(2011/11) Nov 2011

btw, i see that many of u are pro MAH? really very good?

i stayed in TMC the last time.. i enjoyed the confinement food there very much. thinking of trying MAH this time.

bleh, now that you've mentioned; you look like a junior in my ECA back in my secondary school (green polka dots)

jmi, bingo.. and that fierce and scary, short & stout coach we had?!!!

and yes, we have several common friends.. whom i've kept in touch with since then. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bleh, so I'm right. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

congrats to you and good to "find" u here. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi ladies! Had been busy with work..

bleh, congrats [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ent29,

I have pet hamsters at home, sometimes they cheer me up when I am down [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

leikela,

My next appt is 19 March. Thanks for updating.

bleh, jmi,

such a lovely coincidence that both of you were ex schoolmates! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Happy to join all of u on this thread. Am expecting my #2.

Edd is 13th Nov 2011, Dr Yvonne Chan TMC

#2 OTW,

Just to share with u i have a fibroid measuring 5cm during my first pregnancy. Was there before i got pregnant. It grew to 7cm during my pregnancy but so far it didn't pose too much of a problem.

Went for gynae checkup today and it's still there measuring 5cm still.. so pls dun frighten yourself, your gynae will be able to give u the best advice thruout ur pregnancy.

Hi Ladies! I just found out that I am preggie yesterday. So happy =) This will be my 1st and I am only 4 weeks preggie. But the gp said i am only 90% confirmed preggie cos the line was very faint when he tested my urine. Is there such a thing as 90%?? I tested yesterday AM using FMU, oso a faint line too.

Anyway I already made my 1st apptment on 1st April to see Dr Lawrence Ang. Hope everything will goes smooth between now and then. =)

Babyzel,

Thanks for sharing! Happy to know your fibroid didnt cause u any problem, i hope same goes for your #2 and for me too!

bleh and jmi, haha, so u both are xue jie/xue mei! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i think i cannot remember any of my seniors or juniors, too long ago :p

felixp,

congrats!! got line means pregnant, no matter how faint it is. your doc probably just being conservative bah. anyway, you ARE pregnant! hee hee! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hope you will see a heartbeat blinking on the screen on 1 april!

babyzel,

my last pregnancy was very uneventful, apart from baby being breech. let's hope this one will be smooth smooth too!

Congrats Felixip! u are probably still very early stage, dat's why the faint line, if u wait 2-3 more days, your HCG level should have doubled, then u should get a much darker line using FMU. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Meanwhile welcome and take care! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

felixp,

was just reminded of something... you can buy the clearblue digital pregnancy test kit. it's more expensive, ard $27++ from guardian/watson. but it shows in words "pregnant" or "not pregnant" plus tells you how many weeks along are you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yeah felixip, im also 4 wks so by early apr..we will both b abt 6 wks? hoping to see hb by then...

yeah test again in a few days..it shld get darker..thats what i have been doing..testing every few days to make sure it gets darker

had two mcs over the last 5 mths so more paranoid n just wanna make sure my levels are incresaing..

took the conception indicator on sunday n it showed 1-2 wks then took another on mon and was surprised to see it jump to 2-3 wks in 2 days!!

not sure if anyone has experienced such a thing..or maybe it was just nice..the 2 days really overlap nicely into the 2 range..lol..

hoping to do one again soon n hopefully see 3+ byt then [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Starry, thanks for your reassurance!! I am excited yet nervous at the same time cos everybody kept telling me to be careful. I know 1st trimester is a very critical period but abit nerve wrecking loh.. hehes. =)

leikela, did you do confirnment for ur MC?

i did mini confinement for 2 weeks and went to Chinese sensen to 'tian' my body. 5 mths later i ttc again. MC very 'san sheng'..should take more 'pu ping' b4 trying again..if not will happen again that is what the chinese sensen said..

Haha, yes. Singapore is small. I'm still in contact with some of my primary & secondary school friends. Chat occasionally over FB, meeting up is quite rare cos everyone now has got other commitments.

Hi Leikela, yup will be 6 weeks liao. Now I am just hoping the weeks will pass faster =) Have u already seen Dr Ben Tham? Think our EDD shld be abt the same.

Thanks all, think will buy the CB pregnancy test kit to "confirm" =))

for my first mc in Nov 10 was a blighted ovum and i had to do a d&c @ 9wks so yeah did mini confinement for 2wks..after 1 mth my doc say i can try again n no need to wait..

then in feb 11..i had a chemical pregnancy..tt one 10 days after my positive..i started getting my period..i actually went to my doc after my positive n he did a scan but saw traces of blood in my uterus so he told me..i will likely get my period soon n true enough..tt one my hcg level went to 0 quickly coz it was only abt 4-5 wks? n my tests were quite faint n never really got darker..

anyway i hopefully since the chances of consectuive mc decrease with each time u mc..hopefully i wont be so unlucky..

3rd consective mc is abt 0.54% chance..anyway pray for the best..this time feels abit diff so hopefully it will be diff!

felixp, my edd for now is 2 apr..ive seen him for my previous cases..in fact the last time i saw him he told me if i ended up not getting my period n the pregnancy continue to come back for appt but then i got my period so i didnt go back..

this time go back will be another pregnancy alrdy..so strange..feel abit paiseh lol

have u decided which gynae to go for?

