(2011/11) Nov 2011

wendy - phew,glad u r feeling more relieved now..will help u pray for baby's good health too.

re: milk powder my frd rec ANMUM/ENMUM choc ..she says taste not bad.but she stop after she got too heaty n have outbreak

Wendy - dont worry..im sure everything will turn out fine! just have faith n be brave! oscars is just a gauge..n its not a definite...just keep having positive thoughts ya...

hey i rem some of u ladies exchange fb details the last time? who ah? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: oscar result,

thanks for ur reply. what is considered low and high risk .

wendy, u will be fine. dun think too much. the more you worry abt the more -ve effect. So, think positively or dun tik too much. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] jia you!

re: milk powder

i nvr drank milk powder througout my 1st pregnancy. i was told by gynae 1 glass of fresh milk a day is sufficient. she said the powder milk is for those with poor diet, picky eaters or vegetarian. if diet ok, then normal milk is more than sufficent. otherwise, is very fattening. for this preg, i'll oso take normal fresh milk.

Hi Rainzz, Leikela, Frenlop,

many thanks for advice and well wishes...

Btw, have you gals heard of cannot move the bed when you are pregnant? I moved my bed yday cos I dropped something under the bed and I could not reach it.. so I moved to picked the thing... will anything happen to my baby? I am now getting worried... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Also, do any one of you experience right abdomen cramps at times? Is it normal?

i get cramps once in awhile...last night when i went to pee at night..got sudden sharp pain on my left lower area then it spread all the way to my side..after a while ok..i got ask my doc before what kinda cramps is bad..n he said as long no spotting shld be fine and also most of the time cramps affecting the baby is in the ctr one...side shld be fine..so my rule is unless i haf continuous cramps tt is unbearable tt i roll in pain! i will ignore it n just 'rub' the area n try to loosen the tense muscles...

wendy,

all these are superstitious old wives tales. if really so 'zun', my daughter won't be around today! i guess it just means when pregnant, don't move heavy things which is same as what gyanes all around the world would tell you. if you were to follow strictly to all these superstitions, then life will be very very difficult for you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] please just relax and enjoy your pregnancy.

some ridiculous superstitions i heard:

- cannot go zoo as baby will come out looking like the animals you saw there.

- cannot look at monkeys or see monkey pics.

- cannot cut things on the marital bed as baby will have cleft lip.

- cannot watch horror films as will cause miscarriage.

- cannot lift up your hands during pregnancy as the action will pull the milk ducts end up no milk for baby.

- cannot eat cooling stuff as baby will have asthma.

- cannot drink coke as baby will be very hyperactive.

- cannot eat crabs/sotong as baby will come out with 'many hands'.

- cannot eat durians as baby will have eczema problems.

- cannot drink soya milk if having baby boy as he will turn gay/sissy.

some cramps feel like period cramps which is caused by the uterus stretching to accommodate the growing baby. the sharp pulling pains ard the abdomen or near the sides of the tummy are caused by the round ligaments being stretched. just be careful and don't suddenly stand up from sitting position. anyway, won't cause any harm to the baby.

Wendy,

your gynae has assured u.

Dont worry too much.

Most of the time its nothing so dont think too much about it n hope for the best.

As for moving bed, like Starry said its just a superstition.

The underlying reason is not to carry heavy things or do streneous work.

I got cramps on my left side too for 2 days.

But its on n off.

I got worried so shake my tummy a bit n ask baby if baby is fine in there n he/she moved. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wendy - yes, i have cramps on off too.tink is normal as long as there's no bleeding/spotting.

yes, i was told abt the bed thingy..

my tummy is bloated n hard..like constipated.haha

omg i am watching CSI,Bones etc..and today is Southpark cartoon

how many of u mummies can feel the flutters/ quickening already? is this ur first baby? and how many wks are u? which area do u feel it? low or high?

ahaha i was trying to feel last night by keeping very still on my bed..then tried to give baby a shake to see if will response..got 1 time i feel like a hard bang to the left side..nxt to the belly button haahh dunno if i imagine..or i shake then the water in my tummy move lol

leikela - i can feel like rapid beats..duno izit my intestines/gas or simply imagination.

asked my hubs to listen..he can entertain me abit like - ya,i can hear HB ..haha..very exciting hor..

