(2011/07) July 2011

Thanks, maelyn and daph for the info!!!

baby cot:

my hse is very squarish...thus, very small...dun think can buy too big cot but for bb comfort wise...hahahaa...no matter how big...will try to squeeze in the room...hahahahaa....

Changing feeding bottles & teats

I am using the normal plastic Pigeon bottles and I change them every 6mths+. I use the NUK latex teats and change them every month. So far this combination is very good, no problems with leakage.

Sore throat and cough

Suffered without any medication too, didn't want to see GP unless really really cannot tahan. Now recovered. Drink plenty of warm water, take lots of rest, cover yourself well and keep warm. Give yourself 1.5 - 2 wks. You should slowly start getting better. If throat is sore, take some Ricola lozenges. if lost your voice, try the method syrah mentioned - crack one egg in boiling hot water in a cup, stir and add 2 tablespoons honey. Drink it. It works. Grandmother's advise [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hihi all MTBS

wow so fast start shopping...me totally no energy

tmr morning gg for my scan...m praying hard now...i try to lay on bed to feel bb...but no feeling lah

feimei,

I'll definitely be buying one of these cots so that initially will place both babies in it. When's a good time to start placing order?

Anyone has any idea if Baby Kingdom will have sale or promo?

wahh must write down abt milk bottle...pigeon,nuk,dr brown,avent.ok enough to make me hv headche

baby cot- i intend to get those 5 or 6-in 1 too..economical.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hwei fen-does that brand of stretch mark cream works?

Cot: I was told by some people to let the baby sleep in playpen instead of cot as the playpen mattress is lower, so it's safer when the baby gets taller. Anyone knows if this is true?

Bottles: I read that Medela has these new bottles that came out last year, called Calma. BPA free. Supposed to mimic the breastfeeding motion (ie baby has to suck to get milk), so it's easier for baby to alternate between bottle and breast and won't reject the breast even though using bottle. Am considering trying it, dunno whether it'll work though?

http://www.which.co.uk/news/2010/07/baby-feeding-bottle-mimics-breastfeeding-222168/

coopie,

I heard if the playpen mattress is too low, it's really bad for our back. However I do intend to let one of the babies sleep in the play pen ultimately. Won't have space to put 2 baby cots in the house. So i'll make do with 1 playpen and 1 baby cot.

Syrah/ sunshine: I thought the cot mattress level can adjust, not sure abt playpen. Agree very low, will get bad back hence not sure whether to get.

I googled and apparently alot of infant deaths in playpens, but that's cos of soft bedding, so if we put a proper mattress, should be ok?

Another thing some pple say is that baby cots have to pass safety standards, whereas playpens don't, so cots are still safer. Am still trying to find out more...

Another thing to think abt is how to prevent the baby getting flat head. Nowadays they recommend babies sleeping on their backs (and not tummies) to prevent Sudden Infant Death Syndrome. But this results in alot of babies getting flat heads. There are special memory foam pillows that's supposed to help prevent this problem, dunno whether they work though.

me too.. tried to lie on left and right and feel the hard part of my tummy see if bb will move. I concentrate so hard until i fell asleep. LOL

Coopie,

Cot mattress level can be adjusted. I don't think playpen can be.

For my case, I'll have to switch one baby to the play pen when one can start to turn which my SIL says is usually around 6mths. Think i'll play by ear and see how since the playpen is a gift from someone and I'll def have it in the house. Maybe like what u suggested, we can place in thicker solid mattress into the playpen?

px22 & pillow,

Yesterday hubby and I have a 'touch and hear' session. We switched off the TV and all other sounds so that it's really quiet. Then he placed his head on my tummy while I could only use my hand. When he did this previously, he could feel the heartbeats. This time round, both of us did feel some 'swimming' movement going on inside. It was really cool and hubby was so excited!

Px22: hahahaha! I haven't tried to feel the baby yet, every night concentrating on watching tv in the least painful position.

Been getting stabbing pains on the right side of my body/ back, according to Internet it's cos the uterus is pushing my ribs up and out?? Damn painful lah. I dunno why mothers must suffer so much to have a baby, is this God's way of making us treasure our kid more??

Don't worry baby20, will be ok, good luck!

