(2011/11) Nov 2011

Leikela, your appt will be fine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] have fun! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Ladies, Jus have an hour nap in office with some afternoon sickness. No appeitite but i m hungry. So duno whether to eat anot. Was reading the link which aabunny posted. And found another one which stated the foods & drink we should avoid during preg. Prob u gals want to read it as well...

Leikela & Berrypie> Hi 5! I love MOS Burger's Corn Soup. Satisfy now. Happy pregnant lady now.

Nowadays hubby will satisfy all my craving which make me feel like a queen. I hope I'm not over using this power. Lolx

Thanks for the links on foods to eat/not eat! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I've not been going to Starbucks for my coffeeeee because of this. Maybe can go for decaff. :D

Memorable Choc, Leikela & Berrypie: I like the corn soup too!!! But do you find that it has a little too much MSG ah? Like after drinking it I feel super thirsty!

MemorableChoc: My hubby too...Heh. I also hope I am not abusing the power! :D So what have you been craving?

I think our bodies are just so strange now - hungry but no appetite to eat. Then I eat to make the bitterness in my mouth feel better, but immediately after my last bite, the bitterness just floods my mouth again. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

MemorableChoc / Ent: ya.. my hubby also give in to me all things i want. But i trying to resist. Else baby come out, everything must follow him.. Cannot let the baby overrides us! Lol...

I hate the feeling of hungry but no appetite. So sucky... Force myself on a small slice of carrot cake and curry puff from morning till now...

ent29> Hmm, my tongue normally feel numb after drinking cuz i sip from the cup when it is really hot. Don't like to use spoon. Keke. Don't put pepper too cause it will lump together and chock on the pepper. =S

My appetite also not good, and the previous week I lost almost 1kg. So I'm scared, I don't feel like eating but very easily hungry. So I crave for what, I have to faster go get it so atleast I will enjoy it that momment. Dunnoe which momment will not wana eat anything. The feeling of swollowing things now is not good. Even my sweet taste bitter. =S Thinking about food makes me feel disgusted sometime. Don't like this feeling.

Lately having different craving, i may want soup now but next moment i hate it. lolx

ent, not sure did they add extra MSG cos their corn soup is in powder form...just boil water and add in the corn powder, i bought the packet powder fm MOS b4...it's cheaper than buying cup.

memorable n ent, haha i tink the chowder got more msg..the corn still ok..

my craving also changes..actually im always hungry but dont really feel like eating..or dunno wat to eat..mainly wanna eat fried rice n salted egg crab! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Memorablechoc, my weight nvr gain once i got preg. Not sure if it is healthy anot. But whenever i walk past durian stall, i just want grab one seed n eat loh. My hubby dun like so i cant buy the whole durian also. Sian. Hubby add on saying that eat durian, later bb become big n i will suffer during labour. Got this logic meh? =_="

Now taking milo with oat biscult. Have to eat whenever i feel like, else once gone, cant eat liao...

ssbaby - Durian is very "pu" so usually during 2nd trimester if bb not ideal weight.. doc will say eat more.. then people will eat durian to help the baby gain weight. 1 good thing about big baby, my #1 was born at 4.25kg, is that very strong, when bathing him easier to handle. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

opi-lover,

For my #1, the best take-away from that 1st gynae visit (7 weeks too) was the 1st ultrasound scan photo of the little beanie.

ent29,

Baby signs I find useful are "milk", "eat", "more". Others like "please", "mummy", "daddy" was more for the fun of watching her use it.

rin45,

Hope your tummy ache went away.

Re: Coffee, I still drink it every day, need it to start my engine. Remember with #1, I couldn't stand coffee during the 1st trimester, but resume drinking it from 2nd tri onwards. So waiting to see if the same happens this time. Starry, I drink it the same way as you too, throw away when half cup cold.

Angel,

Yeah having a CL does help, relieve us from the baby care part so that we can get the needed rest. But oh wow, good CLs all booked out for Oct? That's worrying.

I don't have a helper, and not really intending to get one when #2 comes along, so will have to see how to manage. If decide to go with CL, wondering what kind of rates I can expect if I want to exclude the cooking part. I have a small kitchen not equipped for heavy-duty cooking, and with the last CL, the kitchen was a huge greasy mess for 1 whole month!

Oh how old is your gal? My SIL's son was also super sticky to the helper in his early years, but now he is very close to my SIL.

shirley,

Sleep-training, night weaning....been through this battle before. Haha...don't even know where to begin to share...

ssbaby,

Actually I only gained 8 kg during my 1st pregnancy, 3 of which belonged to my girl. So I think no need to worry about weight gain unless your gynae indicates otherwise.

ssbaby> ya no weight gain in first trimester is normal. Cause baby too small, at most only like a grape size now. So no need to worry.

