(2011/11) Nov 2011

Starry, am having slight cramp now & then. Am still on hormone pills. I did prepare myself for the worst too.

Rin, I also feel cold whenever pregnant. Moody, definitely, just so sianz esp now on bed rest.

leikela

rest well at home, have something light and eat in small quantities. don't starve yourself, bb also need nuitrition. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rin

i'm feeling cold now, maybe we're still in 1st tri? but i know last preg in my 2nd tri onwards, feel hot even in aircon room. and moody, i think preg or no preg, i'll have my mood swings. hee...

happymum/leikela, rest well..i wish i can stay home and rest too...so restless now and then...

Moody + MS + Chill make me feel even worest..

today's weather would have been perfect to laze at home..:S

It's raining so much here, I'm wondering what's the weather like in Phuket.

Morning ladies, today is so cold! Brrrrr...

Re. feeling breathless: me too! Its because more blood is being channelled to bb now, so there is lesser blood hence oxygen for us. Do deep breathing whenever u can! Also loosening the bra might help, can get those bra extensions if u dun want to buy new ones yet.

happymum,

i hope u're better today, do more bedrest k? I do have a little bit of brown looking mucus at times, maybe its because i still carry my boy?

berrypie,

read the thread already. Very sad. Hope she will come to terms with her loss soon. To be honest, outsiders also cannot help much in such cases, except to empathise. Its all up to her and her close family to find a way to overcome this trauma and grief. U know, its not just about finding an answer to her baby's death, because whether she gets a proper explanation or so-called justice in the form of compensation/apology/suing the pants off the doc or hospital/getting the doc sacked or deregistered or whatever, eventually she will still have to come face-to-face and deal with the horrible truth and decide how she wants to go on with her life. Does this give u a new perspective on the impermanance of life? Life comes, life goes. Only the present moment matters.

bleh : Yeah, my poor hubby also kena from me as well. Kinda pity him after i cool down.

happymum : Do rest well and don't stress yourself too much

redgin : I hope is also because its in 1st trim, but strange thing is for my first preg i never experice this before, going to ask Dr Ang on 28 March also.

Haha i don't have much mood swings before preg, but once i found out i was preggy, i became very moody and depress.

Thanks berrypie. Yeah, I am always restless nowadays too. I think eating chocolate can make one feel happy ;o)

Leikela, rest well. Try drink Milo with some wheat crackers. it's a good tonic drink though heaty but good for preggy mums.

My friend told me that the different with private and Gov hospital is that.

-Every time u visit your private gynae, they will have ultrasound scan each time but Gov hospital only do like once each trimester.

-Private gynae spend more time with you during consultation and they are mostly very particular about your minor discomfort.

-both private & govt will do urine test each time u visit them.

-both private & govt gives package when your pregnancy are certain weeks old.

Any other different that anyone can share with me?

Rin & naturally, thanks, I will try to rest as much as I can. I just feel bad that this period I cannot spend much time with my 2 older kids cos I cannot move too much.

Naturally, think first trimester avoid carrying your boy & heavy things first. I know it's difficult also but hug hug your boy & explain to him ;o)

On the mood swing, think it's very common. Thus this forum is very helpful as we encourage one another ;o)

Happymum : How old is your 2 older kids? My daughter now is 4yrs.

Also stop carrying her and bathing her, my hubby taking over, but she is quite ok, seems like she understand and she will come over and pat my tummy.

Berrypie: I've read the thread and it was very saddening. Like Naturally has said, life is so fragile, you never know when it strikes. For e.g a mom friend of mine, just found out her hubby has a rare form of bone cancer. Their daughter just turned 1 (1 month older than my boy). Doc's don't know how to cure and the future is a question mark.

Hello mummies, it's a wet day, so I've decided to work from home.