Syrah: so exciting! Ok I think I will try it soon too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yah I think for playpen, make sure it's a good safe mattress and don't have toys etc lying about in case baby suffocates. Same thing for cot I guess.

syrah: i tried asking hubby to do that twice. He said all he heard is my stomach growling... zzzz

coopie: i also have stabbing pains.. esp around 8pm.. pain until i start telling bb to be gentle.. it really works, the pains turn to slight cramps..

i used avent for my #1 and it leaked too.. so i changed to Pigeon and been using it since.

as for my #2 will still stick to pigeon since been using it for so long..even my bottle washer oso pigeon. Everything is pigeon brand.haha

cot bed > can buy early and then ask them to deliver in May or June weeks before our delivery..no problem de. I ordered mine fr taka bb fair. Can fit up to 50kg! Even i can sleep on my son's bed together with him Quite durable. but the mattress that comes with it is not of good quality. we used for 1 year and changed to baby safe mattress which is latex and better for their back.

cot is more for daytime usage..i personally don't tink it is suitable for baby to sleep in it and it cant be used for long hence the investment benefit is not there..lolz.

usually cot mattress height can be adjusted to abt 4 diff heights. Infants and baby that do not know how to crawl or climb of course will be placed at highest point, when they start to stand, adjust according to their height and when they can climb, put to the lowest whereby the railing reaches their neck only..confirm their shorty legs cant climb out. I changed my son's cot bed to toddler bed since he turned 1..now gotta fix it back to baby cot again..

Mummies.. first time mama here- wat to take note of when buying cots? other than buying a big big one if my room has space, any safety features tat I need to be on the lookout for?

px22, type of wood used, the base (shouldn't be just a flat piece of chipboard - Ikea quality is a big NO NO), easy to dismantle and lower the base. most impt must be able to fit to ur room..

oh no... I was still thinking of buying ikea one cos i got vouchers... haiz

wat type of wood is good? or do u mean not the hollow ones, and no splinters, good finishing with lacquer- thats good enough?

Makino… sharkfins cannot. Cos high mercury. I gg to miss it on my bro. Wedding dis sat ;( maybe a bit will do. ;) is up to individual. I eat stingray a bit too. I do nt nt is high mercury ya…. Hopefully nothings happens.

Syrah/Feimei… yeah… the wan I referring is like transformer. DH say can use as playpen/ bed & etc… he saw at his workplace… Dunno the shop name is Spring. I think. Maybe more worth it lo. Since syrah say kiddy place have maybe will go around for survey first b4 I buy during later part ;)

Baby… dun woli everything will be fine ;) do keep us update ;)

Lizzie… craving again.. lollzz… ask DH get for u ;)

Heard that some cots have drop sides which are useful as you don't have to reach all the way down to pick up baby.

But apparently drop side cots are being banned/ have been banned in the USA recently cos they're deemed to be dangerous: if the latch is spoilt the baby can fall out and die. If you choose a cot with drop sides, make sure the latch is very stable and good.

Also think about whether you want a cot with wheels? Easy to wheel from room to room (if you need to), but gotta make sure the safety locks in the wheels work well.

yes yes..cot wood must be those that wil not get mouldy. base must have rows of sturdy woods and not just 1 piece of chipboard.

This is how Zach's cot look like:

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5006310.jpg]

Thr's a protective piece at both railings to prevent baby from biting the wood

coopie, i mean playpen more suited for day time use. my bbsitter got one for Zach to play in when she busied with housework..it's more lightweight and if bb is older, dun tink it is tat stable lo..

thanks for the compliment. This boy is alr 2 yo..cheeky is the word to describe him. talkative too.. non-stop!

Thanks modisch, I think I will probably go with a cot as well. Somehow feel safer with that.

Talkative babies are fun, at least can entertain you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

haha..ya! but in public, it's abit embarassing at times cos he is really like a spoilt radio, kept repeating the same word over n over again! just like yesterday we both took a cab, he saw umbrella, he kept mentioning Umbrella, Umbrella, mummy, umbrella, umbrella..then saw tissue box, tissue, umbrella, mummy, tissue, umbrella.. Zzzz..

awww modisch Zach is sooo cute! now I cant wait to see my baby also...

How much did u get this cot and where u bought it?

