(2011/09) Sep 2011

Sing Yee - I intend to book next month (upon reaching 3rd month). But no idea where to start. I think I'll face some problems as I cannot imagine any aunty who will like to stay with 4 dogs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Sing Yee, do check out once your 1st tri is over cos some popular infant care centres require 6mths to 1 yr advance booking!

For CL, you should try to ask around for recommendations (from relatives/friends/colleagues) who have used their services or rely on feedback from online forums to get one. Another way is to go through the confinement lady agency.

Most CLs only cover: Looking after mummy and baby, washing of baby's clothes, cooking for mummy, marketing.

If you get a nice one, she may include: simple housework, cook for your other family members.

Another way of getting CL is through hospital's ParentCraft dept. I heard that TMC has a list of recommended trained CLs. Might be more pricey but I think if they are trained by the parentcraft nurses, will be quite good.

late morning to all! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Touchwood, but I think my ms is finally leaving me, and I can eat, but i'm now always hungry...

Will there be any more baby fairs after March? I've not even started buying furniture for bb room.

ytd on the bus, its so crowded den happened to have a sit meant for 1adult & 1 kid de.. den dunno why alots of adult like to squeese 2 adults into 1 small seat

My hb laff at me.. said u cannot sit here la.. i point to my tummy.. i had one inside.. he said i very clever..

Then this aunty ar... really bth her

she saw me sat there

she wanna to squeese in.. i was like.. HUH!... aunty.. this is for one adult only eh... she went.. u moved in abit la.. my hb went.. aunty.. u not dat small hor.. i got a baby inside..

the aunty went &#*&&#@*(#*(#@

ON CL: haven't decided yet.. sianz..

Just came back from gynae.... Baby and placenta are bth good... Dr say spotting probably due to some inflammation... Given 2 days mc... Thank God for keeping the miraculous life safe...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Back from lunch. Hot day ~_~

CL - intending to get one but haven't start searching.

Infant Care - our only solution. But also haven't start looking around.

Baby's room - still bare. Haven't started buying anything for baby. Also haven't started to scout for maternity wear.

So many things to do... feels like preparing for wedding again >_<

kelly, gd to hear that. did doc says wat cause the inflammation?

regarding CL.

i'll be confirming these few days.. she has just done one for my godsis who has not bad a feedbk.

she will also cook for hb .

requesting for 2k.

Re logistics.

Yep, will take it slower as i dun mind hand me dwn since bb grow up quite fast. iv got a bb cot firmed up this am from my friend. which am happi[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

am now munching on the dried orange peel.. so salty heee.

Hi ladies.

Glad all are well.

Kyra : now cl is hanging in the air. My aunt told my mum confinement is very simple to do. Now mum is checking w her boss to see can take one mth s leave. So see how.

I got my cl contacts all on website. Jus took the ones who has the most recommendations. Not many of my ferns n relatives know yet.

May I know where are the baby fairs in march? Taka?

muffin - 2k sounds reasonable since your CL is going to cook for hb. Can I check if the 2k includes the money for buying cooking ingredients?

The upcoming baby fairs

1. Takashimaya Baby Fair 2011

* Dates: 9 to 28 Mar 2011

* Time: unavailable (last year’s fair: 10a.m. to 9.30p.m.)

* Venue: Takashimaya

2. Baby Care Festival 2011

* Dates: 18 to 20 March 2011

* Time: 11a.m. to 8p.m.

* Venue: Singapore Expo Hall 6B

* Organiser: Mother & Baby Singapore

3. Baby Expo

* Dates: 22 to 24 Apr 2011

* Time: 11a.m. to 9p.m. (22-23Apr), 11a.m. to 8p.m. (24Apr)

* Venue: Singapore Expo Hall 6A

4. Mothercare Baby Fair

* Dates: 3 to 13 Mar 2011

* Venue: Harbourfront

5. Motherhood Exhibition 2011

* Dates: 2 to 5 June 2011

* Venue: Hall 6B Singapore Expo

* Time: 11.00am to 9.00pm

* Free Admission

think shd be exclude yeh? if not doesnt sounds reasonable for her to cover. i check again and update later [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pommes: i dont tink the 2k included the foods..

according to frds, foods either the family go with CL to buy or the CL will list out wat she want then someone go and get it. OR if you are comfortable with the CL, the CL can go and do the shopping with money given or claimed back from us.

simbaobao - wow! thanks for the list! Very helpful [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

muffin/ simbaobao - I would think so too. But just asking to see what's the market rate and practice.

I read from other forum is really up to the couple? Usually is $38 or $58 for 开工红包.

