(2011/08) Aug 2011

sus: tired like mad. but if nt.. the tots of gng to buy these goodies is tiring as well. i think i need a massage after CNY... cos tts the time after 1st trim. i can go for a decent massage. :p

i actually moved a washing machine myself on sat when everyone was busy moving.. whahaha. then i told hb that i moved it.. he glared so hard at me. if nt.. wait for everyone.. die liaoz lah, then no space for fridge.. lol. when the movers armed with boxes.. hb asked me where to put.. i was like.. duhz. u should know better.. so i dun trust MEN! whahaha.. so i better DIY. :p

Hi mummies, can provide some ideas of what to eat when u are hungry ESP in the middle of the night? I'm ran out of ideas Liao. It's always choc or maggi mee for me and it's not healthy. My mum hv diabetics so doc ask me not to eat too much sweet stuff but seems like sweet or choc is the best cure for me to prevent giddiness.

My colleagues have been lamenting that I look very very haggard recently. I think pregnancy has made my skin look very very dull with my panda eyes enlarged. Sigh.. How not to feel tired when they still load me with so much responsibilities.

lehcar: How about muesli bars? They are quite yummy to me. I have been munching CNY cookies recently to curb hunger.. which is no good for bb. =P

Carole Ng: Woah.. you power! So many things in line for you.

lehcar, stock up on some bread, biscuits & cereal. Better not eat maggi mee. Yesterday at 11am, I had craving for filet o' fish so I sent my hubby to go drive thru.

I just wallop melted cheese and bread toast for supper. Took half and gave the other half to hubby. Warmed up fresh milk to ease me to dreamland. I usually have toast with a thin spread of margarine or butter. That works for me coz while I have a sweet tooth prior to pregnancy.. Can't stomach sweet stuff once I m preggers. Hope that helps in giving some ideas!

morning everyone! today im on mc! yesterday went doc. my edd is pushed forward to 11 aug 2011. omg! im gonna be 11 weeks tomorrow! still cant believe everything... carole, can help me update?

huisi, my hubby is also like ur hubby. he doesnt kn anything bout pregnancy, confinement. sometimes i feel irritated talking to him too. and when i was having issues with the CL tt i booked, i was also pissed w his 'u were the one who decided on her' attitude, like its not his business like that. but after talking it out, it was better. i kn u r gan jeong to settle things, but better wait for him to finish work, in a good mood then talk to him about all these yeah.

lehcar, how about cereal w milk? i esp like magnolia strawberry yoghurt drink w nata de coco. can mix w cereal. very very refreshing indeed!!

to all the experienced mums, do u all have a fave brand of breast pump for breast feeding? there are so many types, so many kind... i see already headache liao!!

morning all...

yesterday I get too emotional and say a lot of bad things before I slp.. feel so bad in the morning and apologize to bb... the emo hormones really driving me crazy.. hope can get over it soon...

bb-bao: yeah I resent and grumble sometimes.. becos of this bb, I have to give up alot of plans..

carole: yeah I must learn from you.. to take things at a time..

patricia: I got the yellow discharge as well.. sometimes feel a bit stinky.. but think only I can smell it.. tmr gonna see and my gynae and ask her...

sus: hubby says he very heartpain to see me getting so emo easily and yet he dunno how to help... but sometimes I think he also frustrated at my emo-ness

lehcar: I bought some crackers and salmon spread.. will eat whenever I feel hungry at night.. and hubby will prepare either horlicks, milo or cereal for me...

jiajuan: same here.. I feel tired 24/7.. cant seems to have enough slp... my colleagues also comment that I dun look lively as before and I think they are guessing abt my pregnancy now... but I can only deny and say I cant slp well at night...

good morning mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

carole, u r a super mum! nowadays, i only hv energy to feed my #1 and then zzz before 10pm... no time/mood to do anything else... waiting patiently for 1st tri to be over!

huisi, discuss with ur hubby again when both of u r cool... men dun see things so far.. slowly involve him in the preparation... r u joining antenatal class? ask ur hubby along so that he will understand what u r going through...

re: MS

so happy that yesterday was puke-free [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hope bb will be good to mummy today, too!

jia you all mtbs -- the toilet bowl hugging days will be over soon!

