(2011/07) July 2011

px,

poor thing! But I think sometimes it can't be helped with these medical expenses. Better to get a peace of mind. Maybe you can check with your insurance agent whether it can be covered under some plans?

kelian px.... i encounter 2 times le. 1time the pain hurts mi til i tears. the 2nd time is yest. the pains on & off. i try bear with the pain. cos my kelics teach mi try drinking some warm water & relax first. N do nt walk. slowly the pain is ease & feel better. if the pains goes on i might have to go A&E too. touch wood. hope dis wont happen too ;)

wow..how come KK is so expensive? But i salute u that u can go so far.. how come u never tot of going to TMC?? When i was abt 32 weeks, i oso tot i was having contraction pain but actually is braxton hicks..haha. I rushed myself to TMC on my birthday itself onie to be told that it is BH and my tummy ache is due to me eating too much the night before..hehe

I called my gynae- he said most prob its not the baby, tats y he advised me to go KK A&E cos if its really appendicitis he cant do anything for me either.. If still in pain ask me to go see him today... But in the end KKH also couldnt do anything for me.. I dont even know wats wrong.. Cos doc say its not common for a moving fetus to cause such extreme pain..

cactus> ya...always the case if da pao for ppl...end up u dunnu wat u wan to eat urself....

zachmommy> ok la...if u can eat...better to eat better food otherwise every wkend u hv to eat those 'not nice' food at least once...abit torturing...hahahhaa...

px> my pain on n off de...wun last long...u can claim the $300 from office, right?

wah i dunno if insurance will cover leh.. 300bucks i can buy a stroller/ baby cot liao wah kaoz.

Suying> if pain goes on and off still ok.. mine was constantly there until i paid the bill in KKH.. then the pain shifted to my heart..

Zachmom> i tot if its really appendicitis n i need operation then KKH might be better.. more sophisticated equipment n cheaper cos govt hospital ma.. I also dunno how come so ex.. and distance wise all the same cos DH driving.. Feel so guilty for making him throw his work aside and rush me to hospital... all for nothing.

Err.. sorry for those seeing KKH but I never trust them on all these operation thing mainly cos they are from govt.

My colleague's mom who is diagnosed with breast cancer stage 3 was operated wrongly! They tot it is a lump but when opened up it is just tissues and fats.. my colleague was furious but dr at KKH say their equipment are not the latest etc etc..so he then switched over to private practise surgeon which of course cost him much much more lar..

even when i was hospitalised for ovarian cyst in 2007 it is alr very severely swollen till i cant lie on my back and yet the dr schedule me for an operation 1 mth later! I seek a gynae's opinion after that at Gleneagle and he showed me the scan on how my ovary is alr twisted and weight down by my cyst. Next day operated!!If waited for 1 mth, i tink my ovary burst liao..

haiz. I realised- if u dont have a referral for KKH u will be charged private rates.. Consultation 60.. Ultrasound 180! All the misc tests and everything else abt another 60..

I am going straight to Mt A or TMC in future

Morning all mummies!!

pinkyrose - Congratz on ur princess!! =D

Px22 - Hope ur feelin way better now... Take care u! And talking bout cup noodles, I feel like havin pokka tom yam cup noodle for lunch... Hee..

cactusnah - No worries. Im sure bb is fine even though tummy small.. =D

px,

cos KKH is not fully govt... its half govt half private... u will need to get referal from polyclinic to get subsidy...

px22.... kelian. hope u r fine nw. KKH is actually consider a half private hospital liao. unless u gt a referral letter. think most mummies here have misunderstood liao. if walk in they will sure charge u at private rate instead ;)

px> sad to say: yes, if u dun hv referral letter, those govt hospital charges r as good as those private hospital....onli with polyclinic referral, dan u can 'enjoy' the subsidy...

by the time i had pains- polyclinic all close le.. half private hospital but the service quite sucky.. now hoping can claim against company medical.. but still dunno wats wrong with me zzzzzz

px> govt sector all attitude stuck up one...my m/c done in KKH, was not 'clean'...hahahaha...realli dunnu to angry or wat...i suffer for 4mths...haiz~~~and i was under private...imagine the bill...in n out...but my co can claim, try claiming to co...shld be ok de...

Morning mummies...

KKH or TMC:

Hubby rushed me there when I had excruciating pain at the right side of my tummy when I was 6-7 weeks preggy. Before that, we were deciding if we should go to TMC or KKH. In the end I opted for KKH. Reason being, at TMC 24-hrs clinic, the doctor on duty is just a GP. Not a gynae. At KKH A&E, the doctors on duty are gynaes. They might be inexperienced but still they are trained as gynaes. That's the reason I chose KKH...

zachmommy,

I' staying just a 5-10mins walk away the hippy Punggol place as well! Hee!

