(2011/09) Sep 2011

omg....i loveeee 算盘子!

meeting ex colleagues for dinner tonight, they said dinner + wine. I think I'm going to sulk there with my fruit juices [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

muffin : what card are you talking about? and apply for what in 3rd trimester?

Simbaabao : u are in gd spirits today [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hb is in luck for good food! wow 4 hours of slp!! gdness!

I'm also in gd spirits cos hb coming back tonight!!

So far I've slept well, even though i tend to wake up now and then to go pee..

Sleeping habits also change.

cant wait to get up everyday also. lie down too long seems not so comfy.

wake up ard 530 everyday.

nap or no nap, i usually feel tired ard 10plus.

Re: Sleep

I used to sleep a lot but recently I will wake up automatically at 7am!!! I used to sleep till 9am... Plus used to nap a lot in the afternoon but now don't feel sleepy... Whole day feel v energetic...

the only hakka dish i know and like is the thunder tea rice. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

No matter how much I sleep, I still get tired easily. I dream a lot at night, and is all action packed scenes. I think this is why I am always tired.

Now, thinking what to eat for lunch...

#2 yeap i am hakka... once awhile will cook but usually will eat at granny pl [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] love hakka foods

Bunnz: yeap not too sure how many are there in total though

here's my dinner... my mum made it for us and i fried it myself...hehe hope it made u mummies hungry to go look for foods.. its LUNCH TIME...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5125634.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5125635.jpg]

simbaobao : not fair ! :p now u are tempting us with food that look so yummy!!! i need to try this some day. any hakka place to recommend? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lunch for me was dahl/rice and longs with zuchinni [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]all demolished..no pic :p

ordered laksa for dinner tonight..although not sure how i wld take to coconut milk

#2, am not sure but alots of ppl who told me they dun like yam love this.. a few of my frds was addicted to it after trying it..

Bunnz: i seldom go outside for hakka foods coz my family said.. no standard -_-" they r very fuzzy about hakka foods..

i doesn't dare to take coconut.. the after effect is too strong for me to take it..

usualy i dun drink the gravy ..so shb be fine. anyway will be homecooked vegetarian one.keeping fingers crossed.

simbaobao - Your abacus seeds look delish! And you take good photos [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I decided to go for a simple lunch as we (colleagues and I) have been eating very rich food for lunches over CNY. Today I took soupy fish ball mee tai mak. Dinner will be italian food with ex colleagues, will need to control!

simbaobao - I had pizza craving last week so already eaten. Then on Tuesday, inlaws ordered pizza for dinner, so ate again. Tonight I shall try to eat something lighter. Very bloated these days, too many sessions of CNY feastings.

Kyra, you mean the classes on how to take care of baby and what to expect during labour, etc?

You can book direct with the hospital of your choice during 20week.

I attended Mrs Wong BB's one at TMC, her classes are very popular. And it was very helpful cos hubby went with me and he learnt to be more hands-on [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

doesn't dare to take foods with strong taste/smell yet.. dat day order a pasta n end up eating a few bitez and passed it to hubby..

am til tinking whether to stick to TMC or go MT A.. Gyane perfer TMC coz he is nearer to there but we perfer Mt A coz more accessible for us.. Headache

Simbaobao, we also deciding btw TMC and Mt A. Gynae is ok with both. We dun like the traffic at TMC carpark and from my place to TMC. Mt A is nearer for us but there's no free upgrade to 2bedder if we pick Mt A.

#2 our worry is if on the day the gyane had patient in tmc as well den I am stuck in mt a.. Den big trouble Liao. If he can't rush over, he will Juz sent another gyane there [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] and it happened to someone before.

For those who gave birth before, does Ur hb stay over to company u? I wanna hb to b there but dat means I had to opt for single bedded.

Simbaobao. yes.. took duck rice.. lucky today mange to eat some rice.. not been eating rice for past few weeks already..

kyle>> i attended the one at MAH, and yes, also v informative.. they teach u how to bathe the baby, do prenatal massages, wad to expect during labour, labour ward / hospital tour, position to latch the baby etc.. but hor, end up i still need to relearn after baby is out.. hahahahaha!

TMC classes are v popular! i tink its always full de! hehe.. Mrs Wong Boh Boi is a v famous LC!

