(2011/11) Nov 2011

Babyzel (babyzel) - i feel the same way... nausea feeling is terrible, i really wish there is some solution for this... do not feel like eating anything.... for the first one i did not feel this way....

leikela, ha ha, my hubby said exactly the same thing - girl he will be more stressed, he says can rough it out if boy! i am fine with boy or gal... as long healthy!

Littlebb..I was 5w5d at my scan but the doc said I was 4w5d however I'm surenof when I ovulated coz I was tracking my temp n using opk..I think in the early stages the date changes..in a few wks time it should self adjust back so I'm keeping to my orig edd until later on then maybe adjust again

Littlebb,

hi-5! Now I'm trying to find a new gynae! I like eastshore cos near my place l, not too crowded n kinda cozy!

My spotting has officially stopped! I'm happy!

Btw, do remember that whatever we do now will affect our bbs. There is a relation in mummy's mood during pregnancy n bb's emotions.. The bb can feel it thru the heartbeat n other body sounds.. So if u are angry, yr heart beats fast n the bb will be in an environment which is more tense. On the other hand, when u r relaxed, bb can feel it too.. So must remember to keep cool N happy always!

N it's during the 1st trImester when major organs are being developed.. Do be careful of food u take. More nutritious n less junk.. Those mummies taking coffee or tea should also try to cut dwn..

Oops!!! Nowadays I'm kind of attracted to junk food or Western food. True, true. Anyway, nowadays with baby and me around only can eat easy & healthy food. No noodles. Even cooking alone have to be easy like putting a lot of ingredients into soup as a meal. Only when I'm alone outside, I'll treat myself something a bit more sinful. Haha.

Yea, those junk food are nothing but fats n sugar! Try to focus more on iron, calcium, protein etc.. N we will start losing calcium when we breastfeed. So pls stock up on calcium, lots n lots of calcium!

felixp - I experienced those black-outs too a couple of times with #1 during 1st tri. Gynae will typically say no cause for concern, so just got to try not to stay on your feet for too long.

eliaw - yeah, need to eat healthier, though I still indulge in the occasional junk food. Just had Macs breakfast over the weekend :p

Any mummies still continue with health supplements such as vit C and multivits? I used to take these daily, also apple cider vinegar to ward off catching my DD's cough. Felt abit uneasy and decided to stay off them for the 1st tri. Not sure if I am being overly-cautious.

Morning ladies! Eating my mac breakfast & feeling damn nausea afta taking the hashbrown. Tink tummy unable to take oily food. =(

Shirley

Good to have some help. Do catch some rest whenever possible. =)

Im hoping for a baby ger too! Sick of bois wear liao. Tees & jeans onli. No fun one. Lolx. Somemore my MIL pinning high hopes for a ger coz she have 5 grandsons liao. ><

Linggie

Time for baby doll tops or tunics! Hehe. Yesterday my boss came into my room & suddenly touch my tummy! Asked mi if I fat or preg! Lolx. Coz I on MC laz wk due to bad cough & flu but MC given by my gynae so she question. No choice but to admit but emphasize that I pantang abt telling other colleagues yet. Hope she don forget & go around telling others! Else sure blame her again! =(

Leikela & Pigy

Hubby say mi fat too. Coz tummy super bloated & all clothes I wear can c bb bump. Sad sia. But guess its time for more shopping! Hehehe.

Ssbaby

Not true that having boi means uglier ah. I was radiant when I have my bois. Nose also no swollen lei. One definite truth is that when having boi, cant c from behind that u preg. But wif ger, veri obvious. Hehe.

Ribena

Good for MS ah? Shall pop down to 7-11 to buy ltr. Super hate the nausea feeling!

Confinement Lady

Any idea when do we start finding one? Coz I did both confinements on my own, onli order tingkat confinement food. Tis time round mite wana get a CL. =)

Babyzel, my hubby fren told my hubby that my sleeping habits are good for now... n should continue, so baby will follow.. I slept at 10pm and wake up at around 6am. At least its healthy n i get more sleep than the past! So forced urself to sleep early hahaa.. although i din.. lol

As for the sex of baby, too many saying la.. i trust the ultrasound. scan n see the baby sex at later stage.. that more accurate lol...

J&k, confinement lady normally cost how much? do u know? I be finding one who can cook vege for me one... Masia, 1.9k...

Wah, thread moving really fast! Gotta wait till back to office then catch up. 'Cos I was on leave yesterday and pretty bz caring for my babe and also visit a colleague who just gave birth at Mt E. Her baby girl is soooo cute! Can't wait for Oct to come to meet my own. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Joybleu,

U had tummy ache with the mee Siam? It's fine to eat so don't worry. Probably the pregnancy hormones are causing the digestion to go a bit haywire. Lately whatever I eat also will have tummyache and bit of loose stools. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Guess it's normal.

