(2011/11) Nov 2011

Wendy: Yeah, it's not easy to not worry...But with each test is a sigh of relief! I still have a tinge of nausea here and there even though I'm in Week 14, almost 15! Boo! Hope you're better than me! I had my OSCARS alr, but results not out yet. My EDD is 6 Nov! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wendy - welcome to this thread!!the mummies here are very nice n friendly!am a 1st time mummy too.hee

babybaby75 - wish u all the best and during this period of time,rem to stay positive ya!

little fren - cool!update me when u get your results!

mummies - u start using stretchmark cream yet?

my frd passed me her Clarins cream and oil to try together with the bust cream.

morning! rotting in bed while waiting for salon to open so tt i can do rebond! hair is in a total mess! argh!

welcome wendy! =)

rainzz

im using clarins oil. can use bust cream from clarins too?

hi all, am back from my trip! wow, the thread is moving very fast! hope all is well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thanks leikela for the tips on sweets and crackers, saved me a couple of times!

lemik0- the bust cream my frd said she used during her pregnancy.coz she have big boobs and she feels wearing bra not comfy so when she apply the cream she found that her breasts are firm and not sagging.

it's juz tat she's breastfeeding now so not suitable to use.

she taught me to mix the treatment oil with the stretch mark cream.hee

Rainzz: I started a while back already, kiasu! Hehe...But hor, bust cream must put or not? I saw that my stretchmark cream can put at the bust area also...Must put so that the boobs won't sag issit?

Aabunny: Welcome back!! How was the trip?? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ent29 - duno leh,she tell me to use better.so that won't SAG wor.hahaha

since she pass over then i use lor..once finish then gtg buy..hehe

coz stretch marks one is for stretch marks mah...not lifting.

mummies who have kids - ask u ah,to sterilise bottles ..u rather boil in a pot or use steriliser?

hi rainzz

i used steriliser cos' it's faster and easier. But me will sterilise all bottles once a day only, after that assemble and use. Hee hee, lazy way of doing it. Initially started off v. KS, sterilize as many times as bb's feeds. After awhile realised no need so KS, aferall still want bb to fight battle with his own immunity. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] The sterilizer you have to wash it everyday though.

aabunny - glad it helped n hope u enjoyed ur trip...

im going to book for my jul phuket trip in abit..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

iemik0 - can rebond?? ive been tinking of how to handle my hair..i jus permed it a few mths back but now cant cut coz it will go crazy..the only way is to rebond so tt during maternity i will haf more manageable hair..u tink can rebond??? if can rebond then i will go .....how how how??

leikela and iemik0 - i worked in hair salon b4, usually if preg ladies wanna rebond..

u have to let salon noe that u r preg

we wnt apply the chemical too near the roots..coz cannot touch scalp.

but sometimes due to our hormones,rebonding might not work at all

but if preg ladies wanna do color..we usually do highlites then cover the ends of the old color so that doesn't touch scalp.

same goes for hair treatment with massage,u have to let the staff know so that they dun anyhow press.

rainzz - thanks! my hair colour really grow out alot!! sigh now dilemma whether to rebond or highlight..if highlight my hair still a mess..if rebond then the top black part will be so obvious..but dont want to do both...so much chemical...scary..

leikela - u rebond oso no guarantee that the rebonding will work for u coz of the preg hormones.haha

i kena 1-2 cases last time whereby preg lady do rebond..end up not straight enuf ..in fact become more curly then muz redo again.

if bo bian,u buy straighters to kiap for special occasion or invest in a good hair dryer whereby hair is easier to blowdry n control.

coloring wise,u can opt for highlites then cover old color at ends with color treatment/ammonia free color like Loreal INOA range.

or juz do a whole head color treatment but ask them avoid touching scalp.

but if u do black color,u must rem if next time u wanna remove u have to bleach(very drying) before changing to another color.

so opt for dark brown which is safer.

hi mummies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wendy,

welcome and congrats on having first baby! don't think too much and cause yourself to worry okay? my aunt had her #4 at age 40 and everything was fine, even though she fall under high risk category. her son is super adorable and active! btw, how did your OSCAR go?

