(2011/11) Nov 2011

memorable,

thank you! can see that this baby will have sharp little chin like our girl already. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i was told by this evening blood test results will be faxed over to my gynae le. very fast huh?? but they will wait till the hard copy (by post) reach them then make appt talk to me. i wonder if i shld call up and kpo the results tmr morning. very tempted ler...

wow!!! starry!!! wat a cool pic!!! i think i will book my oscars during my next appt..but cant wait to get such gd pix...

anyway just now i found out tt my boss told my team abt me!! so i had to rush to go tell my clique of close colleagues before they find out from someone leaking it out...haizzzzz....

felixp - i tot drinking soya bean is good? but dont eat too much soya beancurd cos pple says they contain something like "clay" (not too sure what it is actually but pple just make that kind of comment) which is not too good.

time for me to look through wat i have for no1. i remember buying too many bottles etc.....

Starry,

So good you can have a scan pic...TMC didn't give me any pic after my oscar. Your bb look so cute and relaxed in there [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Can't wait to know my blood test results also..

starry, nice pic there!! must be real happy.... hehehe

phoenixmisi, i tot tmc will have pics that they did for the oscar? maybe they send it to your gynae for review first? i rem taking mine back for no1.

Good morning all! The long weekend is almost here.

I'm heading for my OSCAR scan later at 4pm. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

leikela,

you are going to do at TMC? sure will have pix. just gotta ask. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] how come ur boss nv ask u then go and tell others? slip of the tongue? but nvm, also good that it's in the open then ppl can be more considerate to u.

phoenix,

i had to ask for pics at TMC then given. and they were all printed on paper, quality not good and not very clear like on the u/s films. remember to ask huh? otherwise may not get any. for NUH, i received 2 pcs without having to ask. so quite good lah. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tulips,

yes, very happy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jmi,

all the best! update us later k?

a mummy friend just showed me this...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5373651.jpg]

her gf delivered at NUH and stayed in A1 ward. before she discharged, she was surprised with sumptuous feast! i am really impressed! NUH like getting better and better.

so many mummies going for the oscars this wk!!! haha nice!

starry - don't know le..now i dont know if i specifically told him not to say..n i also dont know when he said..maybe he tinks its ok to say alrdy..dunno..but my team mate say tt the way he said was like..they shld know..so i dun tink its slip of tongue but he is a nice person so i tink maybe he just thought tt pple noe or its ok to sya alrdy lor...anywya ok la..since quite close to 12 wks alrdy so im not so angry but jus tt i was still toying w the idea of saying n now like someone decide for me alryd..hahah does tt make sense? n plus past few days i so paranoid abt the next appt..now even more gan chiong coz pple noe liao..haha just abit pantang...

ya i tink my colleague went for her 20 wks scan where they measure everything..hmmm come to tink of it..i tink it was printed on paper..coz it was like a 2 or 3 pg reports w 1 or 2 pg with the diff scan angles...

hmmm...but if my doc in tmc..i can go NUH to do OSCARS? will we have an option of where we wanna make tt appt? btw..ur doc tell u to make appt or u ask?

leikela,

i would also prefer to be the one breaking the news personally, but nvm lah. personally tell those closer ones can le. those not close ones, don't know also nvm. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] don't worry about the pantang part k? for both my pregnancies, i told colleagues when i found out. not sure if you can go NUH do oscars in this case. this was recommended by my gynae 'cos he himself says better service there. so i just followed lor.

memorable,

for hubby also. so much food how to finish?! haha! i saw the maternity package rates. similar to private hospitals.. http://www.nuhgynae.com.sg/wbn/slot/u2349/Patients%20and%20Visitors/Hospital%20Charges/OB%20-%20Outpt%20Inpt%20Pkgs-%20Jun%2009_CC%20amended.pdf

felix,

haaha! lunch time le. go eat!

tulips,

I will check with my gynae next week regarding the pics..can't wait to see the little one again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wah..the NUH food looks delicious!

I'm in my 12wks now..I just back from my Oscar test.. The nuchal fold thickness is 1.6mm.. Thicker than my last pregnancy.. I'm hoping I will not have to end up going for aminocentesis which I did for last pregnancy..

Gynae also try very hard to check the gender.. Too bad she cant see anything between the leg.. So sad, it a girl again..

I'm hoping my husband can accept it.. Hai...

Hehes, everyone toking abt Oscar scan now.. I gg for mine only on 19 may at tmc.

Jojo, ur bb's is 1.6mm Shld be okay bah? Starry's post says 2.5 mm is the cutoff, urs is below 2.5 mm so Shld be okay right? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I hope ur Hubby won't be sad though :p

Me and my Hubby okay with any gender but I think mil prefer bois bah.. But nonetheless as long as bb healthy we are happy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

felix,

last time before i was preggy with my girl, my mil still tell me tiger year, no good, better don't have babies, especially baby girls. then conceived during honeymoon, no choice shut her up. haha!

jojo,

i'm sure your hubby will be happy, don't worry! we also didn't spot anything during oscar. but doesn't matter. hubby resigned to 'fate' already although he badly wants a boy. was it your blood test result that caused the high risk reading that was why you had to do amnio?

jojo, i'm sure ur hb will be ok. girls are always daddy's girls!! i have friends who have hb who wanted boys initially but when the baby girls were delivered, they were so happy and some even says that girls are better after some time.

now i'm wonderng if the gynae can spot anything this sat although it seems to be still too early. hehe....

wah, the NUH food looks good! just the setting is enuff to blow us away. but hor, can everything be eaten? must faster eat before mothers/mil come and say nono to the food....

