can understand u ladies agony of the oscar results.

I didnt do oscar this time round..dont want to give myself unnecessary worry.

Leikela

Oh. Can go suntec level 3. There have more maternity clothes shops. I got a few membership of those shops so go there c c if anyting i like for normal wear. Hehe. Don need wori abt office wear coz in uniform but many comment tt i look as thou i wearing korea traditional wear in it. Super unglam! Lolx.

Aabunny,

I still got ms now.

Practically puke every day. Few weeks back it was so bad that the anti nausea pill dont work cos i puke them out. So went gp for jab n few days later went gynae for ms jab too.

I have been on one month HL partly due to the ms, headache n lethargy and also my gynae dont want to risk it as i have m/c twice within 6 months before this.

Hopefully the ms n headache will end soon as im supposed to go back to work next week.

iemik0 - at least u wear uni not need mafan..hahah..for me..now i just wear my dresses..n dont care if got bump showing or not..quite obvious liao..hahaha..

aabunny - i stop taking the calcium supplements coz i gag..so i hafta take milk but haf not been very diligient abt it...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi I.tulips,

You mean your OSCAR results is also borderline cases like mine? What was your result? So u went for amnio?

Pls share.

Hi Ladies, I am now at the clinic waiting to see my gynae to understand more... Very nervous. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

my OSCAR result is 1:3000 and my gynae told me is normal. Reading the posts here, it seems like mine is rather high?!

Medicine:

since sat, i have told to stop 'an tai' medicine but continue w folic acid and new supp calcium and Vit C to disolve water and drink.

Gassy stomach:

I couldnt sleep well for the past few days due to gassy stomach. are you having the same problem like me?

travel/babymoon:

gynae said ok to travel during 2nd trimester... so i have alrdy booked for the gold coast trip next mth. im so looking forward to the trip!

wendy,

i have booked my amnio.

just some info. if oscar results is > 1:300, it generally means not in the high risk. but a 1:1000 results would have been more reassuring.

i suppose most people will take the benchmark of your background risk, which is the age risk ratio as the mark. for eg., someone with background risk of 1:600. if her oscar turns out to be about 1:600, it is not in the high risk zone. it meant that she got pregnant not taking the test and her risk is as such. if she had a 1:399, she might not be in the high risk, but it poses a question as to whether she thinks it's worth to do amnio cos technically, her risk is higher than her background risk.

of cos, this risk also meant that she has a higher risk to take amnio cos m/c due to amnio is 1:200. so it's a gamble.

some people in such borderline cases do not go for amnio but go for a even more detailed fetal screening. there is one done by a famous gynae at camden and i think kkh does it also.

lynzi,

is this pregnancy more difficult for you than the previous one? hope the MS and headache goes away. otherwise really cannot function at work like that. don't be so worried about age gap, may be a blessing too! 'cos your boy will help take care of his didi/mei mei. gap too close also headache. have to handle consecutive terrible-twos stage! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

both pregnancies came as surprises. hubby and i didn't plan for our girl as we wanted to enjoy couplehood first but strike during honeymoon. i warned him about conceiving again after birth 'cos heard before women are very fertile those 6 mths after they pop. hubby said nvm, want to enjoy and so heng strike again after just one time when my babe was just 3mths+. really, really tiring! but luckily my mom helps me. otherwise i don't think i can handle my girl alone with 2nd baby on the way. and it was very strenuous on my body too. had a lot of bleeding episodes during 1st tri. got couple of times were so bad i thought i had miscarriage. but thank God everything's fine and well now!

wendy,

all the best!! update us on your decision.

frenlop,

1:3000 is okay. i remember for my girl i had 1:2000++. normal le.

wah,thread so busy!!

Vis - nov mummies gathering shld be fun

sophia - dun worry too much!results shld be good

wendy - update us and will pray hard for u ya.

JJJ mummy - Welcome and stay positive!

lynzi - Welcome!very nice mummies here

snowpear and i.tulips - will pray hard alls well for u

iemik0- my cousin overate liver way over moderation thats y she warned me abt it. Happy shopping and good luck with Oscars

frenlop - your results are fine

aabunny - i still have MS lesser but in the evenings.

bloated and hard belly..