wendy,

glad your gynae gave you some positive insights. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rainzz,

southpark is nice?? i enjoy watching happy tree friends. hee hee!! can watch with my hubby and laugh till sides ache.

leikela,

i've been feeling movements for quite a while already as this is my #2. feeling them kinda low, like 3inches below the navel. but hard to judge based on high or low 'cos baby will change position all the time. sometimes will move left and right also. try again tonight?? maybe will have more obvious response!

rainzz - hahah rapid beats?? can hear hb..i use doppler also hard to hear lor..lol but maybe coz urs is twins hahaha less space...squeezzeeeeee then closer to surface lol..

starry - ya maybe tonight try again..but i noe my baby super naughty..like to move here n there..so by right shld be easy for me to feel but maybe i thick skin like the doc say..lol

starry - southpark abit violent n lame...they are racist,vulgar etc..but very farnie.

watched on funshion

sometimes i watch jap anime too..read subtitles.haaa

leikela- ya lor..i nvr buy anyting to listen to hb.hehe

back from kkh. waited damn long to get my scan done. not hapi wif their services but no choice. haiz.

anyway, my results were 1:3200. low risk. =)

edd changed to 18/11/11. can psycho my dr next wk to let mi deliver on 01/11! kekez.

leikela

my bump quite obvious too. when stand beside my colleague who is due in july, our tummy machiam same size. lolx. mayb #3 so bigger plus mi ba ba. =p

Thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I will try to be more +ve.

I can feel baby movements more at nite when im lying on my bed.

Its more on my right few inches below the navel.

Will sometimes move more to the centre or move up a bit.

Iemiko,

Hope u get ur 1 Nov baby! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lynzi,

Same for me, feel more movements when I lie down at night. Really love the little movements.

Hi moms

Hope everybody is doing good.

Been away from thread for a while. Was down w bad cough then passed to dd and hb. Now whole family on antibiotics.

The day i had oscars on fri, it was a bad day. Went to c gp for my cough and dd' high fever. Then went for the test. Only got my results today. Verdict, i have to go for amnio test. My blood test is terrible 1:35. I think worst among all of you. It pulled down my avg results to 1:100+ instead of 1:300. Means high risk. The next test amnio will be on wk 16, 8 june. I have to go alone prob with my parents as hb wd not be able to be in sg for work.

I dun like the feeling to going alone for the test. Dr Lim says after amnio test, need at least 3 days of bedrest and 5days of antibiotics with ang tai pills. Dun like the idea.

This pregnancy, i have taken many medication for cough. Now with the bad blood test result, I am still in a state of shock. I compared to my dd' report and realised this time all my results are poorer compared to back then. This caught me in surprise and I am still in disbelief. Cannt say my age dun play a part. Dun know if friday the 13th played a joke, but it sure affected my results. No more major decision during friday the 13th.

When i told my mil and mom, they dun seem to be concerned. Maybe they dun know this test is for down syndrome.Mom says i am not as careful abt food intake as compared to last time etc and I am sick so blood test no good. I think blood test is very indicative of DS if scan cannt detect. I am preparing myself for the worst. I hope i can pull thr e test. Dr Lim says usually it is false alarm but i am not so sure or convinced. Otherwise the dr change from the image center wont suggest amnio test. The results will take 3 weeks. I wonder if this can speed up. Maybe need to pay more?

Hope all of us going for amnio test esp those below age 35 can do well. Im sure my case is one of the highest risk at the moment. Keep fingers crossed.

Simp - i suspect it might be your meds that could affect your results.hope on 8 june,ur amnio results will be fine.

If your parents could acc u to go would be good as u might not be able to do much stuff.

have to stay positive till then ok?

hope u get well soon and baby will be fine.

Wendy-Glad that you had made your decision not to go for amino,dont worry your bb will be fine.I heard from ppl not wise to move bed but its old wives tale,i did moved my bed as i need to change my bedsheets.Few days ago,my bedroom got a huge cockroach,me and hubby had a hard time catching it and he did somehow moved the bed as well.

