(2011/07) July 2011

Hi Girls, There is a maternity leave self-assessment tool online: http://www.emcl.mom.gov.sg/Pages/MaternityLeave.aspx, you put in the EDD of the baby since not born yet then they tell you the possible options for consuming maternity leave..

Mine came out to be:

Possible Options for Consuming Maternity Leave

OPTION 1:

Start taking your maternity leave from 14 June 2011 as a continuous block till 3 October 2011.

OPTION 2:

Start taking your maternity leave as a continuous block from 12 July 2011 to 31 October 2011. For this option, there needs to be mutual agreement between you and your employer.

OPTION 3:

Start taking your maternity leave anytime between 14 June 2011 to 12 July 2011 for 8 weeks, and the remaining 8 weeks flexibly for 1 year, until 12 July 2012. For this option, you need to seek mutual agreement between you and your employer.

Whichever option you take, please note that maternity leave between 12 July 2011 to 8 August 2011 is compulsory. You should inform your employer as early as possible of your intention to take maternity leave. At the very latest, you must inform your employer one week before you start your Maternity Leave.

I think i will take my maternity from 4th July 2011 ( edd on 12th July) till October 21st. Then i take 4 day leave on the following week (26th Oct is a PH). Den return work on 31st Oct (Monday).. hehe.. Total will be 119 days.

Ixoral- maybe u gain the first few months then last few months u maintain your weight.

But at least better then mi I lost weight unstable of gain. First vist was 52kg, second visit become 50kg then last week went OSCAR scan is 49.5kg

Leave: not sure how much annual leave you gals have, but I'm going to save up the bulk of my annual leave for after I deliver.

So I will be on 16 weeks maternity leave, xx days annual leave and 6 days childcare leave starting from early July. I think that will take me to sometime late November/ early December and have asked my boss to let me take no-pay leave for the rest of the year (since only left a few weeks to the year and I can't bear the thought of going back to work over Christmas season), so I only start work in January 2012 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

If your bosses allow, you may wish to consider that option too, ie rather than use up your annual leave before you give birth, try to save some/most of it for after you deliver, so can spend more time with baby.

Am very grateful for my boss who is extremely understanding. And my company is generally quite pro-family so my request was approved quite easily [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] They will be looking for someone to cover me while I am away so I won't feel so stressed about leaving my work to my colleagues to do. Hope all of you manage to work out something good too!

hi coopie, wow! that is alot of annual leave you have there to last till end of year.. hehe.. It will be fabulous if i can start work in 2012! haha..

Hi coopie, my company leave is not prorated. I counted i got 19 days annual leave (2.75 days accumlated from last year) up to 21st November. =) Not counting six days childcare leave.

wow, u all already starting to plan your ML and when to leave and start work. i have not even doen anything. think tonight i shld start planning. am actually thinking of taking only 2 mths ML then the rest take on and off. but after i hear what u all said abt not having enuf time i also thinking twice. Hmmm dilemma..

Wendy: heh I don't have THAT much annual leave lah, plus gonna use up some to go babymoon. Gonna take some no-pay leave too. You can try it too actually, take 1 mth no pay in December, if ur boss allows?

pillow4: actually going back to work on and off is quite a good idea too, can slowly get used to working again while still spending time with baby. But will mean you have to make arrangements early re who's to take care of your baby while you're at work. Also may be more difficult to do full-time breastfeeding I think, but not sure cos I'm a first time mum. I'm hoping to be a full-time cow for at least the first 6 months while not working haha.

Feimei: if ur ex boss agrees to employ you despite knowing you are pregnant, that sounds good! If your work allows, maybe can ask him whether you can work from home/ part time some days also?

hi pillow4, hehe.. cos my boss KS and she need to find replacement so keep asking when i am going off.. hehe.. So, trying to work it out now. Thinking to take 6 days childcare after maternity leave which means i go back to work later.. haha.. den keep my 19 days leave for emergency. hehe.. Cos i can roll over 30days max.

Ixoral- me too. i've gained 6.5 kg so far. My colleagues are predicting I will hit 20kgs by the time i deliver. How am i going to lose all these in future??? *panic*

wow... seems like most mummies here gain weight. hopefully i will too. but nt much so long weight goes to bb is ok ;)

just had tepanyaki... today i really eat a lot. nw feeling so sleepy... Zzzzzzz

wendy> your company maternity benefits are soo good! $3k reimbursement of delivery charges are alot of savings..envious! Plus roll over 30 days is ALOT.. me can only roll over 5 days. Cos the company wanna ensure that employees take time off work and hence not encouraging the accumulation of leave.

