(2011/07) July 2011

pigeon bottles

think i saw on the box that it's made in china?

i know avent is made in england, not that i bias but i try not to use/buy anything made in china.

that's why i've been sticking to avent all these years.

Pinkyrose, hmm I thought the swaddler is good cos prevents the baby from suffocating with blankets etc...and keeps him secure as that's how he is in the womb? I guess wrapping in blanket properly would have the same effect but worried I dunno how to wrap properly, swaddler seems alot easier haha.

Tingie, my pain's more at the right side below the armpits, extends slightly to the back, and I googled and apparently ribs expansion could be the cause. (though could also be gallbladder or liver problem apparently??)

I'm also not 100% sure what's the cause and gonna check with my gynae at next visit next week, will ask her about back as well and let you know.

You may wanna try a maternity pillow as recommended by some of the mummies here. I think I'm going to get one this weekend, cannot take the pain already.

Went for check-up already just nw.. Everything is ok.. Felt relieved.. N gynae said that its more likely a gal.. Will b confirmed nxt chec-up.. If its true, can close shop already.. Hehe..

cactus, bfree very limited place that sell them. i know kiddy palace carry this brand but dun tink it is bpa free)..so i stick to pigeon. did consider nuk but their teats abit too soft..haha

jas, i din noe pigeon made in china leh..frankly i never really read where it was made from xcept if it is food item.. :p

any one got sensitive stomach now?

If I take orange juice after meals, my stomach like gastric..v acidic, must eat somethg...

feimei... playpen lighter & convenience. But i believe multipurpose cot more worth it as can use longer. might get 1 & squeeze in my room. as for living room will use my bro. in-law wan. cos they r staying together with mi. anyway the playpen i gt for them free. but dunno by the time the playpen will gone case anot cos nw is very shakier.

our stomachs are producing more acid juices than before preggy. orange is acidic food. best to avoid

if you have gastric problem.

congrats Baby!! i anticipating towards next Friday for me to find out bb gender..i really hope to hear the word bb girl! but if it is bb boy, i wonder how will i react. quickly try for another one? lolz

kimifin, of course orange will make ur tummy feels acidic cos it is acidic in nature.. mabbe drink orange carrot?

coopie, i bought a swaddle too but onie use once when we discharge from hospital. reach home liao, CL use napkin to wrap him up instead..bb like it when they are all wrapped up. prevent them from scratching their face, they feel secure n warm. this time round, i will just use back napkin will do. dunno where the swaddle went liao..tink is wif my sister.

for #1, i really buy alot alot of stuff which i tink is not really useful so for #2, i m not repeating my mistake anymore..lolz

I used swaddleme with my son, cos I'm hopeless with swaddling with a cloth. My son always managed to wiggle out somehow..

Congrats baby!

Yup I've been getting gastric pains after taking orange juice too sigh. Never happened before.

Heh I suspect I am going to end up buying alot of stuff too. Will have to try to exercise great self restraint :p

Re bottle material, there's a whole lot of fuss now about bottles being BPA free. Dunno what's the difference between BPA and BFA, but anyway should apparently look out for chemical free stuff as far as possible. Glass bottles are supposed to be better actually.

coopie- ooops i misunderstand. i tote swaddler is the cloth we carry baby in that hangs across 1 shoulder... those that some maids carry with batik sarongs,....hahah

if u duno how to wrap,dun worry la.i saw a few brands that has the shape,like a template.u juz put baby, then velcro the swaddle.easy.haahaa

i thinkin of getting those too...

no need to wrap the poor baby like coccoon

tsukushi: hmm I think I will be bad at swaddling too, so will check out swaddlers. Which brand did you use, what material?

congrats baby.... hmm... hopefully next week mi 14weeks + can get to see liao. otherwise gt to wait til end of feb ;)

pinkyrose: haha no worries. I think the thing you are talking abt is those baby carrier slings right? yah I think I won't use that also...