ent29,

if you have big boobs then have to be careful and apply diligently. i have small boobs. the largest they got were a large cup B during bfing days so no sagging and no stretch marks. if you are on the busty side, then be more kiasu and apply lah! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rainzz,

i bought the pigeon rapid steam sterilizer. find it very good as it can sterilize everything inside in 6mins flat. very roomy too, got double layer and can fit several bottles plus breast pump accessories. during my girl's initial few weeks i was very on the ball, sterilizing all the time. after that slowly became twice a day, once a day then no more. hahaha!! now just scald her bottles and teats with boiling water every night if i remember to. :p

thanks ent29 and leikela, trip went well... quite tiring... had merlion once because of choppy sea,but otherwise MS not too bad... ha ha.. more tiring for hubby, he keep worrying about everything! but i miss all the achohol, cheese, and cold-cut meats.. *sigh* they look so tempting...

eh, i bought the clarins stretch mark oil, realize very ma huan, still need to wash off?

starry - wooh,then liddat i can consider pigeon liao coz i check phillips oni max is 6 btls.haaaaaa....

have to b kiasu mah.

btw u buy how much ah?

breast pump any suggestions? i was recommended medela.haa

i need to check out the brands and prices so tat have budget to buy.hehee

very xiong..coz everything double up

btw, can i ask whether anyone order tinkat services? any good? i am afraid that eating out every day not good for baby and am sometimes too tired to cook

aabunny - glad u have an enjoyable trip!!

never try tingkat services before

but neogarden shld be quite good.

the stretch mark oil muz wash meh?tot juz leave it till ur nxt shower.haha

my frd pass me Clarins stretch mark control cream + body treatment oil + bust beauty extra lift gel.

she taught me to mix abit of the treatment oil + cream then apply to sides n tummy etc in circular motion.

then bust gel is to be applied in circular motion outwards to inwards.

says apply every nite wor..

i oni tried the cream + oil last nite which is non sticky leh.

found a link in the BP which sells Clarins cheaper ard 35%

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5460099.html?1305008828

Leikela

My dr say safe to rebond & highlight hair. As long as no touch d roots den its perfectly ok. Hehe. Like wat rainzz say, muz tell ur stylist so tt they will take note. I eva rebond when i had #2! Hair turned out ok. My rebond usually can laz mi 1.5yrs each time.

rainzz: I also use Pigeon brand, good and roomy like what Starry recommended. I heard Medela freestyle is good, buy from forum, don't buy at dept store, more ex.

Aabunny: So funny. I was blur for a while when you said Merlion...Then I was thinking, Merlion not in Singapore meh. You went overseas right?! Haha.

Leikela: I also wanna rebond my hair!! I always rebond every half a year...So this June I was supposed to rebond, then pregnant, then realised argh, maybe have to deal with my frizzy hair! NOooooo!! I don't waaaaaant!

Rainzz & TinyVoice: I'm getting my Medela Freestyle from online! Go check out http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5417812.html?1304431339

The Medela Freestyle is only $450 I think...Very cheap I think!

tiny voice - haaa..liddat i cfm gg to buy pigeon liao.wahaha

ent29 - forum got few threads selling same price

most impt is how they send to u.coz i cnt rem which seller kena complaint by buyer coz mailed to buyer then got some loose parts wor.

best if u can self collect/courier coz so ex.

rainzz,

i have 2 sterilizers. a lot of things i buy double too because my girl is with my mom on weekdays. only at home on weekday nights and weekends/holidays. so for convenience's sake, buy 2 sets of certain bulky items. 1 of the sterilizers was bought from the WTS thread, brand new at $50. the other was in a bundle together with the warmer, bottles, wet wipes etc. from last year's baby fair. if i remember correct, the whole bundle cost $199. you can check it out at the upcoming fair happening at expo. got a lot of good deals there.

re: breast pump

i also recommend medela freestyle! it's very good and very portable. no heavy motor to lug around. small, yet powerful. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] buy from BP, a LOT cheaper. SGD450 only, compared to retail shops in singapore selling at $799 onwards. only difference is the warranty for local sets but i don't see why you have to pay so much more just for a 1 yr warranty.

aabunny,

glad you enjoyed your trip! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i agree those forbidden items can be very very tempting...

