(2011/08) Aug 2011

that's an idea...

but if they ask explicitly if I'm pregnant? I just got asked over an sms and I have yet to reply! heh

Fleur> hee... i'm also getting a few queries yet felt paiseh to lie to them esp if they are my close gfs... So I replied : "I'll let u know when the time is up!" so they got my hint, not ask further and even help me keep a lookout.

Fleur, actually i'm still wearing heels.. hahah

but most of my colleagues know liaoz and i dun really bother to cover since i had a bad MS... and i refuse to drink @ xmas dinner... i think on the pantang part its up to individual...

Fleur: when I had my #1, my colleagues also noticed I do not wear heels anymore...but they never say anything until after my 1st trimester I sort of annouced to them...then they said "No wonder you wear flats! Everyone is suspecting!". Keke

But like what a few of you say, I think it's important to let a few people know, such as your reporting officer at work so that at least he/she will understand what's going on and may assign fewer things for you to do?

pauline/babysee/cljl

yeah i guess not much bondings yet compared to #1 but im sure i'd luv both as much when i carried her/him in my arms [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and babysee, I like when u put it this way: "diff baby needs diff attention but doesn't mean we luv one any lesser".. this sort of 'open up' my mind.. thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

carole

the 1st nick "PERLINE" in your list is same with Linsu (Perline) below.. so could u help me delete the 1st row? I'll advise my EDD again after my 2nd visit next Mon! Thanks a lot!

Yayyy!!! Hope to see bb's heartbeat & hear the gallopings by then!

Hi Carole, my edd is 10th Aug

Baby #1 and gynae is Dr Adrian

Woodworth of TMC, thanks for the

update [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Think just be careful urself ba.. I've actually told quite a few pol le cos I'm teaching piano so some students parents have to tell them cos I keep on canceling class nowadays.. Then some of them not happy..

Hopefully its alright..

Hi Carole, my gynae will be Dr Kek Lee Ping (Mt. E).

I can't tahan to wait till 31 Dec scanning. So, went to get another gynae at Mt E from my thyroid doctor. I find this female gynae quite good, quite thorough. Very experience too. So, decided to stick to her for the time being. Hope the 1st visit gut feel is not wrong. The V-scan saw the sac and yolk, but no heartbeat yet. Coz I very sure I Ovulate on 30 Nov, dr said is considered ovulate late, so the low hormone reading is normal. So, will repeat scan again in 2 weeks time. At least Dr Kee gave me a piece of mind that Eutopic is ruled out totally. I have some mood for xmas back now... phew!

Hi Carole, thanks for ur efforts for compiling for all of us.

This is my #1 BB. Very lost.

Furthermore, I am stuck overseas till mid Jan. I managed to shorten my work assignment.

Now I am hunting for a gynae do I can book appointment and see her first thing I am back in Sg. Dr thong said she is not taking any more patients. Are u affected?

Dear all lucky mtb who experience little or no MS,

I am just like you.

While I like to think that I am lucky as my MS is very mild, I am afraid of miscarriage or ectopic pregnancy.

I think I am in my 8th week now. I freaked out when I read the news of a pregnant Singaporean who suffered from ectopic pregnancy and the plane has to force land. I don't want that to happen to me!!

It costs me few hundred Usd just to consult doctor and take a blood test in shanghai just because I am not local. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I'm planning to take another blood test next week even if it's going to costs me!

Bbpotato: thanks for sharing the costs info. May I know if the 2.2k includes all consultations(fr 12 weeks onwards) n delivery costs?

Babysee: ur package does not include delivery costs right? How much additional would u hv to pay? All these can claim from medisave right? I think there is some cap somewhere? Can Hubby medisave be used too?

coco69, When did you call Dr Thong's clinic? she is on leave till Mid Jan. Do you want me to help you? I m surely least affected as i have been with her since 1997. If you are keen to have her as your doctor, i can get her Nurse to arrange that. If not you can try calling Raffles Hospital, ask for Women's Clinic and look for Dr Thong's Nurse "Bee-twee". Tell you are friend of Carole and Daphne. I am very sure she can do wonders :p If you do need me to help, email me... i am gng to see her on 14/17 Jan, i will ask her if she is keen. :p

Hi Summer, yeh... then we are around the same timing. What is your gynae say abt EDD? My gynae didn't tell me EDD, but she did roughly mention is 20 Aug.

Thanks Carole for the effort and time to update the tables always, even on xmas eve!!! Salute! ~_~

Coco69, just pay to get a peace of mind is better. I also paid more than 1k oredi after seeing 1 GP, 3 gynae and my thyroid doctor.

