(2011/11) Nov 2011

shirley, if for IFC cant register but can make reservation. Need to inform them which month the bb is coming in..some IFC would want a deposit 1st..but i only paid the desposit after my confinement period.

berrypie - haha ya hubby become the stressed one..my hubby tell me he cannot slp..he very stressed but dont' know y...

starry/ ent - how old are u ladies? im 28 tis yr..

anyway i was watching this prog last night on discovery home n health abt ladies who continued having thei period or at least spotting tt they thought still period..never put on weight etc etc then only noe they pregnant when they go into labour..so many sia..i mean they managed to make a series so its quite a common phenomenon!!! scary n amazing at the same time..

oh n as for the IFC..if im not wrong..eg if the IFC cost 1k before subsidy then after 600 subsidy will be 400 but u can pay using the CDA account which is half contributed by u n half by govt..so technically speaking..the real out of your own pocket expenses will be abt 200...although im also considering btw infant care n nanny..coz hubby say the cda account money can also use next time for childcare n other needs..so dont know if wanna risk it n put our child in IFC..got CC at my office..or close by so tt one we will surely put but its just the IFC part..the CC at our work place dont offer IFC so will hafta b another branch...sigh..then there is also the issue of..what if i cant make it home in time by 7pm..at least with nanny if running abit late still flexible right?

Whats the market rate of nanny ah? those tt u bring to their house n they take care one?

leikela,

i am 25. will have turned 26 when i deliver.

oh, i know the program you watched! very scary thinking about it. can you imagine the trauma of knowing that you are pregnant while you are already 10cm dilated? horrors..

speaking of which, we have a staff who's in NZ right now and didn't know she was pregnant till she was 6 months along. so duh right?? her daughter already 16 years old and this is her #2. think she's very big sized so couldn't see the body difference or feel baby move. scary...

starry, i know and i understand but afterall, they are our hb's mother..no choice, cant change them, hv to learn accept their behavious and mindset...

Simp, problem always starts when becomes we became mother and they became grandparent..they hv funny ideas/mindset, i realli cant get it..seldom talk to them nowaday and my hb dont like me complaining abt his parent...my pil had issue with another DIL. Now, they are moving out too..

Hi, i think i m the veg u are saying. Well, i duno how to cook but i manage to find some link on that while searching for CL.

http://sg.******************/articles/Vegetarian_Confinement_Recipes

http://crystalbyblog.blogspot.com/search/label/Vegetarian%20Confinement%20Recipes

http://crystalbyblog.blogspot.com/search/label/Vegetarian%20Confinement%20Recipes%20II

Not sure if it is suitable. I will leave it to my CL to do it.. She is a full veg also and very exp..

Starry, this morning i just saw a very big size (3 times of my size - M) lady. The bus auntie actually ask people to let her sit down. I don't think she is preg coz i been seeing her every now n then. I felt so sad for her coz her reaction was like she dun have a choice coz people ask her to go sit down...

berrypie thanks for the link..

starry u so young, so u can jia you for 3rd and 4th one hehehe b4 35.

mil

Me too b4 i had my #01 quite good with my mil, after my #01 come out then got different thinking and different way to do, sometime will argue with her but i try not to argue with her coz she still my hb mother. But sometime really cannt tahan her way coz she used her method all is very old time ago method. And my #01 quite spoilt by her. but she funny she dun like my #02. So dunno #03 come she will how, but till now havent tell her my preg. hehehe.

starry - oh so ur alot younger than me..haha[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yeah cant imagine..like got no mental prep everything then suddenly baby pop out..

Two days MC n back to work, was rushing out my report, only 30mins b4 work end that I know another coll was doing d same thing. WTH. didn't even inform me n waste my effort d entire day! Dunnoe is a good thing or bad thing. Haizz.

