(2011/11) Nov 2011

Felixp, I think better go and see gynae first. I also pushed forward my first visit due to spotting. Then gynae gave jab and hormone pills. Till now, I still have brown discharge now and then. I even went for second jab on mon. Gynae will also do physical examination to make sure cervix normal and no bleeding.

I realized I always have ms in the evening! Starting to become night sickness. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Fel,

Those UHT ones are okay. But make sure u check the ingredients list. If u see a long list of funny things, don't buy. Nowadays I only go for 100% fresh milk. My favorite is Meiji. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: formula

Agree these are very fattening and super sweet!

Hi happymum, yup, thanks. Gg to see Dr Ang soon.

Hi Fel, U take care hoh... Mine havent started yet (touchwood!) ...

Hi starry, fresh milk must drink chilled hoh. Nowadays realise my body cant take cold drinks. Last time drink used to like drinking cold milk very much. Even my anlene concentrated milk are left at room temperature.

felixp,

can leave the milk to close to room temp first? i cannot have milk straight from fridge. too cold will make me run for toilet. :p think you shld go see your gynae today on the spotting, just to be on the safe side.. don't wait till 1 april.

rin,

very fast the day will be over lah! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

had a fantastic japanese buffet at Ikoi last night! ate quite a bit of sashimi, but they were very very fresh so ate with no worries. hee hee! tonight gonna go for some pampering and get my nails done nice nice. looking forward to 6pm!!

Hey ladies,

Am trying to keep myself awake too. Never had such problem before.

Anyway, any advise on what to eat to make the bb big? My #1 was very small. Don't want that to happen again.

Starry, preg can go for pedicure? When I am preg with my Dotter, i completely stop going for my monthly pedicure..

And this time round, i am still stuck with quite a nos of pedicure package, dunno whether can go or not?

Would like to check how long these discomfort (MS, tiredness) usually last? Wonder when I can go back to normal and not feel so sick. How do people work throughout the 9 months? I feel like staying at home without moving most days...

Heh heh....I thought Durian might help. The happiest is my Ah Lau who can now use me as an excuse to eat durians. Yesterday I had some. Do you think beef helps too?

I'm lactose intolerant. So milk is out.

My #1 was a prematured bb whose weight was only 1.89kg. So scary hor...

I think even if she is not prematured, her weight will not be any much higher. Anything more than 2kg is quite safe. So this time I aim 2kg when I'm 28/29 week. Hopefully.....

rin,

i went for a few times with my last pregnancy and they were all fine, just don't breath in the fumes. and if possible, stick to OPI nail polishes. heard that they are safe for pregnancy because they do not contain acetone and toulene. i did gel nails when i was 8 months pregnant and no issues too. tonight will be gel nails also.

i guess best is don't do, but i cannot stand my nails. really ugly and one broke off.

Berrypie, will u be seeing doc or gynae and take mc to rest? Better rest okie. Lots of hugs, do take care.

Starry, so envy, somehow I have no energy this pregnancy to make myself look good. I have outbreak and look messy.

happymum,

i feel that my energy level is just starting to come back so i'm making full use of that!! have a bit of outbreak too but cannot help it lah.. just try to dress well and have nice manicured nails. these little things make me feel better. the past few weeks i was like a 'piece of rag' at work lor.

Fel: Me too! Spicy is good! :D And I feel cold easily, so warm showers are gooood.

Starry: Yikes, so those Daisy Hi-Lo type milks are not good? So sad, yeah, they taste better. Fresh milk tastes too strong for me. And isn't fresh milk very fattening? :p I'm so low energy now man...Putting on weight before I should!!

Starry, u know now I am at home bed rest even worse, more messy. Hope this will be over soon. By the way, I think I cannot fit into my usual office wear esp bottom and I have bloated stomach.

starry: Haha, just read that you did gel nails at 8 months! Then when baby born how! You keep poking her ah. Hehe. Or did they even last so long? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Haha Starry, come to think of it, i look almost like my pantry auntie right now...

Also no mood and energy to doll up myself.

Maybe when i reach 2nd trim will feel better about myself.

