(2011/11) Nov 2011

finally going for oscar today! hope to see beanie growing well, and can spot gender. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] although i don't have very high hopes to know gender today. that time gynae still can joke 50% boy, 50% girl. faint...

tilsa,

just saw your post. really sorry to hear that. hope you recover well and have a sticky little one the next time you try.

little bb,

would you like the contact details of my colleague's counsellor? recommended to her by my boss. 'cos the counsellor is a very good friend of my boss. heard from colleague that she is a wonderful woman. and to prevent awkwardness, the counselling is all done via phone. fees wise, i am not too sure how much but i can check for you. total i think 6 sessions. her hubby initially didn't want to participate in it, but in the end did and they really ironed things out. so whatever amt they paid was worth it. some couples just need that extra 'pair of eyes' to look into their relationship and spot the cracks. let me know if you want more details, i can get for you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but of course hope you and hubby can work out without counselling.

babybreath,

i'm not sure why that's the case. can don't wait till monday and go have another check today or tomorrow?? what's the reason the TMC gynae told you to wait till monday? in cases like this i won't be able to wait and want to find out why and fast.

little_bb, sorry about what you go through... maybe the thought of a baby has not sunk into your hb yet.... the tummy is not big and once in a while we go see scan, only can see a tiny bean in our tummy... so the idea of being a father may be very remote. For the first few weeks after we discovered I was pregnant, I quarrelled with my hubby almost every day... I was grumpy most of the times, I had to rely on him to do the housework and he often times did not do it well (from my point of view) or do it sullenly... and he played quite a fair bit of games on the TV which was loud and violent... so I got mad with him almost every day... I think the turning point came when he talked to colleagues who are fathers and when he went to the scan with me and saw bb hands waving.... he realized that he will be a father soon.. the reality sunk in.... now he is much more considerate, he understands what I am going through (he is reading up on what a pregnant woman goes through, bought him a book on what to expect for father-to-be), he stopped playing games, he helps with the housework without my prodding (i trust him that he will do a good job, no longer grumble when he don't do things my way), and he cooks soup for me... i make sure I thank him and tell him how much I appreciate the things that he is doing.... maybe your hubby just needs time to realize that he will be a father... bring him to the scan, pass him some reading materials..

welcome back leikela! any tips on how to survive the long trip and flight? will be going to Europe next week for 2 weeks... am very apprehensive, i hope i will feel better by then... *keep fingers crossed*

Hi Adrian, advisable to go a second opinion always.

Hi Starry, remember to update us! So exciting!

Hi All, I thot I felt my bb moved yesterday night! Am I imagining things?

I went to surf net and found that it is possible!??!

Welcome back leikela!

Can help me to update my details?

Nick:xin

EDD:12 Nov 2011

Gynae: Ben Tham

Hospital: TMC

Next Appt Date: 07 May 2011

BB#: 1

Boy/Girl: ?

Many thanks! ;)

Tilsa: Sorry to hear that. But do rest well and regain strength in your body. Take care! Looking forward to good news in future...

Starry: Yay! Another appointment again today! Let us know how it goes and upload another scan! My next appointment seems eons away!! So are you hoping for boy/girl this time? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Koi: Apparently some of the other experienced mummies felt it already right? It's what they called quickening? Today I just had some light cramping...Not even sure they were cramps. I suppose later then I will realise what it means for baby to move! :D

aabunny - i got myself those flight socks tt cna help keep my feet warm n also with the blood circulation..it was veyr helpful...also walk around n go toilet frequently..i found my feet swollen after my 8 hours flt...but after awhile it was ok..so its the pressure n cirulation i tink..