Morning [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lately feel super hungry at nite, hb hv to suffer to go downstair kopitiam to buy food for me.. had lo mai kai these 2 nitez, quite sian already..

shane: I only have weird dreams... yup I feel breathless sometimes also.. even in office also can feel breathless...

adv_sports: can we join antenatal class now? will it be too early?

shane > me me... i used to be able to sleep all through the nite now... but after pregnant, i will wake up once in a while at nite.. i don't know what time thou cos i try to make it a point not to check the time so i dont think about how much i have slept and how much i have missed... just try to go back to sleep lor... nowadays got more dreams than last time... weird ones somemore.. so quality of sleep is getting worse...

bunnymummy, I used Avent Isis Duo for my #1, it's a double pump.

Shane, I have not been sleeping well too & that makes me really tired in the day.

cutie, I already booked CL.

huisi, I joined antenatal class with my hubby when I was with #1. I find that it makes a great bonding session with hubby & makes him more involved & makes him look forward to the birth of baby, together with you. I also joined aqua-aerobics held at KKH, it was really fun.

shane, yes i do feel faint in crowded enclosed place -- like in MRT undergrd walkway in tanjong pagar... u must take care not to faint hor...

as for waking up in the nite, think bb is getting mummy ready for nite feeds :p i used to wake up at 4am and true enough, my #1 nite feed is ard 4am!

huisi, me n hubby joined the class at KKH -- we signed up too late and only able to join when i was in late 2nd tri.. during labour demo class, we jokingly said we may be doing live demo :p

u can enquire on the new class dates and reserve a slot first [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] below is the class details :-

Event: Antenatal Programme

Venue: KKH Patient Education Centre, Level 1, Women’s Tower, KK Women’s and Children’s Hospital

Audience: Patient & Public

Speakers: In house specialists

Registration Fee: Weekdays :KKH Patients-$120, Non-KKH Patients-$150

Organiser: Patient Education Centre

Email: [email protected]

Synopsis: Programme

Part 1 (Starts at 16 weeks of gestation)

- Child bearing journey

- Good nutrition during pregnancy

- Medications in pregnancy

- Looking after yourself during pregnancy

Part 2 (Starts at 22 weeks of gestation)

- Labour and delivery

- Pain relief in labour

- Relaxation

- Coping with 1st stage of labour

- Coping with 2nd stage of labour

- Labour rehearsal and postnatal exercise

- Preparing for admission

- Breastfeeding

- Care of your newborn

- Parentcraft

Part 3 (A Talk on "Nurturing Your Child")

Anyone has numbness at their fingers? recently i will feel numb and tingling sensation at my fingers and will last for few hrs each time..

bunnymummy, i use electric pump for my #1. i think it save my the strength of manual pumping especially at night.. hee.. but it is up to individual preference..

Shane, i cant sleep well at night too.. i can sleep better in the day.. so i will try to take nap if i can everyday..

RE: Breastpumps

#1 i was using e avent manual pump, quite gd, but tiring and time consuming

#2 i bot both e freestyle and avent uno, freestyle is portable gd for work. avent able to stimulate flow better, but troublesome to wash, cos alot of parts

huisi, yes, non kkh patient can join, too. hope u n hubby have a good bonding while attending this class [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bunny_mummy, i used avent manual pump for #1 -- heard from other mummies that manual is able to clear the breast better than electric pump...

Breastpumps

i use Medela Freestyle got from US so w/o warranty but it's half the price compared to here. it's dual and works well for me. Would recommend it.