Re: MS

Jia you to all mummies having MS still! Hope it will all go away once reach 2nd tri. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Mine seems to be waning le. Only comes during evening time especially before dinner time. So I have a lot of appetite for breakfast and lunch nowadays. But still haven't gain any weight.

J&K,

Think it's a good time to search for a CL now and book her before 2nd tri. I realize a lot of them are booked full very much in advance. Good luck in ur search! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starry: Welcome back! Heh! How was the event on Sunday? Didn't manage to bring the pup down...Anyway, my MS doesn't seem to be waning at all! Good thing I don't puke...Just feel incredibly uncomfortable, and less and less appetite! Wah. I didn't know CL must book so early. Better start doing research.

Littlebb, for my case the same, date shows 6+ weeks but scan shows 4+ weeks and no hb. Gynae said wait another 2 weeks to scan.

Desertmoon, I only took the supplements gynae gave now like folic, vit B, vit C and hormone pills due to spotting. Maybe u can ask your gynae if okie to con't your usual supplements.

Ent, on the powdered milk, for my #1 I took daily sometimes twice daily but I also ate alot thus gain 22 kg. #2 I din take but still gained like 18+ kg hee.

Starry, saw your latest post on your princess pic on fb, so

sweet and cute. Can see she is getting more playful also ;o)

On the weight loss, my #2, I lost weight in first trim due to bad vomitting, lost like 3kg. Weight pick up in 2nd trim. I also took medication that time to stop vomiting.

Joybleu, I too having loose stools and tummyache regdless of what I eat. Think like starry said, it's the hormone affecting digestion.

Ssbaby

Good to hav good slping habits when preg. Ur bb will slp d same time u slp afta u give birth. Hehe.

I heard from fren that hiring CL is abt 2k.

Starrymommy

Ooo. Thanks for d info. Shall start searching now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

happymum: But you look so slim! You're the one on my Facebook right?? How did you manage to lose all the weight? Must be very disciplined man!

Ent,yeah, the pic is me ;o) after giving birth, no one can recognize me, everyone said I looked like auntie then. Took me 6 mths for #1 to lose weight and 1 yr for #2. but pelvis area did not resume back to original thus I had to give away alot of old bottoms. I did not go on diet cos bf. But I exercised after I stopped bf and I think work & family stress contributes also hee. Another sacrifice for me is my feet, grown to size 8 from size 6 after 2 childbirth hee.

I tested a positive yesterday. Based on online calculation My EDD is Nov 26. Will be seeing a gynae on mon and hope everything will be good [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

J&K: Yeah... i will continue till my birth... Cannot let him/her sleep too late... haha

AW_BBgab - Same bdae as me lol... :p Everything will be fine for u! CL, yes, will be calling in to book later.. :p

Happymum, my fren told me the fastest way to slim down to get preg n bf. Is it true?

AW, I'm hiring back my CL who did confinement for my #1. She's currently doing confinement for my SIL.

Happymum, I was planning to slim down but looks like I can take my maternity clothing out again. Tubby days are approaching again....:/

Congrats awbb!

For cl, I lost my cl contact when I changed Hp. What a waste. Think for my case, i'l find one only when my pregnancy more stable.

Ssbaby, I find that bf helps to lose weight but at same time tend to eat quite alot cos get hungry & thirsty easily. For my friend, she was slimmer than her original build when she bf #2 but when she bf #3 for 15 mths she din lose much weight. We also dun know how to explain. Like for me, I bf #1 for 2 mths only but managed to lose weight 6 mths after but with #2, bf 13 mths weight loss not as drastic as #1.

ent29,

the event was good! but horrendously busy. a lot of crowds and very hot also. saw many many beautiful dogs! a lot of stalls there giving out very premium items like dog bowls, leashes, towels etc. and they were not made-in-china ones, all very quality stuff. too bad i didn't have the time to walk around and grab some for our office pup.

J&K, ent29,

first of all before you ladies start 'shopping' for confinement ladies, you gotta know your budget first. think CLs nowadays are quite expensive (between $1.8k - $2.5k) so make sure you get a good and experienced one and make your money worth the 'investment'. then you have to decide what is it you want the CL to do. don't just blindly hire one then realize later that a lot of things are not included in the package. for example...

- do you need help with ALL night feedings? bear in mind after CL leaves, your baby may not be used to someone else feeding him/her at night and may get fussy/cranky during night feeds after CL leaves. my advice is if can, you sleep in the day when baby sleeps and try to do part of the night feeds yourself for better transition later.

- housework? i know some CLs do basic housework like washing mummy's and baby's clothes plus vacuum/mop floor etc. hubby's clothes not included. so have to check with CL on this before you confirm her booking. otherwise a lot of misunderstandings later.