Drink alot of water!! just keep asking for water n juices..even if it means lotsa toilet trips..get urself an aisle seat so u can come out often to go toilet..u will go many times trust me..i wake up in the middle of the night n just buzz for water..dont paiseh..

i was very nauseaous during turbelence..i used to be very gd w it..just sleep thru turbulance..this time it was bad..felt sooo sick..so bring ur nausea pills with u...bring some crackers..or sweet..i cldnt bear to eat the airplane food so i just snack on my crackers n chocs in btw...

aabunny,

i went thru same thing as you with my hubby. men need longer time to realize they are going to be father. can't blame them. they only see upset/grouchy wife everyday, no feeling of movements or ms or what. gotta sayang them and appreciate them more also.

koi,

likely! haha! next time got movement again try to pinpoint where it came from. if same spot and doesn't travel down to the butt then very likely it's baby. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: oscar

will sure update! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i am going on half day to meet some of the oct 2010 mummies and babies for lunch first then go for appt. gonna be a fun day!

ent29,

i want another baby girl!! little girls are soooo sweet and i really like the name i've picked for her. hee hee! but of course if boy i also won't feel disappointed. flesh and blood mah... just want him/her to be healthy and happy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So sianz..juz receive phone call fr TMC to reschedule my OSCAR appt on 7 May due to election day!! Any mummies here got affected too?

Btw any mummies here experience light spotting? What did your gynae says?

xin,

i had spotting, then became menses-like bleeding, then became passing blood clots. gynae always sigh and asks me to rest. plus nightly 2 pills eutrogestan. don't take spotting lightly. if you are working, please let your boss and colleagues know. then get someone to buy lunch back for you. try not to walk ard so much or carry heavy things.

Hi starrymommy,

I exp light spotting, initially a big red spot then as days goes by it become lighter and lighter. Was kinda worried and went to see gynae. He checked on me and said baby is ok just tat sometimes bb didnt cling properly thus will cause bleeding. He gives some white pills and says its "an tai yao" to take every night. Even after taking i still have very very light pink spots.

I hope its ok..cause i heard some mummies exp spotting for months and even give birth to healthy babies! Pray the little one is fine...

babybreath05, maybe you shld get a 2nd opinion somewhere else before monday? its quite a long way from monday and i believe that the suspense is going to be really strenuous on you and your wife. good luck!

Thanks Simp! im keeping my fingers crossed.

koi, me too. i cant tell if im hallucinating or tt its really moving. lol

xin, believe the pills tt the doc gave u is duphaston? im also taking tt..not to worry..its just hormone pills to help support the pregnancy..ive been taking it since the start of mine..twice a day..

we have the same gynae..dr tham is very cautious so dont worry..if he is not worried then i wont be [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi leikela,

Yes yes, Dr Tham gives me duphaston and to be taken once a day at night. I like Dr Tham as he is very assuring and abit comical.. My next appt gotta change due to election day.. when will be ur next appt? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Adrian

like others say.. try to see ur 1st gynae 1st.. maybe the hearbeat is there but the machine used to scan is not clear enough.

xin, my nxt appt is 30 Apr..actually supposed to be like 27 or 28 apt but hubby wanted wkend so tt he didnt haf to come off frm work..now im regretting coz means i must wait longer...so sians..more than 1 wk away...

Starry: I'm glad your little girl is such a sweetheart. I sometimes see girls that are tooooo deh and some who are too ba4 dao4!! My niece ah...Nowadays becoming really naughty! Everything also I WANT I WANT! Grrr...But Jadelyn looks too angelic!! Heh...

Hi Leikela, heehs... i can imagine how u feel. My next apptm is 6 May, even further away!! Can't wait to see my bb on the scan again - Hope all is well! But a few days' difference means that bb will grow bigger liao then can appear on scan better bah. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Leikela / Felixp

my last apptm is last sat and it seem like pass vv long liao.. n my next apptm is 12 may... like so far away... i everyday like countdown like so tt time can pass faster.. but still like need to wait vvv long.. keep telling myself.. hope my bb grow big big n hearbeat grow strong strong.. haha..

felixp - ya tempted to reschedule earlier but then i tell myself tt tahan few more days means can get better pic!! arghh!!1 hahaha n now with the GE and the rescheduling for 7 may mummies i tink will be hard for me to get an earlier date..must just try not to tink abt it..lol but its impossible!

hi ... i'm new to this thread! was initially going to give birth in Australia as my hubby is posted there for 1 year. I have now decided to come back to Sg for the entire duration. Am missing my hubby alot, but happy that he'll be back just in time for bb's birth at year end.

