(2011/07) July 2011

Experienced mummies,

Can I check how old will your child usually use the stroller till? Also by what age/weight will it be too much to carry on the body and will be easier to have a stroller?

Reason I'm asking is I'm thinking if I shld just get a single stroller instead of a twin stroller. So have one in the stroller and carry the other using a sling/carrier. However I'm also thinking when will it reach a stage that I can't do this and will still need 2 strollers or a twin-stroller when going out.

Coopie, I wanted to go la cos the outlets are better but I dun like left hand drive. Haha, I'm the one that loves to drive here and dun wanna stress. Been to sf many times, so can navigate well. Mostly leisure trip this time. Aiyah, if we know each other earlier, can plan tog. I just booked.

Was thinking of taking time off and start again in the new FY, so prob 6-7 mth. Just sounded my boss today and seems like he is ok w it.

Today I'm in goooood mood, and bb ger seems to know. Very active. So fun.

Stray, my boy was trained to sit in stroller since birth but when he could walk very well,, abt 14-15 mths, he only sit in stroller when he is asleep. In fact, we changed into a lighter stroller when he's 15th mth, hardly used, but can be very useful when he falls asleep.

I think if u sling, dun really need stroller, but may need to carry longer.

muffin: hehe yah should have known u earlier, can go outlets together! Yah the LA outlets are better- missed the desert hills one last time so wanna go back. Was considering hawaii but no decent outlets there haha.

Syrah: i have been strongly recommended the ergo baby carrier, u may wanna check it out. Can carry baby up to 17kg. Weight apparently distributes nicely around ur hips and waist so not so heavy on ur back. Was actually gona get a baby bjorn but heard its not comfortable and bad for back.

for mummies that been to MC fair, may I ask whether is the discount really good or just 10-20% disc? cos need to weight whether is it worth ot to go... so far fr my place.

tks coopie for the inputs on baby carrier. almost wanna get bjorn till u said it will hurt our back. but is ergo much more ex?

Pillow, sorry not too sure, havent checked out prices yet cos was just told abt it yest. But i think worth paying more if good one, cos at least u will use.

My friend said she bought the mothercare one cos cheaper but in the end only used a few times cos it was uncomfortable, so was totally wasted.

I think ergo and baby bjorn shld be similar price. I dunno if ergo is still sold in sgp tho, my friend said may not be anymore so u may have to buy online if so.

Pillow, i just did quick check online, ergo carriers abt 105 to 120 usd. Supposed to be able to carry heavier babies than the bjorn.

Syrah, u having twins so best is to see wat u need after delivery. Ull not noe their sleep behavior till much later n doubt ull bring them out by 2nd mth.

My boy still sit in his stroller once a while if we place him in it but most of the time we nvr go out beyond 4-5 hrs. Usually will b home for his nap time.

Sitting in stroller or high chair requires training since young. I've seen many kids climbing or try to climb out of high chair or stroller n that really inconvenience the parents. So we must let them sit all the time n not carry them while we're eating or shopping. Let our kids noe, at dining table it's high chair or nothing! Haha

Zachmommy good training leh..

for me my son is v unsettled in his stroller once he is tryin to learn how to walk.. n my 12kg stroller often used for things i m buyin hahaha like trolley..

Syrah i also suggest u c wat is best after delivery then u can judge.. Carrier when u go shop shop is easier then pushin e stroller ard.. e thing is most shops quite cramp if u intend to get twin stroller might b a problem in mobility.. :p

but u hav to make sure u r able to carry e babies for long.. like any bad back conditions..

i m e luckiest then coz my office has v nice nursing rooms..e mummies in my old dept rallied n managed to get us a nursing room .. we put up curtain n bot a fridge so only BM is stored there.. so e journey for me while working is a lot easier jus tat u go pump pump ur boss will say how long huh can we hav meeting then u get ur pump schedule all messed up!

Thanks coopie, zachm, Wendy for the advice.

Hmm... Was thinking to buy the carrier or stroller during the upcoming fairs. So means will have to wait then see how first.

morning mummies...TGIF

so gd u both going to US..heehe..enjoy urtrip ya.

i cant sleep since 3+am then had leg cramps at abt 5am [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

after bathing to go work,i cried on the bed.lucky DH was there to pecify me.emo

pinkyrose > oh dear sorry to hear that. don't be sad, your pains are for a greater good! hope u're feeling better now--it's the WEEKEND!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

syrah > am so excited for you thinking abt ur twins! have u thought of names yet? are u getting them matching clothes? i think there are some websites selling specialty twin clothing, should get some for fun, very cute!

wendy, good ur comp is promoting breastfeeding.. after reading what elch said abt hers i tink mine is 2nd worst nia..haha.

syrah, twin stroller is quite bulky. Anyway, rarely at taka bb fairs the stroller will be 'dirt cheap' type.. but back in 2008 when there is a fair at expo, a stroller was given free when buying baby cot. that's a steal cos when at infancy, they dun need good/heavy stroller but we must make sure we dun load the stroller with heavy stuff else it will fall backwards! trust me, no matter how sturdy they say the stroller is, it will fall backward if we put our heavy baby bag behind, shopping stuff etc.

hihi morning all mtbs

just back from my DS Scan....everything k...n confirmed saw the birdie

sonographer praised bb for being so cooperation (haha cos the night b4 hv to sweet talk to bb)...when she wnt to measure his heart ect...he facing up in a gd position....n when she wnt to measure his back...he turn into a mountain position...so it oni took me 20min to completed

sunshine> ur son dote u lah...know that u need to go back office to work...soo the scan will be chop chop finish lol.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

congrats sunshine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

leg crumps are due to lack of calcium. my gyne advise to drink more milk too ;)

thanks pinky n feimei....can start shopping but dun know wht to start off with...any idea?