Antenatal class

normally only start classes in 2nd trim.. now too early... but can try to see if u can register. I would recommend the ones in TMC conducted by Wong Boh Boi.. she's quite an experienced one...

caramelle

u there?? have u told ur boss?? i've yet to tell but i doubt i can hide any longer... how how??? thinking to tell after i seen my gynae for the 1st time on sat! super long wait which is finally coming...

morning sickness

still bad for me... whole day bloated and nausea... no appetite for anything as well... sigh...

I got super emo last night and uneasy on tummy i suspect i ate too full for my dinner :/ as for midnight hunger i usually ignore cos im that kind of person sleep comes first even now sigh..

Question: had nausea last evening n found strepsils n popped one but realized it contains alcohol?? omg hope its fine??

I've been a silent reader since this thread started but I have been having terrible morning sickness that I just dun have the mood to log in. It's my 9th week, MS since 5th week. Will vomit out anything I eat or drink. Worse still, I have dizzy spells too. I'm teaching in a sec sch, noticed quite a number of teachers here too

I had no MS for no 1, vomitted for 5 mths for no 2, but I hope this will end soon for me this time round

Name : pink_daisy

EDD : 20th August 2011

Gynae : Dr KT Tan

Hospital : KKH

Baby #3

gina,

what brand of breast pump did u use that time?

bbpotato and adv,

so did u use both electric and manual in e end? i hear some mummies saying it is better to buy 2 as spare.

milkyway,

some ppl say Medela Freestyle is not strong enough as compared to Medela PISA, do u think so? any idea how much this medela freestyle cost in singapore?

bellering,

its ok. i also took strepsils few weeks ago.

Managing Breathlessness While Pregnant

Shortness of breath is not an uncommon symptom during pregnancy – although it is more often than not associated with later stages of pregnancy rather than early pregnancy – although it is not limited to this stage only. Mild breathlessness will not affect the amount of oxygen which your baby gets.

Causes of Shortness of Breath During Pregnancy

Breathlessness early on in your pregnancy is generally a result of increased levels of the hormone progesterone which will cause you to breathe more often. Progesterone increases your lung capacity allowing your blood to transport more oxygen.

Breathlessness in the third trimester is caused by the now much bigger uterus taking up more space in your stomach – which pushes your other organs and reduces the amount of space which your lungs have to expand when you breathe in.

From around weeks 31 to 34 of your pregnancy your uterus will start to press on your diaphragm – which is the flat muscle that moves up and down when you breathe. These changes may make it hard for your lungs to fully expand. This may cause more shallow breathing, and you may feel short of breath.

You may notice that your breathlessness diminishes during the last week or two of your pregnancy as your baby drops and enters the birth canal and starts preparing for birth.

Shortness of Breath: What You Can Do

Sit or stand up straight

Slow down. Moving slower places less workload on your lungs and heart

Sleeping propped up will place less pressure on your lungs.

Warning Signs

Call your health care provider right away if you have any of these symptoms:

A rapid pulse

Heart palpitations (your heart beats fast and strongly)

Feeling dizzy or faint

Chest pain

Blueness around the lips, fingers or toes

A cough that wont get better go away

Coughing up blood

Fever or chills

Worsening asthma

Headaches During Pregnancy

It is common to experience headaches especially during the first trimester of your pregnancy. Unfortunately if you have been prone to having tension headaches prior to your pregnancy it will not get any better during the next few months.

No one is really sure why being pregnant will increase your chances of having headaches, although it is a good guess that the changes your body experiences due to the influx of hormones plays a large factor. The chances of having headaches could also be increased by:

Going cold turkey on caffeine

Lack of sleep or general fatigue

Sinus congestion

Allergies

Eyestrain

Stress or depression

Hunger and dehydration

Fortunately though, most women will experience a decrease of headaches during the second trimester of their pregnancy. This is possibly due to your body becoming more stable as hormone levels stabilize.

Is there any medication you can take?