Make me feel like eating durain now. lolx

Congrats to all! and I am very happy to join the thread. Had a mild anxiety attack (paranoid is now second nature) when i read my demalogica skin smoothing cream contain Vit A. Baby center states it is best to avoid. Just to share the list for ladies who are using dermalogica also, please refer to list below

http://www.pure-beauty.co.uk/docs/37/pregnancy_advice/

list of Dermalogica® professional and retail products that contain either Retinol or Retinyl Palmitate can be found

Nick: linggie

EDD: Early Nov

Gynae Dr Woo BW

Hospital Mt A

Next Appt 2nd April

BB# 1

Unknown

thanks leileka!

Haha.. I tot preg must have some weight gain ma.. Coz everyone keep asking me to eat more. but i cant.. tot something might be wrong. Maybe becoz i m a big eater last time. Now no liao.. felt so strange....

ssbaby: Haha! Got such logic ah! My hubby keep saying, "You don't want to eat but maybe our baby want leh?" I reply, "Our baby is only about 7mm big..." Hahaha...

desertmoon: How do you all go about teaching sign language to the baby, and at such a young age! So everytime you say the word, you do the action and point to whatever it is? That's just so incredible...I shall go and read up [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

leikela: You are very good at giving me new ideas for cravings!! :D From tom yam soup, to fried rice with salted egg crab!!! Argghhh!! Yummms!!

Oh, I recently also enjoyed the Malay delicacies - Mee Rebus (cos it's got a very strong taste, plus can put lots of lime in it!) and Mee Soto (soupy and yummy!)...

ent, hhaha im just greedy lor..but looks like we got same kinda tastebuds..

salted egg crab is my new craving..lol..but my hubby say wahhh looks like ur cravings are going to be quite expensive ah..i used to love western food n steak but now mainly crave for chinese food..ahah wasted le..my aust trip..planned all the gd western restaurants to go to..lol

Berrypie,

So envy u. My son nowadays dunno y harder to coax him to sleep for afternoon nap. I wish to train him like those childcare... Fixed nap hours & self sleep. If he nap for 2hrs, I'm very happy. He didn't sleep throughout the night without feeding. Night time he would wake up a few times for milk &

comfort. My hubby worried tat I didn't hv sufficient rest when I hv interrupted sleep.

Leikela,

Ur gynae is Benjamin Tham? Good choice! He delivered my #1 son when he worked in KKH tat time. Now he works in TMC. I juz hv an appointment with him few days ago & discovered I'm 2 months pregnant. Love to continue my consultation with him but not sure if my hubby wants to change as TMC charges more ex. Another thing is tat TMC is more far from our place than KKH.

Rin,

Ur SIL is lucky tat her son is quite adaptable. My son has been difficult all the while. I sent him to infant care since he was 4 months old. When he was 9 months old, he contacted HFMD. Ever since then, he never like milk bottles. Teachers tat time even complain tat hv to spoon feed him one by one. Night time was a terror when he was very young. I became his sleep time routine. Even last time all the while daddy coax him to sleep, now all he wants is mummy. Will cry non-stop

for me. I even quit my job because of him. Bringing him to infant care, he is ok... Most likely he just likes to bully me.

welcome linggie!

ent29,

First I had to learn it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] We used the baby signing times DVDs. You can check out http://www.signingtime.com/shop/age-range/infants. So yes, guilty of exposing baby to TV at an early age :p Though she didn't have much attention span for TV then, so we reinforced by signing whenever we said the words. Not sure if it's considered young, but she started signing at around 10 months.

=) thanks!

leikela- i m opposite! i used to eat economy rice everyday for dinner but lately keep craving for westrn food, pasta especially!

Shirley-do take care and get rest while you can! i babysit my 2 yr old nephew and coaxing him to sleep is really tough haha he jus keep talking to you, if you ignore him, he talk to his bolster etc..is cute for that 1 day, i think his mom is having a hard time getting his to take afternoon naps!

shirley,

yeah he is really nice and patient! very comfortable seeing him...TMC is also very far from my place..in fact East Shore will prob be nearer..haha contemplating going to other hosp but think will stick to TMC coz he is there n will be easier for him to chk on me..

Ent: I tink my bb hit 10mm liao. based on last check with the gynae last week... Well.. Hubby also say that but hor, still dun want him to dote the baby more than me.. hahhaaa.. Must be fair ma.. i not a baby borning machine lol... evil..

hi linggie,

welcome! i love pasta too, especially aglio olio pasta. hee hee! i am using a'kin moisturiser, contains vitamin A also but only using once a day in the evenings so i'm not really concerned. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ssbaby,

i'm coming 9 weeks pregnant but no weight gain also. instead lost ard 1kg. but i'm not worried. baby is so tiny!

Starry, i see... I guess i will start measuring my weight every week. Been loong time since i see a weight loss.. Put on 10 kg after my customary in 2009. Now dropped.. haha.. *Struggling with afternoon sickness now..

Shirley, maybe you can try changing mike bottles.

My SIL who was on bf, change the bottle to NUK. And my nephew prefers it. Previously she was using Avnet. You could try to see if your baby takes NUK or not.

ssbaby,

According to my TCM senseh, it is better dun take any tonic during 1st trimester, after enter into 2nd tri we can start the tonic, but she say better dun eat Dang Gui, may cause bleeding wo.. Thus, just be careful bah.

