(2011/07) July 2011

modisch,

Yar, the idea of adoptiondid cross my mind when I knew my #2 was boy.. haha.. I even thought of exchanging my bb with some one else's.. haha so ridiculous..

how I wish my gynae had seen it wrongly..

suying,

I am in week 15 now, baby size at 9.89cm

feimei,

This is my #2, not yet #3, hehe.. so i will have 3 boys(2 sons + 1 DH) to bully me.. haha..

Daph,

Yar.. it was really exciting to find out the gender when you have a gender in mind.. like buying toto and see whether you strike it anot..

good morning!!

maelyn, if u read my FB a fren of mine onie confirmed his bb gender at 5th mth during the detailed scan. at 16 weeks, gynae said it's a boy but not really confirm..few weeks later, still say can see the stick only at detailed scan, confirm is not a stick!! Lolz..drama!

how much will adoption cost in singapore? I know i will love the child as my own but when i casually bring this up during family dinner, can see my in-laws not very keen but on second thought, who cares abt them..haha.

modisch: DH's aunt adopted one from Indonesia (malay) for SGD15k.. but as the child grows up, there will be alot of problems.. Like relatives ask why kid dont look like them, kid ask the parents why he dont look like them.. where is he from..

Morning everyone!

XW,

Wah...envy that you can go on a trip. My hubby and parents are all afraid to let me go on one.

modisch,

My aunt also adopted an Indo boy many years back. Then subsequently, they actually managed to conceive a girl on their own naturally. I can see and feel the disparity although I know they don't mean to. It really has a drastic effect on the adopted child's mental well-being.

Hi all mtbs... hope some of u still remember me!! I'm back from Europe safe and sound. Went to see gynae the very next day when I'm back and did the DS test. Just got the result as low risk....Pheww....

My little one is 6.56cm now and it shows that I am actually in week 13.. So excited to see bb moving inside me :p

One question, I'm down with fever and flu and got some medication from GP. Did mention to GP that I'm pregnant and he said the medicine is safe for pregnancy.. However, I'm still worried cos when I asked medication from my gynae, he refused to give me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

maelyn... ic... so yrs is a boy ;)

hi karen.. welcome back. im down with flu & sore thorat nw. soon fever gg to hit mi. mummies here say every am before wash up drink a cup of plain water. i have try dis morning feeling better. thoart nt so pain. as for GP my fren told mi nt to go see GP cos med. might nt be suitable. But my gyne is at KKH & my next appt is next fri. so i dun wan waste the trip. N i self cure myself by drinking more plain water now... ;)

Mummies~~~

my col said Robinson Sales starting today!!! sooo...if u r free...drop by look see look see...i m not a Robinson fans but she is n she asking me along so that she can show mi wat is worth to buy n wat is not...lucky got her... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] anyway, i bot the bottles sterilizer last wkend at ntuc...$135, come with 2 free bottles (1 big n 1 small), 2 pacifiers and formula container...i checked the price at kiddy palace, oso the same price...soo jus bot fr ntuc... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pinkrose> if got such bundle, my col said mus grab lol...otherwise if missed it...then u buy separately...which will be more costly lol...hahahaha...yes, it's Philips Avent!!!

i know i kiasu but if price ok, jus buy it...i dun wan wait till last min...wait gan chong...that's my DH pattern which i oways scold him...sai at the asshole liao...then find toilet!!! hahahhahaa....so bad of me!!!

Pinkyrose> during previous preg, I drank annum n I put on alot of weight.. Though many said it's good, my gynea said the supplements he provide is good enuf.. Cuz those milk very high in fats.. So I opted out n simply eat healthy food, 'hi calcium food n the supplements given [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

feimei, i thought we only supposed to buy after 7 mths or so? i thought it is pantang? my mum dun allow me to buy anything at least after 5 mths... so i have to tahan

modisch> yea...u r right!! will maybe buy two more big one n one small one... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks!!!

pinky > was adv to start on these during 2nd tri. I drank frisomum and also similacmum. both tastes ok to me. gynae recommended mamil gold, yet to try that.

maybe u can ask ur gynae for samples?

pudding, that's today!! but i cannot spend liao.. i really really really overspent this mth.. n Jan salary gotta cover till CNY

pillow> ehhhh~~~i dunnu worr...kekekee...jus buy lol...think by 7mths, i can't walk far liao...hahahaha...anyway...got sales, jus buy...anyway, i already took the stroller, cloth napkins fr my frenx ler...y 'pantang' to buy things leh??? i onli heard 'pantang' in annoucing before 3mths....hahahahhaa...if got to know bb gender after next scan...DH gg to buy clothes lol...he more crazy than me...he gg to exchange all his petrol points for those bb stuffs...

modisch> i oso try to control, dun spent too much cos need to cover for CNY as well...haiz~~~that's y onli buy bits n pieces here n there lol...

thanks pinkyrose... noted. think gt to go buy lemon liao ;) by the way can we drink pi pa guo?? jialak lo... my kelics say i gt red eyes nw??? oh gosh!!... sat my bro wedding i cant be sick either..

hi mummies... yest my Dh was telling mi he saw a multipurpose bed for bb. cost 500++ omg... so exp. dan we were discussing & say wait til im 5-6mths dan start buying ;)

pinkyrose, I've been on anmum since first trimester. That's the only milk that I can stomach during my ms.