Does any of you know what i can expect at the second gynae visit (around 13 wks)?? Tests?? Can i find out the bb gender at this stage?? I researched that gender is usually found out in detailed scan at 20 wks. But some of you seem to know already??

Pls add me to your list leikela, ty [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

nickname: syrenic

edd: 25 Nov 11

gynae: Dr Kek Lee Phin

hosp: Mt E

bb #: 1

next appmt: 16 May

Yahloh. Esp now I am still in 1st tri, only 8 wks 4 days to be exact, so I look forward to each apptmt so that I can assured of my bb is okay. Now inside my tummy oso dun know okay or not (choy!!) ... esp oso heard abt sad stories will think of -ve things sometimes. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] But I try to be as +ve as I am... my hubby reassure me by telling me "but your tummy getting bigger, so bb must be okay" - dun know to laugh or cry! duh!

Hi Ostrich, welcome & welcome back to SIN! Dun feel lonely, we are here to lend a listening ear (everyday!).

I think ur gynae would have told u go for a blood test and schedule for an OSCAR scan?? U done that liao? That's wat my gynae told me he's gonna do at my next apptm when I will be 11 wks.

I dun know my bb gender yet ... :p

felixp - i noe wat u mean...im 9wks 1 day..n i heard hb abt 2 wks back..but then now very paranoid..used a doppler at hm but cannot hear anything so very worried but tink its the lousy brand..so wanna go for nxt appt soon n reassure myself tt the hb is strong n plus i juz came back frm trip..

my hb says nausea is gd..nausea is gd sign..ahah even tho i feel like shit...i guess tts the only thing tt is at least giving me some reassurance..

Yup, leikela, nausea is a good sign that bb growing healthily. Infact, Dr Ang told me the worse I feel, the better cos means bb developing healthily. My nausea is one and off - i noticed it occur mostly on Mon (coincides with monday bluees!! Haha) and subside thru the week. Infact on some days no feeling or symptoms at all, sometimes wondering if bb okay [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Also, so far, dun have viomit at all. Only feel like viomiting till cough but nuthing comes out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Worse is nowadays simply feel like not working at all. haiz..

thanks felixp [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

oic. now looking at e list in greater detail i see tat most donno bb's gender yet too.

thanks for e info. haven't done blood test yet so i think will be doing that at the 2nd appmt. I don't think i'll do OSCAR cuz i'm quite young (26) so relatively risk free?

btw, it's lucky you don't have vomiting!!

leikela, totally understand what you're going thru. i've been vomiting and nausea everyday single day since wk6. lost 2kg since then and weight has dipped under 40kg, and no appetite also. really can't wait until end of first trimester!!

Felixp

me is same as u.. i only feel like vomit.. din vomit.. i think this feeling is worse leh.. keep feeling like vomit out will feel better.. mouth keep having is a funny taste like tt.. and i also had diarrhea once in a while.. i read in other forum that some women do not vomit but will diarrhea.. dunno how true..

Hi all, I have nausea feeling too, no vomiting, but appetite is no good. Especially eat half already dun feel like to finish the food..

I will have my Oscar scan on my next app, 10th May. Hope everything is alright.

Yup, doctor also ever advise that if you have any pregnancy sympton like vomiting/nausea, it is a sign of our hormone level is keep on growing, and it is good to our baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]~ Thus, though we are suffering from it, in a way it also show that baby is growing well.

Hihi, just got back from BKK early this morning. Only managed to grab 4 boxes of Boots milk bags at the airport.

I'm going for my OSCAR scan tomorrow afternoon.

yeah me too..no vomitting but just generally nausea...mine is throughout the day..n i notice especially when i wake up early in the morning so not enough slp...then its like baby is protesting..hahaha...n then give me a hard time the whole day...

no appetite too..before i got pregnant ..my weight was like on an uptrend..now after coming back from hols..i realise i lost abt 0.5kg n this is without vomitting..im guessing maybe coz i dont eat as much as i used to eat? i still eat every meal but maybe i eat like a bird now...lol...

leikela

can understand... everyday like drag myself to work.. eyes cannot even open.. plus i stay in west and work in Bugis.. the train ride is killing me.. there are a few times i sleep standing up holding the handle.. cannot tahan.. haha..

for me when i feel nausea i will not appetite.. but when i start to eat i cannot stop.. eat a lot.. coz when i hungry the nausea feeling will be worse.. but funny leh.. eat so much still lost 0.5kg also.. i get all the food go to bb ba... haha..