Yah the "template" is what I was thinking of getting for swaddling my baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

coopie, i used Kippotamus SwaddleMe (don't know if i spell correctly). It has velcro and is very convenient. You might get it cheaper from USA or during sales here. It's cotton.

pinkyrose, i think you were referring to a sling. There are many types around. I have a MIM one but don't particularly like it. But it's pretty affordable. I find it straining on one shoulder as my son grew heavier, but convenient for quick tasks. For longer walks, you might want to use a meitai styled carrier with 2 straps, like ergo or bjorn.

ahh yes..its called baby slings..hahah...suddenly all the baby item jargon must know..haha

ya i dun like it also.i see babies like curled up,i feel the backache for him/her

thks xinyue n modisch,

cos i drk a bit, din know so bad.

these few days, have to eat v carboh thg, and wont feel so bad in tummy.

Or in other words, must keep snacking.

kimifin- snakc healthily... i standby those jacobs crackers at home n in my bag

but i juz bought a packet of bin bin crackers coz those jacob biscuits too plain n bland.i dun like.haha

boohoo no sharksfin.. have a wedding banquet to attend in a few months' time too... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

yup yup...here's an extract of what i read today:

sharkfin,swordfish,king mackerel,fresh tuna, tilefish,mahimahi, grouper and amberjack have high mercury, polychlorinate4d biphenyls(PCBs) or other toxins dangerous to ur baby.

limit urself to 12 ounces a week of shellfish, smaller ocean fish,farm-raised fish, canned light tuna and freshwater fish.

i duno how to count 12 oz la guess we eat everything in moderation... juz get a bite or a spoonful shd be ok lo

12 ounce = 340.194 277 5 gram

that's alot of fish to consume a week? so i guess a bowl of sharkfin is alright? anyway, i dun care one leh..i still eat tuna n sharkfin when i was preggy with #1. i tink onie 2x during the 9mths of pregnancy? Haha

guess moderation is the key word here...so mummies,juz eat but not too much..hee

if not,you will be badly deprived of all these good food

Hi ladies...

Any of you been to Bintan Lagoon Resort? Is it worth going? Any other accommodation to recommend at Bintan? Hubby and I planning to bring our toddler for a short 3D2N getaway sometime in Mar before I go into 3rd trimester and becomes bulky.

Baby Cot: For me, another impt point to note when deciding on the model of the cot is the front and back panel. If bb is going to sleep in non-aircon room, it makes a diff to look out for one that is not totally covered (pic A) coz for me, i place the fan near the back panel, so it allows more air circulation (pic B).

Pic A:

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5007637.jpg]

Pic B:

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5007638.jpg]

Modish: Yr boy very cute and handsome! Ya, it's a bit diff to get the BFree bottles. I usually buy from OG when they're having 20% discount. Think Baby Hyypermart/Baby Kingdom carries it too. Anyway, my boy is alternating between BFree and Avent now. So, will replace with Avent for him if he is ok. Else very xiong if no.2 also needs BFree:p

modisch> i ate tuna leh...maybe once a wk or twice a wk...tuna got DHA...i did asked my gynae...he say ok to eat lol...as wat pinkrose say, Moderate!

The 12 ounce limit is for the moderate mercury type fish i think. Sharksfin falls under High Mercury category ie should be avoided altogether. I think lizzie sent around a list previously that was quite good.

I've got office CNY lunch soon and the menu has both sharksfin and grouper...dilemma as to how much/ whether to eat...

What a sad CNY. Just like it was a sad Christmas and New Year without alcohol. The sacrifices of a mother!! ;P

eLcH: U can also consider Nirwana resort, i've stayed there once think it's suitable for family. If it's couple time, then i'll recommend Angsana. I'll be going Batam for 2D1N stay next week[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

elch> have been staying Mayang Sari twice and like the sea facing room!!! tink for 3rd time, will still choose Mayang Sari but nothing much there to entertain ur kid leh...jus the beach lol...

cactusnah,

I've got a friend recommending Nirwana as well. I surfed for it and read that it doesn't have king size bed for it's lower range room which Bintan Lagoon has.