But I still send what ever I had done to him

So he can make a fast check.

starry

Gd for u that u r a young mom. Thin we need alot more young moms in sg. I also ask my sis to quickly become a mom while she is in her 20s. Can have many and still have energy to fight with the kids.

ssbaby

It is good to know moms who are vegetarian. I wd check out the recipe for confinement as well as normal meals. These days even i go out to eat, i realise i choose veg based noodles, rices etc. I still take meat but in smaller portion unless it's fried chicken wings, my greatest weakness. If i need more info, wd find out more from u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I had a dream yesterday.I think i dream of me going to the gynae for checkup as usual.During scan,i can see my bb is a girl.Anyone experience that and wonder if it is accurate as i am only around 7weeks?

haha, my pil out of the blue gave me an article on how to determine the sex of the baby... then hint that so and so have two boys then one gal.. er... i act blur... we have not told them about the pregnancy...

starry,

Wow! You are so young!!! It is very rare for someone who got married and giving birth at such a young age. When I'm 25, I think we only managed to plan for wedding. Even thought that I'll be left on the shelf. :p

So being a young mummy..... hmm...... hope that your hubby is mature enough to handle the baby next time. Ever since we have a baby, will tend to have more quarrels. Normally guys will love to leave everything to mummy to do which is sometimes quite hard. My hubby sometimes will throw tantrums without reason just like my son. So it is just as hard handling 2 "babies" alone.

Talking about MIL (sign..),

I have so much conflict with her ever since my #1 is born, now I don't talk to her and my FIL anymore.

Little_bb,

I had a dream that I was having a girl when pregnant with #1 but it turned out to be a boy instead.

starry!!! u so young!! envy envy...im already 29th...

Shirley, my husband also is like a King at home..only sometimes will help out when i ask him to do so..if not he will just sit there n hug the tv! his excuse is very lame lor..say he tired as he work like a cow...

littlebb, mayb u r too desperate to hav a bb girl..same like me..also wan a girl so much which i always dreamt abt it!!

Hi Jo, i have not started. But my friend started using the clarin's 5 weeks... I not so onzz yet. And she found it very effective.

I will start using the Avent anti-stretch mark cream very soon. I was using this for my #1. It's cheap and I didn't have any stretch marks whatsoever. *happy* [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mil: same for me, after #1, serious conflict due to different handling styles and her hygiene issue. With #2, worst! There was a time I din go back, later things patch back and got better cos I know she afterall loves the grandkids. Rather trust her than the maid.

For stretch mark cream, I feel too queasy to even apply body lotion. I also dun have the energy to dress up. I am just too lazy... Actually, supposed to start applying. I already have existing stretchmarks from prev pregnancies, quite bad, bcom silver color le.

Felixp, i also used Clarins Tonic Oil for my 1st preg..yes its very effective! I cant see any stretch mark now...

Will need to ask my friend to help me buy as she can get 15% discount off retail price.

Jmi, does avent stretchmark cream smells like cocoa butter? I cannot use product with strong cocoa butter smell, cannot stand the smell. If dun've, i'l try it ;o)

I used to buy mothercare brand & clarins but still've stretchmarks sob sob.

Btw, for the nipple cream in bf, I swear by avent brand, heals cracked nipple superfast!!! Very soothing.

Happymum, nope it doesn't. Initially I was using this Palmer's and it gave me a bad itch! My SIL got me Clarin's samples cos her friend was working there but since Avent worked well for me and it's cheap, I stuck with it.

Nipple cream I used Medela. Then again I didn't use much nipple cream. The same tube is still somewhere in my drawer. :p

happymum, for nipple cream, i think medela is good also but the LC told me the best & safe cream to heal is our breast milk n its foc! last time i really got a bad cracked nipple n my own breast milk really helps to heal!

Stretch mark cream

I use clarins but i can still see how stretched the marks are and i am more concern abt itchiness than stretch marks. This time i wd use anti-itchiness or more moisturising cream for this.

Crackled Nipple

Like jo'mummy, i use bm. After every bf, i wd squeeze a little and apply over the areola. I think better than cream and safest. On the next feed, wd use cotton wool with warm water to clean the area before bf again. Very impt esp if during confinement, u r not bathing for the 1st few days.

