(2011/07) July 2011

lizzie- hug hug..dun worry abt baby movement ok.(though i sometimes get worried also.haa)...

baby- why not u stay over at ur mum's place during confinement,at least u both are together to help take care of bb,instead of u alone..

maureen-who's ur gynae?

cactusnah- yup.agree wif u that small tummy doesnt mean bb small.my tummy small also.but my bunny is of normal size and weight.

ya lor....Feimei wat nex...think yesss shld be name ba...think chinese name will let those feng shui shi see...cos they will see bb ba zhi

thanks Suying...think tonight can't slp liao

So many of you here have went for DS and know the gender! Can't wait for my turn this Sat! This #2 is really mysterious! Got no clue of its gender to date.

hey zachmommy and all those who will be travelling > don't forget to get a letter from your gynae certifying that you are fit to travel and bring it along with you on the plane.

Just heard of someone who nearly wasn't allowed to board the plane even though she had a letter stating that she was pregnant...apparently the airline needs evidence that you are fit to travel up to xx weeks etc.

I am travelling next week and don't have one, and have no doc appt before that, but called the nurses to get the gynae to prepare one for me and I'll drop by to pick it up.

haven't been posting as I was (and still am) so busy at work..

But find thing so funny last night want to share.. haha..

My husband was watching a movie and my son want to watch his favourite playhouse disney..

so the little one keep asking but my husband ignore.. he insisted me to take the remote for him but I said even I got it for him.. papa still won't let him change channel..

So he sneaked over to take remote but got stop by my husband.. then he cried..

he come over to me to cry more.. and when I hold him.. I said.. "dun cry so loud as mei mei can hear".. but as I said that.. he lean forward to my tummy and cried even louder..

So I asked if he want mei mei to hear him cry.. he nod his head..

So I told my husband.. "haha.. poor you.. your son is trying to psycho mei mei that you are a bad guy"

blue_skies .. we r doin e same thing .. with our maids .. hehe but yday i jus scolded her poor hygiene

zach ur hubby v jia lat leh got good stroller still dun wan to use .. hmm my suggestion is also to borrow a light weight one if u only wanna travel coz temp only .. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Suying, feimei,maureen, pinkyrose.. Thks for all yr advices.. I cannot stay at my mum's plc due to the hse is 'dirty'. Aft i left the hse n stay at my own hsr i was told nt to stay there.. I cld only cm n visit my parents but nt allowed to sleep at the hse..n i am tbe only one who is nt allowed.. I did nt believe at first but better nt take the risk rather than to suffer..

Own mum looking aft us is still better than a mil Don't u all

agree? My mum did mention to me ytd that if i really do nt want my mil to help, she 'll see wat she can do but no promises. Thats wat make me worried.. As there is no guarantee that she will help me..

I am already worried abt nxt wk ds.. Still hv another 8 more

days n this bothers me nw..

Re: emotions

Yeah I think I let my emotions get the better of me, so now I really need to learn how to control. Thank God, my boy is very responsible and caring, always kick when I tell him Im worried [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

**hugs** pinkyrose, thanks for the hug!

Px22: The shoes soooo cute! AWWWWW.....same same :D

Re: air travel letter

Yeh, I flew to KL at 20 weeks and luckily I had the letter from my gynae lol. They thought I was almost due, maybe cos my tummy is big lol. When they saw my due date, they looked at me again. Made photocopies also. Even the KLIA side, took a picture of my letter cos they didnt have a photocopier. But they almost didnt let me thru. LOL Why would i forge a letter (I was thinking)

ohhh...baby...my baby!!! take one thing at a time...dun double ur headache n worry at one time....go for ur DS then slowly plan for the confinement thingy...lump everything together n tink will add on ur headache...one step at a time, ok??? if let say u realli can't stay ur mum place but can she cook for u? or do u hv any aunty who can help u out for 1mth...???? list out the possibilties and discuss with ur DH...see which will be the best solution...

Feimei, actually, if my mum nv brought it up, i wld nt hv thought abt it.. As my priority nw is abt my ds n nothing else.. She made me think n think abt it till i cld nt get enough sleep n bcm very emotional as worried nobody help.. But aft reading yr post, it make sense too.. I shall nt think abt it nw.. Wait until aft my ds then i hv a talk with hubby abt it.. Thanks.. I knw wat i shld do already..

coopie, yah, the letter is very very important. I just went to states 1 month ago and i had to show the letter that I am fit for travel. i am going again next week and my doc actually did a new revised letter to update the date because some airlines are quite anal about this. In fact, when i was flying back, they made me sign a form, photocopy my passport etc as if they are super worried.

that's a Good baby!!! *blink*

Relax and tok to ur bunny...soo DS will go on smooth for U...dun pile urself up with soo many things, u need to breath...somemore at the same time u hv ur son to look after...True that ur mum bring this up, otherwise u will nv know her plan...but this is to 'prepare' u oso mah...at least she dun last min tell u otherwise in ltr part, u will go into depression which is even worse...now still go time to plan n tink of alternative but dun tight urself tooo tight lol...good tat u relax urself abit!!! *hugz*