In most cases acetaminophen is a good choice and it is important that it is taken as directed on the label. Aspirin, ibuprofen and most prescription migraine drugs are not recommended for pregnant women. If you suffer from headaches it is a good idea to talk with your healthcare provider as to what your options are.

Methods to help relieve the pain

Find the source

A good idea would be to keep a note of when the headaches occur. Document what you have eaten in the 24 hours leading to the headache, what you were doing prior to the headache starting, etc. It’s amazing what can lead to a headache and some common causes are:

foods that contain monosodium glutamate (MSG)

nitrites, commonly found in processed meats like hot dogs, salami, and bacon

sulphites which are often used as a preservative for salads and also found in many dried fruits

artificial sweeteners

certain beans and nuts

aged cheese and cultured dairy

certain fresh fruits including bananas, papayas, avocados and citrus

smoked fish

chocolate

glaring or flickering lights

loud noises

excessive heat or cold

tobacco smoke

Use compresses

A good method to deal with tension headaches is to apply a warm or cool compress to your forehead or the base of your neck. Cold compresses usually work well with severe migraines.

If all else fails you can always try the following non-invasive ways to help relieve the pain:

Take a warm shower

Get a massage

Avoid becoming too hungry or thirsty

Avoid fatigue

Get some exercise

Try relaxation techniques

Consider acupuncture

When should you call your doctor?

Definitely call your healthcare provider if any of the following is true:

You're in your second or third trimester and have a bad headache or a headache for the first time.

You have a sudden "explosive" headache, violent pain that awakens you from sleep, a headache that doesn't go away, or one that feels unlike any you've experienced before.

Your headache is accompanied by a fever and a stiff neck.

Your headache is getting worse and have experienced any other problems such as blurry vision or other visual disturbances, slurred speech, drowsiness, numbness or a change in normal sensation or alertness.

You have a headache after falling and hitting your head.

You have nasal congestion and pain and pressure underneath your eyes or other facial or even dental pain.

Hello… went for my scan ytd, 10week liao and can see hands and legs.. So cute, saw the tiny hands sticky out.. LOL.. 1st time seeing it..my heart melted…

doc ask me to go for down syndrome test at 12weeks.. is it normally done at week 12 or 16?? How is the down syndrome test conducted? Draw blood or scan only?? I scare…

Initially tot that preggy women likes to eat sour stuff, but it seems like I prefer sweet and/or spicy stuff instead.. and some mummies here also.. hehe..

Cutie: I also crave for lo mai kai but after eating feels so bloated. Sometimes feels like eating fish burger also.

Regard CL:

Yup, shld book earlier, cos wanted to call after my 1st tri, but decided to call early instead and was disappointed to find out that my 1st choice (a very popular CL) is already taken, so no choice went for 2nd choice, which she is nearly being booked.. so quite heng manage to book one. Better to book early :D

CrystalJC

I went for blood test on wk 10 for the down syndrome. Am supposed to go back for the scan next week (week 12).

Like you, I also crave for sweet/spicy stuff...ie: Ribena, Tom Yum soup.

I realised I cannot take mee sua and maggie mee, I will puke like mad if I eat both noodles.

wow, didnt know hv to book CL so early nowadays ;p

down syndrome test juz do blood test will do, unless otherwise hv to draw the waterbag water to test

maybe is 1st tri, feel so tire all the time..

take a nap aft my lunch can make me feel better..

thanks bunny [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm going for down syndrome test 2wks later during which will be on my 12th week time. Doc will do blood test and scan at same time for the test - quite simple no worries CrystalJC.

So far my CL hunting still going on - my sis recommmend her CL to me she's a malaysian auntie quite experience.. I wonder how to go abt meddle for her staying pass if were to engage her service? Need to apply dependent pass thru ICA? But its only 28days quite a hassle if to go thru wif those yea... hmm how?

Pipi: wah week 10 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i always tot has to be like 16wks LOL.. thanks! for me i like laksa instead of tom yum so much nwadays but so sinful lor.

Cuite: u mean need draw waterbag water to test? or depends?