Jmi,

I was very comfortable with Dr Thong, so was dismayed to find that she no longer does delivery. Just as bad, if not worse than losing a regular hair-stylist...haha..I might really consider Dr Lee, do let me know if you are aware of any feedback from the Feb 2010 mums. Thk you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

happymum,

Yes, support is really impt to a bf mum. I was lucky that I had lots of support from the people around me.

discharge - Yes, this time I had some brown discharge. Nothing when I wiped, but a little on the liner. Am starting to get a little paranoid about this, since I do not have any discharge with #1

bleh,

Last week, I was feeling especially moody and teary. Probably homones in overdrive and also, I was pretty affected when reading about the Japanese crisis. I remembered tearing when I read about the school children waiting for parents who would never come for them [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Sorry, hope I haven't been a wet blanket on this wet day!

Have a nice day ahead! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

happymum,

sweet of u to remind me, i will be careful with my boy and other heavy things [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

memorable,

i think if u are KKH subsidised patient, the biggest diff is cannot choose gynae? Once u want to stick to a particular gynae, then whether pte or at KKH, there's not much diff leh.

Serene

Very happy to know u r keeping #3. Cool. I wonder if i can manage as well. If my body can take 3rd pregnancy, i dun mind though the kids prob gets spank more often [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Fel

Is Dr A L Lim very cheap? My bill at TMC for a single bed for 4d3n cost abt 6k in 2008 under GA csec? Is that cheap? I was referred to him by a friends who are in her 40s with 3 grown-ups. Heard from here that he is very good with stitching if it is csec. He is prob in his 60s already? My 1st was delivered by him and i am a high risk mommy with a 10cm growth in my womb together with bb.

If u r his patient, be prepared to wait min 2 hrs just to see him. He is assuring and patient. If u have any doubts, he will answer and do his best to help his patient.

I have changed my appt from mon to see him this fri. Nurse said very packed. I said no choice as i can only return to sg on thurs nite and leaving on sun already.

If I m not using Dr A L Lim from tmc, i wd use dr chan from glen hospital as i want someone who is skilled in delivery high risk pregnancy mom.

starry/redgin/happymum,

thanks! yeah im home alrdy..bought some wang wang crackers so will munch on them throughout the day..took some of the med alrdy..lucky no toilet run since i saw the doc..milo is dairy product?? if it is then i cant take..but at least can rest abit..sigh...hubby working late today..so gotta wait for him to come back then can go dinner later..

rin & desertmoon, feels v bad hor? trying to control as far as i can.. doesnt help when my boy is still so sticky and naughty at times.

desertmoon, u get to work from home too? shiok. what do u do?

i get brown discharge more this round too. i guess mummies with older children better try not to carry them if possible.

starry: I teach geog to secondary school aged kids! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

happymum & redgin: I also feel very cold (and miserable!)...Doesn't help that the office temp is also reaaaaaally low recently.

What kind of crackers are you ladies talking about and why are they good? A warm cuppa milo sounds so good now, but lazy to walk to canteen.

Leikela, Milo is considered dairy product then I think u cannot take at the moment, drink more warm water. Rest well.

Rin, my kids in K2 & N2 ;o)

Ent, u can try the brand Alive yoghurt berrybar and Jacob wheat cracker. I find that they go well with Milo and helps to ease MS, healthy too hee. The other snack I find nice is

gardenia raisin loaf ;o) and if u crave for salty snack, calbee has a wheat cracker with flavor like cheese, BBQ, I find it nice too.

happymum: Thanks! I like the Jacob wheat crackers...Shall go get some. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I used to really like sweet deserts and all. But now can't down them! Now, it's SOUR, SPICY and SALTY!! Hahaha...

Ent, I also crave for salty stuff this round, used to love sweet dessert too. Now no cake or ice cream hee. Tom yam soup sounds good keke.

back from lunch, feel sooooooo sleepy. did i read about chocolate cake??! i just had chocolate banana cake from secret recipe for supper last night. hahah! i think my ms hit me this morning, feeling naseous till now.

ent29, yeah, my tastbuds now also very extreme. must be very spicy or salty. if not, food taste bland.

