(2011/11) Nov 2011

starry

what u said makes sense too. now i'm in a blur. not sure what to do, will have to discuss with my mum first. thanks for the insight. your boss so good. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mummies, any recommendations on good confinement tingkat?

Hi Alicia :)

I will be seeing Dr. Phyllis Liauw of TLC clinic at TMC. She is the gynae of my 3 of my friends. Hahaha, all word of mouth business! Actually, I started seeing her last year when I went for a fibroid/cyst operation. She is in the late 40s/early 50s. She is unassuming and friendly and she will not hesitate to draw for me if I don't understand...

I am in the West too (when I am in SG la)..at west coast.

Am enjoying my only cup of mocha now, trying to make it last....

Hi Starry,

Dr. John Yam seems to be a great choice! Did he deliver your first? Clarins' tonic oil has got great reviews, I think I will give it a try.

Good for your boss!;-))

ashley,

no problem. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] at first i was like you, wanna hire maid. then my mum talked 'sense' to me which i have to reluctantly agree she's right. having maid can really have a lot, a lot of problems. some more my house there a lot of foreign workers. scared later i hire one and got extra problems if she gets too friendly with them. so.. that's why lor. the plus point of having a maid is that there's someone to help with housework. then again, can always spend $50 a week for a PT maid. so fast you thinking of confinement already? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

alicia,

i stay in JW too! very near pioneer mrt. you?

meeyou,

i had different gynae for my #1. wanted to change because that gynae super kuku, insisted that i csect with GA. had a horrible experience! so i'm not going back to him anymore. i was very upfront with dr. john yam when i saw him for the first time. told him that if csect i would choose to have epidural and if he is willing to do it, i will stick to him.

Starry,

Hmmm, I will need to research on the pros/cons of GA vs epidural as I need a c sect after my op last year.

A close friend is doing water birth in May, it's her 3rd so she is super cool liao, ha!

starry

yes, am looking at the cost for confinement tingkat, see whether it's ex or not. finding ways and means to relieve my mum. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

meeyou,

yes, do go research on GA vs epidural for csect. you will actually find epi more common though. i have been thru GA and it was hellish for me, so no more! but some mummies still prefer GA.

re: water birth

gotta be very confident that you know what you are doing and get a doula to help. and must attend classes to get familiarized with the breathing and pushing techniques. i find it really wonderful but don't dare to try! your friend doing water birth at NUH right?

Hi, I'm new here. Currently 5 weeks plus now, EDD ard 1st Nov, first time mum. Hoping to see bb heartbeat for my next appt [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Phoenix,

Our edd is the same. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Guess we will pop earlier than expected in Oct. I'm hoping to see baby's heartbeat this weekend too. When is ur next appt?

Starry,

My next appt on 19 March. Keeping my fingers crossed~ [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi phoenixmisi :) I am new here too, first posted first time on Sunday.

Starry, I am not sure where my friend is giving birth though..but for her first 2 births, she was at Mount Elizabeth.

Hi, mee_you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hope everything goes smoothly for all the mummies here.

hi all... hope to join u =)

when did u ladies see a gynea after the + sign appears? week what?

starry

thanks for the links. the food really looks yummy.

babyrabbit

i've made an appointment to see the gynae end of this month. will be around week 7-8.

hi babes! good morning. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i'm having very good appetite now. scared later AS (afternoon sickness) will hit. i hate afternoons...

meeyou,

the only place i know that has waterbirth facilities is NUH. unless it's gotten so 'hot' now that other private hospitals also have. so cool right? it's like a birthing trend now.

babyrabbit,

you on 2ww now? i went to see gynae when i was ard 4 weeks pregnant. no scan or what, just wanted him to see my old c-sect scar as it was itching a little and because the gap between my #1 and this pregnancy is way too close, scared got prob later. typically can start seeing gynae ard week 7-8. that's when can see/hear heartbeat. otherwise nothing much. only a black dot.

ashley,

think out of the 3, natal essentials is the best.

hello all, im new here. edd is 6 nov. feeling kinda stressed out now cos i have to bring forward my banquet and i have a left ovarian cyst. hoping that everything will go smoothly though. excited yet nervous. hope to learn from experienced mummies here. =)

hi amelia! congrats! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] when's your banquet gonna be? don't stress out. get your sisters and friends to help out. i think most ovarian cysts are harmless but what does your gynae say? can remove?

starry

i also think so, but it's also the most expensive. it's almost the cost if i hire a confinement nanny don't you think so?

