(2011/09) Sep 2011

I experienced very bad vomiting last nite... Vomit till I vomited blood!!!! My whole throat was in pain after that.... It was like burning.... Felt v tired but couldn't sleep due to the pain... It was until much later then I fell asleep....

Now when I think of it, I feel so scared!!! Scared I vomit blood again... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Can any mummies tell me what is happening to me pls?

Jennifer, think you strained your throat, so will have blood. Did your gynae give you any vomiting medication? It might help to take and rest your throat for a while.

Drink more water to hydrate yourself.

jennifer chng,

Is it a lot of blood? Sounds bad. Do take more lubricants for ur throat like pi pa gao or honey. Is it so bad for ur previous prenancies? Take care!

#2,

No, my gynae didnt give me any thing to stop vomiting. I ask him when will all these stop, he said the vomiting will stop in 2 weeks time! OMG!!! Still need to endure for 2 weeks!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Btw, where can I get the alk water to reduce the acid in my body?

Asura,

Last nite, I vomited rice, the rice is all covered with red liquid.. It tasted like iron.... Felt the burning sensation... It's like cutting thru the throat.. V painful.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

jennifer chng,

sounds quite bad leh. if the rice is all covered with red liquid, might be better to see the doc and check ur throat.

sorry to intrude . i am a march 2011 mummy

wanna to sell off my baby plus as i am on the last lesson and gg to deliver soon.

I bought for SGD 318 brand new in July 2010. i have receipt from Baby Singapore to proof it.

hope to sell it for SGD 230 (neg) for fast sales. i can include free courier to your place in early march 2011 as i predict i will be in confinement already.

All in good condition. The carrier bag holding the baby plus only have some yellow staining due to usage. i will bleach and clean it before sending to you.

it has serve me well.hope to pass it on to the next person to benefit from it.

per the usage, baby plus to be used from week 18.

pm me if require more information

hi ladies...

just to share, i've been drinking alkaline water for 2 years... definately it increases the alkaline level in our body... so just wondering is this you all mentioning about? it's a kind of machine that electrolize out the acid and alkaline, then u can select the level of alkaline water that you wan to drink... more info here:

http://www.kemptrading.com/

I have not much MS so far... (touch wood) [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So dead tired, everyday feel like energy level is so low but just cant sleep well! Trying to do some studying now but obviously i am yawning more than anything else..

#2 - COE dipped slightly before CNY to 37k and is expected to go up again to about 40k, this Wed is the next bidding so keeping fingers crossed. We also explored a 7-seater MPV but settled for a conti SUV which provides us with huge boot space.

Bunnz - Thanks!! Hoping COE bidding this Wed no surprise. Hehe

Btw, anyone exploring antenatal classes yet? Will the gynae recommend or must we source on our own?

One worry on my mind is childcare problem after my ML ends. Parents / parents-in-law are rather young so they wouldn't be retiring so soon. Need to find care giver in the next 7 months.

Hi gina, not very familiar with the coe yet, so can i ask?

Does the coe pricing change every week? so it depends on the bidding result for the pricing or is the coe pricing fixed for a few mths and change again only when reported on news?

i'm also thinking of going for antenatal classes, but i'm very lazy to leave house to go for it! :p

Gina, we're looking at Toyota Wish (good boot space) or Suzuki APV. My hub's friends are driving an SUV and the boot space is real huge! They even joked that can just put the baby in pram there, no need baby seat :p

You hv to look for your own antenatal class. A popular one is Mrs Wong's class at TMC.

babyplus>> i have one, and used it during my first pregnancy.. actually im just wow-ed by the so-called things they explained and to us its like, no guarantee but if this bit of effort twice a day can help, why not.. although i dunno if its proven..

daddysbao>> COE is twice a month and it changes everytime de.. sometimes fluctuations not v big, sometimes a huge jump.. think now govt trying to control the number of cars in singapore, thats why the COE is so high now..

kyra>> you told diana is it? she suddenly FB me and congratulate me.. hehehehe

daddysbao>> prenatal classes u attend when u are abt 7 months preggy.. now go, sure will forget one.. maybe just make an enquiry and they will probably note your name down n call u nearer the date to remind u..

gina>> find a nanny nearby is your next alternative i think.. and also infantcare.. or any of your aunts staying in the same area?

my boobs are soooo sore that they feel they've been boxed ten times all over.. and i tink my boobs swell up a cup.. my hubby was shocked to see my boobs yesterday.. hahahahaha

and i haven been sleeping well at night.. suddenly just wake up and cant fall back to sleep.. by the time i wanna sleep, its time to wake up for work.. how i wish i dun need to work!

babyplus: i bought it from USA for my #1. Not sure how much it helped cos not able to compare the same bb without using babyplus and with babyplus. Figured tat since it only cost $200+ with so much wow about it. No harm done.