anyone hv been to the MC fair? any gd offer/deal thr?

me waiting for the Taka fair

oh ya...think is true leg cramps is due to lack of calcium...cos hv been drinking meji strawberry for 2weeks (must hv everynight)...*touchwood*...till now hv not exp any cramps

oh is it...i cant swallow milk or milky products coz i will merlion out...

but i will try again....

feimei-nxt appt is 29mar.urs?

sunshine-prob u can start wif the big and bulky items first?i also duno how to start buying the small items..though girls got a lot to buy.haha.i goint to see see look look at MC fair later after work.waiting for taka fair too

coopie, i went to dessert hill last month but dunno bb gender then, so cannot buy much.

btw, all travelling mums, my doc recommends that we wear maternity stockings on flight to prevent deep vein thrombosis.. so esp long haul flights.. anyone knows where to buy?

pinky> me too.. consecutive 2 nights leg cramps at 4am.. screaming until DH woke up and help me massage.. poor thing cant sleep well

Not true for calcium part, I drink alot of milk everyday but I still get leg cramps every other night. I watched the documentary abt it, they say it can be due to anything, lack of potassium, calcium, or any other minerals, so docs cant really pinpoint a sure-work method to solve the cramps.. The only way to get rid of leg cramps is to deliver your baby! lol

px,

bananas can help prevent cramps... tested and proven and sworn by my collick... it does help but cant eat too much lor... gotta watch sugar level...

this may be useful..

http://www.babycenter.com/0_baby-products-must-haves-for-the-first-year_59.bc

go easy on the shopping part! now i din really shop for bb stuff except essentials like new bedsheet, new pillow cos i really bought a lot when pregnant with #1. even hankies oso hv 2 new packet n towels too..haha. These are the essentials to have.

To me now, impt is:

1. Nappy (hv to consider whether it is clothes nappy, disposable, bumwear etc).

2. nappy liner - if using clothes diaper

3. Bath towel - qty: 2 cos it's best to wash bb towel every week.. juz to keep clean

4. Soft hankerchief - need to wipe baby's face, body etc and oso during evening time to juz wipe bb n change to PJs

5. Cotton wools - i use sterilised to wipe bb's eyes and belly button. One cotton wool for 1 eye so each time may need to use up to 4.. need mabbe abt few packs.

6. Cotton buds

7. max 7 pc of clothings - 1 day need abt 3 changes, if washed daily, 7 pc is sufficient. I bought NB size as well as 0-3mths from kiddy palace.

8. bath tub - make sure there is anti-slip mat otherwise there are some that comes with a layer on top (removable) so that can place bb there while we clean them. I tink MC has that. I did not use that cos my bath tub comes with anti-slip n i tink placing naked bb on top is abit too cold for them.

9. hair & body shower gel - this one is very subjective.. i onie use 1 drop of shower gel for Zach cos bb not dirty..haha. i use Gaia then now using California bb..both are organic n more expensive but because zach has eczema and cannot use Johnson & Johnson, so i hv no choice but to invest in organic

10. Body moisturiser

11. Desitin/ diaper cream

12. Massage oil - i bought a very small bottle and i still hv it..haha. Onie use like 3 drops each night to massage I Love You on the baby..they love it!

13. Beansprout pillow - i believe in placing one pillow on top of the bb at night will prevent them from being 'frightened'. Not recommended to let baby sleep face down because of SID.

The rest like milk bottles, sterilisers, food warmer etc are really subjectives. Can wait for Taka fair to hv more promo n freebies.

XW> banana cos got potassium.. and my geeky colleagues swears that its good for the brains.. but we also cant eat much..

pinky> my leg cramps are horrible, the sharp intense ones come at 4am, then the pain dulls away and lasts till noon.. whole calf feel like its a hard rock.. and I cant reach my toes to flex them hahahah

aiyah..juz came back from toilet and found some pinkish discharge on my panty liner.. cause of worry??

wondering is it due to me jumping hopscotch with zach last night..

zachmom> u still jump? DH screamed at me when i was shaking my butt while watching the sumo wrestler in the nippon paint ads

px,

oh ya... juz rem cold stuff adds to leg cramps too... so can try to cut down on cold drinks and drink more warm drinks... it works too... there was a period of time i keep drinking cold drinks then got terrible cramps... now i cut down le and have more warm drinks instead... really no cramps le (cross fingers)... juz a suggestion... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

px, my son was so happy jumping and he kept asking me "mummy jump mummy jump" hard not to patronise him leh..haha.

but so far i m still quite active as in, i can walk very fast, can still run/jog sometimes and last week even brought my son to wild wild wet haha..

haiz.. i cant even walk fast.. cant do pilates or any exercises.. if not my tummy turns into one big hard rock and starts to hurt.. can only eat, rest, and get fat! *sobs*

px- ya mine will subside but the pain last till afternoon,i feel like i juz run 2.4km coz the pain..aiyoh...DH massage and apply yoko yoko

hmmm cold stuff may be true hor.recently i realise i increase my cold stuff intake...

leg cramp.. the prenatal yoga teaches us to keep stretching our legs when we are awake, that can help to prevent the leg cramps. eg stretch out ur leg, point ur toes, flex ur toes, open up all your toes, and rotate ur ankle.. hope this helps

muffintop > the nurses at my gynae said can buy the maternity stockings from any pharmacy. they are to prevent deep vain thrombosis. can put on after flight takes off. apparently quite tight.

where do you go for prenatal yoga?

lizzie > i can't access youtube in the office, will check out ur video later [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]