Saw a sac last night, but dr says it's still abit early. i'm only around 5 weeks along, edd he estimated early nov. have to go back and see him 2 weeks later. and he put me on utrogestan even though i had no spotting, because he said of my history of #1. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi, Amelia [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

baby rabbit,

I tested positive on the day I missed my menses, saw gynae when I was 4 week plus.

redgin,

I am also on utrogestan even though I have no history or spotting.

ashley,

CL cost more! market rate now is ard $1800 - $2500. and not all CLs cook yummy nutritious foods. heard some horror stories from personal friends. she thought 'highly recommended', paid deposit then she fly kite because the baby premature, will only come back home 2 weeks later than expected. that horrible CL not willing to wait, 'eat' the deposit and went to accept another job without telling my friend. made her panic and urgently looking for another CL.

between CL and just confinement tingkat, you need to be certain of what you want also. do you need help taking care of baby during the night? do you need help with minor housework? if your mum or mil willing to help with these, then just do away with CL. no point having an extra stranger in the house for 28 days and pay all that extra money when you can use it to get diapers, pay for full mth party etc..

redgin,

your gynae told you to take the pills orally?? the utrogestan can be inserted so that you won't have all those horrible side effects. hang in there for your little one. it will be worth it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i also saw water sac only last week. can't see any yolk sac or what. hope this week can see a developing embryo..

Hello Ladies! It's our day day (3/8)!!!

Welcome, babyrabbit :)I will be seeing my gynae in week 8 too.

Congrats on your big day, Amelia :) Please don't be stressed, must enjoy the planning. Have you already seen a gynae for your cyst? I had an operation last year to remove fibroids & cysts and my doctors (I had a second opinion) agreed that cysts are more dangerous than fibroids as they may burst during pregnancy.

Hi Redgin, you must be very excited last night! I can't wait for week 8 to arrive..

phoenixmisi/starry

it's oral utrogestan, he just prescribed for me. and i remember from #1 when i take these pills, my ms became worse! feel so horrible. now must take again, oh no! but yeah, will hang on. at least yest gynae confirm the pregnancy, feel more at ease. starry, hope you get to see more than a sac this week! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mee&you

yup, now more relax after seeing dr. like before see dr still think whether am/am not. maybe i more old generation type. hehe.

redgin,

thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hope so. the utrogestan u have it's the white rubbery, whitish pill right? does it come with its original box? my gyane told me utrogestan works best when inserted and does not cause all the weird discomforts that comes with taking orally. maybe you want to check with your gynae if you can insert instead. may help prevent worse MS.

redgin/starry,

I'm been taking the oral utrogestan since my first visit to gynae, was ok initially, but these two days having quite bad nausea, duno is it becos I'm approaching week 6?

starry

wah, confinement nanny cost so much ah? i didn't hire 1 for #1, and don't intend too for this pregnancy also. think second time, we more experienced liao! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i'll rope in everyone who's willing to help, and ask hb to take leave. think can be done. we power woman! yup, the utrogestan comes in original box, but gynae gave me more! ask me take 2 every night. last night still haven't take... hehehe... hb nagging at me already. think have to take tonight liao. will ask him the next time about the insert kind, but hopefully no need to take liao.

phoenixmisi

yes, i remember when i started taking the utrogestan, my ms became worse around week 7 and continued all the way as long as i'm on the pills. but usually ms will also be showing its ugly head around these weeks too...

redgin,

Guess I still have more to endure..haha...hopefully it won't get worse [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

redgin,

you check the packaging. got wordings that say for inserting and taken orally.

re: confinement

yeah, we are power women! sure no problem. hee hee!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Redgin, I belong to the same camp as you..Redgin! I saw a real clear +sign last Friday but I am still skeptical..only the doc can convince me that we are expecting!;-)

Ladies, what are your stand on having facials/hair colour/manicures during the pregnancy? Will u avoid them altogether? I did my reading on babycenter website and we are supposed to avoid Retinoi A, i think.

starry

i checked the box. it says "soft capsules for oral or vaginal route". means what? can insert in ah????

mee&you

i'm did manicues and pedicures for my #1 all the way till i gave birth. the only thing i refrained is hair colour and rebonding.