Down Syndrome Test: My Gynae said optional, cause I did the test for my #1 and I'm below 35 yrs old. So this time, I chose not to do the test again. It's a blood test only.

Shane: Your welcome. Last pregnancy, I didn't remember being easily breathless either. Then I was reading up more on pregnancy symptoms. Saw it's normal to feel breathless on 1st trimester (phew). So I thought to share the info [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hmm... Yogurt sounds gd. I can give that a try. Thanks. Need to stock up on milk n cereal soon. I actually crave of Tom yum and mango sorbet. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'm goin for Tom yum steamboat tonight. Yeh.

bunnymummy82

hmm for me i have the Avent manual pump as well but it's really time consuming and tiring.. so i got the medela freestyle. not sure if PISA is better as i've not used it before. So far freestyle works for me. I tot freestyle and PISA are quite similar just that freestyle, u can be handsfree while PISA u have to hold the bottles lah. But of cos, u can buy the pumping pals to be handsfree too. i know TMC highly recommended PISA instead. Mayb u can drop by TMC parentcraft to find out more and even test on it. 2yrs back, the costs of freestyle is about 900-1k. I got mine for abt SGD500 after conversion. :p i believe u can check out the spree threads for current selling price from US.

~crystaljc,

normally waterbag water test is only required for 35yr old above or blood test show higher % in down symdrone, so relax ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lately, hb is suffering coz we order tingkat dinner and he is THE ONE who finish almost all 2 person portion..

yet i m alwiz craving to try a lot of food, he is really scare coz end up he will be the 1 who "clear".. haha..

bellering.. that is not a dependant pass.. that temp work permit. u will need to pay a levy too.

http://www.mom.gov.sg/foreign-manpower/passes-visas/work-permit-nannies/before-you-apply/Pages/default.aspx

http://www.mom.gov.sg/Documents/services-forms/passes/WorkPermitNanny-Form.pdf

If you wanna hire CL via the proper way, you will need the above. if not, you can try to hite her in without the MOM temp work permit. i think u might need a chop from immigration on the 14days.. if the visa is 14days.. if nt 30days visa u dont hv to do all that. :p

i booked my CL at 8weeks. Cos she has taken care of my #1 & #2. i wanted to cater Confinement food from the above, but hubby is worried that i might get another Csec and so he rather plays it safe, so that i can get ample rest during my 1st 2 weeks of confinement. cos #2 Csec made me stayed in bed for 2weeks the pain was totally unbearable [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i hardly can get up without help.

I wanted to take care myself, cos i hv 2 helpers.. so making full use of them. since hb doesnt like the idea.. and he is willing to part his money.. whahahah ok lahz.. take it. :p

~Carole,

ur hb so sweet and thoughtful.......

i heard a lot of ppl engage CL early, now i m really worry if i can get her or not..

CL will still be the 1st choice since they r good in taking care of NB and mommy can get ample rest..

i didnt get enuf rest for my #1, not coz CL not caring but i thot i can learn while CL is around but that cause a lot of side effects..

backache, hand pain, very kanchong etc..

so this time round, i m gonna rest wellllll...

cutie: cos he knew i was so painful till i did not carry my #2 for 2 days. whahahhaah i only bring him into the room when ppl is visiting or daddy is ard.. if nt.. he will be in nursery. whahaha tts how bad.

i cant get up from my own bed and i needed assistance to get up. the pain was too much for me to bear.

with #3, i hv to handle #1 & #2 too.... cos #1 still needs to go school daily and i will hv to pick and send during confinement, so CL can take care of NB (newborn) when i m out for that 30mins each time.

must be thinking.. confinement can go out meh? whahahhaahhaahah my CL liberal... she knows i got things to handle and she wont interfere too. i did the same thing when i pop my #2, i still send my girl to school and waited for her, while CL looks after NB.

i asked my #1 school if they can arrange bus, they said too far.. lol.. so LL send n pick myself