- purchase of herbs and tonics. some CLs offer a flat rate of $800 - $1000 for purchase of confinement herbs and tonics etc. some mummies i know don't really trust them and rather go to quality TCM shops to buy those items themselves before CL comes and they can save like $200-$300! but of course you must be familiar with these herbs and tonics before you go buy.

- manage your expectations. a lot of CLs have very traditional mindsets. for eg. babies on breastmilk should be fed water also. which is not true. babies on breastmilk do not need additional water. the foremilk is supposed to quench their thirst and hindmilk as their "main course". another example is swaying baby to sleep. some mummies are very particular about this and refrain their CLs from doing this. others are like traditional methods to prevent colic, bathing baby with herbs to get rid of jaundice etc... so you have to expect all these and if you are not comfortable with any of these, say so upfront. otherwise things can get quite out of hand and you won't have a happy confinement.

hope this helps! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

awbb, cindy,

congrats! and welcome to our thread! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ssbaby,

breastfeeding helped several of my friends go back to pre-pregnancy weight very quickly, but the catch is this - you must bf for a longer time. don't expect to be back to your normal weight after just a month of bfing. unless you are one of those lucky few with very high metabolism and only put on like 10kg throughout entire pregnancy. i put on like 14kg-15kg and still stuck with 4kg then pregnant again. :p

jmi,

i am wearing my maternity pants already. tubby days are indeed ahead... sigh..

happymum,

thank you!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] she's a real darling when she is nice and guai guai. but this morning don't know why woke up at 2.30am to play, "sing songs" and blow raspberries. so tired trying to get her back to sleep! orh pak kak today..

starry,

wow, that's fast!

My boy also went through a phase of getting up wee hours in the am to PLAY! Luckily it last only for a few days.

Wah I feel so welcome!! Mwhahhaha!!

Ssbaby: so gan chiong for the gynae appt. Though this is #2 but I feel like a 1st time mum all over again.

JMI : yr CL must be good! My previous one ok nia, find she didn't cook much tonic stuff for me.

Happymum: y u say only yr pregnancy is more stable? What happen??

Abt the slimming topic, yes u will lose alot of weight after BF. My lowest weight is 41kg, but that is due to stress also.

Cindy: hihi!! Our EDD quite close [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry: [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I agree with what u say abt CL. I rem mine said that I got not enough milk supply. Sigh, made me more depress

Oh.. thanks thanks.. Lets hope i can bf... my mum din manage to bf me n my sis last time.. my bro only got 2 weeks of bf.. So.. lets hope its not inherited.. :p

AW_BBgab, guess u are slim in the past liao... dun be gan jiong.. just trust ur gynae.. :p

Jmi, saw your pic on fb, u're slim enough.

About maternity clothes, I gave all away 3 yrs ago cos I thought I closed shop liao. Looks like now have to buy. Even bb stuffs and breast pump, gave all away.

AW,

My CL was highly recommended to me by my secondary school friend. She is very pro-BF and encouraging, helps with some housework etc. We get along well cos she also speaks Cantonese. When my SIL found out she was preggers, she immediately got me to contact my CL and she hired her for 3 months!

happymum, I used to be much slimmer! I still have not gotten down to my desired weight lor. I don't think I can ever fit into my old pants again. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

awbb,

i'm also feeling like a first time mom all over again even though i just gave birth last year. suddenly felt like eons ago. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my friend's CL also commented that her bm was not enough then kept asking her to feed fm. end up supply even worse 'cos baby don't wanna latch after being bottle-fed. really kns!

jmi,

have to be very disciplined to exercise and not binge on food lor. tough lah, but no pain no gain yeah? btw, it's very rare to come by good CLs. you were very lucky to have that CL! i heard that many CLs don't like bfed babies now 'cos if they are on formula, they sleep longer and it means the CLs themselves get more rest too. and my aunt's CL was damn bad... drank her tonic soups then dilute with water to cook for my aunt again. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

happymum,

how are u feeling already? still spotting?

i still see brown discharge almost everyday leh. a bit unsettling but i am trusting God that He will take care of my little one. that's all i can do for now.

good morning ladies!

Welcome AW and Cindy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: CL lady

Thanks Starry for the tips... wa really must so early start looking ah? eh, where to start searching?

Morning! And welcome new mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

J&K Mummy, you had confinement meals before? Can you share where you ordered from and your feedback? I am seriously thinking of doing the same, and skip CL altogether.

Re: Tummy ache, so some of you are getting that? Mine is quite bad in the morning, not much relief even after bowel movement. Thought it is something I ate..it is like having tummy ache all the time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Re: Boy/Girl - so many ways to speculate on the gender! When I was pregnant with DD, I had a very compact tummy, also can't tell pregnant from behind. Gynae says it's just because of the way baby is hugging me inside.