OTW, i know we are outsider and there nothing much we can do. What if this happen to us? I just want to alert all the mummies to be more careful..this is not the 1st case in KKH, my friend's son almost die too due failing to give proper care and attention. My friend did not persue the case too....

bleh,

I'm in the IT line, so pretty much can stay connected any time, anywhere, including home.

rin, happymum,

My DD is also in N2.

Mommies, there's an article in Today papers about eating for 2 - healthy diet, healthy weight gain etc....check it out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

For me this time i prefer veggies & salty food. Fish still can take but don't know will change in next month or not?

Berrypie, I was also warned about KKH. My son was hospitalized at KKH when he was 18mths, we had very very bad experience then. When my son down with pnuemonia at 2 plus yrs old, we admitted him to MAH instead, I must say it's a whole lot of diff.

Berrypie

Oh i din know abt this story. Not easy to cope with sudden loss esp for the mommy. I hope time will help her though she will always have this fear.

Is kkh really bad? I did my operation once there and the post-operation care is no good but surgeon top notch. when i delivered csec via tmc, the pre and post csec is great! I think MAH may be a better place for bb care if there is a need for attention or RH or MT E.

Redgin

Feeling cold:

Yes i do feel colder compared to my 1st pregnancy or maybe i forgotten how i feel years ago.Maybe the transfer of energy inside our body is active and thus our body inside is hotter than the outside temp then feel cold. When i have high fever, i always feel outside air is cooler?

Simp >> Dr Lim is charging only $45 for consultation and ultrasound!! Even if just consultation alone is very cheap but his includes ultrasound somemore! I wonder what he earns! For the Tmc stay I think is chargeable by the hospital so unless there is package to cover it will be the same for any gynae?

My son was warded last month in KKH for 2 days for rotavirus. Personally for me, we chose to admit him into KKH cos it's a children's hospital. The nurses and facilities there are not bad. I just didn't like the medical officers and doctors. Every morning and afternoon, the medical officers come and do accessment, the consultant comes at 10am, listened to the MO's evaluation, looked at the file and gave her comments, she didn't even touch the patients!

On the other hand, my friend chose to admit her son in RH after a terrible experience in KKH, but they didn't have a children ward, no bathing facilities, no diapers, no FM. The nurses didn't know how to handle the child and she had to bath her child herself and bring everything from home.

So I guess there isn't a perfect hospital?

That said again I didn't know if there is a private hospital that has a specialised children's ward.

Berrypie >> I n scare to go KKH too. My friend had bleeding in her last trimester and the doc kept dismissing it even though it continued and she went to see him twice. Even said that her pregnancy was unstable and there is nth he can do. In the end she sought a second opinion. Turned out there's a blood clot near the vaginal and the baby is pressing against it resulting in the bleeding. Got it removed within minutes and she's fine.

Berrypie,

oh ya, now i remember once my gf's daughter was admitted to KKH at 4mths old for fever, first few days she was only given aspirin, then until there was a vacancy for A Class ward, and after they upgraded, then a specialist came to see the poor little girl and ordered some additional tests. Turned out she was hit by a rare virus (with a japanese name, i forgot what name) Took her almost 2 weeks to be discharged!

I also dunno what's the moral of the story here.... got to pay more if u want quality service at KKH? Or might as well dun go KKH? But what if its chronic requiring long term stay? Or go get insurance coverage for pte hospitals? A lot of factors to consider eh? I hope i dun ever have to think about this though!

Naturally: hmmm now that you've mentioned. We wanted Class A1 but it was full and we were on the waitlist, by the time the A1 room was available we were about to be discharged.

happymum and jmi,

it must have been tough to see your precious babies being warded!! hope all kiddos will be safe and healthy and no more hospital stays!!

OTW, i heard the private service for KKH is better...if not necessary, i won't go to KKH.

When to KKH A&E when my son was having high fever, the medicine given din help instead the fever went up to 40 degC..gave me a shock (T-T)...

Fel

yes i think that is the consultation amt i paid for Dr AL Lim then. There is a package after a certain week. I think his charges are reasonable so maybe he has a lot of patients? Think i still have the receipts, got to go back and dig out when im back to sg. I really hate the waiting time, got to do other things to kill time or come back later.

ent29,

bovril mixed in hot water worked very well for my MS last time and i was addicted to it for quite a long time. maybe you can try. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: KKH

read so many horror stories about KKH. will avoid that hospital.