My bill size so far -->

GP for blood test to confirm pregnant - $45

Gynae visit to Dr Adrian Woodsworth @ Sengkang Clinic - $ 133.75 (Folic Acid $6, Prenavit $9, Duphaston $50, Consult'n $60 + GST)

Gynae visit for 2nd opinion at KKH - Dr Khong CC - $ 149.91 (Consult $85 + Urine test $7, Blood test T4 48.10 )

Thyroid specialist - 308.16 consult'n & medicine + 262.15 complete blood test

3rd gynae visit recommended by Thyroid doctor- Dr Kek LP - $245.03 (1st consult $120 + Ultrasound $80 + Duphston $29 + GST)

But at least now i have a peace of mind that Eutopic pregancy is ruled out since my hormon level still very low and no morning sickness at all. Even weight loss and stomach cramp, make me more worried. So, see doctor if necessary, even cost you a bomb. At least you did something and you will not regret if something happen. Money can earn back, this is what my thought. Best wishes ... i know is tough outstation alone while preggie, pls hang on there... very fast you will be back. Come in here to get some support, ok?

All MTB, Merry xmas! ~_~

wahahhahaah no keep thanking me lahz.. its a template and i just adding in :p

Cos hubby is away since 6 Dec till 26th Dec, so super duper free. :p since got new updates, of cos need to add in :p

coco69> nope it doesn't include delivery fees. It's called Antenatal package. From what I understand, it's always seperate billing from the delivey fees coz depends on which hospital u are choosing and type of rooms or type of delivery eg. natural, got epidural, C-sect, etc. According to the nurse, I need to keep the original receipt and it can be deductable from the delivery fees. So, it's deductable only if u have delivered loh... Delivery fees are deductable from medisave but there's a cap. Not sure if can tap on hb's medisave but i believe can...

BabyDreamy> congrats on the relief news!! Just curious... how would one know it's an Etopic preg? through scanning can tell?

Hey everybody... Guess wat.. I'm back to see gynae again.... Haiz... Duno y yesterday evening gt spotting then this morning abit.... Reached tmc n my clinic closed! Nw waiting to see another gynae in another clinic. Hope they check for mi properly.... Haiz.... Hope nothing wrong...

cljl > hope bb and everything is fine. bb must hang on to mummy ok! does your gynae has a emergency number to reach her?

Carole: thanks for ur offer. I think the nurse may have misunderstood that I want dr thong for delivery in dec/ Jan, so she replied that dr thong has family commitments and have transferred all her patients out. I will clarify with them again. I've consulted Hubby too, he said if dr thong can't take me, its just fate. :pp. Best not to trouble u, as it may turn out quite embarrassing for dr thong. Best that I clarify with the nurse again and decide from there. Really thanks for ur offer still. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi carole, my EDD: 6 aug 2011, my #1 and gynae i should be getting Dr Koh Gim Hwee, Raffles Hospital. thanks for consolidating the list so diligently!

went for my second scan yesterday, beannie is 1.45cm thereabouts. and can hear heartbeat!

i guess facial is ok.. but definitely no machines, no retin-a shld be used and massages wise must be very very careful. impt to let therapist know. i think for now during first trimester, its on a need to know basis. everyone in my workplace knows so that they can look out for me. need to weigh between 'pantang' and 'practical'

cljl, don't scare yourself. everything should turn out ok. are u taking duphaston? its a hormone pill that will help stablize the pregnancy and perhaps prevent spotting. my grandmother says if prone to spotting, everything must do slowly, cannot rush, jus take everything easily. no overly sour and spicy stuff as well. take care!

coco> i asked my gynae if its normal not to have MS. he says not having MS doesnt mean anything. and MS can also be feeling nauseous. think everything shld be ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] have many frens without MS and they are all carrying healthy babies

cp240> ohh.. thanks for clarifying.. I kept assuming I do not have MS coz not throwing out but feeling nausea, losing appetite.

I agree with u... need to weight btw pantang and practical. it's more crucial for 1st tri yet if cannot tell anyone, think it's adding risk to the mum... my beautician kept emphasizing no whitening products and retin-A. Duno what type of products usually contain retin-A.. will do a search later...

Babydreamy: thanks for encouragement. So it's possible to have low hcg n no MS and it's not ectopic pregnancy... I am keeping my fingers crossed n watching out for any pain or symptoms since I don't get to see doctor until next thurs. I am in Seoul now.....

Babysee: thx for info. To answer ur question on ectopic pregnancy, dr will diagnose based on ultrasound scanning, and hcg levels as well as patients experience, eg sharp pain in shoulder, pelvic, abdomen. Scanning alone is not conclusive during early pregnancy as the BB is too small.

coco: dont be silly.. lol me n nurse and dr thong super good friend :p dont worry abt the trouble if you are seriously wanting her as ur gynae. its a pleasure to help for sure. she is in Singapore even on Leave.. that's why pushing all appts away or if nt giving them to other colleagues.