Hi mummies, I currently using body shop anti stretch mark cream. Started applying when i am at 6w. Intro by my auntie who got a nice body shape now. But the smell of cocoa butter is still very strong. Anyone use Body shop one before? They do not have stretch mark cream, only got anti stretch mark cream..

hehe...me always buy a few different brand of stretch mark cream/oil to apply..just like my 1st pregnancy i use abt 3 different brand..

simp, jo, shirley,

i got married young so might as well have kids while i am young. my mum always urge me not to wait till too late to try for kids as chances of conceiving drops with age. last time before getting married nv really go and think so much abt conceiving and what. always thought should be easy. then later started to be more aware about all these fertility issues after marriage.

my girl was a honeymoon baby. we didn't plan to have her so soon and wanted to wait a year first but God had other plans for us. and then here we are with #2 on the way so quickly. a lot of people showed skepticism when i shared about my pregnancy so shortly after giving birth and that made me feel very sad initially. to them it's like, why so fast? you are still young, should enjoy. are you sure your body can take it? etc etc... shld be happy thing lor, yet they poured cold water on me. but anyway, over liao. these ppl can go eat dirt. hubby and i plus our family and close friends are very happy, which is most important! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jo,

i have started using the stretchmark oil, but not very regular since tummy skin still quite loose now. i use more ru yi oil! 'cos the bloating is still quite persistent at night. middle of the night always 'poot' out gas. haha!

re: nipple cream

used to use the lansinoh one. it's very thick and really protects the nipples. but i realized my girl's mouth always sticky after latching and quite hard to wipe off so stopped using and used bm instead. think nipple creams are only good when the nipples are very very sore. bm dries up quite fast and no more 'protection' especially when there's abrasion against our bras/shirts.

simp,

i was using the medela nipple wipes previously. like the cool feeling. but expensive.

Simp, how long we not suppose to bath? I cant imagine for a month! Thats crazy! Can we bath and dry ourseleves up immediately?

jo mummy, yup yup.. $21.90 i guess. But i got fren working in BS, so got 50%. if i order my second stick and u also want, just let me know. I can order for u as well... (Should not have a max number lol.. haha)

Jmi, thanks, will give it a try.

Jo mummy, I also used medela before but find it less moisturizing. But u're rite, bm the best for cracked nipple ;o)

starry, good that u get thru the stage. Thinking back, my parents gave birth to me at 24. So wasnt that bad too.. At least now can be ah ma liao while some collegues of mine (same age as my mum) still having teenage children.

I heard 25 is the peak of our fertility. After that, everything drop drastically... I will still be 26 when i bear my first child, consider early liao.. haha.. 27 Birthday come after my birth.. haha

re: confinement

i broke a lot of rules. but stuck to them for about 5 days. haha! my mum forbade me to shower or wash hair for a week!!! really torturous, i tell u... in the end, i managed to cut short my 'sentence' to 5 days. then every 3 days wash once. and when my mum busy with something else i'd secretly have a quick shower. 'cos the weather was super hot then and whole body very sticky. can't imagine giving salty, sticky breasts to my girl lor.

Hello Jo's mummy, just wanna say Congratz to you! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Wish comes true ya!! hehe..

Hi, ssbaby u are indeed very young and good for you. Jiayou, and go on to bear more fruits hoh. I wish I am as young as you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am 31 this year and this is my #1. Intending to have #2 before 35. See how it goes. No choice for us cos we rom only in 2009 and our traditional wedding in May this year - already considered express service considering that we only have 1 year of "er ren shi jie"... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yes starry, start early is always good as you've better health condition and energy. This will benefit your kids also.

Ssbaby, I bathe everyday but with the herbs and must be warm. I even washed my hair, for first week, once every 2 days, subsequently, everyday cos I cannot tahan hee. I did blow dry my hair after each wash. Then late evening after dinner, I will clean & wipe myself and also soak my wound in salt water.

ssbaby,

heard a lot of ppl saying it's harder to conceive and harder for our body to recover if give birth after 32. even i myself find it more straining for this pregnancy, body not as fit as i was a year ago. so confinement is very very important. must eat well and don't even think about losing weight then. 'cos after giving birth, the body really has a lot of wind! i was so surprised when i kept feeling large amts of gas travelling ard my intestines straight away after giving birth. fart A LOT! but not smelly type. :p gynae told me it's 'wind'. lasted for ard 3-4 weeks.