Hello ladies, am back. Wow, so many updates already hee.

Congrats and welcome bleh, babyzel & felixp.

Ent, saw your lovely pet. I noticed u posted alot of yummy food on fb ;o)

Bleh, thanks, have received your fb request.

Leikela, u must be tired liao, better go and rest.

felixip: I also think it's nervewrecking! And now that I haven't seen the doc yet, it doesn't yet feel real! Haha! But some of the symptoms do (though not sure if it's xin li zuo yong!!)...

starry: Do you think the cheaper versions are accurate enough? Heh. As in what are the chances of false positives??

leikela: Can update for me alr please? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nick: ent29

EDD: 6 Nov

Gynae: Dr Chua Yang

Hospital: MAH

Next Appt Date: 28 March

BB#: 1!!

Boy/Girl: ?

Undecided on Dr Chua Yang (MAH) or Dr Peter Chew (GH)...Shall see Dr Chua Yang and see how first. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Lalala. But glad finally got an appointment!

Ent29,

For my first pregnancy, I actually used those cheapo 80 cents test strip which I bought from online. They are the kinda u need to collect urine in a cup and then dip the strip in and wait for red lines to show. Those are highly sensitive and amazingly accurate! Clearblue is so expensive because it's an established brand and has soooo many advertisements, marketing etc. Very rare to get false positives bah.. Especially if u take two consecutive tests.

starry: I bought the Guardian pharmacy no brand ones! While waiting anxiously for the doc's appointment just very restless, wondering if must buy diff brand to check! :p Suaku and kiasu!

Happymum, thank you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ent,

Please allow me to comment on your qn since I'm in the business. Really it's no rocket science to make a hpt, u can think of it like the litmus paper we use in schools, except that it tests for presence of HCG instead of pH levels. I would like to guarantee 100%, but well, things like proper usage (such as using first morning pee esp for very early pregnancy) is not within my control. Still, we probably have more 99% accuracy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] And I definitely agree with starry that clearblue is expensive because it has to maintain it's brand-name, rather than being any better in terms of accuracy. In fact, if I may secretly whisper to u gals, I think that company is a rip-off, that's one reason why I decided to bring in cheap but good hpts and opks for ladies here!

One reason I can think of for the supposed false positives, is detection of a chemical pregnancy using hpt which is too sensitive, like only 10mIU/ml. That's why I always suggest to ladies to buy tests with at least 20mIU/ml, better to get BFP confirmed a few days later, than to detect a chemical preg early only to get yourself all depressed!

Ok enuf said, so trust your cheapo less-than-a-dollar hpt, so long as u use it properly! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Enjoy your evening ladies! I've just reached home, going to have dinner now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Agree w everything naturally said..

In fact I also confirmed my pregnancy w one of those cheap Internet test strips which I like to call cheapies haha but of coz kaisu coz of prev exp so started using all sorts of brand to come..the best brand I personally have come across is the first response test which I believe is not avail here..I had to ship it in...but very clear n accurate [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ent, update for u later k

Gonna have my yam paste dessert now..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hihi, I just found out that I am pregnant!

Did a home test ytd, went to GP today to double confirm!

When should I visit a Gynae?

ent >> I used Guardian brand one for my home test too! keke I have the same doubt as u too so I went to GP today. It is as correct as it is... =)

hi fel, congrats! visit gynae when you are 7 weeks pregnant bah. can see heartbeat then. if earlier then may not see anything except a tiny black dot (sac).

naturally: Heh! Thanks! =) Hmm. So chemical pregnancy is less easy to detect? So the less sensitive the test the better in that sense huh? I can't remember how sensitive the Guardian ones were. Oh well!

Fel: Congrats!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'm assuming this is your first too? And hehe. We both so funny, buy the Guardian brand then don't trust the Guardian brand. :p (I didn't even go to the GP!!) Anyway, have you calculated your EDD? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Would love to know how many weeks! I'm going to be seeing a gynae in about 2 weeks, so that'll be about 8 weeks for me!

leikela: Take your time! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Thanks for doing the updating! Still can't figure out how you all make the tables. And mmmm!! Orhh neeeee!! Yummmyyy!!

Felixp-Congras that you are pregnant..Faint line means positive.I first tested very faint line using guardian HPTK,few days later i tested again using clearblue digital and shows im 2-3weeks pregnant.On the same day i went to double confirm with my gyna but my urine results was very faint line to the extend that the nurse said i may not be pregnant,my heart sunk.After awhile the pathetic faint line starts to darken abit.Nurse said faint line is positive just that im only 4weeks pregnant and my hcg level not high enough.Then 4 days later i tested again using guardian HPTK and immed 2 dark lines..I can totally understand how you feel now.Dont worry,you are pregnant and start taking your folic acid.

Hi little bb, I bought the cb digital kit last night and tested - showed I am preggie n 2-3 weeks ;)) yes has been taking folic acid.. So far not much "symptoms" but just cramps.

Anyone can share will the tummy or weight gain will be significant for 1st trimester? Cos my traditional wedding is in 21 may, Hehes.. But we already rom-Ed in 2009 dats why started TTC-ing recently didn't expect so soon... ;))