Taking care:

my first bb, my mum took care. but she is also helping my sisterssss. so for the second one, i will be hiring a confinement lady, and putting #1 into childcare to ease the load.. i can understand when you feel sad how come own mother cannot help.. but now that we are mothers, we know we want the best for our kids. so dun hold against ur mum ok.

huh?? how come suddenly so strict? I dun remember last time they were ever so strict cos I flew back to KL monthly till i m 35/36 weeks leh..haha..mabbe recently alot of cases whereby preggers hv emergency etc so they wanna be cautious bah.

muffintop > hey i'm going to the states next week too, which part are you going? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] what did your letter say? i hope my doc's letter will be sufficient, i just told the nurse over the phone and she said she'd speak to the doc...hope she got it right! did you go thru the new x-ray scanners? I'm trying to avoid that if possible--how intrusive is the physical pat-down?

zachmommy > yah i think it's cos of the recent emergency cases on the planes. and I think they are worried about people delivering on board or going to that country to deliver so can be citizen?

the recent case I heard about was from HK to singapore on cathay pacific. woman was only 20+ weeks pregnant but still ran into problems.

coopie, i am gg sfo and hawaii this time. last round i went through the scans at sfo and lax. didn't go through the new scans tho..at least i dun remember.. which part are u gg? for how long?

the letter states something like "xx is the my care and is due on xx. she is certified to be fit for travel till DD MM YY" and sign off. Make sure u carry this with u all the time..

for mummies who travelled before, esp to states while preg, do u have OBGYN contacts there? I thought it's safer just in case we need to see a doc.

zachmommy, i gaana all the questioning even when i fly by SQ. it's the custom that is anal.

Thanks muffintop. I think I'd better call the nurses again re my letter. And hmm I think I should research on a backup gynae there too.

Will be going to LA only. SFO and Hawaii sounds fun, have a good trip!

muffin, farnee!! I tink with all these stuff, the checks will be terrible.. i better put in my alerts to get this letter from gynae on 18th! i hope i can remember cos next check i m bringing Zach along, scared he make so much noise n it distracts me..haha.

my sister juz told me my breastpump's battery pack is spoilt [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] and to get a new one cost me $169 and new tubing is $29..if i top up another $200 or less, i can get a new pump. What u gals think? Hmm.. actually battery pack is useful if i need to express when i m outside or in office cos i still yet to decide where on earth m i going to pump in office. If toilet, then need battery, meeting rooms - no need but meeting rooms need to be locked and so troublesome to ask for keys, must give reason lar must sit behind the door so no one can see, logistic nightmare!!

feimei, dun hv lor.. surprisingly hor such big bank and claim to be very 'work-life balance' blah blah blah, such simple thing oso dun hv.

RE: maternity leaves...my boss just told me to take 2months and the balance flexi or encashment...hmm dun know how...but lucky my mum gg take care of my bunny aft i pop so shld not be an issue...

think my bb is super excited for tmr DS scan...he has been kicking me many times...

oh ya....forgot to mention...yesterday aft work...took a train back home....it was super crowded...even i can't reach to hold on to any pole...so thr was this middle age couple said...COME COME MUST HOLD ON TO THE POLE...then the husband...signal 1 student @ the reserved seat to ask her to give up her seat....haha so still same good soul ard tht will show some graciousness

RE: Breastfeeding

I intend to BF for 6mths if possible...then wht if i hv to go back to work aft 2mths ML...then shld I pump it overnight to store or??? just to check BF can last how long ar...FEW DAYS or???

sunshinebb... dun encash... encash u bo hua 1...

cos another 56 days is paid by govt 1... they r taking the govt $$ to pay u??

sunshine, u will be expressing all the way right? actually u shuld just take 2 mths of maternity leave and save the remaining 2 months to be taken on and off - have to take 7 days in a row each time. U definitely need it because 6 days of CCL is not enuf. Need to bring bb for checkup and immunisation then bb will hv fever, be cranky. sometimes at night u need to wakey, tired, the 7 days can be taken to rest etc. dun encash lar..ur comp trying to take the shortcut!

yes! NV encash! i plan to take 56 days 1st den the rest i take every week... tat is to say that everyday week i work four days till i finish using the 56 days!

ya dun encash....not worth it.

Under Part III of the Children Development Co-Savings Act (Cap. 38A), a female employee is entitled to 8 weeks of Government-Paid Maternity Leave in respect of her first and second confinement and is entitled to receive payment from her employer at her gross rate of pay up to a maximum of $10,000 per 4 weeks ie maximum of $20,000 for the relevant period. A female employee is entitled to 16 weeks of Government-Paid Maternity Leave in respect of her third and subsequent confinement and is entitled to receive payment from her employer at her gross rate of pay up to a maximum of $10,000 per 4 weeks ie maximum of $40,000 for the relevant period. The payment will include any CPF contributions which an employer or a female employee is liable to make under the Central Provident Fund Act (Cap. 36).

