(2011/11) Nov 2011

thanks rainzz, ha ha, i am not an online shopper... i usually like to be able to touch and see and hold the product!

eeks, did i get the wrong clarins stretchmark oil? is it yellow with a white lid? how come the instructions say must wash off? hmmm...

wa sey, i get hungry every 3 hours... better start monitoring my weight

Sorry to interrupt. I am selling away my tummy wrap to any interested mothers-to-be. Good for tightening tummy post-delivery!

The Cinch Signature tummy wrap is a favourite among new mums, especially Caucasian celebrity mums.

Selling my pre-loved tummy wrap bought originally at S$129 (due to higher exchange rate of US dollar half a year ago).

Size: XS-M (fits 26" to 34" waistline)

My Price to you: $60

Condition: 8/10 (used less than 10 times cos I was lazy)

To read more about this product:

http://www.byanew.com/post-preggo/cinch.html

Please private message me if interested because I do not check the forum regularly. Thank you!

aabunny - i used to be like u muz see touch n feel..until i have to stay home for bed rest..then i go for online shopping.

hhahaha

u can check outside,then buy online same items but way cheaper.

no,u got the correct oil lah if the name is body treatment oil (Huile tonic)..i nvr wash off coz i mix with the cream..and i wasn't taught to wash it off.haahaha

i followed my frd's method since she have no MARKS!

gain weight is good leh..i lost weight due to MS.sibeh sian

aabunny,

i also stay in the far west - pioneer. luckily got MRT 2mins away. otherwise very inconvenient. i'm an online-shopping addict, trying to curb all the shopping but sometimes a bit hard. haha!! online shopping really saves me a lot of $$. sometimes i'll check out the original items in stores first then go online to buy.

recently just bought the sacred tea for boosting milk supply during bfing. kiasu hor? saw promo on BP (http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5429381.html?1305529807) so bought 6 packs! last time bm supply not very good so stopped when my girl was 3mths old. this time hope can tbf till 6mths. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: prenatal class

a few of my friends went before. they all say if go, most impt is get the hubby to go along to make the $$ worth. otherwise a lot of things you learn now, you will forget 80% later, so why not save the $$ and go on-the-job training instead. especially most of the things you can easily learn from youtube videos (bathing baby, changing, diapering etc.), read from books and online resources (labour pain management, tell-tale signs, pre-natal basic exercises etc) or even by talking to the mummies here. a lot more practical. the classes are not cheap. TMC $180 (with FBI/SBI discount) for 8 classes.

rainzz,

thanks for sharing!! hee hee! cannot show my hubby. later he ban me from shopping. :p

starry and aabunny - i oso stay west..haha...we can meet la kopi/shopping liao.

good things muz share mah..all go broke together.haha

you ladies wanna meet up?? let's have a gathering? i am free on public holidays and weekend mornings/afternoons! we can go for high tea! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but likely i gotta bring my girl along too.

or we can start with west side gathering first. meet at JP. hee hee!!

My gynae just called me on my OSCAR Test results... the scan was ok but the blood test is 1:333. He told me for my age the passing mark is 1:300... so now I am slight above the passing mark. My gynae said it is up to me if I want to do or not... and when I asked if he has patients of similar cases like mine, he said "Yes"... and I asked what would they do? He said that they did not opt for the CVS...

In this case, I dunno if I should go for the CVS... kinda worried... any advice? Please help. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

rainzz,

sure! then can pig out more without having the irritating ms. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

happened to see graco playpens on sale here:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5417921.html?1305519479

wendy,

if it would give you greater peace of mind to do the CVS then go for it? heard that it is a very safe procedure now, with only 1% risk. it's really up to your own personal comfort level. why not discuss properly with your hubby and give yourself a couple more days to think about it?

i stay near jurong point, sure would like to meet up! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I am fine with weekends too... can wait for most ladies to pass their first trimester first ...

prenatal class, my hubby also interested in going.. i recall some classes by Mdm Wong? Or did I get it wrong?

wendy, i am not sure. i thought about such issues before... if the CVS is negative then i will have peace of mind. if the CVS is positive, what would I do? i probably would not do anything since I am Catholic, but if positive, I can at least prepare and read up and pray very hard...