Wah starry, NUH's service looks really good! Too bad it's too far from where i stay, not convenient.

So much talk about Oscar test here, hope all get good results! Jojo, dun worry too much, dun forget that stress is not good for our babies! Anyway u know very well how the Oscar test can give false alarms from your 1st pregnancy so this time round, at most do another amnio right? If done by experienced gynae most likely no issue, just rest and drink plenty water or red dates logan drink to replenish the amniotic fluid after the amnio. I'm also same like u, expecting my no.2 and also at 12 weeks!! But no Oscar or amnio this time, I will just accept my baby in whatever form it comes in. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starry - how old is your #1? Last time my gynae oso never spot anything during oscar..she said she guessed is girl but 16wks then will know....then at week 16 during her scan, i told her i duno want to know..... she very fast scan said, i know already....then i know its a boy...

I am from jan 11 thread. Bought too much similac mum and I have stopped breastfeeding. I have 3 tins of unopened similac mum to let go at $14 expiry is 2013. Pls kindly call or msg me at 94550525 if u are interested.

starry - ok maybe i just wait n see what my doc say...haha ya i went to the NUH site..they are very comprehensive compared to TMC...tmc not much info...for those ladies delivering in TMC..haf u all though of which kinda rm to take or haf u all gone for the hosp tour yet? anyway abt the pple knowing...ya cant tink too much abt it also..

manunited,

she's 6 mths old now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] then i think probably not true that at oscar if cannot spot means girl. have to keep the anticipation for another 3 weeks plus then.

leikela,

tmc info very brief. best is ask those who delivered there before.

leikela,

I took the single bedded during my #1 as for others, the hubby cannot stay over.

Also I prefer single bedded cos more privacy.

If hubby stays over, need to pay a fee too.

starry/manunited,

My colleague detected her boy at 13-14th week with 80% accuracy. Now confirmed after detailed scan.

I hope to detect during oscars but I think the chances are slim as it is really a bit too small at 12th week. It seems like 1-2 weeks makes a lot of difference. Think we will just have to be patient for the 16th week appt. So near, yet so far [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

am back from my oscar test, The nuchal fold thickness is 1.4mm. Sonographer commented it's within normal range. Baby very active and kept moving and raise 2 hands up, i think she is praising God, hallelujah, haahaa!

Starry: I agreed, i like the service at NUH and i have made appt for my detailed scan too. I going to tell my gynae am not going to TMC, haahaa, cheaper in NUH, detail scan $160 only, can't recall how much TMC charged, higher definitely.

Just to add, that means gynae and delivery still with TMC/MAH but the detailed scan and oscar can arrange with another hosp?

Sounds good as I always thought must stick to 1 hospital...

@starry: Nice scan pic there!! it's so clear, now i can't wait for my OSCAR scan coming wed 27th! ~ Btw, u r in how many weeks preg. now?

koi,

i delivered in MAH for my girl but oscar etc all done at TMC. my previous gynae affiliated to neither hospital. so it's okay, just have to ask your gynae to make arrangements for you. this time round gynae from gleneagles, delivering at MAH, oscar and detailed scan all at NUH. rojak. haha!

tiny voice,

same. detailed scan booked at NUH le. i really much MUCH prefer it there. feel more comfy and relaxed somehow. you baby so cute! haha! raise hands praising God. good lah! play more praise/worship songs for him/her to listen to during your quiet time.

re: gender

maybe still very early at 12 weeks. 1 week can make a lot of difference in baby's growth! very surprising lor.

oh yah, koi.. how was the experience like at tmc??

evelyn,

hi! thanks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] 6 more days, very soon! i'm 12w4d now. you?

@starry: Yeah, can't wait, am also hope to find out the gender too.. lol..so excited!

wow, 12w4d! we're close, i'm 12w1d =D .. moreover, after i saw ur baby scan pic, i really am so longing to go for my scan like NOW! lol~

@manunited: I've also been having breakouts.. really ugly face.. and ya the old wives tales indicate that Mummy ugly = Boy baby, Mummy Pretty = Girl baby~

he he, my hubby has a scientific theory with the regards to why baby boy will make mommy have breakouts... he say baby boys' hormone will clash with the mommy's hormone... not sure how true...

wa, starry, your scan picture so clear...

leikela, u can book the hospital tour at the info counter area. they will bring u to take a look at the delivery wards and the various rooms.

i stayed in tmc when no1 was born in 2009. it was the time of h1n1 so visitors were banned except for immediate families. in some sense it was good cos there were not many people even though i stayed in a 2-bedded room.

bad part of 2-bedded is u duno who ur neighbour is and how is their sleeping pattern. and some could come in in the wee morning after delivery.

i've been to 1-bedded rooms and they were really nice. spacious with a computer to logon internet. also a sofa that acts as a sleeping bed for the hb if he does stayover. so if u are intending to have visitors, then 1 bedded will be good.

i think u need to put in request with your gynae later in the last tri or so and still be able to make changes during admission - subject to availability though.

the only thing i hate at tmc for previously and now is the carpark.

regarding breakouts, i heard of different point of view.

