(2011/11) Nov 2011

iemiko,

oscar test consists of 2 parts - blood test and scan. when i got my results it is based on both combined. on the day i got my results, my gynae took 2 tubes of blood for routine blood test also which is for HIV, Hep, rubella etc.. now waiting for results for this lor.

little bb,

you mean your edd kept delaying or?

leikela,

Oscars also have blood test. Have to match the blood test to tell also. But the doctor during the scan will also tell whether the baby is normal. The nurse will call the next day to tell the result abt the blood test.

My experience during the blood test at TMC wasn't so good. My vein is those super fine type. Have to draw up twice on both hands. End up dunno y the nurse has problem drawing out blood on my the other hand. The nurse wasn't giving good instructions either. Have tried blood test at KKH when I did Oscar scan last time. The nurse was so much better.

little bb,

shld be fine if gynae nv say anything. for my first pregnancy, my edd also fluctuated up and down like yoyo at the initial stages.

Starry

Ooo. Means u got ur full oscar results. Ydae my blds taking were d routine tests & for oscars screening. Those test u mention, onli take 1 day. If abnormal den they will call to inform.

tiny voice,

ur doc oso woody rite? i same case as u. emer c sect. i think he likes to tell ppl abt small pelvis.. my fren is tinier than me, but she managed natural.

this time round, i really wanna try vbac. i m contemplating on seeing dr paul tseng when i go tmc for my oscar test in 2 weeks' time.

sigh, if i could read up and prepared myself more, i think i could have avoided the 1st c sect...

re OSCARS:

i cant remember exactly but do we need to have a full bladder to do it for the scans to be clearer? mummies, pls shed some light.

thanks!!

little bb,

keep us posted! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

iemiko,

yeah, full results. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so far no call from them. wonder if i should call instead.

bleh,

no need full bladder anymore. can see very clearly by then without full bladder le. if full bladder then will be super uncomfortable!

thanks ladies...MS back now! i took drowsy cough med tt gp gave n knocked out but my colleague sms me to say need to update some ppt tt our big boss wanna discuss tmr morning..so i had to quickly sleep off the effects n get cracking..then once i started working n then ate late lunch at 4pm..now i nausea again..either baby dont like me to work or dont like me to eat lol...oh well..

anyway i haf a doppler n so far capture my hb very loud n can hear a faint beat of bb hb i tink..but mine so loud n coz quite low..so harder to detect baby..will keep trying but anyway appt in 2 days..so im just going to hang in there n get as much rest as possible..

i also got jelly or egg white discharge the other day when i wipe..i know its normal to have discharge coz we develope mucus plug but anyone got jelly one..abit only n once off...

shirley - i also super fine veins..my 1st mc i kept going back to draw for hcg count then only my left hand can draw coz right side to fine but my left hand alrdy brusied n veins collapse liao..so nurse try n try both hands..in the end send me up to draw from my hand itself..near the fingers? tt was damn painful!! its where u will kena the IV drip tt area...

mrs chong - maybe ur edd was first postponed coz u ovulated later than u thot even tho based on lmp was 1 wk earlier..then now delay by 1 more day due to crown to rump measurement..i noe when i ovulated coz i tracked so mine is fairly accurate..22 nov..then first appt doc say 27 nov (coz as yolk sac so small they cant est accurately also) then 2nd appt when saw hb it was moved back to 23 nov..still 1 day later than my 22 nov...so we will see what happens this sat..as ur baby grows bigger n u are further along i believe the date will be more n more accurate..so dont worry too much...

anyway abt full bladder ahah my first appt i kept my bladder SOOO full..doc laugh at me..say ur bladder very full ah when he scan so i learnt liao..no need to be full la..my nurses even make me go urine test before i go in see doc..so how to keep it full...n yes super uncomfy if full lor..

Bleh: oh u same case as berrypie & me eh!! Sigh...my twin Sis can deliver natural leh for her 1st, I want to try... Have to see nearer date. I heard gd reviews abt Paul tseng but TMC too far for me to go regular visits plus parking inconvenience!

Leikela

Wat doppler u using.. I cannot heard the hb.. Not even mine leh.. Maybe I dunno how to tell the dif.. I only hear like sound like got thing moving inside.. But cannot hear hb..

For discharge I think is normal.. Coz I have it everyday now.. Mine sometimes is colourless.. Sometimes yellow.. As long as it does not smell n not itchy should be ok de..