WTS

Natal Care Plus (400mg): Each box of 30 capsules at $14.00 (U.P. $16.05)

http://img831.imageshack.us/img831/8470/img1140sx.jpg

http://img821.imageshack.us/img821/5936/img1141e.jpg

All boxes with Expiry 2013.

Bought too many from Dr Adrian.

================================================

An Australian specially balanced formulation that helps fulfill DHA requirement for fetal / baby brain development, and optimizes the brain development of the fetus and infant.

The core element in NATAL CARE PLUS - Natural Fish Oil - contains DHA and EPA, which is particularly needed during pregnancy and lactation. Apart from that, NATAL CARE PLUS also contains Vitamin E, an anti-oxidant that helps to alleviate the negative impact of free radical formation, and increase normal cell function.

================================================

Cash on pick-up/delivery @ Jurong East or Raffles Place.

Kindly PM or leave SMS at 9 876 1872.

For pictures, pls indicate email address.

aabunny and starry - tink we can start with JP after 1st tri.haha

stop tempting me to shop starry!!i dun dare buy 1st coz wait till boobs get even bigger 1st..though its abit swelling now.haha

wendy - if u r worried,then do the test.but muz be prepared if the results aren't good.

but i believe in staying positive that your baby will b fine!

haiz..need to rant abit..juz spoke to my ex colleague.

she ask when am i gg to do my hair izit coz i am preg cnt do.

then i bo bian have to tell her say i hvnt 1st tri yet need to bed rest and have MS.

then her tone became abit sarcastic n say good lor..now u r preg ( coz when i was hosp at 6 wks when my 3rd embbie say byebye.we were both in the same ward but she had juz miscarriage at 11 wks tat time n have to do dc)

when i noe she lost her baby i consoled her n pass her the chicken essence my frds gave when they visit me coz she got nothing with her and she said she had no tonics.

i called her to check how she was etc..

i expect she shld b happy for me instead of being so sarcastic.

i got abit pissed then i say i spend almost 20K(3k govt grant,3K medisave the rest is cash savings) and 3 times in 2 yrs doing IVF whereby i have to self jab for a period of time to try get the babies.- compared to u who try once n kena baby liao(it's was mean of me but her tone pissed me off)

i was tinking as a frd cnt u juz be happy for me?esp after u noe i tried so hard.

My gynae told me the results are borderline (slightly better than passing mark 300)... so it depends on me if I want to go for the CVS.

I talked to my hubby... but he seems not taking the CVS as he told me the results are ok...just that it is borderline... has any1 of you heard of similar case like me..

I am getting worried... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Wendy-I think i have about similar case like you.Went for my oscar on the 5may at TMC.During scan my bb neck measurement is 2.8mm so on the spot the nurse told me that my bb have risk of getting down syndrome.The nurse advise me to go for amino test but i went for the blood test instead.Later in the evening the TMC nurse who did the scan for me called me personally as my blood test results is out.She called my gynae clinic but had closed and thinking i may be very worried so she called me.

Blood test results OK only,slightly higher than the borderline.Next day my gynae nurse called me and told me that gynae said i dun need to go for amino test.

Hi Little bb,

For me, the sonographer told me the NT Scan is fine... But I think the blood test result that affected the overall results.

So how many wks is your pregnancy nw? So u didn't go for the amino test as per your gynae's suggestion?

My gynea did not ask me to take amino test but he said if I wanna b sure of the results then go... Otherwise, my results r ok (borderline line case - slightly better than the passing mark).

Hi Wendy

Sorry mind me asking how old r u. Mine reading is worst. Adjusted risk is 1:199 so I have opt for amnio test in weeks 16. But I am 36. My scan looks ok but fail my blood test. If you want peace of mind then go if not I think is fine. As cvs need to be done before 14 weeks.

Hi sisters

I have book my amnio on 10th june. Partial result will be out in 2 days as I really worried I can't control my emotion for so long. The more details report out in another two weeks.

Wendy-I am currently 14weeks.I did not went for the amino test since my blood test results is not on the high risk.I have friends who went for the amino test and it turns up fine.I really dun wish to go for another round of test,i hate the waiting part.Since my gynae never advise me to go then that means not necessary.