Simp-Your bb will be fine.There is so many cases that mummies went for amino but still turns out fine,my friend is one of them.Must be postive,try talking to your bb.Pray hard.

leikela: i use my hand to feel baby's heartbeat. but dunnoe is it my imagination. hehe. i can feel at one side, there is a small thump beating repeatedly and i suppose is baby's heartbeat.. but sometimes need to search ard coz sometimes baby move ard... hopefully wat i feel, is really baby's heartbeat..

hey hey i live in punggol too. =)

nowadays i keep going to toilet to poo and often farting.. (sorry to be disgust) [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

is it alright? anyone experiencing that? im into 12week plus...

morning ladies!

wendy

OSCARS is onli 80% accurate. don hav to wori k. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rainzz

thanks! mi lost wt for d laz 2 wks but still big bump. mayb im reali super bloated. lolx. lotsa air in my tummy!

starry

i reali hope i get tt date! dr abit hard to psycho. lolx.

simp

cheer up babe! usually false alarm. out of so many cases i heard from my other colleagues, onli 1-2 diagonsed DS in a yr. don wori k. bed rest is necessary. by rite, results will usually be out in 2wks. its not wat u did or ate tt caused it so dont blame urself k.

leikela & all mummies!

can add mi in FB. [email protected] (personal acc) & [email protected] (my lil online shop) do drop mi a note tt u're from SMH Nov11 & ur nick k. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good morning my fellow preggies!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ahh lynzi dear u are here! Hihi! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re Oscar test:

It's just an estimate, and I can testify that a bad Oscar result is not definitive, as many people incl me have found out. The NT scan if done properly could be a good gauge though i personally feel the blood test is no good (waste my money and tears only!!) Only the amniocentesis or cvs is conclusive that's also why some of my friends skip oscar and straight away do amnio instead.

So Wendy and Simp, dun think too much (nor cry too much now) about the Oscar results, just go do your amnio first! Btw the rate of m/c due to amnio I believe is a global estimate that docs and websites conveniently use, the actual % should be very very low, esp if u're under the good hands of an experienced doc. I felt no pain at all when I did amnio 3 yrs back, after that rested and drank a lot of fluids, and by the time I went back for review, all the amnio fluids were replenished [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and oh yes if u wish to get amnio results faster u can pay a couple hundreds more for express 3-day results (the standard is 2 weeks I believe?)

Just to make u feel a little better about the amnio, u can also find out the gender of baby, 100% accurate cos can tell by the chromosomes!

So cheer up dearies! Things may not be as bad as u fear [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wendy,

since gynae has reassured u and u have decided to go ahead. be positive and everything will be fine. =)

milk powder:

i haven taken milk powder yet! used to take annum when i had no 1. think dumex taste is also ok. for now, i take either marigold fresh milk or meiji fresh milk.

talking about csi, southpark, i just caught some glimpse of pirates of the carribean last weekend. hb loves to watch csi, fringe, simpsons etc but i've stopped watching with him. now only watch reality shows like amazing race, survivor, apprentice. lol

simp,

i was actually same as u as in that it's the blood test that causes all the ratio to be so bad. i was also having a sore throat and cough that day. actually had the thoughts of doing another oscar but decided against it. let's just pray hard and stay positive.

as for amnio, i have friends who did it and all went fine. i think an experience gynae is impt as well as being good and not move ard for the first few days.

there is a rapid result which costs about additional 270. and u get the result for the 3 chromosomes within 3-4 days. the rest will still need to wait for about 3 weeks.

vis,

there were times when i felt like i need to go toilet often. and stools were soft. it lasted about a few days. there were also times i was so constipated. :p

little bb - ru yi oil shld b ok coz is for babies mah...tiger balm i not sure thogh.

iemik0 - me oso lost weight.haaa..muz be the gas

#2OTW - good morning!!

l.tulips - most american dramas i've watch liao,still prefer bloody ones.haaa..hopefully is ok.

wendy, stay positive and be happy! someone tells me happy mummy will have happy baby! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

simp, stay strong [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] things will work out!

i pass gas quite a fair bit (especially when i am constipated) and also burp quite a lot after meals...

Morning ladies!!

#2 OTW,

hehe..my dear fren, been waiting for u to come in.

Nic n work keeping u busy is it?

Yes im finally here after crossing the 12 weeks hurdle.

U know lah my past experiences made me so scared.

Simp,

dont worry too much.

Most of the time its not the case.

Will be good if u have someone to accompany u for the amnio.

Meanwhile, try not to think about it yah..distract yourself by doing other things.