Huishan - I'm using sonoline..bought online...u haft point very low near the pelvic bone coz baby is very low now..n plus ours not as strong as doc one so must be more precise. Ur hb shld be very obvious like pulsing sound. Then mine also have very loud whoosing sound like waves..apparently tts the placenta. Mine on the left so if I pt in the ctr or on the right it's silence!

Oh... So the whoosing sound is the placenta... Oh... I tot is my stomach got wind or wat... Haha.. Then the bb hb is like how de?? I can only heard the whoosing sound.. But maybe also cause I belong to the heavier side so hard to find ba.. Plus I think sonoline Doppler more sensitive..

leikela-I was pretty sure i ovulate on the day we tried for bb,on the 15th day of the month.Hmm think i better dun think too much,this sat see what the gynae will say..Thanks.

Hi mommies!! TGIF!!! I am getting more and more tired... Even with a good 8 hours' sleep, I am still dragging myself up from bed and feeling lethargic during day .. Is this normal? I am only coming to 10 weeks! How to tahan the rest of the term??!! Or will this get better after 1st tri?

I also got yellowish discharge everyday and sometimes jellyish ... I asked my gynae before, he said it's perfectfully normal ;)

Re: BabyPlus

Some of you ladies mentioned the use of BabyPlus...Was thinking of getting from eBay! It costs $130 AUD (plus shipping)...Is it worth the price? How much if we get it from Singapore?

good morning!

been 2 days since i posted..... so many posts.

congrats to those w good oscar results. first hurdle cleared!!! n tat oso marks end of tri 1. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

someone asked me to give up my seat at reserved seat on mrt today. i gave it out without debating tat i am pregnant. hb ask me why dont say. what will u gals do??

ent29: wow, that is a bit pricey. but yeah, my friend also says Dr Chua is pretty good, so maybe it's worth it to spend a bit more.

how much does she charge for individual visits? does the package only include consultations? is cost of delivery separate?

sorry for all the questions, I'm not v familiar with how the packages work. dunno if I should take up the package cos i'll only return to sg in my last trimester, so not sure if it's worth it or not.

Huishan - haf u heard the hb at the doc's yet? Same sound...very fast like if u count 1,2,3 fast it's the exact beat whereas ours is like 1000....2000....Hahah or u jus think galloping horses lor...but ya doc say my skin quite thick also lol maybe jus a nice way of saying I got alot of fats...gonna try again later...appt in 24hrs!!!! Still on mc today recovering from flu...

Mrs Chong - ya don't think too much...see how at the appt [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tiny voice, ya we same same. i m very keen on trying natural. that's y just thinking to seek 2nd opinion fm paul tseng. then see how things go fm there.

I'm from the April 2011 thread and would like to seek your help.

For those of you who have not given birth and have the Medela Freestyle, can you please help me to charge my battery? Coz' the battery needs an initial charge of 24hours but I've delivered and need to use my pump every 3 hourly. I am willing to pay a token sum to whoever can help me and would arrange to pass you the battery at a place of your convenience.

Thank you very much!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Leikela

i try to find the hb tonight ba.. hope can find.. but i think difficult.. coz the whoosing sound is rather loud.. plus my doppler say is 12 wks then can hear.. i now only 10 wks... haiz.. hope bb is ok inside....

I'm at TMC waiting for my OSCAR Scan. I reached at 9am, waited 30min just to hv my name registered! Now go in, nurse told me that it will take roughly 3hrs! *Faint.

I paid $400+, this include d next apptmt for "detail scan" in June.

I'm finding a corner to try take a nap. Tire. Sad that shopping mall nearby is not open yet. zZz.....

huishan - wats ur brand? i noe of pple who have heard as early as 9 wks...ya the whoosing sound n my own hb very loud..quite distracting...

memorable - urs is walk in n no appt? hmm i wonder if my doc will allow me to go to NUH...dont wanna wait 3 hrs!!!

Caryn: Since you're in no hurry, I can have more visits with Dr Chua first and keep updating you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I think you won't have to take up a package, since you'll only be back in the last trimester. But not sure if you need to sound her out first or what, because she may be busy? The last time I went I paid $180! You can calculate about how many more times you will visit her and if it's worth it or not lor! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] That was for ultrasound and consultation...I believe the cost of delivery is separate...My friend paid another $2.6-2.7 for delivery + hospital.

ent29: thanks so much for all the info! i'll be making a trip to sg in June, so will make an appointment with Dr Chua and see how it goes.