Happymum, i also can't fit into my office bottoms now. I am already having a small bump in my tummy already..

nowadays is dresses, tunic + leggings..

happymum,

at home bed rest can don't care lah. just focus on resting. my hair was like bird nest and the whole house was like a farm last time when i had bed rest at home waiting for my #1 to pop. felt huge and ugly, plus no energy to even pick clothes off the floor! luckily got hubby to do the cleaning up. so... you just rest k? you won't feel like this forever and know that better pregnancy days are ahead! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ent,

sadly, i had to remove them just before i went for my csect 'cos no nail polishes allowed during surgery. the gel nails' tips are smooth and rounded, not sharp at all so won't hurt anyone. hee hee!!

rin,

wahaha! look like your pantry aunty?? think most of us feel lousy at this point so you are not alone! once we hit 2nd tri, we can meet up and pamper ourselves. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] the mommies i know from the oct '10 thread did that. we met up and went for mani/pedi together.

rin_45: When are we supposed to have that small bump ah? The baby is so small now right...Wondering why my belly is protruding more! Cannot be so soon right!!

Thanks happymum. Will be going to c him this Sat, most probably he will jab me...Not much work to do so wont be taking MC, rest in the office will do and moreover today we hving steamboat, dont want to miss out this...been feeling cold lately, this will be good.

starry: Wasted! Hehe. Next time we do it earlier, then you can leave them on for longer and feel pweety and happy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] The meet up in a few months sound good! So fun! :D

berrypie: Haha! So the steamboat that you've been talking about is happening!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Eat more since it's healthy and good! Drink more souppp...Got Tom Yam base? :D

re: baby bump

i'm sure many of us here have already, just not visible yet. if you girls lie down on your back while having a slightly full bladder and press lightly ard the bikini area, you may feel a small orange-sized hard bump under the skin. that's your growing uterus! i remember everynight i wld try to locate it before i sleep and talked to my girl. 'cos couldn't feel her kicks yet and the hard little bump gave me some assurance that i was still pregnant. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morn mummies!

sangria,

My MS went off by 2nd tri. That's when I have boundless energy and can shop for hours, yes even with the bulge.

starry,

You had Japanese buffet and sashimi? I have an upcoming treat at Melt this sat, but my hb says seafood, particularly lobsters, prawns etc are scavengers of the sea and can be quite toxic. He is concerned about me taking uncooked stuff too. It will be a pity not to be able to enjoy with all the restrictions [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

stressed,

Was told that durians and beef would help. Prefer beef as I find durians too heaty for me.

starry, happymum,

For my 1st pregnancy, colleagues commented that I had nice skin and hair (pregnancy glow). This time round, I get some outbreak. Urgh! I need to stop comparing the 2 experiences.

For those mommies with spotting and discomfort, do take care and rest well.

Starry : Meet up sounds fun.

ent : I was also very puzzled, last night even ask my hubby how come my tummy is showing now when i am just 8 weeks. And guess his reply?? " Erm i don't know, better go see doctor " ~~ faintz...

desertmoon,

i only had like 2 pcs of prawns (fried) and a lot of salmon plus some tuna. too good to resist!! but i will avoid fresh oysters at buffets although i really love them. 'cos oysters can really spoil very easily if not cold enough. fish protein even though uncooked is still safer. best to avoid though. i also didn't have much seafood during my last pregnancy. only had crabs and some prawns on a few occasions and the amt eaten was quite little. i was worried about baby coming out with eczema so tried to avoid.

for both pregnancies, i have outbreaks during 1st tri. the 'glow' came during 2nd/3rd tri.

rin

peifu you, you deliver your #1 naturally without epi. i don't know what i would without epi. :p

starry

so good, going to pamper yourself later. must must. we'll all countdown to 6pm. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

redgin, 1st 1 totally no experience, when in the labour room keep on 忍忍忍 until 不可以忍, want to take epidual, then my gyane told me, already 8cm, no point to give me the jab..

So in the end, didn't take it and just endure and go all the way.

rin,

my hubby also said my tummy is showing at 8 weeks. yours so funny, ask you to go see doc. haha!! was the labour pain really very unbearable??

Starry, thanks!!! Meet-up sounds good in second trimester when the MS over.

Bed rest really very sianz, i miss my 2 older kids as they will only come home at night, with my inlaws during the day. My brother rented few DVDs for me to kill my day.

Rin, when I read your post on your hubby's reply, I really

laughed loud hee. Guys are guys ;o) btw, I worry my leggings

also too small, used to buy size s. And now bed rest, cannot

go shopping.

Berrypie, steamboat is really nice and like what ent said, if've Tom yam paste, best! yummy

happymum,

there's always online shopping!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i love gmarket and this forum's BP threads.

starry,

Ok noted. I told hb that cooked lobsters etc should be fine, since whatever toxins would be killed with cooking. But then, I think my arguments are abit lame and I'm sure somewhat flawed...