Which resort/hotel are you staying at Batam?

Talking about mercury poisoning, let me tell you all a true story about this boy I know of who at 4 years old appeared to be developing much slower than his peers. Parents sent his hair to the States for sampling and found that he was suffering from serious case of mercury poisoning, cos he was eating fish porridge prepared by the grandma everyday. He had to go for some detox and blood diffusing thing to get rid of the mercury in his bloodstream.

So be careful not to overdo it with the fish, or at least check the type of fish you feed your kid. I guess this would apply to the mercury we put into our bodies now as well. Have a bit of phobia of fish cos of this, so try to limit intake. The main advantage of fish is DHA but if we're already taking DHA supplements, we don't really need much/ any more by way of normal diet.

feimei,

Just rolling around the bed and running around the room is fun enough for my boy. He loves hotel rooms. Haha...sand play is also good enough for him. Intention of planning this short getaway is to 'do nothing'...

never go to bintan lagoon..overpriced and the rooms condition is super dated! the suite we stayed the last time even had bed bugs..me n my son got bitten quite badly and the bathing water is practically brown in color lor.. i still hv the photos in my FB i tink..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I am going to Bintan soon too! But using some free voucher so dunno which hotels to recommend, sorry.

I don't have maternity swimwear though, where to get nice ones?

Thanks tsukushi, will check out that brand of swaddler.

Thanks for the tips cactusnah, didn't think of that! Haven't decided yet whether to put the baby in aircon room.

coopie, when my son was young, my bbsitter onie feed him fish 2x a week cos she say fish will cause phlegm..now i dunno how many times he eat fish a week. I dun bother oso..

mercury > i tink a bowl of sharkfin will not contain alot of sharkfin so the chances of consuming high level of mercury is low. we shuldnt be overly paranoid abt all these..the more we worry the more things we cant do..

i still take tuna once or twice per week..sharkfin will be taking this Saturday, next Sunday too.. :p 2 wedding dinner in Jan so i guess thats the last till June/jul liao

ok..going back alr..gonna tapao fries from MOS!

hi all, re sharksfin i ate 4 bowls during my fren wedding in early Jan. Cannot tahan. and my table not many ppl so i got a lot. yummy. this cny i am planning to eat too cos MIL knows i like. hee. i know high mercury but like what modisch said 1 bowl of sharksfin shld not hv too much meat. maybe they talking abt the meat as a whole?

Feel that all food no matter what just do in moderation...

Keeping my fingers crossed for my Oscar scan tomorrow...

Having a pre CNY reunion dinner with hubby extended family this weekend... Dun know if anyone will ask if I'm preggy as I look like I just slightly overeaten in the past week... Have not told my PIL yet...

Any suggestions anyone... I'm planning if anyone were to ask point blank will just admit... If not should I continue to keep quiet?

wow... lynn.. u can keep it for so long. think u gt to break the news liao lo.

maybe can say u gd a gd news for everybody ;) think they guess oso knw wat ;)

Hi mummies... I went for my chk up today.. 15 weeks 3 days... Can c gender already... It's a boy again... Today gynae Nv measure the length, oli measure the head diameter which is 3.36cm.. N I can c the fingers, spine.. N the Letter W for boy... I think my edd pull forward to late Jun... Anyway, I'm gng for c-section, cos my no.1 is emg-c..

Wat abt other mummies who Hv gone for their scan... ?

jgwee> gong xi...gong xi!!! We gt another boy here!!! Hahahaha...3 boys now ( alicia, maelyn n jgwee )!!!! More to come....my scan onli 26th jan...tink up coming scan will be yaya, suying, wendy then my turn!!! ;)