Thanks koi n rainz. I hoping it to get it off now. My gynae say if i already got a skin doc, then he wun recommend me any. I cant take eggs nor peanuts now. It jus got worse if i do so. Only drink lot of water n eat less heaty foods. The itch will go away if i bath. But come back within an hour. Now its spreading to my face. Trying not to scratch but its jus too itchy.. Nvr have allergy before. But preg really pop out alot of nono for me.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ssbaby -i got outbreaks on my forehead when b4 preg i never get outbreaks before.

rem to bathe cooler water and avoid letting wind blow at u coz sometimes makes it more itchy.

i have 1 ex client who has "purple" pigmentation all over her body when she got preg.

it started with her neck then spread to entire body.

after her baby pops,her pigmentation slowly reduce until left her legs.

starry, yah loh, everysince I knew I am preggie, I feel so sian abt work. Totally no mood to work at all. I really dun know what's wrong with me. I shd be happy since I wanted another child so much, but just cant help feeling down. I even told my hubby that at this rate I will go into depression soon.

jjj mummy - u have MS or feel very sleepy?thats y no mood to work.

when u feel down,u come to this forum to chat..at least wnt think so much

ssbaby, jjjmummy,

you girls just hang in there. all will go away soon and once you pop you will forget all that you have been through. so just have to grin and bear with it. jia you!

Starry,

yah this pregnancy is more difficult.

Can totally understand how worrying it is when u are in the situation esp after seeing the blood.

My 2 m/cs previously also had spotting n bleeding.

So for this one i have been praying real hard n crossing my fingers n toes.

Rainz,

Im also a shopaholic..haha

Those looking for maternity cum nursing wear, can drop by www.gothemilkyway.com

its owned by my good fren and i help her to design some of them.

Good quality, made in singapore.

We will be having a booth at the expo baby fair in june.

Ssbaby,

have u been to the doc to check on your rashes?

If its allergy then once u dont come into contact with the offensive thing, your rashes will go away.

I hope its not PUPPP as that one will only go away after u give birth or after confinement.

starry - hahaha..i can do it liao!!thanx

mummies who have FB can help me post this for a friend whose dad ran away again:

friend's dad - ALZHEMIER diease, can be dangerous if PROVOKED, CURRENTLY MISSING ON A SILVER SMALL PASSENGER LORRY WHICH TOOK OFF this morning from Serangoon Garden Tavistock Park. CARPLATE : GY 3601

MID 70'S

BLACK / WHITE HAIR

FAIR

BUILT: MEDIUM

LEGS ARE WEAK BUT ABLE TO WALK

WHITE SHIRT, WHITE SINGLET INSIDE, SHORTS

Please contact 96675228/98303715/96675228/62868225.Police have been contacted

Leikela and Starry: I called before earlier on, about 1.5 weeks after my appointment, but they said it would take about 3 weeks!! I suppose cos they have to send it down to the hospital since this is a private clinic not located in the hospital?! I also don't know. Anyway I told them to SMS me when my results are in leh.

Aabunny: I remember you also don't like powdered milk, like me. I haven't drunk powdered milk for a while and when I did about a week ago, the milk powder all congealed together. Eeee so gross I don't like! Hoping that drinking Greenfields milk will be better. :p

Lynzi: Welcome!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Congrats on passing the 1st trimester! I thought mine would never end and thought the MS would never end, but mine has waned a little! Strong oily smells still make me pukey though. :p Anyway, 4 years gap is okay lah. My bro and I are 4 years gap and I like cos I have a nice big korkor to take care of me! And btw, I'm a teacher. Are you too? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ohh so this is how you change your font colour...Easier to distinguish! And easier for the rest of us to see where we left off reading!

ent29- which milk powder is icky?i dun dare try and i got samples of similac mum from gynae but havent try.

hehehe..so i stick to fresh milk for now.

i tink the forum slowly become very colorful..haha

lynzi

congrats! no wonder all the foods on ur FB! i was guessing mayb u r preg but didnt mention cos not 3months yet. walk less, rest more k. same like u, my tis preg always headache, vomit more than #1 too. but not everyday.. nw already goes off le. JIA YOU k! when is ur edd?

Ent29,

i taught in a pri sch for nearly 6 years.

I resigned 2 mths after i came back from maternity.

At that time, my p wasnt helping. He's young n new so very ambitious n no compassion at all.

I had to be subject head without my will so its very stressful.