Wah u girls so good! Lose weight somemore, I was hoping to lose some weight cos my wedding next month. But i didnt and even pile on 1 kg!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Now i hope I can still look good for my gown selection this fri and that wont pile on more weight in the next 4 weeks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

U girls got a small tummy liao?? I got a small bump liao. Like to sayang it all the time ...

But Leikela, but careful on the mrt leh... Try to get a standing place where u can lean against the wall or glass panel, safer for u.

For mommies taking buses, be careful and dun lean ur tummy against the seat handle when standing. I have heard of a story where a mommy in her 1st tri was standing on a bus with her tummy leaning close to the seat handle. Suddenly the bus jerk and hit her tummy. She was okay at that instant but the next day her tummy was in tremedous pain and the bb was m/c... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Felizp> Yap, i got a bump too. Also like to sayang it, love the feeling. keke. I also lost weight, about 3kg but now not loosing anymore, manage to maintain abit. Hope i don't loose anymore or I will feel like fainting easily.

I also don't feel like going to work nowadays, it was still ok two weeks ago but now, cannot take it. Same as Felixp, my Monday is the worse, mayb too used to sleeping alot on wkends. yippi, Long weekends ahead. Jia You

Memorable, no mood to work yet cannot be tai-tai yet so must hang on ... Yes, looking forward to my long weekend cos I be on leave on next mon and half day tmr! Yippes.. With election on 7 May, another day off for me.

But u take care, eat more to replenish the weight u have lost... ur bb must be developing very well, cos u "suffer" so much and lost so much weight [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Despite the nausea i still have good appetitie - issnt that scary?? Cos can really eat alot [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] esp sinful stuff ...

i feel my appetite coming back, but still eating half of what i used to eat... every afternoon must eat porridge... like teochew muay best... he he addicted to those preserved vege... yiaks! not much of nausea but feels very bloated after meals... and feels like my digestive system going on strike...

today read in Straits Times that what mommy eats during pregnancy may predict childhood obesity... although inconclusive, the article says tat the DNA can be altered depending on whether the mommy is having enough carbohydrates during the first trimester... if mommy not having enough carbohydrate, bb's dna will be altered so that they can store fat better... eh, i dunno how accurate this study is leh... i thought what we eat at least during the first trimester do not matter as much?

felixp - i dont take mrt..hubby n me work nearby so we drive to work..so in tt aspect im quite lucky..if i take public transport like even cab i will be very nausea..even before pregnancy...

huishan - same as me..lose 0.5kg..haha gd pt..i really hope so..im losing weight coz all the gd stuff goin to the baby instead..so i never retain in my own body..lol

yeah got bump too but mine is more than bump coz i tink i got fatty tummy so on top of tt..its especially obvious..i tink i can pass off as 4 mths..lol

Felix, i eat alot too..instead of losing weight like some mummies here i gain alot of weight!! like 3kgs? I get hungry easily..if didnt get to eat fast i will have giddy spells and its terrible..like i gonna faint on the spot.

I eat alot of sinful stuffs too! Always craving for mac fries, sushi, tom yum, mee robus, mee siam etc.. Normally i juz give in to my cravings!

Xin, u same as me, even with nausea, i can still eat and eat alot. Then after eating will feel sinful. But esp crave for curry chicken, chicken wings, all abt chicken. I was craving for roasted duck drumstick for 1 week, then after that find it sickening. Yes, i oso feel bloated after meals, esp after lunch and dinner. I always have craving for sinful but try to limit my intake...