Bf - Yeah, bf does burn calories alright. And when I bf, I was also more conscientious about eating better, as I know what I eat will go to my DD. So win-win [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starry, yeah. When I found out I was positive, I told my CL. She even said no need to place deposit first since we know each other so well. She will lock the date down for me.

When she left after my confinement ended, she kept ringing to check on me & my boy. She also came and stayed with us for a night prior to starting her next assignment, and she gladly volunteered to look after my boy for that night.

But then again, both my SIL and I weren't demanding and fussy people to begin with, so I guess she also enjoyed her time with us.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi MTBs

I have been a slient reader for this thread.

If my IVF was successful, I might be in this thread joining you gals. But apprently it was unsuccessful.

I would like to clarify on CLs. Alot of CLs is very pro to bf. But the CLs cannot measure the quantity of bf milk if the baby is to letch on mummy. Thus the babies get hungry very easily.

Would recommand MTBs to express the milk out.

aabunny,

you can start by going through the forum's thread archives and see if there are any recommendations for CLs. otherwise another way is post in last year's threads and ask mummies there to recommend their CLs to you. if you are more secure with those registered CL agencies, you can try this reputable one: http://www.pemconfinement.com/

desertmoon,

you had compact tummy that was rounded or 'sharp'? my girl was sitting upright like a little kangaroo in my tummy and my whole tummy was pointed and big. everyone thought i was having a boy for sure.

Awbb, cos I've spotting and last scan also not so good. Now is like resting, waiting for next scan.

Starry, your girl consider very guai ;o). My boy when bb woke up at nite and slept soundly in the day until 3 mths old.

Ssbaby, on bf, dun worry, with good support, u can do it. I asked for alot of help when I first bf also.

Jmi, it'l take time, after #2, u'l be more busy then will lose weight faster.

Happymum: I sure am hoping so! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jmi,

you really had a gem of a CL! guess communication is very impt. if don't communicate, nothing will go smoothly. somemore have to face the CL for a month.

VT,

hope your next try will be a success!

Awbb

If you are interested I can recommend my MIL to you (since I am not pregnant) as she is a confinement nannny for 15 years already.

She is a M'sian and you need not apply any CN work-permit as she is on a long-term visit pass for 5years.

The sponsor is my hubby

Thanks Starry.

Currently seeing TCM to 'tiao' my body and hopefully in July to go thru another IVF (final attempt).. getting conceive is so difficult!!

Starry, I also have brown discharge now & then so worried lor. But like u said, I also kept praying. I just do my best to rest & rest. My colleague told me her spotting ended only at week 10.

starry, you're right. Have to live and face the person for a whole month so better hit off on the right note in the beginning.

The last time, my DH extended my CL for 2 weeks, so she stayed with us for 6 weeks. This time I'm considering 6 or 8 weeks confinement.

starry, I think mine tended towards a sharp shape, but still very compact. Apparently, the gynae said DD was hugging my spine very well..

happymum, do rest well and I'm sure the next scan will put your worries to rest [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

VT, sorry to hear that your IVF didn't go well. I have alot of respect for IVF mommies, as not everybody can take the emotional rollercoaster. Hopefully you will have good news soon.

My CL was quite pro-bf. Basically, she dutifully bring DD in whenever she was hungry, which in the early days was like every other hour! So must give her credit for it.

happymum,

will be praying for you also. let's jia you together. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jmi,

how much did you pay your CL for? convenient for you to reveal here?

VT,

yeah it's not easy for many women to conceive. life is sometimes very unfair.. but on a brighter note, i have a mummy friend from last year's Oct thread who went thru the pains of IVF like u did and successfully conceived after trying for 10 years! after her first boy popped, she conceived naturally 6 months later and gave birth to a beautiful girl! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hope you have the same blessings as her. don't give up!

wow..i can barely keep up with the thread...for CL im going to engage the one who did for my SIL..hopefully by the time i contact her she is still available..wanna wait to see hb then i will call her...so prob 2 more wks...*cross fingers*

going for my hormones jab in abit..today ms not so bad..but im guessing after today's jab it will come back again...

last night went hm..dozed off at 930pm..then told hubby i tink i just continue sleeping la hor...i only dragged myself up to eat my supplements then i conked out again

Dear ladies...

Please do not take spotting too lightly!!

I had my spotting on my 2nd week after my IVF.

Called KKH and was told to continue insert Uestorgen.. but didn worked as my body is more pro to progestone.

I actually went to see TCM and was told that my chances is quite GOOD... haintz..

So, pls do not wait quickly go and see your Gynae

Total bed rest is impt TOO