My baby was still young..woke up twice every nite to feed as i bf him totally.

And i had so much work to do that i only sleep at 2 or 3am every nite.

My dh said sth that made me think hard..he said "U are so busy teaching other people's kids. Pls dont end up that u dont have time to teach your own kid."

For 6mths, i only did freelance enrichment.

Only when my boy turned 1 then i went back to work but doing a less stressful job of admin in civil service.

Jasmine,

hihi!!

I did guess i know u but im not sure which jasmine are u..haha

Yah all the food with all sorts of craving but will puke out.

Worse is i have been puking at 11pm at nite..sigh

My edd is on 28 nov.

Ent29,

how long have u been teaching?

If p mgmt are supportive then should be less hard.

wow, our thread is getting more and more colorful! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lynzi,

not easy to tbf. how long did you bf your son for? i am hoping to bf this second child for longer period than my girl, whom i stopped when she turned 3mths old.

rainzz,

most milk powders taste yucky 'cos they are so sweet! the similac mum is horrible. unless you have sweet tooth lah. otherwise imagine drinking hot vanilla milk shake. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] sticking to those fish oils and supplements from gynae is enough le.

sorry to hear about your friend's father! hope he will be safe and found quickly. very poor thing le.

Dear all mummies,

Hope we all can meet up soon. I stay at Jurong East area so JP or town area shd not be a prob! =)

Anyway, jiayou for those mummies who are opting for the amino test. I pray and hope everything went well!

Any mummies have FB? So we all can add one another? =)

xin - welcome!most prob we'll meet after majority stop having MS.

starry - ya very poor thing..but apparently this wasn't the 1st time he ran away.

re: milk powder - eeks..liddat i not taking the milk powders liao

Rainzz: The one my mum bought for me is Enfamum...I always phobia of powdered milk cos I can't stand the smell...Nowadays with vanilla it isn't so bad, but so sad that the milk powder clumps tog!! But it's not that sweet though...

Lynzi: Wow, you really took it hard then huh. More schools are becoming family friendly these days though. And I think mine is quite hard up to keep their teachers, so got various options. Have a very supportive HOD who's a dad himself, so thank God for that. I've been working for about 2 years...On the other hand, it's my hubby who will not want me to stop work cos he's forever worrying about money. Ha. So yah lor...

Starry: Nooo...I did it at my clinic...So from the clinic, they have to send to a hospital to get the results, then I suppose the results have to be sent back to the clinic...So yah lor, guess that's why it'll take longer...But I must call them already!!!

hmm, milk powder clump together? no leh... mine do not leh... ha ha, my hubby super happy when i drink the milk powder... he was just sitting there grinning away when he saw me guai guai prepare some milk powder for myself. first time i drink milk powder after a long break...

im drinking the dumex one...n its ok le..not sweet...just nice..i tried one brand's sample..cant rem which one..was sooo sweet..but now i got a can of similac coz they gave when i signed up for the FBI at TMC..so guess i will drink tt next..but yest..always feel so bloated then lazy to drink even tho my hubby say he make for me....every morn noe kena scolding when he rem i never drink milk the night before...

Starry,

I only tbf for 7 mths.

My boy was a voracious feeder..cant keep up with him especially after he started on solids.

Even now at 3 yrs plus he still drinking lots of milk.

Ent29,

good that your school is supportive of parents.

Last time i want to pump also very hard..must find empty classroom to pump.

I havent tried drinking the powdered milk before. My sil gave me 2 boxes of milk samples of enfamum and s26 mama but i have yet to try. Scared will puke again.

Thanks for your word of encourage and advice...

I visited my gynae and understand more about it now... he stil told me it's up to me if I would like to proceed to do CVS (2% risk of miscarriage), amnio (0.5% risk of miscarriage). He told me actually above 300 is fine, since my result is 1:333, but some couple wants to have 99.9% assurance.

He told me he has patients who are borderline cases like mine, and 90% of them did not opt for further test like cvs or amnio. I asked if the babies turn out healthy.. he said "yes".

Before I left I still asked him what would be his advice as a doctor to me... should I go for further test? He said "No, no need to do further test". After hearing this, I feel more relief and decided not to go for further test (as of now).

Nonetheless, I will still pray for my baby's good health and hope my pregnancy and everything for the baby turn out fine.