(2011/09) Sep 2011

Simbaobao, mine is at face/neck... look so ugly with the patches lor..

Pommes, its my 1st pregnancy.. so i am worried abt my rashes.. just hope that baby is well in me..

PinkieMie = PinkieDot?

Ladies, wanna go for classed tog? We can exchange notes, motivate the hubbies and give each other reminders. Wahahaha!

#2 -- I'm hoping to keep home visits to only immed families because of my 4 dogs. I probably wont be able to cope managing dogs + guests + new baby at home. So if possible, close friends or relatives can come over to the hospital and then only meet us at baby shower :p

I dont have personal experience at TMC/MAH but have been to both numerous times for visits. Generally speaking, I find MAH quieter and more serene. TMC, starting from carpark is a war-zone. I also find the std single room at MAH slightly bigger. Anyway I dont need to make a choice of this now cos my current gynae only delivers at MAH. But I'll interested in Mrs Wong's class at TMC.

Pommes - I have eczema all along and managed to control them so far, after I started using natural soaps imported from US. But recently, the patches popped up again. I hope it's due to hormonal changes/weather...cos I'm hoping for a girl. LOL!

Kyra, must communicate your wishes properly to minimise stress on yourself. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My relatives are all dog lovers, so they are ok with my dog. In fact, we all grew up with dogs in the family. So I prefer tt they come visit after we've settled down at home with baby :D

Actually another reason why I don't want ppl to visit at hospital is cause I will be so tired after the whole labour and delivery process. And I was 'at my worst'. hahaha. Looked so unkempt :p

My friend did not want visitors at all until baby full month party cos she had water retention and bloated up until very ugly.

pooh - why don't you call up the clinic and ask about the rashes? The doc/ nurse can advise you.

i don't have itchy rashes but i have small red dots on my chest and abit on tummy, dunno pimples or what. Just left it alone. I also noticed my tummy more hairy now. Hmm... feels weird.

Budget - not going to bother. Feels that one hand gives u $$, the other takes it back. No diff... haha

Pommes, tt's what my hubs says abt the budget too :p

But I'm just curious to know which 'feedback' from the public hv they taken...

I'm hoping got some news abt shared paternity leave (though my hubs has generous leave and has work from home option, I still hope tt there's 'equality' in child rearing duties)...

#2 -- I need to work on that. That's the problem with having large, closely-knitted families. I dont quite dare to act against inlaws for obvious reasons, usually they are still reasonable so I will oblige. For my own relatives, my hb thinks I'm too obliging. But really because I am very close to all my aunts from both sides and they have always been very doting, even when I am already 32. But then not everyone loves dogs and some have asked me to give them up, before I even tried for a kid. So I really dont wish to have them under the same roof. Will need to convey this to both my mum + mil in time to come. So that they can manage the relatives.

For my eczema, I stopped using my steroid cream which works like magic (elomet). Will prob switch to calamine lotion if they get worse.

Going for facial tomorrow as planned, I only need to avoid retinol in pdts right?

pommes, i have seen normal doc. 2 times this week.. 2nd doc say its normal, ask me to check with gynae during my next visit...

i also realise my tummy getting more hairy.. opps..

have not discuss with hubby on the hospital stay.. but i hope to stay in mt a, single bedded.. currently, not working, so all $$ comes from hubby.. hee hee..

Whether the type of ward makes a difference depends on your luck. I stayed in a 2-bedder for the first birth as all the single rooms were taken up and my neighbour was SO noisy (she talked non-stop in the day and snored at night). My baby was in NICU the first two days and because of the 2-bedder regulations my husband could not stay overnight with me; it was quite sad and lonely for me. I switched to a single bedder from the 2nd day onwards and really appreciated the peace and privacy.

where has everyone gone to? watching the Budget? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/proud.gif]

muffin - i think is individual. Must really have bed rest and no carry of heavy stuff and don't walk about too much.

But I read before if you have detected the bb's heartbeat, usually the miscarriage risk is reduced, even if there's spotting.

Hi muffin, i'm also waiting for my slight spotting to be gone... Still having slight of it...my gynae told me not to worry cos at 9 weeks, we are more or less stable already... If it happens at around 6 weeks or less, then there may be some cause of concern.... She says as long as the u/s did not show any clots... She'll not worry too much...

Muffin, my spotting problem improved after my gynae subscribed me with the hormone (I shared this earlier before - sorry can't recall the name) Are you on any medication?

Yeah Muffin, I agree with Kelly. I think we've passed the critical time (i.e. first 8 weeks). So be relax and trust your gynae.

kelly, reali thats so soothing to hear.

it is interesting to note and know how the days and weeks make a big difference in the stability of the pregancy too.

mrswong, am on duphaston . 3 x per day.

are some of u on the same an tai yao too?