Then for thank you angpow really depends on how helpful your CL was and how much you think she deserves? Cos I know of some mummies who did not give cos they were not happy with their CL while some gave quite generously (like $188 - 388) cos their CL was very good.

hi ladies how are you all doing im very moody tdy

Kelly (rhicium): nice to hear all ok rest well

kylekyra (kyra): im on 2 wks hospitalization leave and i do feel like skipping lunch but force myself to eat at least sumthing i cant get myself to sleep in day time i can only sleep at nite

CL: I hv nt decided whether i am going to tk the baby to India after birth for few mnths if i tk to India then i can get my mum to mk arrangements for cl ladies if i decide to stay here then hv to get mil to hunt for cl ladies but she stays in kl so she will hv no idea abt the cl ladies here ..hmm

Hb does nt seem to be interested in baby fairs he is like to early to talk abt this and also cl ladies

kylekyra (kyra): there is a lot of material online wat to do every mnth... i hv downloaded a very handy app on my i phone keep readin tat ..its pregnancy handbook

Bunnz, if you are not the very fussy and must follow everything according to traditional rules type, confinement is quite simple.

For me, all I followed was:

- No bathing (but end up my mum allowed me to bathe with herb water but room window/door closed and she helped me to blow dry my hair immediately)

- No touching water (my mum/maid bathed baby), use warm water when brushing teeth, wiping face/nipples.

- Confinement food (all sesame and ginger and wine)

- Rest as much as possible (as my stitches didn't hurt, I was sitting up watching tv/using laptop the whole time. My mum kept nagging at me to lie down to rest)

- No direct wind (but aircon is ok)

Kyra, there's this book called What to Expect when Expecting. Very informative. I bought it when preggie with #1 and passed it to my cousins after that. They have an app but the info is not as detailed.

ok i see i ws takin abt pregnancy handbook app tats good too u shud try downloading it ... jus a suggestion rest is up to u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

The thread is moving a little slow today, unlike yesterday.

I just remember I haven't cleared the OSCAR test, hope I can get good result before the baby fair.

Yes, muffin [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I have thought of a boy and a girl's name. But have not been approved by the "approving committee"

Lolx. Hub n I has yet to agree on the names. Wat I like he dun fancy, vice vers.

We kinda also hv to hv the 'approving committee' to give clearance too

Muffin, we've decided on 1 boy's name and 1 girl's name already. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Talked about it during TTC :D

And we got no 'approving committee' so we can just go with what we like, even for Chinese names :D

i only thot of girl's english name.. both hubby and i already agree on the girl's english name le..

chinese name and boy's name have totally no clue yet!

So far we hv only brainstorm for boy's name.. Hee. Our guess is it's a boi [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pommes so fast ah!

i'm still thinking of nice chinese characters for names, and it's giving me a headache. maybe i should just flip the dictionary and see what words they throw. :p

daddysbao - no lah.. I just anyhow conjucture a name. My hubby sits in the "approving committee" but so far, he has not agreed with whatever I suggest.

thanks simbaobao for the info. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Is march too early to buy? i thought if buy, have to store at home..which mine is such a mess now.

Thanks #2 : let's see what my mum comes back with.

the confinement ladies i found cost 2.2k /2.1k

only for their svces.(light housework like 2x a week,washing of baby clothes, cooking(for hb as well)/boiling water to bath.

opening angpow is any amt.

prenra : are u sure your hb allow you to learn driving now? :p

I'm feeling a bit tired today. must be the weather.

Anyway i've just checked out the maternityexcahnge sales , not that fantastic. ended buying 2 other bottoms at a small shop nearby

Actually I think March is too early to buy.

For clothes, can't buy yet cos dunno gender.

For electricals, can't buy so early cos of the warranty.

For bulky items like bed/stroller, may hv hand me downs when you annouce pregnancy. Else, you buy and gotta store.

For other small item necessities, I think it's too early to get. Things like milk bottle, nappy cloth, etc.

I'm sure there'll be more sales along the way... GSS in June!!

we are going to chinese geomancer for chinese name.

actual name not decided yet..let 's see what fil comes back with

our fren didn't actually get a stroller till bb is a little bigger..

i was thinking nearer may..during the gss, there shd be some sales on bb items as well? just nice

or the june expo one

I think the only thing I will stock up on for March fair is breastpads. Cos I'm fussy (must be pigeon) and my breasts started leaking very early during my first pregnancy (ard 5mth+).

CL - my mum will help. I love confinement food and she is good at it. My colleague borrowed me a confinement recipe book, will let her study to have more varieties..hehe. But I have to go back Ipoh during the confinement coz mum not use to the market here. She said the chicken all ready slash one..dont know what chicken wor. And dont know where to get the wine also. Furthermore, she is more comfortable to do it at Ipoh home.

Childcare - We are hoping that our relative will help to take care. She ever offer once few months ago but not sure if she still wants to do it. One problem is have to travel between Sembawang and Jurong West everyday. If she don't want, then have to look for babysitter lor. Anyone knows what is the market rate for babysitter. Just day care, say from 7am to 7pm?

MS - my MS is like going on the whole day. No puking though...just feel very very uncomfortable and no appetite. Sigh...hope this go away soon.

MZ, baby rate current around is around $500 - 600 for 7 - 7, weekday only. Then at 6 months when baby start solids, need to add $50 - $100 for food.

Breastpad is to absorb any leaking milk from the nipples. For me, my nipples start leaking very early. If not, you'll need it when breastfeeding [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Your nipples don't have 'on/off' button. So sometimes, when it's too full, it will leak :p