Leikela, lucky for u. But just in case u need take public transport ... hehes

aabunny, i read somewhere that wat mummies eat throughout will somehow have some impact on the baby. For instance, if mommies eat alot of chicken, bb will like chicken and if mommies drink alot of carrot juice, then bb wont be so adverse to carrot puree .... I think now bb and mommies are connected, somehow will have some impact. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Maternity Bermuda and pants at $5 & $8

I have a lot of Maternity Bermuda and pants. Some is brand new, some only only worn a few times.. Can SMS me for photos at 96922155. Can view in Bukit Batok too..

Talking about food..... do you all still have appetite for full 3 meals a day? Or all of you started taking a lot of small meals? I started to feel burning sensation in my stomach around an hour after food. Is it normal? I wonder if that is call heartburn or indigestion. http://www.marchofdimes.com/pregnancy/yourbody_heartburn.html. Nowadays also feel like eating sweet stuffs. So, ended up buying sweets like chocolates & skittles... but limit eating too many sweets. :p

Finally.... the day has arrived. Tomorrow going for my OSCAR scan. Hope everything is fine.

felixp - im a very meat person..everything must be meat..beef etc..but now..i dont want to tink abt meat..especially chicken..im happy to just eat bread n cereals i tink lol..n drink tomato juice..

xin - i also crave sushi but cannot take..n hubby dont want me to eat jap food now so one more range of food struck off my list of alrdy limited stuff...

woah.. reading the last few post make me super hungry now.. craving for a lot of things.. haha..

xin.. when i read ur tom yam.. my mouth feels watery.. i think i will eat tom yam tonight... haha.. but then when i see felixp curry chicken.. i wan to eat also!!!! haha...

leikela

i think u and me same same la.. my stomach also vvv big liao.. like other ppl 4 mth like tt.. but like u in the 1st place got tummy liao de la.. haha.. but my colleague plus size de hor when she pregnant cannot see tummy one de la.. she keep telling me that fatter ppl won't show so much.. but i now look at my stomach for this n last pregnancy i think not so true.. haha..

but for my last pregnancy.. gynae did say some women got bigger bump earlier coz their stomach got a lot of gas.. not coz womb getting bigger..

Hi ladies, today marks the 12 week of my bb... Yeah! 4 days MIA after my long weekend of full day studies (only slept 4 hours during weekends), then take 1 day mc on mon and celebrating hb birdae yesterday. hahaa..

Weight loss: I have weight loss too. I lost 4kg for 3 months. hopefuly dun drop anymore. I felt so restless n tired everytime. I drank alot of bird nest (My mum and grandma brew me those real bird nest while FIL buy me those bottle ones). Like twice in a week. Until now i also scared. lol..

Anyone facing dryness in your skin? My face like peeling off...

huishan - haha i also thought tt maybe when fat cannot see coz cant differentiate btw fat or pregnant but i noe skinny pple dont show so fast also...hmmm maybe we r the in btw lol..or the gas thing cld be true..coz i noe im very gassy type..hahah its nice to haf a bump but a bit paiseh now..especially when i cant say yet..n also my office got a 5 mths preg colleague n i tink i look bigger than her coz she very skinny so got some comparison lor..paiseh!!!

ssbaby - yes mine is..esp the under my lower lip area/chin..very red n blotchy...sigh..tt when i went to aust..it was really bad coz it was extra dry there but come back also still blotchy..its the hormones wat to do..ive been taking chicken essence..i find it makes me more alert esp at work the nxt day if not i normally very tired..i haf some bottle birds nest but wanted to wait till 2nd tri..will prob start having soon..can i ask? how to prepare? drink cold? or hot? issit like chicken essence..just put in hot water to warm it then can drink after tt? or put in fridge?

ssbaby, I heard that during pregnancy, our face may become dryness.. Are you using any moisturizer? I use the Esteer Laudeer night repair and the de-hydrating moisturizer, so far so good..

Or you also make up? May need to try on de-hydration product.

I just post a blog post saying that "We are PREGNANT!" and post a link to FB. I'm in my 12th weeks too... consider 3 months. I finally break the news openly. Although many have suspected but it does feel good to say out secret. Haha.