Epi - I had it. Told myself I wanted to experience what labour contractions are like. After a few hours, I decided I had experienced enough, and succumb to epi. Some of my gfs who are mommies have never known what is labour pain.

rin

oh no, how about the stiching pain? my case is my waterbag leaked, so gynae had to burst waterbag, that alone was so painful i immediately tell my gynae i want epidural. haha! my labour was for 12plus hours, and was assisted with forceps. so i was glad i took epidural.

desertmoon,

i have nv experienced labour pain and want to know how that feels like! sadist hor? hopefully my gynae will say i can try for VBAC. don't know can or not... scared wound tear.

haha starry, not sadist lah..I had also wanted to experience it...also pain threshold is different for different people.

Yeah, important for your gynae to advice accordingly. Most important is what is safe for you and baby.

Share my 1st birth story here

My contraction starts at 2.30am, called up my gynae at 4am and he told me he will meet me in the hospital at 8am.

My hubby say he was afraid of the heavy traffic in the morning so he drove me to hospital at 6am.

The nurse checked me and say i am only 3cm dilated but was ready to be send into the delivery room. The contraction by then was every 5mins.

The pain is like a knife scratching your lower back bone, very achy (like your menses cramp X 100 times)

At ard 8+, my gynae came to see me, i was only 4cm, so he burst my water bag and told me he will pop by again later at 10am.

That was where my nightmare beings when the water bag is burst, my backbone was so so achy and i could not even talk.

By 10am when my gynae came, i ask to take the epidual but i was already 8cm, then continue to endure.

It was around 11am i feel something is pushing downwards, (baby is coming) and my dotter born at 11.39am.

Redgin, i cannot feel the pain when doc burst my waterbag, the contraction totally cover it up. It was the back pain that was unbearable.

BTW when doc is giving the epi, is it very very painful? As i understand the needle is so thick and it was poke right inside the bone. Sounds like very painful.

Hi ladies, ya i notice some tummy showing too. I'm average size and have flat tummy all these years, so thats something new. Maybe cause i dare not to tuck/breath in tight the moment i know I'm pregnant. Maybe thats the result of letting tummy loose ever since positive on pregnnacy test. Haha

Starry> Thanks will try locating the orange tonight. I have a stethoscope at home, i use it to listen every night before i sleep. It sound like some creeping sound coming frm the water. At first I thought it was my food diagestion sound but listen to hubby one, he don't have. Wake up in the morning also got that sound but softer.

Really interesting. I just meet up my friend yday where her due date is May. She has been shopping alot online buying baby things from US. She say include shipping fee, it is still cheaper then Singapore. She bought mostly from http://www.overstock.com/

maybe in later part, we can have a spree.

rin,

i'm scared of needles too. epi sounds painful. thanks for sharing your birth story! the back ache sounds really very horrible! you were very very brave. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

memorable,

i had a stethoscope too, but could not detect any heartbeat from baby till 3rd tri and she had to be in the right position then could hear. if you wanna hear baby's heartbeat earlier and clear, can get the fetal doppler.

Re. Milk:

My gynae last time advised me to take fresh milk if i can cos it is less fattening than powder milk. For those who are lactose intolerant, no worries just take calcium pills lah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] this time round I find myself enjoying cold fresh milk with my cereals, so this will be my breakfast until bb decides otherwise, for now it's really more about trying to keep food in rather than nutrition! Dun vomit out very happy already! :p

Stressed,

I have also the same concern as you. My boy was a wee 1.75kg when induced at 36weeks, diagnosed with intra-uterine growth restriction (IUGR) I'm also hoping this time round I can have a chubby baby! In fact the whole family has been trying to get me to eat more now... Let's cross fingers, dear Stressed, that history will not repeat!!!

Serene,

I think one day u will look back and realised keeping #3 is the best decision u've made [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my mum also recently told me how glad she was to have kept my little sis who was a good 12 yrs younger than me! Esp when the older children get married, move out, then at least there's still a youngest child with you. And by the time the youngest child get married/move out, likely the older children will give u grandchildren! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I just saw my thyroid doc, he was very excited to hear I'm pregnant, funny doc, he upped my med dosage and then kinda scolded me for not seeing him earlier, I told him no slot mah, then he said next time tell the staff u're pregnant lah! I was like, ok, if I ever get pregnant again next time... Though I'm not really hoping for a #3 at this point, let me get passed the ms first!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/lol.gif]