Oh dear.. I just drank alot of Red dates + Gou Qi Zi + Logan + Pao Shen (or danggui - Cant remember) that my mum brew for me... Hmmm.... I will siam that.. Thanks evelyn!

ssbaby,

try to avoid herbal soups as you don't really know what goes into them. i will still eat beef soup noodles, bak kut teh etc. that have some amts of herbs, but not those specific 'tonic soups'. go for chicken essence instead? those brands or EYS types. or even better, make your own. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

http://neckredrecipes.blogspot.com/2007/07/homemade-pure-essence-of-chicken.html

a mummy taught me to substitute chicken with beef for delicious beef essence too! can try at home since it is so simple and nutritious with nothing else added.

sidetrack a bit.... anyone thought of baby names already?? think hubby and i are very kiasu or just too much time on hand.. we already thought of baby names long before we conceived our #1! hahaa!!

starry, thanks for the info.. haha.. forget to tell u i vegetarian la.. I love tonic soup. but have to stop for now. Well, then i go for bak kut teh tonite then.. Vegetarian one.. haha..

ssbaby,

where do you stay at? i love vegetarian food too although i'm not one. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] there is a very nice restaurant managed by my mum's friend call the Vegetarian Villas 素雅轩. got 2 branches, one at jurong west st 41 and one along jln bukit merah. i often go to the JW branch because it's just opp my mum's block! LOVE the HK claypot rice, the yong tau foo and their soups. heard the bak kut teh is good, but yet to try. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

http://www.hungrygowhere.com/singapore/vegetarian_villas_jurong_west/

ooooh there is this organic veg resturant on level 4 fortune center...their daily soup is very yummy, always very amazed how they make their soup taste like pork ribs soup haha

starry--my fave too alio olio! basil alcove at fortune ctr sell pretty decent alio olio at 9-12 bucks!

Welcome linggie!!

Starry, my mil uses that method to boil chicken & pork essence for me, after drinking, I feel it really helps to boost energy ;o)

Do u all know if we can take pao shen??? My mil puts that in the chicken essence. My mum said best not to but sil said okie. So I also dun know. So confused.

happymum,

my mum also said can take pao shen but very little. supposed to help us 'ti shen' especially during 1st tri. i guess no harm having just a bit bah. if not sure, check with those reputable TCM's like EYS. i'm sure they will know and give you an answer..

actually with regards to TCM, i was very skeptical giving any pearl powder, bao yin dan, or jin feng san to my few weeks' old baby girl that time 'cos maybe too ingrained with the modern western medicine mindset. anyway, now that she's coming to 6mths old, she seems fine, not colicky during her early days, slept well and very healthy (no viral/bacterial infections like some infants are prone to). so i guess a little bit of these are okay for mums and babies. just have to check with reputable TCM doctors to be very sure.

Starry: I want to go 素雅轩 tonite for dinner.... n i crave for their bak kut teh and tonic based Niang tou fu.. LOL! So concidence. Got discount? hahaha...

Linggie: U have the name of the resturant? I went to eat the roti john at level 1. Damm Disappointing..

Happymum: I tink pao shen is ok. Coz its neutral in natural... If be safe, then dun take.. I took alot liao.. lol

Thanks starry!

About bao Ying dan, I only buy the EYS brand, find it very effective. I fed my girl alittle bit when she was a baby due to night crying and she was a startled baby. Now, I still give it to my kids when they've mild cold.

Btw, I had a new discovery, u know laughing cow cheese, the flavored cube type? I find it helpful to ease the bitterness taste in our mouth ;o) love the tomato flavor ones hee. Maybe you all can try?

i had a few slices of the dang gui duck tt day..then i was soo scared..lucky no bleeding..choy!

but i have been taking EYS chicken essence every 2 to 3 days...coz feel lethargic so thought can help me be more alert...

i tink generic chicken soup tt kind shld be ok? as long not the very Bu kind..

ssbaby,

my whole family are fans of 素雅轩. haha! my mum will go there for meals several times a week lor. we all love the niang tou fu soup. so nice! too bad no discount for us also. haha! anyway, i think the food they serve very cheap le. if eat in restaurant sure super ex.

oh just nice you can take your time to move in in May then wait for baby to pop. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my colleague also shifting house. she haven't move in but going to pop any moment since last saturday le. very xiong for her.

starry: ya loh.. i gtg now.. need take bus myself. coz hubby havnt off work. n now really hungry... Ya i tink they quite reasonable pricing too.. haha...

Hope to really shift in my may else i going scream at my ID liao.. haha

happymum,

i started giving bao yin dan (from EYS also) to my girl because we suspected she had colic during her 2nd/3rd week. seems to be better. and also because she had a terrible scare at the polyclinic when she had jaundice and had blood sample taken. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] couldn't sleep well at all after that plus kept startling. the jin feng san and bao yin dan both helped. actually now i don't give her le. should i continue??