I havent announve to my supervisor/colleagues yet...planning to do so next week after my gynae check tmr [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

J2010T> i also hope to maintain..cross fingers. My mom actually told me (very proudly) that she went up to 80kg when carrying my brother i think. haha terrible. U must eat more! i find below 50kg for preggie mummy quite low..jiayou jiayou [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Px22> We must try hard to BF as loong as possible, so can go back to even better than pre-preg figure! haha... now i look back to my wedding photos, i really wonder how i manage to look slim last time :p

Hi ixoral, yes.. that 3k really helps. Actually one of the reason i dun wanna change job cos the benefits for mums are good. We got 1.2k to claim per year for pre-labour gynae visits as well. Luckily Oscar SCAN is done in 2010 and i got full $1200 for 2011! haha.. After baby is born, i can claim his/her outpatient medical bills up to 500 per year each and for daddy as well. Specialists visits are capped at $600 each for baby and daddy. haha.. So can save abit here and there. So baby and father see doc dun need pay unless after the cap per year!

Ixoral, you can start announcing le.. hahha..

I envy those who haven't put on weight!! I'm panicking about putting on too much weight too, have quite a few weddings to attend after giving birth, don't wanna go there looking like a whale! At least if pregnant can just say you're big cos pregnant. After that, you are just...FAT.

So far I've put on about 4kg but I think this will go up very quickly, my appetite is so good these days! I just finished my lunch and am still hungry. Last night I had chicken rice AND rice with other stuff for dinner ie 2 main courses. My mum constantly reminds me that I should NOT be eating for two, haha.

I think we should start exercising soon!!!

hi coopie, maybe is water rentation? i think it is already a blessing to have good appetite hehe..! I keep watching my weight as i am scared i cant shed after that. Till now, still the same.. haha..

wendy, u working in foreign bank? my co oso claimable for delivery...normal deliver is given 4.5K n c-sect is given 6.5k...that's y all my col all opt to stay the most ex suite....hahahaha...but tink i will not la cos dun wan to be lonely!!! for outpatient claim, single is given 2k per yr, with spouse will be 3k n with 1 kid, will be 1k additional...but subseq kid will be additional $500 onli...thats y my col all ask me to 'tong' till at least hv two bb then leave the co....the benefit not only apply to female staffs...it apply to male staff as well...becos ang mo co...they very particular in staff welfare...

Hi feimei, THAT IS ALOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am working in US MNC Company. I will also opt to stay in one bedded in Mt A but i think after deducting CPF claims and $3k from company, still need to top up abit if i going for c-sect. Haha.. Yeah.. I agree ang mo they are particular with family wellbeing and benefits.. hehe.. Mine also got Optical per family but $300 only, dental is $1k per family. Your company is very generous with the outpatient claims! My outpatient claim is $1k and rest of family is $500 per pax (up to 5th kid). haha..

audrey... cannot la. later look like humpty dumpty ;)

seems like so many mummies planning ML liao ;) so soon.

feimei

wah....... your co good leh, i can only claim $2k for maternity expenses.

But i can claim upto $8k for my dependents' medical expenses. hee!

coopie, i also first time mum that is why i also dunno whether 3 mths enuf or not. cos most of the experienced mum here mentioned like not enough time to bond with kids.

Ixoral: the problem is i never eat for 2.. i am still eating the same amount. I don't use to take breakfast n tea break, and eat super heavy lunch and dinner.. ever since I am preggers i only eat half of wat i use to for lunch and dinner and a little bit for breakfast n teabreak, so I really wonder where did all the kilos come from! my tummy gets so bloated after lunch and dinner I look like 5mths preggers..

I not announcing to my boss yet.. was "advised" to tell only after I receive my bonus letter in Feb, in case my boss thinks pregnant woman won't resign, so take my bonus and distribute to the rest of the team n make others happier so they wont resign too..

Wendy: I really wish it's water retention but somehow I don't think so sigh.

Today while queuing up for food at lunch, this guy in front of me actually let me order first!!! At first I thought he was just being gentlemanly but thinking about it, I think he thought I was pregnant hahah! Wearing a baggy dress today.

Wow feimei, your benefits are really good!! Agree you should stay on with the company! Won't your hubby be staying over with you in the hospital room, why will you be lonely?

I was in a double room before for a minor operation and had bad experience cos my room mate's relatives talked at the top of their voices and had the TV on full blast etc. Even though they could obviously see I was resting. I was only there for a few hours so didn't want to kick up fuss and scold them, but I realised after that that it's safer to get a single room. And then you can also talk to your own visitors in peace without worrying about disturbing your room mate [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi MTBs,

Hope everyone is well. This week is crazy for me, I have to cope with my busy closing period schedule and at the same time nursing my bad cough and flu.