Mummies with an elder child, so far ur child got sudden refusal of his usual food n prefer soup/water?

I duno of cos his molars r coming out so he is been fussy. He usually is the spoon reach, open mouth type...

kimi, i m quite lucky in a sense that Zach never fuss when he was teething but last month when his molar came out, he was salivating alot!!! Even while playing, his saliva will just drip down. Eating behaviour no change too.. picky as usual

Dear Mummies

I am from March Mummies forum

I have just bought my brestfriend pillow from TMC on 17th Feb but my girl prefer to bottle feed after pumping.

I used it 1 time onli and is 99% new!

Please see the link

http://www.mybrestfriend.com/products/original-pillow

The pattern is followed, Retail is selling at $80++

I willingly to let go at $50. self collection

Do PM if you are interested?

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5167813.jpg]

anyone lunching yet?? now my turn to dunno wat to eat le... haiz...

kimifin,

my boy did refuse solids when he was teething... very headache... he was alr a picky eater... then came teething, he only wan soup, drinks and milk... cant rem lasted for how long le... since he is quite old now...

zachmommy and XW,

thanks..

mine was not a picky eater before, he is now 15.5mths.

he is not the drooling type during the earlier teething phase.

Px - I m glad you are well le!

At times I have tummy pain too... And thanks for sharing the experience at the delivery suite triage... Sounds scary...

Liz and I always joke about going there :p

haiz talking about A&E and docs...that time i bleeding, i rush to RH and the doc there is just a normal a&e doc...then he talk so much c**k with me telling me about pregancy things and in the end say dunno how to diagnose my problem and have to call my gynae at 4am! some more this doc seems like he juz woke up with red blury eyes and messy hair...walau ppl already bleeding liao still talk c**k with me...in the end my gynae came down...total bill is $600plus...some more have to pay that normal doc consultation fee of $100!! ridiculous! i am trying to claim company's hospitalisation...so maybe you can try too...if tat stupid doc can cure me nevermind wor...but he cant and i still need to pay him consultation fees...so mad!

kimifin,

if its molars more troublesome... cos more difficult to come out... think dat time my boy had slight fever when his molars coming out... dats oso when he rejected solids... totally no appetite to eat... only plenty of liquids... previously for the other teeth oso not liddat...

XW,

yah, v upset he is not eating, but likes to drk water...hmm. wiaitng for this phrase to pass.

anyone of u confirmed hospital booking? Cos I thk my clinic did for me, and I got the sms and letter from Mt A.

Px22: Cos KKH's policy is their A&E only sees patients up to 22 weeks pregnant. Beyond that will be at Delivery Suite :p

Think cos of that, you were directed to Delivery Suite.

Hi mommies and mommies-to-be

I have the following items on sale, do PM or sms me you're interested [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

New Fisher Price Baby's First Blocks - $12

New Baby Delight Supreme Snuggle Nest - $60

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5110509.html?1299047115

New DOM Benedictine 1L (3 bottles) - $50 each

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5156750.html?1298789829

Preloved My Brest Friend Nursing Pillow - $35

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5145163.html?1299047179

Used Medela Pump In Style Advanced Backpack - $290

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5157387.html?1299047241

Kimifin - Yap my gyane also booked for me... Mt A as well and i think we need to respond to the letter on rm booking and all...

But also not confirm available.

Anyone can advice why cannot take crabs? Is it a myth or cause too "liang"

Re: Eating crabs

I think the reason why pregnant women is advised against eating crabs is because of the fear that your baby will have itchy fingers "chiew jian" in hokkien. That's what i heard. In my #1 pregnancy i ate crabs also. My girl is now 3 and she seems alright to me. Personally i feel kids will be kids, they will have itchy fingers.

Lynn/Kimifin - Gynea also booked hospital for me at Mt A but according to nurse, we don't have to respond. We will respond nearer the date.

Feimei>I am working in sgh. Well I doubt sgh has infant care only child care for what I know. Plus my hubby ends work at 930pm. Mother-inlay wise I don't really wan a trouble her. My mother is unable to help coz she is a nurse manager and is also working shift. Sob sob... Really thinking of hiring a maid but really scared that she can't take care neither can she be trusted... Anyone tried leaving their newborn w a maid alone??

Instant Noodle: Ha...seems like most of us cant resist the temptation of unhealthy food. Guess it's ok to have it once in awhile.

Zachmummy: Hw much izzit to cater confinement fd? Will they deliver the confinement fd in hot & fresh condition? So u'll be alone with bb aft 1st month confinement? Else, if u've someone else to help, it shld be better to eat home cooked food which is fresh.