Thanks cp240 and Babydreamy for ur assurance. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

retin-A are mostly those acne products. if i'm not wrong can only be prescribed by doctor. don't think normal cleansers and moisturizers will have. retin-A too when breastfeeding!

i don't get pukey MS.. but will get nauseous. eating sweets and drinking slightly sweetened drinks help [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

milo will worsen! basically for me, anything with malt will make me puke for some reason

hi mommies

working half day today & ironically, i seldom log on when im at home hehe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so would like to wish all mommies & families a Blessed Christmas!

cp240> thanks again! cham.. I'm still using some acne products esp my back area as there are many acne popping out recently. The lotion is all written in Japs and I duno if it contains retin-A. I also stopped using one of my hairloss product leh... aiyah... I'm like gg to turn ugly mummy soon... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ribena helps me... but slowly losing effect liao... hmm.. coke really relieve me a lot.. but can't take much.

carole, I have craving for instant noodles too... but hb forbide me take leh... wail~

went to see my gynae yest, also a quick session like about 15mins. he scanned from tummy and confirm pregnancy, then later vaginal scan to see the heartbeat better. total cost was $185! he gave me duphaston, vitamin b6 and something for the nausea. next appointment in week 10, but i think maybe i delay to week 12 so can use package! wah i didnt realise even with package it's very expensive. pkg is $600 but exclude scan and medicine and other tests. last time KK i paid $65 for scan+consultation i think - works out to be cheaper than this TMC package but i really like the gynae a lot!

re facial: with my no 1 i switched to mineral makeup because some facial products have retinol a which is harmful to the foetus, i think cause deformities but cant remember what. can just google on the internet. when i asked my gynae he said most facial products have low retinol a concentration (but those anti blemish got a lot) but just to be safe i just abstain. some facial places also use electrical machines, and those pulses not so good for the foetus. i abstained from hair treatment/perms during pregnancy also. when i was young, i went for a perm and for many months after that, when i cut my nails, i can still smell the ammonia so it stays in your system.

re favouritism: i love my first girl and dont think i can love her enough! and actually until the baby arrives, you never realise how much love a person can give. i think i will love them both equally. just like how i love my pet cats!

Fleur: if someone suspects you're pregnant, just say thanks for the prayers and hope it'll come true. nothing to confirm or lie about. im still wearing heels because i have not found dressy flats!

so sad Xmas eve also must work!

mine isnt here to stop me! whahahahah.. soo happy. but i m craving for Pig Liver & Kidney porridge.. duhz.... tt one must wait hubby come back. and also buying new clothes. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

caramelle.. can lahz.. as long as bb is healthy safe and good.. i m sure u are more than willing to foot that bill :p

caramelle just read abt ur house and parents... sometimes i wish older folks can be more understanding. mine own mother just know how to curse and swear. she is so bias even my own hubby feels it an eye sore. If i m to argue with her, i m will be landed being cursed and swear at. but if her son is to do that to her, so only return with a smile and still talks to him. see how unfair. My hubby said it all... my PILs dont even scold me such things when i have disagreement w them. :p

carole > read somewhere to avoid eating liver as it contains high levels of a type of vitamin A called retinol, which can harm the baby.

May: i know.. whahaha i hv been taking all that for #1 & #2. but its just too much craving... just wait .. let me eat once! wahhaahhahahah

Carole, yup you're right! Im not a big fan of my PIL but i think they're more normal than my own. my mum also swears a lot. i think she's menopausing now so giving me a real hard time. i cant stand it anymore.

re food: in general i dont take liver or lungs because at a young age, i was taught that these parts digest toxins from the body so if we eat them, we're actually ingesting these toxins so i abstain. but i hear fried lungs are very yummy!

i having a pimple breakout too.. all due to hormonal changes.. i love instant noodles.. must have it at least once a week.. i tell myself instant noodles is ok.. but cup noodles r bad :p

wahahahahhaahahh cp.. whats the difference? one in plastic and the other in cup. lol

I cant help it liaoz.. i need my dose of Liver Porridge! i m gng crazy with this hunger!

Babysee, i think the vagina scan can tell if it's Etopic pregnancy or not. Coz my gynae once scan, say:" Don't worry, confirm is NOT Eutopic pregnancy". I am like Phew!!! So, if in doubt, check with doctor bah.

Ya, Coco69, yes, doctor say possible, especialy for ppl whoe ovulate late like 17 to 20 days, HCG will be low and is normal. Coz ppl nornally O around 13 to 14 days. For me, I ovulate on 17th (CD17) only coz of longer cycle. I have no MS yet, (hope will stays like this), and appetite is ok. Normal, or in fact, eating more without realizing. Crave for hot drinks most of the time. So, prefer warm plain water than the room temparature water.

Ive been having craving for liver soup these few days too..

Those who dont have MS are so blessed!

Just came back from a Staycation in SG cos gynae said to avoid travelling in first trimester

U all hor, talk about instant noodle. I went to cook a packet for tea break, so shiok ler! Wah

seh! Hubby slurp down the noodle together with me, so no objection from him. Wahahaha.

Merry xmas to all!!!!

BabyDreamy> he never say anything Oo.. cos still too early to tell.. maybe he will let me know the next visit. but is base on LMP it should be 22 Aug. keke

btw do ur have problem wear short or pants now?? i'm just about 6 week. like all cannot fit in.. need to wear dress now.. and my hubby don let me wear heels! all keep!

do ur know when to start applying stretch mark cream/oil?