#2,

Do u ship the stuff back from iherb using vpost? Can check how much is the shipping? COs so far I have been asking friends to bring back for me. This time need to get quite a number of things so quite paiseh to ask them to help. By the way, the erbaorganics i heard is veryvery good! Wanted to use it for #1 but couldnt find it cheap but now wow.. it is even cheaper than clarins at the airport!

Daddysbao - No problem.COE bidding depends very much on demand. The higher the demand (more people buying car) for the little supply of COE, the price will skyrocket. It changes every 2 weeks.Yes, car prices depends on the bidding. What we have done is place an order based on the terms offered by the dealers, whether or not the bid they put is successful will decide if we get our car.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

#2 - Go and check out Toyota. They slashed their prices last weekend due to slow sales cos high COE not worth getting Jap cars plus Yen was high. But now with the slash, Altis was only $81k. I'm not sure about the wish though, you may wish to drop to see. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I was intially looking at the VW Touran. I really liked it but Hubby thinks we can get that when we have our #2. For #1, we will stick to a SUV (currently alr driving a SUV), except that we will be upgrading to a larger one from Renault.

Antenatal class - Oh, so 7th month is better? I'll make enquiry then. But is it ok if I'm not delivering at TMC to attend Mrs Wong's class? How much does she charge for such lessons? Thanks in advance! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

PinkieMie - Looking at the nanny option too but trust must be there. The scariest thing is to place your child in the care of someone who can't take care. Your mind will be away from work all day. My aunts are working, don't think they would be available. Infantcare is also one alternative but I'm concerned about the teacher-baby ratio (too high may end up negligent), and the crowd within the centre may bring about handfootmouth..

Just some concerns, hope you ladies don't find me grumbling. Haha. It's still 7 months away but I think it will pass in a flash.

My bump is really protuding through my dress, very difficult to hide. Hope March 9 comes soon, can make it officia and wear comfy clothes. Hehe. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

gina, thanks! i guess it's time to start hitting the car firms to compare prices first?

as for me, i wear a huge jacket, and when sitting down, it's not so obvious if ur bump is from fats or the baby? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i usually use a pillow to hug to cover any suspicions

gina>> ya i super agree that finding a nanny is all about trust.. coz hor, there is this nanny at my block, she is taking care of a toddler girl about 2+ YO.. i am very sad everytime i see the toddler.. this toddler is pale pale kind.. the nanny doesnt cook separately for her, the girl eats the same food as wad the rest of the family eats.. every morning this nanny will bring the girl to market and sit in the kopitiam and la kopi, and the WORST thing is the girl drinks KOPI!!! every evening bring the girl for walks (my mum will bump into them coz my mum brings my girl down for walk also), and the toddler would be munching on TITBITS bought from those mamashops. i wonder if the girl's mummy is aware of all these..

its ok to attend prenatal classes even if you are not delivering at that hospital.. the charges are just slightly different..

thanks pooh and #2 : we hv decided on the hospital. just need to see the rooms to make decision n delivery room to get familar.

Will check out whether their prenatal classes incl the tour as well.

mb in 2 mths time, i'll apply for the mt alvernia lady's card.

Car : COE is still sky high for me now. Hb is bugging me to change car but i stood firm and said no. we hv a salon now. Even we were to change car, I told him we are getting a 2nd car.

Less depreciation.

Babyplus : somehow I cant help laughing when I found out what it is. Prenatal learning. so amazing! technology! but i'll be giving it a miss.

Babycare: at first I thought I still can go out to teach and come back to feed bb in between my lessons, since bb is still small and sleeps most of the time. Hb says he rather I get my students to come home and earn less. Doesn't want to leave bb alone with maid at all.