Really, redgin!! I am so happy to hear that..I love my mani/pedis too. In fact, i just placed an order for two new Spring/Summer colours..

How about dental visits?

hello ladies, i didn't strike this month despite all the high temp i have got. at 36.78, my af reported on sat with really bad cramps. hope all of you have a smooth pregnancy. pinning hope for a dec 2011 baby.

hello ladies, thanks for your well wishes. =) should be holding it on 8 may. haha. but have to rush the photoshoot.

as for the cyst, the doctor mentioned that so long as it doesnt get bigger it should be fine. so im keeping my fingers crossed. will be going to sgh next week to get another scan.

are there any superstitions i have to take note of? my cousin told me not to hug/carry my nieces and nephews.

redgin and starry,

I also only saw sac last wednesday (5 weeks ++)...tmr i will see gynae again and see if i can see yolk!! hahah...so excited!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dear Mummies-to-be

Sorry to interrupt, I have the following items to sell as my baby gal is coming 9 months and will not need these anymore. These items are all in tip top condition. Please PM me if you are keen, self collect in Bishan. Thanks.

1. Sensible Lines Milk Tray – a breast milk freezing system

Bought at $39.00, letting go at $30

2. Moms R us Baby Sling (Pink colour)

Bought at $46.00, letting go at $34

3. Bumbo Babysitter and Play Tray (Lilac colour)

Bought at $79.90, letting go at $60

4. Skiphop Funky Funyard Activity Gym

Bought at $111.92, letting go at $70

5. Babysafe Newborn Pillow (0-9months) with dimple to secure baby’s head

Bought at $17.50, letting go at $11 with the casing FOC

6. Babysafe Bambeanie (a beanie for baby to hug for comfort)

Bought at $35.00, letting go at $22.00 with the casing FOC

7. Spring Maternity Head Support (for supporting baby’s head in infant car seat)

Bought at $20.90, letting go at $14

8. Pigeon Tongs

Bought at $13.90, letting go at $9

9. Pigeon Diaper Liner

Bought at $8, letting go at $5

10. Pigeon Breast Milk Storage Bottles 3pcs/set

Bought at $15.50, letting go at $10

ktr,

think u are the first mummy here with #3. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] congrats!! must be a pro liao?

Cherie, I wish you all the best for a Dec baby! Jia you!:))

Thanks Redgin for the link! All my friends skipped the dental visits during their pregnancies: I think I can manage 9 months without seeing my dentist. She is not exactly my most fav person, haha!

Amelia, It's such an exciting year for u.:) I will be celebrating my 2nd anniversary in April; my hubby & I are super sentimental about our Big Day!;-) I hope your cyst stay tiny tiny.:)

Hi KWXY:) Very excited for you, keep us posted after your visit tomorrow!

Hi ktr:) Congrats, you are one super mummy!haha

Hi Ladies, just got my "confirmation" yesterday at the GP, GP tell me he/she is 6 weeks. First time being a mum. BB given to me by god as we din expect it. But both me n hubby are excited. I am staying in Jurong East but will be moving over to Yishun in May/Jun. Hence will be looking at Dr Lawerence Ang (Sun plaza) for his service. My aunties, cousin, frens n even boss's wife also got his service. Still very blur what i need to do. But i tink he/she bring joy to both of my families... :p

Congrats ktr and ssbaby! ktr, power lah, #3. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

KWXY

hope u get to see more of your precious little bb! now i counting down to the next checkup.