Rainzz: Starry said she bought from this agapebabies.com site before...And it's efficient and reliable!

I was looking at the colouring books and all from the website and so excited! But a bit too early to buy. Sighhh...But all the Sesame Street and Winnie the Pooh and even Suzy's Zoo is making me so happy! Hahaha...

Starry: What does BP refer to? :p

ent29,

from my own experience, no stretchmarks ard boobs area. but i have some on tummy and bum. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] it's in the genes actually... if you mum has it, likely you will have too. i used stretchmark cream/oil in the past also no use. but nvm for me lah, 'cos no intention of wearing biniki anytime soon.

oh, BP = bulk purchase. so i was referring to the bulk purchase threads. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starry - true lor..pay so muz for the warranty is very lugi..use the $ to buy other stuff.haha

cnt wait for the baby fair.

btw i met a frd yest,at prev toys r us warehouse sale she bought a GRACO playpen worth ard 100plus at $10.

my eyes went pop!she didn't know i was preg else she sure help me buy..so sad

she told me in OCT might have another sale but no idea have playpen anot

mummies who r interested..i'll remind u again.

heee

ent29 - haha,i was tinking of buying organic snacks for myself from this supplier leh...

since might wanna munch tidbits might as well choose healthier ones

rainzz,

you sure??? $10 for graco playpen is SUPER CHEAP! aiyah.. i already bought 2 playpens liao. haha! i like playpens. cheap and good.

btw, i tried the happy baby yoghurt melts already. my little girl seems to like it. taste nice also. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starry - YA LAH! $10..i was like OMG!!i oso wan!!But was over liao leh..sianz

woohh....tempt me ah..i waiting for my sis's orders then i 1 shot order.hehe

Thanks for the warm welcome... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I just came bk from the OSCAR test... waited for about 2+ hours.

The result is not out yet... still waiting for my gynae to call me either later today or Wednesday for the results. Hope everything goes well.

Hi Rainzz, your twins due on 25 Nov? Same as my baby... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw, I have asked my gynae today if I can travel for business... he told me its fine... I may have to travel in 2 to 3 weeks time. hope it is really fine cos kinda worried though... any1 travel during 2nd trimester?

Wendy - my babies might pop earlier in mid nov from what the gynae says.

everything will go well for Oscars lah.

we muz tink positive!!

i am counting down to mine this fri.hee

aabunny - i order tingkat..but scared i sian of the food so now we alternate every 10 days i order..abit more mafan coz must renew but save money...i order from jessie catering..but depends where u stay coz they dont deliver everywhere

rainzz - hmm i rather rebond more practical coz near confinement can cut n easy to manage but now u say may come out fizzy then i abit scared..my hair can be stubborn but generally its wavy kind when it grows to shoulder length..those come out of roots one is quite straight...

$10??? my playpen graco one..jsut arrived two days back..i paid i tink $199 when i bought from the taka baby fair...

oh anyway abt clarins oil..no need to wash off..but i very lazy to use..hubby say help me apply..but i scared of the oiliness ...sian!

rainzz,

those playpens buy more also nvm.. can give away as gifts too! so cheap!!! oh yah.. don't overbuy things from agape babies huh! your twins likely won't eat them till they are at least 5 mths old in May 2012. :p

wendy,

i went phuket when i was 14-15weeks pregnant. no issues at all. gonna travel for work again for ard 5 days when i'm ard 19 weeks.

leikela,

so fast you bought the playpen!

re: clarins oil

i thought very easily absorbed? tried before and applied on tummy after shower when skin is still moist. no oiliness after a while 'cos all absorbed into the open pores of the skin.

wendy - no worries..i travelled to aust during my first tri - ard 7wks...n also planning for upcoming trip in Jul when im abt 20 wks...just drink more water n take things slow...as long as ur gynae says ok..then shld be fine..