Parents are also working and PIls are not in Spore.

Alkaline water: you can get machines to give alkaline like Pray&Love's one. Or you can get supplements to increase the alkaline level.

OF cos what we eat matters too.

4 main poisons which causes acidity : Sugar, Dairy , Caffeine and Stress.

If I were to go into more details, I 'm afraid it may cause some discomfort to the mummies here.

iluvjp : you are still studying?? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jennifer : it sounds real bad. Pls visit or give your gynae a call. I guess normal vomitting is fine. But with blood, it's not ok.

any idea what u ate recently?

anyone drinking rice milk?

just saw this organice rice milk at ntuc, supposed to be non dairy, non gluten etc

Tot i give it a try. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi ladies: i think there's a promo on mount alvernia ladies card now at $68 instaead of $98.

Just saw it on website.(to mark opening of parentcraft centre at mount alvernia)

Hey Jennifer, take care!

When my stomach is empty, i vomit some yellowish thingy. N the aft taste is really bitter n metallic. Anyway experience that? N can advise what is tat?

Hi Jennifer Ng, I also puke the yellowish fluid when my stomach is empty. It happens every morning. I think that's some gastric fluid if I'm not mistaken.

MOVIES

Prena, I happened to watch an Indian movie on DVD recently and it was surprisingly GOOD! Catch "3 Idiots".

MORNING SICKNESS & ENERGY LEVEL

Me and my big mouth! Was still saying I experienced no MS and had a hearty appetite. Since Sat, I started to lose appetite and feel very nausea whole day, though no puking yet. Yday morning, I told hb I would like soya bean + fritters (after reading 1 post here). In the end, he bought soya bean, fritters, prata, carrot cake and chay kway teow. I saw the huge variety and got very sick. Down soya bean drink and half a fritter and had to stop. We were out for the whole of Sat and come Sun, I was a dead log. Only woke up for meals and toilet breaks. My housework and dog grooming are all piling up [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

CATERING/TINGKAT

There are some caterers that specially cater for confinement:

http://www.confinementfood.com/

http://www.newbaby.com.sg/

http://www.chillipadi.com.sg/Confinement/

I thought the chillipadi's menu looks quite good. For those who have CL/mum/MIL to help out, can use the menu as reference too.

My family used to like Neo Garden as a caterer but recently the std seems to be lower? Most recent orders were in Dec and Feb, both times were disappointing.

FACIAL

Just went for facial on Sat. Beautician told me no AHA, no IPL, no Retinol, avoid machine treatments, use only selective essential oil and no massages (unless certified pre-natal). I'll stick to normal intensive hydration facial or oxygen treatments only.

PinkieMie - Your entry makes me feel so sorry for the little girl. I also fear such situation that's why I think it's important to have a good nanny. Hmm.. will continue in my search for one.

Bunnz - Sorry, I don't get it. The 4 poisions that cause acidity are no good? In terms of dairy, does it include milk and yoghurt as well?

Oh yes, what's the ladies card promo on? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

BabyPlus hahahahha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] interesting

kylekyra (kyra): "3 Idiots" is a nice movie if u like amir khan u shud watch his latest "Dhoby Ghat" amazin movie

hang in there you will be fine soon

Pinkie - I received FB congratulatory msg from Diana too! But I didnt tell her anything leh, definitely not about you. Am also still hush hush at my end. I have only SMS to ask if I could post her url on the forum. After that I received FB msg too, I thought she has guessed it since I told her I'm posting on SMH. Sorry if she has somehow linked this to you! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Bunnz - My mum had a helper to bath me when I was a newborn. She was still staying with my paternal grandparents then and had alot of help on food and babycare so they didnt get any CL. But I was in breech position and she had to go for c-sec. So my grandma engaged a neighbour (washer-lady) to help bath me twice a day, cos all of them hadnt bathed a baby for a long time. Not sure if there's still this service now, perhaps a good start is to check out the babysitters near your area?