KKH

I believe the drs there are great but not the service team. Perhaps the volume of patients is greater than the service team. The service team makes up of many diff nationalities from overseas so i guess the service can be compromised at times.

Dr SF Loh shd be heading the team of gynae and ivf drs at the moment after the head left a few years ago? He was supposed to be my ivf dr if i din conceive naturally the last time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] There are still top notch drs and specialists ard in kkh. Pricing has to meet the market demand, private suite caters to patients who are willing to fork out more. Private suites prices quite comparable to pte clinic and hospital.

I think Mah is like the next popular bb children friendly hospital and they did renovate and expanded recently as heard from my friend.

Jmi,

from what i remember about my gf's DD's KKH stay, the level of medical attention they got when they were at B2 ward, was exactly like what u described!!! And the moment upgraded, wah a world of difference... dunno whether to lament about KKH being practical or to accept that this is simply how the world works... no $$ no talk? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Naturally: we were in B1 ward. And it's considered private lor!!!!

I think this different class different might be true. My son's teacher from school mentioned that when her daughter was in B2, the nurses were nice and friendly. But when B2 was full, she went to class C, the nurses there were fierce, rude and horrible!

Whatever class it may be, patients are patients. What's with this different treatment? Weren't nurses supposed to be caring in the first place?

I really can't complain about the nurses. They bath my son and made milk for him whenever I requested for it.

It's the ward's medical officers and doctors.

My son picked up a bad cough during his stay there. His neighbour on the first night was coughing really badly (the neighbour transferred to A1 on our 2nd night). I told the nurses about it. The MO can actually say that his cough was due to rotavirus! How in the world can you get cough from rotavirus, it only gives you vomiting and diarrhoea!

Initially the MO agreed with us not to put my son on an IV drip since he was drinking as normal and barely 3 seconds later, she changed her words and said better to put him on a drip.

So an hour later, she took him into a room, locked us out and tried to administer the drip on him. My son who doesn't normally cry, screamed his lungs out the whole 20 minute inside the room and later when he came out, she can actually say, his hands were too chubby, have to get her senior up and help and prick his leg instead.

So 30 minutes later, the senior came up, locked us out for 10 minutes with my son screaming inside for 10 minutes and finally administered the IV.

Barely 30 minutes with the IV on, they removed it cos the site was swollen and giving him way too much pain.

When we were finally discharged and home, I then realised, my son was pricked 5 times! The stupid female MO pricked him twice on his right hand, once on his left. The senior MO pricked him once each on each leg!

Talking about makes my blood boil! Argh!

Jmi,

chill chill! sorry i brought up unpleasant memories! One thing i learnt though from all the needle-pricking that my boy had to go thru, is to insist to stay with my boy thru out!!! No one is locking me away from my boy! The least we can do is to be around to offer comfort when the babies are in pain, right not?

OMG Jmi. I had the same encounter too but mine is a guy MO. Also claimed my girl was too chubby. She was yelling inside the room while I cried outside. She was a TBF baby; so chubby also my fault ah? Fed up.

After discharged, they ask me come back like after 2 weeks for a whole series of tests. And the tests can be one week apart. Imagine how tiring.

So we went back to see my PD and got immediate tests and transfer case to NUH. I settle all the tests within days even at NUH. BTW, the docs at NUH never complained abt my dd's chubby hands and feet. They found the vein in a sec.

The senior doc at KKH made snide remarks about me breast feeding my dd. Felt like smacking her qian bian face. So pissed.

Naturally: hey no worries. I'm just mad about the pricking incident.

Stressed: That's so rude. The best part about it, 1 MO can even say their medical colleagues are trained personel and will ensure the pricking will be done with much stress.

Can i check if u ladies take ur folic acid before or after food?

I went to 2 diff doc both advise differently. For now i take before breakfast in the morning. ;)