Lizzie: U're right abt the A&E W24 hours only sees patients up to 22nd gestation week. Beyond that, all preggers will be diverted to Delivery suite for close monitoring which is better coz they do more detailed checks and observation by trained nurses and midwives. I just heard a sad episode from my friend yest that her cousin who was 7 months into her pregnancy had severe contraction and dr had to induce her. BB was still fine during the initial phase but aft few hours the mummy still din dilate and when they scanned the bb again, they couldnt find the bb coz mummy had internal bleeding due to her high blood pressure. BB din survive in the end. It could have survived if the dr had emergency csec. She was with Glen E. So, it's better to be safe than sorry. At least it gives us a piece of mind when they do thorough check.

Me too almost wanted to rush myself to KKH over the weekend when i had constipation followed by severe stomache. Was having cold sweat and went weak in the toilet. In the end, i had severe diarrhoea. Scary~~~

Crab: Yup, old folks have a saying that preggers cannot eat crabs for fear that bb will be 'itchy hand'. But there's a real scientific reason behind it coz of it's content. Not sure abt the detail though.

All mummies> hearing u guys talk about food, I oso having problem deciding on what to eat:0 however these 2 days been having kway chap with tonnes of large intestines coz I love it!!!! Yum yum but costly wor coz the amount I eat can cost up to 10 bucks!! Well thinking of what to eat for dinner tonight. Heading to NEX@serangoon.

Cactusnah> catering confinement food can be quite costly. Price about 1400-1600 for just a month. I feel hiring a confinement lady more worth it. Cook , look after bb, was laundry and do simple household chores at abt 1800.

Px22> I had that sort of pain too for 2 days before I actually fainted and was admitted to sgh. When I told the dr bat my pain he says it's most likely Braxton hicks. No bleeding no excessive discharge. He said not to worry but the pain is excruciating. Well on 19 feb I fainted n threw a fit. Eyeballs up rolling and mouth slanted to one side. So worried I had neurological problem hence was admitted. My gynae referred me to the neuro (brain) dr and they did an electro encephalogram for me. Now waiting for results. Hope everything ok.guess what?my bill nearly hit 3k

just woke up after 2 hr nap. went to kkh urgently this am cos ytd after eating 1 cup of ice cream durian and 1 box of durians, my whole tummy suddenly became very hard. can feel like smtg dropped and resting on lower tummy. scary. cos cant really feel bb kick tough can feel hb. dh called doc and he said to quickly lie down. if condition persist the next am, must see him. so this am wake up,the moment i stand up, i got contraction again. went to see gynae, and he suspected braxton hicks and gave me a jab and 3 days mc. he said jab will help to loosen the womb at least for a week. he also do a swab and check whether my cervic has opened. wow, that was painful. i din know checking mean, insert finger and dig. i thought just see the opening of vagina... till now still a bit painful. maybe cause i was too tense. he said he cant check if i am too tense. if condition persist and i dun do bedrest properly i need to be admitted to hosp for total bedrest. dh looked at me and immed said no housework. anyone has such hardening of whole tummy? isit contractions?

maureen> 3k!!! ur heart bleeding more than mine wor.. but my pain jus concentrated on the lower right pelvis only..

pillow> me too leh i get the hard tummy and dropping feeling all the time.. comes and goes one... didnt really bother

n yes last night when KK doc check for dilation he ask me pain anot- I told him "of course la u very rough leh this is flesh hor".. after tat i got weird looking discharge.. suspect he hurt the vagina liao..

Pillow: my tummy totally hardens up at certain times of the day, especially after eating but i dont really know how you feel when you say you feel like something dropped.

just curious, how u know its contraction? how can i look out for it ?

oh Maureen, pillow and Px22...pls take care...dun walk ard...if possible totally bedrest

think i hv to be a gal too...knock off go home n rest...cos this 2 days super shopping mood...no rest at all

Maureen - However CL 1.8k do not include cost of food and tonics... My friend told me her marketing cost for the mth was sky high as fm prok to fish all eating premium breeds :p

dropping- u can feel the tummy like a rock, then when u stand up, or when u pee, the rock seemed to drop a bit due to gravity.. like its too heavy and the tummy skin cant hold on to it too well.. hard to describe in detail also.. something tat can only be felt

Pillow, px, Maureen,

Do rest more!!! Basically do nothing but bedrest.

For my case I believe I get mild Braxton hicks on n off thru out the days. But since I'm on pre-term med to control the contractions already, they r not that obvious. I usually have the heavy dropped feeling at night but it'll be fine in the morning.