Play pen more suited for day use, so cot is really for night time sleeping?

coopie> my col told me the bad to use playpen becos the base is not wood, meaning it will be easily bend or when bb grow heavier, with the wt, the base will be out of shape n that will be bad for bb back...soo cot will be more advisible as the base is hard (wood), it will not go out of shape...n i tried moving the playpen...very frimsi...it shake easily...

the above is jus individual point of view to consider....

syrah> i chk out the store at chinatown....quite popular store for bb wholesale...the boss told me they take order now is for EDD before jun...if EDD after Jun, can order after cny...they got alot of things...like the stroller my frenx give me...Combi one...i saw kiddy palace selling at $359, that store selling at $319...they do delivery if purchase over $200...tink most likely will get things from there...tink one of the mummy did give the store name before but nvm, i give again here:

CHEONG CHOON STORE

BLK 34 #03-132 UPPER CROSS STREET

(jus beside the hawker ctr)

Tel: 6532 3855

jas, sorry! hehe.. pigeon teats comes with S, M, L and Y..Zach using L but he manage to bite the teats to slightly bigger hole than normal to ease him drinking milk..

px22, if u prefer ur bb to take their day nap outside in the living room, play pen can do the job or do like me, i always push the cot outside to my living room or my own bedroom.

Sleepy

modish... zach... is so cute ;)

agree wif feimei... my bro in law gt a playpen for his boy only 11mths... nw the playpen looks shakier. maybe he too active liao ;) thanks feimei. for the info ;)

modisch> i tink i am getting the similar cot as ur zac is using...that's what the shop auntie told me also...better than playpen...anyway, the package bundle w mattress, the railing cover, pillow, bloster, bedsheet...

zach's cot is the type that u need two hand to push down the railing or can use jus one hand (for the one hand type is the cot need to be against the wall or something so that when carrying bb, u can use ur leg n one hand to jus push down the railing)....u get wat i meant?

yes yes cheong choon sells alot of bb stuff. price very competitive too! some of my other mummies fren bought pigeon wet wipes from them too.

i m waiting for watson to replenish kodomo wet wipes.. sold out everywhere! it's very cheap leh.. $1.95 per pack

suying> for easy way out, i did consider playpen but since my col advice...hv to consider the pro n cons lol...even my hse area too small...die die hv to squeeze in the cot lah...hahahaha...

as modisch mentioned, daytime can jus let bb sleep on our bed lol whereas u can Zzz w them...hahahaa...good excuse!!!

playpen is much cheaper...ard $200...

feimei, zach's cot railing need to use two hands n leg.. Zzz.. use the hand to lift the railing up, then use leg to give it a push inward and the railing will come down..abit troublesome but at least i noe that boy dunno how to lower the railing himself.Haha

i bought zach's cot from taka baby fair..bought in april 08 and i got them to deliver in Nov 08.. i hv to pay in full. comes with full set of mattress and also the cot bumper. still in package cos i din use theirs - i bought mine from aussino instead.

thanks all, I am definitely going with a cot now for night sleeping and playpen for daytime [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

heard about cheong choon too, will check it out after CNY. heard the owner going to australia to visit his kid over CNY or something like that.

anyone getting a swaddler to wrap the baby? know which brand is good?

modisch> cheong choon uncle told me the diff...then i know cot oso got diff ahh...hahahaha...soo my col ask mi to tink abt it...wan to buy which type...if use two hand de...meaning is carrying bb, hv to put bb down 1st...use two hand to lift the railing n push down, then can put bb in...if the one hand one...need to be against the wall...hahahaha...still tinking... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ya..uncle said can place order liao then can call them to cfm when deliver...but not sure if need to pay full amt???

stabbing pains at the back! i also felt stabbing pains, i think it's from veins.. last night woke up, and it hurts when i breath normally..so got to take small and shallow breathings to not 'activate' the back pain!

isit really due to the uterus pushing the ribs?

Bottles: I let my son use the Nuk & pigeon small neck bottles when he was few months old. But noticed there's always alot of bubbles aft he finished his milk and he merlioned like nobody biz. So i switched to BFree (BFA free) and his puking immediately stopped. So, i swear by BFree. Though expensive but it's better than seeing him merlion aft each feed. But i dun think it's necessary to jump into using BFree if yr bb has no merlion problem, but mummies here can take note and consider BFree as a backup.

Baby Cot: Agree with Daph to buy bigger cot. My 3 year old son is still sleeping in his bb cot which is now converted to a normal toddler's bed. Will be getting my boy a new bed and convert his current one bk to bb cot in few months time. So, i'm really making full use of the bb cot. Shld be able to last me a good 6 years or more!