RE: Confinement Lady

Wendy ~ appreciate if you could send me the CL list too @ [email protected] thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

RE: Weight gain

I was 50kg before and I lost 3kg since i got pregnant. All thanks to MS (Ha!). Now I'm at 49kg at wk15, thought I should be gaining weight by now? Its kinda worrying that my appetite has not improve very much..

RE: Maternity Leave

My company policy for ML is 16weeks. I intend to request working from home 2 weeks before my EDD and start my ML soon after I deliver. Taking full 16wks all at one shot + some unpaid leave till end of Dec. Hopefully my boss approve this =P *keeping my fingers crossed*

like Coopie, I would prefer like disturbance during my rest, think I would op for 1 bedded ward whenever possible. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wendy - Ur are in a very pro family company... Care to share which industry?

Mine benifits getting fm bad to worse... Nw is only based on govt min... So sad...

ixoral: me too, I used to actually be THIN but since getting married 3 years ago, I put on TEN KG, don't ask me how!!!!! All my old clothes couldn't fit. Kept on meaning to shed the weight but never did and now I'm pregnant and it's too late to go on diet, yikes!

I am praying the jamu woman will give me a miracle and make me slim like at my wedding again haha. And breastfeed like mad!

Opps.. friday mood and i am working like a snail now.. haha.. Anyone knows wear to buy pretty maternity wear? I need some decent clothing and bra. haha.

Thanks Wendy.

Coopie ~ I used to be slim too and i put on 7kg since marriage!! But i just tell myself :"THIS IS SIGN OF HAPPINESS" hahahha.

anyway, mummies.. i just bought 2 box of korean strawberries! highly recommended. so yummy and i think it is not so ex. i finish one whole box by myself. hee. it isless than 6bucks for maybe 15 berries... tks for the recommendation!

re weight: i put on 4 kg le and i am only at 13 weeks... thats y now gotta resort to eating fruits to curb my hunger...

wendy

you mean stay over at the hosp?

nope, he doesn't want to. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/kao_angry.gif]

jas, yes.. okay, if you scared then you look for 2 bedder instead. I will convince hubby to stay over. Argg.. but our house to Mount A is only 10mins drive haha.

This Feimei n Wendy

Really appreciate ur advise...think over 90% will go back m meeting my ex boss to discuss the term...really can't stand my present com any longer

Feimei n Wendy

So envy ur com benefit real gd...

Tze: haha yah good consolation! I'll gladly be less "happy" though ;)

pillow4: I think I'm in same position as you, 4kg at 13 weeks. Good idea shall go eat fruits too!

Maternity wear: I am running out of clothes to wear to work, need to shop this weekend! Wendy, I heard Zara, Topshop and Gap all have maternity clothes, can go check them out? And some of the previous posts here also listed out maternity clothes places.

Need to buy CNY clothes too! But no idea how big I will be then, baby supposed to grow like mad these few weeks right?

Hi sunshinebb, yes. I think most importantly your ex boss is okay with your pregnancy! I think since you happy with your ex boss, better you join him or you have to tahan in your current company might not be a good choice! Check with ex boss your leave planning, make sure you plan the leave well. No worries!

Hi coopie, Okay! Tomorrow will shop for clothes at Zara, Topshop and Gap! Hehe.. Oh Ya.. CNY coming.. I can count how many clothes i am left to wear now lor.. haha.. It really means i need to shop!

wendy,

My company is US company, but very localised liao.. maybe its engineering.. everything say cut cost cut cost, benefits not as good as yours [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Wendy: haha ok you made me feel *slightly* better hehe.

Jas: oh yes then I think double room better [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Actually I haven't asked DH yet whether he's going to stay over, I am assuming he will agree as we have no other kids or pets so no excuse for him to stay at home, hmm better check with him later!

sunshinebb, u mean u have put on 7kg as to now? means u hav good appetite le! hehee.. me also lor.. now start to eat and eat.. cos tastebud bland le..not because of hungry.. sigh..

wendy, yeah! i am also going to shop for some clothese tomorrow.. maybe going to mark and spencer to see see.... intend to get some maternity wear for CNY also.

hi maelyn, as long as you have a good boss that supports you, it is the most important! =) Some company have good benefits but might not have a pleasant environment to work in! That is worst.. hehe..

coopie, see you better much! haha..

Yaya, so you going town as well? hehe..