Pregnant can take cordyceps?I am having cold or wind cough recently.Means only occur at night while laying down to sleep,i cough non stop.Went to ZTP and salesperson suggest me to take cordyceps.I tot pregnant cannot take but he said i am very wrong,pregnant cant take dang gui and tian qi but can take cordyceps,infact very good for mummy and baby.Dunno izzit selling tactic as cordyceps is very expensive.I think i am having anemia as well,anyone taking iron pills?I drink chinese berry everyday heard will increase red blood.Dunno why i got so many problems[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Little bb

Crodyceps is acutally vv good for u n bb.. I hear my colleagues said b4.. Helps wif bb immune system when bb born.. Can only take after 1st tri n take once in 1-2 wks.. I planning to buy n eat.. Worth the try..

Re amnio

I planning to go for amnio also.. But not booked yet.. My gynae is the one doing so think can book vvv fast.. Read online there is risk but the risk is even lower if the doc doing is vvv experienced.. Tt's y it is better to find a doc tt does at least 50 amnio per yr..

Huishan-I heard many people telling me cordyceps is very good but still many ppl said pregnant cannot take cordyceps.I am thinking of buying to boil myself instead of those capsules..So actually what chinese herbs we should avoid?

Starry, Rainzz & Aabunny: Haha! All Westerners? I stay in Clementi, not too far, can go JP to meet you ladies. And Starry! YAY! I finally can meet your little girl!! :D

Rainzz: Sad that sometimes people can't be a little more selfless...Of course, the pain must be quite intense for her, to have lost her baby...But oh well, not everyone can go beyond their pain to be happy for others I guess...

Anyway I am also getting very kan cheong with all the stuff that you ladies are starting to buy! And like so many things to dooooo! Just had a discussion with my mum yesterday about her helping me do my confinement...Then came up the whole issue of childcare, then make the hubs so stressed. Why is it that he doesn't plan ahead, then worry until get irritated. GRRRR.

Hi Babybaby75,

I am 35 in end of November... My result is 1:333. Still discussing with my hubby if I shld go for cvs... Haiz [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ent29 - come come meet us!!but after all our MS stop.

i also worried about child care..haha..i have to handle 2 alone after the CL leave.

i felt bad also after i say the mean stuff..and i am seldom so mean.it's not the 1st time she treated me this way but each time will be soft hearted then help her again..haiz..

wendy - have u checked by when must u let your gynae know abt your decision of the CVS?coz cannot wait too long rite?

little bb - chinese herbs is take after 1st tri.

some foods to avoid are in the links below

http://www.dumex.com.sg/feeding_and_nutrition/article/which_foods_should_i_avoid_during_pregnancy

http://www.babycenter.com.sg/pregnancy/nutrition/foodsafety/

ent29,

Clementi also considered west yah? Hee hee! Glad to know there are so many westerners here too! Okay we wait a few more weeks and have a gathering. You sound so excited to meet her. Later she scare u off le. :p She was very very naughty this morning during brunch. I met up with some friends and their babies earlier and my goodness, she was the noisiest there!! :\ But once we left, she was as meek as a lamb.. Lol!

Rainzz,

Cannot begin to imagine handling 2 right?? Haha!! But I tell u the best thing abt handling 2 or more babies... U get to lose weight FAST! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Me too headache abt childcare for my girl. In a way I gotta handle 2 also but a 1yo little terrorist and a newborn. Thinking back, she was easier to handle as a newborn.

Wendy,

I heard of similar case also. A mummy from my previous birth thread got pregnant while staying in EU ard a yr with her hubby (posted there for work). Her Oscar failed also and the Ang moh docs there actually 'encouraged' her to go for abortion or do amnio. If amnio results come back positive with DS, then they would do strongly recommend abortion. Given this kind of 'wonderful' advices, that mummy also very lost, but in the end decided not to do amnio and keep the baby because her maternal instincts told her she's having a healthy baby. Came out perfectly normal!! So it's really up to u. If u feel better doing cvs and know the results, go for it rather than being agonized for the next 6 mths. And trust ur own maternal instincts and ur baby!

hello all westerner mummies, i also living in Jurong West, jalan bahar side, opp. sheng siong! Yah, i don't mind meet up on sat morning, ie. 9:30 - 11am, while my son is in chinese class, every sat morning, me at JP!! This sat, who wants to meet for brekkie? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rainz: ignore your ungracious friend, this type of friendship not worth to keep! We depend on you to tell us got what sales lobang ok, hee hee! I always find twins are v. amazing and cute though am a twin myself, can't wait to see yours!

ent29: my parents stay clementi too, alot of yummy food at the food centre!