Ent29> baby plus cost about S$300 in Spore. If u want, can buy a 2nd hand one which can go even cheaper if u can find on eBay.

L.tulips> I will not give up d seat, will say out proud n loud that I'm pregy too n kept stroking my belly. Wahaha. Mayb I'm afraid that I might faint if stand for too long. My MRT journey to work is straight 30mins long. Now cannot take standing.

Leikela> my gynea gave me a form with a date on it to visit for OSCAR scan so just go accordingly. I was given an orange form, same as many pregy women r holding here.

I wonder what is d detail scan about/for on June?

Brought my McD orange juice along but 3hrs too long. Guess my bb must b scolding me now, y drank so much orange juice to wake him/her up. Haha.

leikela

i am using luvion doppler.. small hand held one.. not like sonoline got the probe one.. so i thinking maybe not so sensitive.. plus i am on the a lot heavy side.. to be frank my weight is 80kgs ++ T.T.. so........ tonight try again.. hope can hear... coz kinda worried..

memorable - the detail scan will scan each organ n body part n measure the length etc and then rank it..like how many percentile..my colleague did hers alrdy n showed me..its like a 2 or 3 pg report..with measurements etc...so very detailed coz go into each organ n body part..the report is a summary but tink the super detailed part n all the pix the doc will keep..then give u a few of the main pix...

huishan - oh tts possible..coz i haf another one..angelsound..n its not a probe one like sonoline..its the whole device put on ur tummy n tt one cldnt detect so early..

leikela..

i read reviews tt angelsound is like toy like tt.. haha.. even at 3rd tri also cannot hear anything de... haha....

hi ladies, HOT day today! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] got rally and there's royal wedding on tonight. dunno which to watch. think watch royal wedding. haha!

re: TMC

memorable, gotta wait 3hrs??? you don't have an appt made? when i was with tmc last time round, i had an appointment on saturday and i told the nurse to put me in the first slot. i went 15 mins before registration counter opens and waited outside lounge. once went in, waited for less than 15mins my turn liao.

ent29,

my friend also got from ebay, shipped in from aussie. very worth the money! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] less than SGD200 le.

ent29

i just bought a preloved one at 170.. condition not bad.. maybe can consider a preloved one.. amazon selling around USD 149++ now..

Huishan - I know of pple who use angelsound n heard hb at 9 wks but yeah some who can't hear even in tri 3...so depends but my sonoline is significantly clearer

Starry: Yah! I saw that one...And thought it was the most worth it...

Huishan: I'm also surfing Amazon and found a new one that cost $99USD. How come so different??

if u go in n see it is sold buy dif seller.. i usually will buy the amazon set.. means to look for those seller is amazon one.. think is safer and can use amazon shipping.. no need use vpost...

hey, mummies, NTUC Fairprice got baby fair le. those with kids can stock up on milk powder, wet wipes and diapers. very gd deal!

ent29,

super good deal. can save a lot compared to buying from singapore.

memorablechoc, now i'm feeling abit regret for not taking my stand. haiz. anyway.... it's over.

that's a long wait of 3hrs!!! was it a last minute change that's why u couldnt get an ealier slot.

wow wow...this thread so many MTB keen in doppler!

My Oscar result are ok, normal, thank God. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Still can't tell gender yet, have to wait for next month.

MemoChoc: wow...that is a long wait at TMC! The waiting time at NUH is much lesser.

Yesterday kenna 'suan' by boss, "why issit i keep seeing you eat and drink non stop whole day? If you're not eating, you're drinking something!" *roll eyes* He just cannot stand i got the priviledge to eat & eat now, haa haa! This is my boss..he loves to eat too!

tiny voice,

same for my boss, exactly same comments for my previous pregnancy. he wld say "everytime walk past i will see you eating!" this time round, not as much appetite. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jasmine,

no lah. no such thing... do you know our gastric juices and heartbeat in the tummy sounds louder to baby than babyplus?? if babyplus can cause deafness then ALL babies born will be deaf liao..

babyplus is at 45-60 decibels. maternal bloob pulse sound level is 95 decibels. baby is protected because of the amniotic fluid.