leikela - if roots straight when shoulder length due to weight of hair then shld b ok wat..easier to manage until u chop it all off then will "pong".

if ends are frizzy is due to dryness or over processing of chemicals due to many rebonds/color etc.

as i mentioned,frizzy might happen to some preg ladies..depending on hormones.haha..

yes, $10 but i tink is older model

i saw it yest at frd's place it's brown color,easy to keep and assemble oso.

clarins oil-(from webbie) Firms, tones and prevents skin slackening by improving skin elasticity, while also helping to prevent the appearance of stretch marks. It leaves skin hydrated, soft and satin-smooth to the touch.

but since she passed oil n cream to me,i mixed both n use..not oily.absorb very fast

starry - actually,i buying the snacks for myself for after 1st tri to snack.

babies one..long way to go.hahaha

playpen if muz wait til OCT not sure have anot though..if have duno whether able to lug alot anot.haha

rainzz: if u buy a few items, usually they can arrange for free delivery, don't worry.

leikela: ^5! my playpen also just arrived last sat, i bought at recent robinson sales, babycraft brand at $99! My son currently using an old graco playpen which was hand me down from dunno how many owners, it is a good brand i must admit, going to throw away soon, cos' too old liao.

starry - haha yeah..coz the deal was quite gd n we liked it..coz we noe of a fren who uses it..n its travel kind n compact..lol kiasu right..we bought during taka fair n tt was when we just found out..ooopppssss...hmm ok maybe dont be lazy..tonight go hm n use the clarins oil..

mummies who bought playpen - u also gg to buy another mattress rite?

my frd recommend me to buy a good quality latex one from baby safe..she says wnt sag.ard 100+

i remember there was a BP for graco playpens. quite worth it! but i didn't buy till later during 3rd tri. bought the latido playpen at less than $100, comes with the net cover and changing station.

actually all these big items like cots, playpens, strollers, car seats, playgyms, bedding accessories etc. can buy from Cheong Choon Store located at chinatown, just behind OG. Tel 65323855. they carry a lot of brands. some of the items are cheaper than what you find at baby fairs. so worth a call to check on pricing before committing to buy. that time i prepared a list of things with brands and model no. and called up for quotation plus further discount. the girl there very helpful, even offered free delivery to our doorstep.

thanks rainzz and starry!

wendy, i just came back from Rome, flight was 12 hours... am in my 13+ weeks... not too bad, but keep some sweets handy to suck on...

wa, already planning on buying things already? eh, how much more expensive is robinson compared to online huh? i am trying to get staff discount on robinson... dunno after discount, will it still be more expensive than online

btw, other than agape babies... which other websites sell baby stuffs? ha ha, feeling a bit gan jiong now..

thanks leikela for the recommendation.. i live in far west... btw, what do you mean you alternate every 10 days?

two more questions (ha ha, i accumulate all the questions i have during my trip and ask all today! - sorry if they have already been answered)

1) what are pre-natal massage for? are they safe?

2) is there any good pre-natal classes to attend? first time parents, so know nuts about babies

aabunny - this forum got BP threads alot!! online shopping alot alot ah! clothes etc...

hmmm...for example Clarins wise..u buy online is cheaper than Robinsons staff price which is 25% whereas the link abv from forum is ard 35%..

but u have to search n see lor..tats y i ask the kind mummies here abt stuff.haha..

better do survey then at least u can est how much to spend.

every cent saved is a cent saved for rainy days

prenatal massage is to make the mummy relax eg. relieve backache and also to help maintain the womb abit higher

i havnt attend any pre natal class yet too..izit necessary?

or wait for CL to teach better coz got hands on?

Thanks for your advice on the travelling issue... may I check if the morning sickness or nausea gets worse if on plane... as I am still experiencing it (at times) though I am already 12+weeks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Btw, I am using the Clarins Oil & the Clarins Stretch Mark Control Cream. I use the oil in the morning (as instructed) and the cream at night... I think the oil is fine... not so oily.

In fact, the Clarins Oil is highly recommended by my friends as they told me it's very good and can really help to prevent stretch marks... that is why I buy. keke [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]