1) baby girl, mummy ugly cos baby took all the beauty

2) baby girl, mummy radiant cos hormones same, no clash

tell me which is true? haha....

@ aabunny: Hmmm .. perhaps so.. i've a frd who had a boy last jul, didn't really have major breakou but got black spots on the face and ltr spread to body... so well.. maybe maybe it's really true~

@ l.tulips: saw it online on the 2 pt of views.. lol, this was wat a forumer wrote :

1) baby girl, mummy ugly cos baby took all the beauty --> Ang Mohs belief

2) baby girl, mummy radiant cos hormones same, no clash --> Chinese belief

tulipa n koi, i definitely taking 1 bedded but they have a 1 bedded and they have a premier one? anyone knows what the diff? slightly bigger issit? my hubby say take the premier i guess i hafta go for tour n see..if really much bigger than maybe coz i got big family n imagine if everyone come visiting..small rm i will get headache but maybe gd also then relatives will leave quickly hahaha..but my own immediate family is big n i prob want them there..

LOL

I heard too:

Boy- Ugly with big nose and pimples. But also heard, mummy will glow. Ugly, yet glow? Mummy does not like to doll up.

(I have seen mummies with boys who look good and those who look bad.) (Some with pimples but yet, cleared during pregnancy.)

Girl- Mum is pretty and likes to doll up.

(This one more consistent.)

Tahan mummies. A few more weeks.

Hi leikela,

Cannot remember the difference between the 2 as i gave birth 4 yrs ago. I took the normal 1-bedded. Last time, think no internet leh but have television, sofabed, pantry area. I have 8-10 visitors at times, room size quite ok.

I have heard some mums got free upgraded to top level which is the premier and some who got downgraded as not enough rooms. Need to book in advance.

aabunny,

oscar scans are usually VERY clear. you going for one right?

also heard the old wives' tale before. my ex colleague had boy, she was very radiant. another ex colleague had girl, also very very beautiful when pregnant. then another friend, having girl, looked awful. think it is how you react to the hormones?

leikela,

my gf was in the premier ward. got computer and free wifi can surf net in the room. room was larger also. but the svc she had there was not good.

re: 2-bedded

hated it when i was warded in MAH. no 1-bedder for me on day 1 so told to share with another mummy till afternoon then transfer me to 1-bedder. the whole morning there was awful! tried to doze while waiting for things to start moving along but neighbor watched tv yet didn't use headphones, plus breat pump motor going on and on, PLUS the LC came in and talked loudly to her! grr... THEN, i was given the meds to go clear bowels and it was super effective! my neighbor's hubby spent a nong nong time in the loo! i was in the delivery gown where i really wore nothing, with a huge gaping hole at the back all the way to the butt. felt so embarrassed to sort of walk past the other mummy's bed to the toilet lor. after all these i told the nurses to please transfer me to 1-bedder once i deliver. cannot stand it in 2-bedder ward. no rest at all.

Koi: detail scan at NUH $160. I will be delivering at TMC. U can ask your gynae if can refer u there.

Evelyn: yah, at least peace at heart after scan.

I think service wise depends on individual expectation.

I would say some nurses are more patient and friendly than others.

I got an impatient nurse one of the days and wrote a complaint letter after discharge. The nurse called to apologise but I do not think she remembers or knows who she is apologising to or about.

Since parents and hubby with me daily, they helped me most of the time. So quite ok.

LC a bit rush. Came in, take the bb, put to breast and go. In the end, my friend taught me.

My #1 and I was quite young. The first few among friends to have bb. So a bit blur. Went through ordeal with epi wound and then know the level of care can really differs from 1 nurse/gynae to another.

Depends on choice and luck. On the whole, I think average lah. Still going back cos more familiar and near home.

haha nowadays we have iphone etc..no need free wifi n internet also ok...hmmm guess must really see wats the diff..quite a big diff in price le almost 150 to 200 more each night..

starry, i am going for mine next wed at TMC... a bit early for me, i am only 10 weeks+ today... but no choice, have to fly off on Thursday so gynea say try our luck...

wa, it sounds like one-bedder is better, but the price difference quite a lot!

@ Tiny Voice : Absolutely, now me still worry abt ths or tht & kept on worrying~ hope all my woes will end soon..

Last visit to the gynae was at 28th Mar, went for Oscar blood test on 7th Apr, then 27th for Oscar Ultrasound scan ~ then can see gynae on 11th May.. aiyoyo...

koi,

oscar at NUH was ard $280. my gf's exp with tmc nurses was they just expect her to know what to do for bfing even though she's 1st time mom. in the end, she gave up bfing the day she reached home. wasted.. 'cos she had very good milk supply. really like you say, by luck. or be very assertive and ask to be helped/served.