Hi Rainzz,

I plan to call or visit the gynae tomorrow to understand more on report cos he called me yesterday to inform me of the results... I have not seen it personally.

Hi Babybaby75,

Oh really? But my gynae told me it is borderline case for my age. That is why I am worried... he did not told me it is fine.. he used the word "borderline". How come your gynae and my gynae seem to have difference explanation on the results... now I am so confused now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi Littlebb,

May I ask what was your OSCAR result since u mentioned u also fall under borderline result, ie slightly above passing score?

Hi Wendy mine is 1:199 then is failed according to dr s f Loh in Kkh but discuss with your doctor and hubby on this as I can understand how you feel.

Wendy-I havent took my results from my gynae yet,my next app to the gynae is this sat.When my blood test results out,my gynae called me think next day after the oscar test.

Why izzit that so many people said pregnant cannot take cordyceps.My mum told me she gonna brew for me tomorrow,its very exp so told me must take.Huishan also mentioned cordyceps is good for bb,think twice a week should be fine.

starry - havent pop oreadi scared headache.hahaha..muz change my mentality

tiny voice - got lobang i sure post to share.hahaha.. make u mummies gian to shop.starry is oso another online shopper.and yah, i tink muz less contact with tat frd so that i wnt b influence by the negativity...this sat i cnt..paiseh

Wendy - good good..at least when u ask, u understand better whether there's a need to do CVS

Little bb - paiseh i can't help u regarding the cordyceps coz i dun take as i dun like the smell.hee

forgot to add rem dun take pig liver now hor..my cousin advise me coz she took alot unknowingly during her preg..end up too much Vit A..her 1st boy is austistic

I have a question. Do u encounter rashes in ur current or ex preg? My whole hand n thighs are covered with rashes for the 2nd time. Ears are getting it now and Spreading to my face soon.. First time was due to the stretch mark cream. Now, my skin doc suspect its from the colouring my multi vitamins capsules.. Any relief that u can suggest?

Thanks for all your advice... I will talk to my gynae and take a look at the results to understand more before I make up my mind on the cvs or amino.

Keep you posted tomorrow.

ssbaby- b4 my 4 wks when i didn't know i was preg i keep breaking out in hives which is super itchy.

nw at 11 wks plus sometimes i'll itch like mad when i was sleeping.

u try bathing in cooler water and use hypoallergenic soap from brands like QV and Cetaphil..when it itches use a small wet towel to wipe gently on affected areas.

as now due to preg hormones, things u nvr used to be allergic to,u might be allergic to it now.

Little bb

I think Korean ginseng cannot take.. Dangui also cannot eat.. Aloe Vera fruit also cannot eat.. I think I read a list somewhere but cannot rem.. Can search a bit.. N the cordyceps cannot take too often cost vvv heath.. Some once in 1-2 wks can Liao..

Wendy.. B4 u decide amnio or cvs u have to understand the risk n how it is done.. The risk for cvs is higher n most docs are more experience in doing amnio also.. So the risk for amnio is much lower but amnio can only do after 16 wks..

Hi Huishan,

Thanks for your advice... I will take note on this.

By the way, what are the differences between amnio and cvs? How different is the procedure? Any idea how much it costs for amnio and cvs?

wow alot of mummies now in nov thread.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

we shld have a NOV mummies gathering beside westerners... hehe.. shld be nice and fun!

Wendy.. Cvs if not wrong can only be done in 11-12 wks but I heard of ppl doing it on 14 wks... It take the blood of placenta n test for the all the 26 chromosome.. Not just down syndrome.. Risk of mis carriage is 1 in 300 Price I not too sure.. Cos I nv do b4..