SimBaoBao>> probably you should go and have a feel of both hospitals before u decide which hospital to deliver at.. actually MAH and TMC are a stone's throw away from each other i feel.. both in the THomson area..

Pinkie, though both hospitals are near, the traffic is killer! We ever got stuck for 1 hour from Mt A to TMC!

And thankful for my #1, my waterbag burst on a Sat night. If burst during morning/evening peak period confirm stuck in traffic.

For gynae having patient in different hospital, I think it happens frequently. Can't blame cos they also can't determine what time their patients will deliver.

My gynae did tell me who are the ones who will take over in case he can't make it and ok with the 2 names he mentioned :D

simbaobao - how does the abacus seeds taste like? sweet? sour? salty? spicy? peppery? I'm curious to know ... hee hee

Actually one-bedded and 2-bedded, does it make a lot of difference in pricing? I'm planning to take one-bedded.

SimBaoBao>> parking at TMC sux big time! i went there for my detailed scan, they parked our car at the big carpark there and we had to take their small bus over to retrieve our car.. so duh lo.. they should improve their parking la!

my hubby stayed over at MAH to accompany me coz he says i very kelian.. first time stay in hospital and worried that i will be scared.. this time round he aint staying over with me already.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Pommes, if everything goes well, there's no big difference in pricing (I think around $300 diff in the hospital package). However, bear in mind that if you choose 1 bedder, whatever additional charges for services/equipment needed for both mother and child will be based one 1 bedder price. Then there will be a huge difference.

For me, I chose 4 bedder at TMC cos my gynae got free upgrade to 2 bedder. And we decided tt if the neighbour in 2 bedded really disturb me until can't take it then upgrade to 1 bedder. Of cos by then already delivered and we know whether it's gonna be exp or not.

End up, I did not have neighbours during my stay there, so hubs could stay over with me :D

#2>> i 'checked in' at night, so i din experience the traffic rush.. hehe.. but generally we chose MAH coz my hubby is more comfortable with MAH and he heard some stuffs abt TMC la.. so he insisted MAH.. my frens who stayed in TMC had no bad comments, but recently the standard really dropped coz if you all recall, i posted abt my sister giving birth there and the service was really bad.. not attentive and feedback from my gynae also the same.. so im sticking to MAH.. hehe

Pinkie, I think I like to be left alone... so I don't really bother the nurses (and don't care if they are not attentive cos I'm doing every on my own) :p And I kept baby with me throughout. When they bring baby to jab, my hubs follow like a hawk (heard of stories of babies being mixed up).

Also heard good things about MAH and we went there to visit friends before, so considering MAH this time round :D

#2 - thanks for the info! I went to check and ya, a difference in 2k. But dunno the stated amount is the total bill or the amount in cash portion?

pinkieme - "check in" at night, consider one day stay already?

Pommes, it's total bill. But the medisave claimable portion is the same, regardless of which ward you choose for private hospital. So the difference is in cash.

I went in at 8pm and delivered at 4am, considered 1 night. So stay another night and I went home already.

My friend went in at 9am and delivered at 2pm, had to stay 2 full nights. So if calculate, her stay was longer than mine.

Classes --

So when do we start booking the hospital tour or classes? Abit kiasu here cos we both work very long hours and hb works 6 day week, so I need to block out our calendars early. I just went to MAH website, they have a childbirth education programme + post-natal one. Heard of Mrs Wong from TMC, if my gynae only delivers at MAH, can I hop over to TMC for classes?

Room stay --

I'm hoping to choose a single room for privacy purposes. Think I might be grouchy after that (somehow my imagination about delivery is very painful + unglam). Also can sleep in peace, try to breastfeed without any inconvenience. One other factor is we both have LARGE, LOUD families. Rather than not wanting to be disturbed, I'm more worried about us disturbing others :p When do we need to confirm this? Still keeping options opened too, because like confinement lady, friends have been saying a little savings go a long way. This is truly an expensive affair!

Kyra, you can go to any hospital for the class. No prob. Just that maybe you need to book a hospital tour with MAH to get yourself familiar with the place. Book during your 20 week. If I remember correctly, for TMC is 6 lessons. Can choose weekday night or weekends.