Starry, same for me. The wind made me looked like 5 mths preggy after giving birth hee.

Yes, I also think confinement super impt, must eat well and rest well. I could also feel the diff between #1 & #2. Now this one worst, no energy.

happymum,

i wonder if it is because of age? didn't think a few months would have made any difference for my case. or maybe body haven't fully recover then preggy again. or maybe due to confinement? i was quite pale during confinement 'cos tried to tbf. some more baby had jaundice then so i avoided ginger and even alcohol. all those very very bu ones i didn't take. maybe that's why feeling weaker this time round.

hope you find back your energy when you reach the 2nd tri. and make sure stick to confinement strictly! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I can't imagine not showering! My CL let me shower everyday with herbs. A morning wipe and late afternoon shower. But can only wash hair every alternate day, I always try to bargain with her. :p

Woah, thanks for sharing.. Lucky i made my choice right for a CL. Actually din plan for #1 but its just came (consider shot gun?) Lol. Since god give us, we accept it.

Felixp, thanks. But i din think of getting preg as i have kind of pre-preg depression. Scared of giving birth, scare what will happen when my baby grew up, will he be bad and harm the society. But now, all mindset change. Guess just dun tink too much. Bear more? I shall see how after my #1. haha.. Government din give enuff money to support us.. If they have consider 50% susisdy for CL, Nanny, child care, pampers and milk power, i might consider for #2 lol...

Halo,

I have spotting and brown discharge since Sunday, went and see my gynae on Tuesday, been pescribe with utrogestran and rest for 2 days. Until now still have the brown discharge.

How? Usually take the medicine, the brown discharge should stop? I also feel very tired since this week, it is my 7th week now. Feel worried on this 2nd pregnancy, think really weak...

morning ladies!

on hl for d next few daes. told dr ydae tt i had cramps n spotting so had a progesterone jab n more hormone pills + aspirin till i c him when im 8wks.

oh ya. manage to c bb hb ydae. a sign of relief. dr so excited tt he forgot to ask hubby to come in n c d scan. lolx.

happymum & leikela

thanks for d concern. =)

leikela

im staying at 172C. wat abt u?

btw, we are of the same age! mi turning 28 tis june. hehe.

ptsmallbear

sori for late reply. resting in bed ydae. it will be good to c dr earlier. take care k. =)

starry

young mummy! at wat age did u get married? i tied the knot at 23, had my elder boi at 24 & younger one at 25. ^^

jo's mummy

mi yet to start applying stretchmarks cream. im using clarins too. but not veri effective for mi coz i have stretchmarks when i had my bois.

simp

anti-itchiness cream? got sell ah? can tell mi where to get? tummy super itchy esp during laz tri. =(

Starry, I did ask my gynae, she said it's like that, once woman past 30yrs old, womb & hormone not that strong, body not as healthy.

In my last confinement, I din take much Ginger & wine for 1st week cos my girl also jaundice.

For your case, likely bcos u also have to take care of bb.

Yeah, this time must really do a good confinement ;o)

Hi Eveyone,

Not sure if I can join in this forum as I have not confirmed with the test yet. Still don't dare go buy and test. Scared result is negative, will be very sad.

Going 23 in nx birthday, I married young too. Has been trying for 3 months already and suddenly, menses late for a week.

No sign of MS yet, but keep having craving for food recently. A Big eater now.

Having some doubt and wishes that all experience mummy can help to clears my ??

1) How many blood tests the doctor will do during the 9 months check up?

2) what other tests will be conducted?

3) Is outbreak in the first few weeks normal?

Evelyn, my brown discharge stopped automatically, so i din eat any medicine. Prob u got to check with ur gynae again.

For mummies who has interest to let ur child to learn Chinese Classics (四书五经), u may want to refer to the following video (1hr +). Its by a Professor Wang who talk about education for our kids. I was a ex tutor in my religious group and watch this when i was 17 years old. Till now, its vividly in my head. I was studying chinese classics when i was 11 years old. And till now, i still can memorise these till now. Actually, i am reading chinese classics and hope bb could listen in my stomach. hehe...