Happy mummy = happy baby

do u gerls set up any FB group just for Nov 2011 mummies?

morning girls...

re OSCAR, my test results for #2 is 1:344. as compared to my #1, his results was 1: 4161!!! vast difference. however, gynae didnt make special highlight and i tried to think it'll be fine since he didnt say anything. so dont worry too much.

gynae's guess is that #2 will be a girl. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry: I love your list of superstitions...My MIL also told me on my wedding day not to sit on the bed if not pregnancy will not be smooth. Another that baffles me!

Thanks all you ladies for sharing about cramps and movements...After a while of nothing, I'm starting to feel some cramps here and there and was a little startled. Then debating with myself if it's baby movements or if it's still the uterus expanding. :p

Lynzi: Don't have a FB group for Nov 2011 mummies yet...Haven't announced my pregnancy on FB yet though...Wanted to keep it secret as long as no one sees my tummy, then SURPRISE!!! Haha!

Arghh it's only 11plus and I'm hungry for lunch already! Hmm... What shall I have for lunch? Yesterday had sinful kfc, heehee, so today better eat something healthier! :p

Wow a lot of u like action pack movies, I prefer sob sob movies, i can cry buckets if the storyline is moving enuf, very therapeutic wor! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but nowadays I'm a little worried that baby will pick up negative emotions, so cut down already. Besides my boy usually dominates the TV, sigh we all have to watch cartoons and BabyTV channel with him!! Maybe I can also consider this as prenatal education?! Haha!!

simp,

may be really a false alarm, so don't jump to conclusions and think of the worst just yet. get the amnio done first. i think someone here mentioned before you can pay more to get results back faster. extra $200-$300 or so. check with your gyane? by the way, did you tell your gynae that you are on meds and antibiotics? certain drugs can cause antibodies to flood your bloodstream and may cause variations in your blood test results, so it may not be accurate le. but whatever it is, think positively okay? *hugs*!

vis,

me too, having more urge to fart. :p and tummy is forever gassy! don't know when will this go away...

iemiko,

leave the psychoing part to later bah. wait till 3rd tri and baby is growing well and big then easier to psycho! my friend's baby was measured to be around 3.5kg before full term so even the gynae advised her to c-sect early in case baby grew too big by week 40 and harder to push out. so u just feast more on durians once you are in 3rd tri. confirm works! hee hee!! btw, i've added u on FB. i'm jacqueline. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bleh,

congrats, one boy one girl! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ent29,

huh? so weird de? don't sit on marital bed then sit where? lol! another ridiculous one i heard.. if didn't do proper confinement and got headache after that, need to fry pigeon shit with some herbs to cure it. (-_-)!!!

Oh yes I'm also getting some aches and light cramps this week, should be due to uterus expanding. Now I can't stand up quickly from sitting position, esp if I had been sitting down for long time, or else will feel a sharp pull at lower abs!! Time to start applying my clarins oil! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Making my lunch..chicken wings roasting in the oven. Will make some mashed potatoes to eat with salad of rocket, mushroom n bit of feta cheese.

Soooo hungry liao.

Leikela,

can create secret group then none of our frens can see us posting.

Only members can see.

lynzi

ur lunch sounds so yummy!

starry

added ya! ur ger is so adorable! kawaii! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my dr abit slow one. take veri long to psycho so muz start earli. lolx. but he veri nice la. allow my hb to go into OT wif mi. my previous dr don allow at all. hehe.

Ocars Test

Thanks to all moms for the readily available advice and support. I am still baffled by the blood results, how come so low though i din feel it. The day that i went for the test, i was sick but havn started any medication but i was unprepared for this seriously. I am not really feeling the news yet nor exactly worried, just shocking to know my oscar din turn out well. Mentally im just preparing for the worst, emotionally i wd only know when i go for amnio and see the results. Initially wanted to tell my friends abt my bb. now i wd have to hold on until wk 19 when the amnio results are out. Wd do prayers for mommies involved in amnio test that all will be well and no other form of abnormalities as well for all. For this pregnancy, I am more convinced that we can never be too careful abt our bb at all times until the bb is out.

Hunger

Yes i do feel hungry almost every few hours, like midday or middle of the night. It will wake me up and i need to take some biscuits to fill e hunger.

Nov 11 mommies Facebook

It is a great idea and avenue for sharing info, gathering etc and milestones. Let me know if this materialise.

Reno

My sg flat is now in the midst of sourcing for vendors to do window grilles, changing of doors and hob. For sure, i wont be in the flat, has asked my parents or inlaws to be ard to see to the job. I hope all goes well.