Hmm... I don't think it's duphaston. Let me check when I get home. The first 8 weeks of the first trimester is the most critical wan.

Dphaston tats the meds im also on it

my spottin still haven gone ystd ws almsot gone tdy hs come back lil bit

my gynea has given a form of prgestrone jab she said if the spottin increases i shud go to 24 hr clinic n get this jab ...they jus wana mk sure tat the uterus does nt contract which in turn will rupture the water bag followed by miscarriage.. progestrone basically relaxes the uterus muscles

The 'an tai yao' has a few different brands. Most common is duphaston.

I'm not on it cos no spotting.

Er, don't worry about the side effect and don't google it too.

If gynae ask you to take, just take.

I had dat medi for 2 weeks

My gyane kept assuring me it's common to have spotting no need to worry tat much as long as I dun walk too long or carry heavy thing.

no side effects of Duphuston except tat it mks the ms worse im also on 3 per day gyne increased the dose ealrier it ws two but since she put me on hospitalization leave she increased to 3

think shd be fine. its seems common for gyne to prescribe that dose for those spotting. some gyne prescribe 2 tablets x 3x per day.

i making paw bhaji its a Indian dish [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] wud try to upload pic ... very troublesum or rather me lazy to do it :p

I was bleeding in W5/W6, since then gynae put me on Utrogestan.

W7 & 8, 3 pills per day.

W9 & 10, 2 pills per day.

Now at W11 going to 12, was told to slowly reduce to 1 pill per day.

I was abit upset at first because initially I was told after 8-9 weeks should be ok and I might not need the an tai yao beyond that. But while the sac/heartbeat appear better, gynae still doesnt seem confident to drop the medication. So I'm now on my 5th box.

i'm on utrogestan too.. has been taking it since day 1 of my pregnancy.. 2 pills per day.. no spotting so far..

Me again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

When I got a +ve on home pregnancy test kit, I went into my 1st gynae's clinic the following day -- given 2 jabs in the bum and was put on 4hours of drips.

Changed gynae 2 days later -- so far, he gives me 1 jab per week on the hip. PAINFUL...

So I'm still on utrogestan + jabs, even when I'm already 11w.

Kyra, some gynae's style is to give loads of jabs/meds.

My gynae takes the more relaxed approach cos it's part of nature's natural selection process also.

Duphaston only given when got spotting.

Kelly, that's for ppl who currently have the acct right? Not for future right? Cos my #1 was born in 2007, no CDA acct for #1 at tt time...

hi all! wah, just a day of leave and so much news! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Am i glad to hear that after 10 weeks, ms will be reduced. i was starting to get a bit worried that if less ms = sth wrong

and the lactation video is funny and scary. I hope i won't be dry but still not be as bad as them :p

can i just check if mah is Mt alvernia? and what do u guys mean by doing hospital tour?

Huh... but the thing is... I'm only eligible to start acct after my #2 is delivered mah.... zzzzzz....

Same for all the first time mummies.... no kid now to open CDA acct? Booooooooooo....

Daddysbao, MAH is Mt Alvernia Hospital [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hospital tour is they show you the delivery suite, the maternity wards, etc. So you know where to go when you deliver and the place wont seem so foreign and scary to you :D

Muffin - I dont have the breakdown but was charged $470 in total for the 2 jabs and drips, on top of consultation/ultrasound charges.

#2 - I have other medical conditions, belong to the "high-risk" category. I like my 1st gynae alot but after speaking to the others in my medical team (for other conditions), I was advised to change gynae. Was told the 1st gynae's treatments tend to be more extreme. So I changed to current gynae although I was very comfy with first one. It turned out that the diagnosis at 2nd gynae's clinic at W6 was also quite bad - bad sac shape, weak heartbeat, bleeding etc. So I started on utrogestan and weekly jabs...

Simbaobao - Hope you dont mind. I just visited your food blog and OMG! You can cook really well. Now I'm craving for alot of food. Hb this weekend jialat liao....

Kyra, oh.... with other medical conditions must be more careful... My cousin also had no choice but go to a very experienced (but super expensive) gynae cos of her medical condition... But all worth it cos she successfully delivered 2 kids without worsening her condition :D

Kelly, the CDA acct can only be opened for birth order #2 and #3 for children born before Aug 2008.

For children born after 2008, all can open the acct.

The acct is under the child's name. Need the child's birthcert. Not anyone/everyone can open. Must be eligible. Cos this acct is the one in which govt will give the matching top up in the baby bonus.

Cos my boy is the first born and was born before Aug 2008, he is not eligible for CDA acct.

Hi kyra, u are high risk becos of age? I have chronic hypertension even thou i'm only 29... I asked dr if i belong to high risk... She say not really...my gynae very steady one... Always very assuring...hehe