Does anyone know whether we can eat sharksfin soup?

pudding- wah put on weight?*gulps* ok will take note.. and 13-16 taka got wat?baby fair ah?

i hv samples for similacmum..but haven try coz nowadays i cant swallow milk..will surely merlion.haa

Btw mummies, I use avent bottles n it actually leaks! Very angry cuz sometimes Bb crying for milk, just as I rush to feed him, the bottle cap leaks! I check with the SA n she told me the previous batches were found to cause leak so I trusted her n bought the new batch which she claim will not leak.. It's not true! Still leak.. Fed up.. Not sure if any mummy experience this?? Think I m sticking to dr brown or nuk..

regarding anmum, it's true that this is quite "fattening". I put on too much weight in my prev preg and my gynae advised me to switch to low fat fresh milk 2x a day. As for anmum, now I'm only drinking it once a day. When I can stomach fresh milk, I will start to drink once at night.

Pinkyrose> not baby fair but rather with taka credit card u have additional 10% off the sale item.. Not sure when's the baby fair leh.. I think it's normally in June.. By then we can hardly walk for long n tummy too big to squeeze with the mad crowd.. Wahaha

Modischbebe> yea I also controlling.. Must b very prudent.. Cny ang pao already a bomb then got to save n buy bird's nest, confinement lady, jamu lady etc etc haiyo all $$$$.. Faint

pudding

my Avent bottles also leak.

but only recently, so i figured prob i use it for too long.

intend to go down Robinsons later and get new ones.

how long do you change the bottles?

i only change the teats, never change bottle unless it turns cloudy or alot of scratches.

makino

sharksfin high mercury content, try not to eat too much.

suying> i oso plan to buy the cot ard that stage...but i heard fr the shop ppl, cot mus order de...nowadays...alot of pattern lol...i shld be getting those that can transform into kid bed in ltr part n so can use till bb grow up till 4-5yrs old....that type n it bundle with mattress...is ard $300+....

Tsukushi > sharks fin is high in mercury so I heard not good for pregs just like the sting ray, we must refrain.. Then again. As long as don't overeat, I feel it's ok.. All moderately should be v safe ;)

My SIL says Kiddy Palace usually have their annual 20% sale in June. Anyone can confirm this?

Suying,

Is the multi-purpose bed the type that is 5 in 1 or 6 in 1 whereby can convert from baby cot to toddler/junior bed? Can get those $300+. I saw it at Kiddy Palace and Baby Kingdom's website.

jas, pudding> my col using Avent too...nv heard fr her that the bottles leak...maybe really due to the batch production???

Jaz> I change my bottles every 4-6 mths cuz I read somewhere to change frequently.. My boy already 2yrs, think I given avent bottles lots of chances.. Kekeke.. Haiz, coming Bb, no more avent bottles. :p

Feimei> I think likely due to d batch production but the latest I bought was during the last Bb fair in taka n it still leak when I newly use.. Was so pissed I threw away d bottle.. Mebe newer batch is ok..

Pudding

Mine also. Avent leak until I very sian. Worst was last time feed bm with avent also leak. Wasted! Now bb using pigeon wide neck bottles.

pudding/Daph

did you buy the BFA free or the normal ones?

mine is the normal ones, and the leaked bottles are 330ml ones. 260ml no problem.

Jaz> I bought both types.. Now the latest bpa free bottles, they are slightly tinted.. Bottle is a little yellowish.. I only buy the 330ml ones.. But when my boy was n infant, I used the 260ml n to think of it, I do not have prob with 260ml bottles..

Baby cot

I would recommend mummies to buy bigger ones. The bigger the Merrier. Don't get those small and cheap ones from ikea. Cannot last. Got mummies who complain that their bb outgrew the cot when they were one year old. I got the bigger ones, those convertible type for my son and till now it is still very spacious.

Avent,

I am a big fan of Avent. If you want to get Avent sterilizer, taka baby fair has got good offer, like those describe by Feimei, around $130-150, got free bottles, pacifier, boltser, etc..

So far, I am okay with Avent bottles. You need to make sure that the teats are well assembled to avoid leakage. You need to hear the "tick" sound when you assemble the teats, if not it will leaked. The one experience which I encounter bottle leak is that the teats have problem. No matter which bottle the teat goes to, the bottle will leak. So I went to the Phillip service centre(in Toa Payoh) to complain. They exchange one to one.

There's also another good time to buy Avent products is during Phillips carnival Sale. They have it every year. last year, they have it in March and End of year. If you have frens working in Phillips, they can help to buy at staff prices. usually 40% off during christmas time.

syrah> yes, i m referring to tat type of cot...u tink it's good? will intend to buy that as to save $$...

Pillow> mebe avent new batch is better.. I also used dr brown cuz my boy had colic then n dr brown is really good.. U never see bubbles in the milk.. But they are expensive.. So I use a mixture of dr brown n avent.. This time round, I think I will either use pigeon or nuk.

Jas

Mine 260ml, also leak. Previously when he was an infant I got the smallest size, also leak. Very strange coz change new teats also leak. It's the normal bottles.

Pillow4, I'm using Nuk wide neck for my son.. so far SO GOOD.. and i like the teat [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anyone can cfm Kiddy Palace annual 20% sale in June? or any sales gng on at Kiddy? cos i need to buy something from there...