Actually, I only allow my parents and siblings to visit me in hospital. My family is HUGE and LOUD. Told them to wait till I get home to visit me cos the hospital got no space to take all of them :p And my cousins understand that I need to rest and adjust to motherhood, so only send their regards via SMS. :D

Thankfully, the IL side totally not interested, so totally nvr come and disturb me :p

And for my colleagues, only very close colleagues came to hospital. The rest visited me when I went home :D

And yes... it's truly expensive! And it's just the start of money rolling out of our pockets...

Pinkie: I been to tmc but haven't seen mt a before. Will go kpo kpo n check with my gyane again.

We doesn't wan tmc coz of the recent review my Gf gave. 1 bedded oso gave bad review on the nurse attitude. But she said when she stay in the deluxe suite the service was super good. But when she downgrade to the normal 1 bedded she felt like she is in kk 6 bedded kena those moody nurse.

Pooh: I had rashes on my back.. Hb said it's patch by patch [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Pommes: it's salty type. With lil pepper taste.

Simbaobao, the rashes could be due to hormones, but highlight to your gynae during the next visit.

TMC's nurse: in 2007 when I stayed there, I din pay attention to the nurse but the ward nurse that changed pad for me was very nice.

But, i din like the lactation nurse at all. Wrote a complaint letter to TMC after I went home and got some compensation from them.

Undecided btw TMC and MAH cos...

- Familiar with TMC

- MAH seems nice

- TMC's parking/traffic is terrible

- MAH has nice ample parking

- MAH seems cheaper (this is our #2, need to save $$)

pommes>> i checked in after 12 midnight.. i reached the labour ward ard 1130, the nurse told my hubby to go down and register after the clock strikes 12, so that wun incur an additional day charge.. i was induced btw.. hehe

kyra>> you only need to confirm the type of room on the day of admission.. but you need to do a pre-admission when u are abt 6 or 7 months if im not wrong..

and you can attend any hospital's prenatal classes, just that if you deliver at TMC and attend TMC's class, you will get a 'cheaper' price..

#2>> wa, you very lihai.. coz i din know how to hold the baby to latch etc, so i needed help.. and for TMC hor, they din allow the baby to be kept with my sister! they only brought the baby to her when it was time for feeding, and when my sister instructed them she wanted TBF, they fed the baby FM!!!!!

actually wun get mixed up de ba, coz the name tag is put on immediately upon baby's arrival and would not be taken off until we discharge..

i do know that TMC the baby's name tag is not done in the same delivery ward, the baby is cleaned up at another area.. my fren instructed her hubby to do the same thing, follow the baby, dun bother abt her.. hahahaha

simbaobao/ pooh - heard that when pregnant time got rashes, highly possible is baby boy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I must review this "expenditure" with hubby again. But still, hope I get to stay in 1-bedded.

Pinkie, er.... cos experience with 10++ nieces and nephews!! So handling baby is no prob... as for latching, I asked the lactation nurse to help but she was very rude. Poke and prod at my nipples and claim no milk when I had so much milk. WTH!?

The tag comes off easily!!!!

And why I din let my boy leave my sight is cos of the TBF thing too. Nurses got so many babies to take care, then when handover shift, they won't really bother which baby is TBF and which is not?

bunz/Ky - that s the card i was rferring to. can help save some cost .

i wanted to go over my mum's plc but still hv pink and brown disharge..hence will stay home n be gd [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

the budget will b release from 330 onwards..anyone is following?

Pommes, must really sit and down discuss with hubs properly. Me and my hubs feel not worth it to spend on the 2 night hospital stay cos can save the money for baby. But if you got higher budget, then should be ok to splurge on your ward :D

My insurange agent who delivered 1 day earlier than me stayed 1 bedder. Then she came down to my ward to visit me before discharge and she said tt not much difference...

#2 will let my gyane know abt the rashes. Sometimes it's so itchy till I wanna scream for help.

Pommes: hehe doesn't matter Boy or gal as long as is a healthy baby.

Muffin, I subscribed to the email alert. So they'll email us the budget report after the whole speech is delivered. I want to watch but having lessons later. Maybe can turn it on to educate my students on budget too. Sometimes got nice show on Okto on Science I will turn on TV for them to watch for 10 minutes.