For amnio.. It can only be done fr 16-20 wks... Sometimes up to 22wks.. It takes sample fr the amnio acid and the same thing test for all the chromosome.. Risk of miscarriage is 1 in 100 - 200.. Even lower if doc is more experience.. Heard the actual risk is actually much lower than this.. price depends on u do at private clinic or hospital.. Private last time I cheked last yr is 1,800 but if wan to get the faster results is 2k.. But not sure if all clinic is the same.. If do at hospital is much cheaper.. Coz can deduct medisave.. B4 deduction is 1k plus.. After deduction is pay 400-500.. Additional 100 like tt for fast result.. I did at kk hospital..

Also note.. The fast test is also 99% accurate n also only test for same thing as triple/oscar test.. Results in 1 wk.. Full result takes 3 wks.. Hope this helps.. U can ask me more n I'll see if I can help

rainzz: don't worry about your friend. I've encountered this as well with my colleague. She failed twice in her IVF and was very sore that I was successful in the first go. I also felt bad and tried as much as possible to avoid talking about babies and stuff infront of her.

Chinese herbs: I took cordyceps after my first trimester but not very often. However, intake became more regular in the last tri. Avoid ginseng, it's one of the causes of jaundice in babies. Also took birds nest in the last tri.

Going for my oscar scan tomorrow. Worried about it....may not want to continue pregnancy with the results is bad.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Starry: I thought you stayed in the Serangoon area and it's your mum that stays in the West actually! So you stay near your mum? So nice...Anyway, of course I want to see her! Must meet the little cutey pie in person...She was probably super excited that's why keep making noise. Then no audience already keep quiet lor. Haha.

TinyVoice: I knowww! I like the food in Clementi toooo! And so happy that Clementi Mall has sprung up. Hahaha. The only thing lacking now is a cinema! Boo! At least you all have at Jurong Point!!

Rainzz: Oops, good thing you remind me not to eat liver!! Everytime bak chor mee got liver one lor!! Eeks...

Sigh. Why isn't my OSCAR result out yet. I've taken it so long agooooo...

ent29> Woo, Thanks. I'm planning to go, but think not so soon or likely to forget what I've learned. BTW, I'm planning to deliver in Mt A but have not sign/book anything with them.

1)Am I entitle to that discount price for "mother delivering at Mt A"?

2)or I can only get that price after I sign/book with them?

3)When do I have to start booking a delivery with Mt A or Doctor will ask?

ent29,

My office is at serangoon north. I don't stay there le. I live near pioneer and mom lives near Lakeside. So not very near either. Luckily got my mom to take care of Jadelyn and fetch her from our place very morning. otherwise it will be super tiring to rush to and fro! And I guess u are right, no audience for her after we left the mall so she KO-ed.

Memorable,

No discounts from Mt A le. And u don't have to worry abt booking hosp. Your gynae will do everything for u. Just have to bring the letter he issues u sometime in the 3rd trimester so that when u have unexpected labour pains coming, the staff in the hosp will know that u have a booking made and call ur gynae. You will also receive a mail from Mt A in ur letterbox with admission forms and basic infor on what to bring. Just remember to fill up that form earlier and fax it in before u deliver so that it will shorten ur 'check in' process on the day itself. No joke filling up forms in neat capital letters in the middle of a contraction!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ent29,

Can call up ur gynae to check on the results?? That was what I did. Called his staff nurse. :p Oscar results very fast come out one. Max 2-3 days. Usuay next day evening will be out and faxed to gynae's office.

Hi ssbaby,

Just to share, I had very very bad rashes in my first pregnancy.

It flares up daily whenever environmental temperature goes high and even after bath.

On limbs only and now having bad scars from scratching.

It is so bad that people will stare at me and sometimes talk to me about their past experience (in the hope to help me).

Gynae prescribed piriton and steroid cream.

Tried a lot of lotion e.g. QV etc etc brands but no use (I kept applying still just to moisturise.)

It went off miraculously on the day I reached 3rd trimester. Only leaving the scars.

Hormonal.

Yours seemed more like allergy since it can be linked to usage of products. Like what rainzz said, what you are not allergic to, you might be allergic now. Some stretchmark creams e.g. cocoa butter do cause rash in some mums.

Just to add, just take note of things that u might possibly be allergic to and avoid. Prob speak to gynae about creams for flare-up. Use once in a while.