#2 & adelene - Thanks for the advice on dogs at home during confinement. We have intended to use babygate to fence off the nursery and the dogs still can roam living room/kitchen etc. I was telling mum if I get a Msia CL, most likely they wont be afraid of dogs (think kampong lifestyle). But she was nagging about the noise/smell/hair etc. Haiz! I'm praying hard that I can find someone who can accomodate us and of cos I wont expect her to help out with the dogs. Is it true that we cannot squat much after delivery? I would still need to clean up after the dogs finish their biz.

Kyra, if natural birth, after 1 week can squat already (but try not to). If C-section, must wait till 1 month or maybe 2 months then can squat (not so painful).

That's why I said you might need to get a petsitter to come over to help with the dogs. Or wait for your hubs to help.

Mine is currently trained to pee/poop when go for daily walks. Only sometimes she can't tahan then will pee/poop on the newspaper we put in her pee tray.

is it also true that we can't squat much now? if so, anyone noes the reason? I've a fren who told me not to squat too much, but she din tell me why though...

Daddysbao, old ppl thinking: if you keep squatting, baby will drop out.

My gynae's advise: squat slowly, stand up slowly.

BTW, throughout my 1st pregnancy, we were still staying at our rented flat and it was squat toilet... so I practically had to squat daily during my pregnancy....

#2 - My dogs are paper-trained. Given that both of us are working, we dont have time to walk all 4 daily, hence they have been trained from young to do biz on paper in pee-tray (placed at our service yard). During confinement, I think I'll still need to clear every 1-2 hours else the CL/Baby will need to live with lingering smell [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

daddysbao - I was told by gynae not to stand/squat/sit for too long after I had bleeding initially. I heard from a friend that we should lie flat as much as possible because gravity pulls.

Kyra : thanks for the suggestion. Just thought of friend s mum. See if she can help w bathing baby.

I think squatting will be not easy after delivery . Big no no if u have c sect.

Gina: the 4 poisons just mean they cause acidity in body. Not say can totally cut out in today s world but reduce as much as we can.

Yogurt has gd bacteria. Still can eat.

My MIL & FIL both were scolding me as i squat a lot thy got me stool from ikea to sit and get things in the kitchen ... advice nt to squat as much as psble

I'm reading up on alkaline food now online. The nausea feeling is getting on my nerves.

Of the 4 poisons, I'm guilty of at least 3, am only not doing much on dairy as I am adverse to smell of milk.

Kyra, in this case, you might want to kneel down instead of squat. Maybe you can ask the CL if she's willing to help clear?

Have you tried pee pads before? My friend's dogs are using those and it'll absorb the smell, so only change twice a day.

But my dog will ripe up the pee pad thinking it's FUN.... -_-"

Anyway regarding the foods to eat n avoid, we can only know n follow so much. At the end of the day, it s about being happy . If you r ok w not eating it, then great. If u really want to eat it, just eat in moderation. All about balance [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I ve heard abt the 3 idiots. Waitin to see it if hv the chance.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Prenr a : not tried it before. . Just saw gluten free, lactose free, cholesterol free, dairy free. Trying out for fun .[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kyra, my mum didn't allow me to bend down during confinement. She say bad for the back cos during confinement your bones are readjusting back to normal, must maintain good posture.

Thanks bunnz. I don't know about squatting, I even thought it would be considered good exercise for mummies. What I realised is that it has increasingly becoming difficult to squat.

Sometimes, getting up from the bed while lying on my back is also challenging. I wonder if I'm squeezing baby when my stomach crunch to get myself up. Haha

Anyway, just to share that I read that sleeping on your back is not good while pregnant and that side sleeping (left) is best. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gina, I turn to my side before getting up instead of pull myself up from lying on back position. Also worried about squeezing baby! hahaha!

PinkieMie (pinkiemie): my boobs also becoming bigger i feel so embarrassed ....i rem wen my sis ws preg her boobs also became very big actually my mum hs big boobs so its in the genes....btw my sis also put on a lot of weight cause of water retention... hb calls me a fat cow now.. i used to be so slim i cant fit in my jeans of 27 waist anymore

Prenra, this is the only time you can gladly put on weight and stare back at your hubs to challenge him! :p

My hub would love for me to put on weight for the sake of baby :D

He even joked that he is a fortunate man... cos he's going to enjoy big boobies for the next 1 - 2 years!! hahaha!!