Is there any mom that has ventilation fan installed in ur bathroom, esp for hdb? Im keen to find out as i find the ventilation in my master bedroom bathroom is not ideal and i have to wash the floor very often to get rid of dirt.

Movies, shows etc

This time i also more slacked in the choice of shows. Last time i only choose to watch happy shows or comedy. This time, watched more horror looking shows like fringe, aliens etc. Too ugly or violent, i just closed my eyes till it' over.

Cramps

I think i wd start to have cramping soon, looking at my belly, i feel like a pregnant lady though the clothing doesn show much at the moment. I shd start to look ard for stretch mark anti-itching cream soon to prepare.

i tot if create a fb group, then if u join in. ur frenz will noe that u have join a group or fanpage in the daily status update.. though they cant see our posting unless they join in the group..

correct me if im wrong.

who wan to create a fb page? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

iemiko,

lol! wanna laugh when you said your doc a bit slow one. wahahaha! OT meaning during c-sect? my hubby wasn't allowed into the OT with me when i had c-sect under GA. horrible experience for me le.

thanks for the compliment about my girl! she's a babe lah. super manja. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lynzi,

i'm hungry visualizing your lunch! feel like having chicken wings too. miss IKEA ones. yum yum... you like feta cheese huh? i'm a bit scared of the strong flavor. but if add in correct proportion to the salad it is very nice!

My lunch quite chin chye one.

The chix wings i marinated earlier like 1 or 2kg of it then put in freezer.

Will just take out n roast when i feel like it.

Usually will finish within a week.

Potatoes dump into my electric steamer then just mashed.

Salad just dump n toss with bit of vinagraitte n EVOO.

Vis,

i think that time when my fren created the secret fb page she added us all in liao.

I didnt see any status update on it.

Too bad i dont know how to do it..quite cuckoo about techie stuff.

Maybe those who know better can explain?

lynzi,

ur lunch sounds so yummy..... i love marinated chicken wings. hehehe.....

fb

add me too if there is a secret page...

my tummy has been making alot of noises that i'm so pai seh cos got colleagues sitting beside me. he must be wondering why i am "soooooo hungry" that the stomach growls so loud. haha

Hi all Mummy ; )

I glad to know tat got this forum to share our pre-pregnancy experience & some good buy ...as i'm 1st time mum so abit gong gong duno wat to take care & avoid .. anyway happy to know u all ;) good day

lynzi

U sounds like an experienced cook, reminds me of my mom. She wd usually marinated her meat and freeze them. Whenever she wants, she just take from freezer and cook. Sounds convenient and tasty. Maybe i shd do that as well for my family.

Welcome magwonder [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

l.tulips

Yeah, i was having cough since last mon only saw gp on fri when im back to sg and also dd on high fever. So im forced to c gp and take antibiotics, my course shd end tmw but still mild cough. Hb also say maybe we shd do another blood test or that time shd have informed gynae that we were sick then and shd hv postponed the oscar. However he says since amnio test booked, just go for it. Maybe when im back to sg in 2 wks' time, i shd call clinic and check w gynae then. When' ur amnio test? Mine on 8 june, i wd c gynae a few days b4 amnio test. Once i finished antibiotics and bedrest, then i wd fly out of sg.

Simp,

its a lazy person way of cooking..hehe

Pop in oven n i can go do sth else.

Im going for my gynae check.

Everytime go will feel the jitters..sigh

Doesnt help that i just puked half my lunch out.

oh my..today whole day out of mtg...need to catch up..haha

FaceBook - hmmmm i can try to figure it out..see if I can set one up...I think maybe this kinda page can have a few admins if anyone wants to volunteer..when i set it up..can include a few admins so can help to manage the page n approve pple? Let me try it out later k..ill let u girl know..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vis - punggol where where...anyway the hb u feel..cld be urs? ahha i know i can feel mine since like hmmmm....8 wks or so? but possible tt at this stage its the baby also [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

feel so sickish today..need to try n feel abit better!!! n its only thursday...sian!!!!

lynzi,

it's also a smart way of cooking! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and delicious too, yeah? hwy, update us on your visit. post some pics of your little one too. suck on some sweets will help with the nausea?

re: heartbeat

baby is so tiny, can literally feel heartbeat from tummy? the heart is only a few mm big le. plus amniotic fluid surrounding the baby then layers of muscles and skin...