Disputes

Where there is any question or dispute between the female employee and her employer as to her entitlement to payment under Section 9 of the Act or the amount of such payment, the female employee may file a notice of dispute in writing to the Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports within one month from the date the question or dispute arises. The notice of dispute should:-

a)

state the amount of gross rate of pay claimed by the employee for her benefit period;

b)

state the grounds of dispute; and

c)

be accompanied by any relevant supporting documents.

zachmommy> big co oways bull shit alot...promote wat work-life balance...for show nia~~~~those preggy mummy in ur co...shld write on petition...hahahaha...request for nursing room!!!

sunshine> yalol...dun encash...it will benefit ur co...u cannot pump all ur milk at one shot over the night...u still need to pump during the day...so need to bring ur barang to work lol....if ur co no nursing room, then u hv to be like zachmommy, do it in toilet or nearby shopping ctr got nursing room??? u can go there....

sunshine, if work requires, better to come back and take remaining as off days like what zachmummy says. but can be very disruptive to work. I dunno what u do, but when i did that the last time, ended up cancelling my leave to be in customer meeting or taking calls / remote meeting while i am on leave..

BF. u can pump and feed fresh or pump and store in fridge can last 24hrs. if u need longer, freeze first.

i used to pump in my office storeroom!! and twice, i have colleagues that yanked open the locked door.. haha. this time, we have nursing room, so better

sunshinebb> yeah i m also curious abt e storing of the breastfeeding part if i m able to get a job after my confinement. wats e equipment to store the milk??

i also dun wnt to encash...but boss come to nego with me...to take 2months...cos short of manpower...then if bal 2mths take flexi...i dun think he can approve 1shot 7days leaves de...so think will hv a hard time to clear my leave

muffin, that's what i m 'sian' off.. when i first joined, i was still expressing too..during lunch time, i hv to skip lunch to go to Raffles City nursing room to express. Each time takes abt 45mins - 1hr. Assembling, massage, pump, stop & massage, pump. Ppl waiting outside to use the room will knock at the door. Soooo stress up! Then after work, gotta 'pia' home to express else my breast engorged until so painful.everyday take cab back home for 1mth plus, until i cannot take it anymore, i pro-long my pumping time to once a day.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

if use meeting room, need to book way in advance and need to charge to cost centre summore..ZZZZZ

sunshine, if cannot take 7 days in a row, then u can tell ur boss u work 3 days or 4 days per week? But like wat muffin say, oso depends on ur job nature to make sure no disruption.

I did tot of that arrangement too but doubt my boss will approve cos by then i will hv alot of leave to clear..haha

zachm, that's terrible! are u using dual pump? actually i was using Medela pump and from 20 mins it became 10mins cos very stressful, summo i get colleagues joking outside the storeroom. from 3 pumps to 2 to 1 but thank God i managed to do bf for 10 mths. one of my fren did hers at her desk. with a nursing wrap. she was sooooo daring but nobody dare to fault her. haha, cos no facility mah

muffin, i m using dual pump but i m prone to getting blocked ducts so i must massage for abt 10minutes prior to pumping and 15mins of pump, i will stop and then massage again and pump for another 15minutes. That way, i achieve let down easily and better yield too.

It's really a waste because my supply was quite good and able to freeze alot.. So i stopped expressing by the time Zach is 11mths old and he drank frozen milk after that.. so still not that bad. this time round, i still dunno how and where to express unless i take bus to vivo (they hv more rooms available) Haha

zachmommy,

I'm also facing the issue of lack of proper room to pump at work after maternity leave. Really don't wish to cut short my breastfeeding journey due to that so I've been thinking hard where else I can pump. Previous job I can easily pump in the under utilized store room. In this current company, it's in a JTC so no shopping malls that's of walking distance. Rooms here are with glass panels with no blinds or whatever. Only place I can think of is the executive toilet...zzz...

i see. yah, massaging the boobs is better. i didnt have the time.

sunshine, my schedule then was to pump today for tml, and on Friday, i will freeze for Monday. I didn't give my boy frozen milk cos i dun like the taste myself.. haha. but if can store, can last u much longer..

i am thinking of taking 6 months off.

muffintop,

You would be very lucky to get 6 months off. I have spoken to my boss that I wanted 6 months by using my own paid leave and unpaid leave. He instantly shook his head. He said he is ok with 4 months becoz we as mothers deserved it, but not more than that.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

muffin > heh, we chose LA precisely cos of the driving, so i don't have to walk so much (and DH loves driving). and also cos it's the only place with warm-ish weather. actually i didn't really like LA the last time i went, but gonna give it another shot. no real plans other than shopping and eating haha. how come u going back to the states again, for holiday or work? i LOVE SF, one of my favourite places in the world!

i'm taking 6 months off too, mixture of maternity, annual and no pay leave. can't wait!!

pumping: read in many places that dual pump is the way to go...