(2011/07) July 2011

babu20: i think it's normal that you feel hungry freq.. Make sure you eat small amount but more frequently.. Prepare some snack around, like biscuit or bread.. In case suddenly hungry can eat.. I think you vomit cuz over hungry.. i also sometimes shivered when hungry cuz low in body glucose.. Just take some food or milo helps

Baby - me too... Not sure if this has anything to do with blood pressure... Cause mine is on the low side...

Once I'm hungry will start to feel faint very quickly as blood sugar drop...

Gals, maternity leave can take before we deliver? Any1 from civil svc can advise pls? :p I checked my company's leave policy, it says maternity leave starts when confinement starts = when bb is out...

Hee, this yr is really gg to be exciting cos we'll enjoy all e diff types of leave... There's oso infant care leave right? But dat's unpaid... Bo hua... Take own leave better hor... :p

crayon - civil servant too.. =) i have friends in the similar trade as me who took ML b4 delivery.. should be the same as the guideline given by MOM..

if i m not wrong, it can be as early as 1 or 2 weeks b4 EDD.. =D

According to the guideline, we can take ml one month before delivery if I'm not wrong.... And according to my company, ml is 2 calender month + 40 working days.....

If u intend just to take 3 months first n one month flexi, remember to check ur HR policy first... Some company allows to staff to take 1 day , 1 day.... Whereas my coy requires us to take a block of 7 days each time for the remaining 1 month...

Anyway I plan to use up ml at one shot plus the 6 days of childcare leave... So tentatively I will go on 1 jul n back on 8 nov

Hui,

The baby will not neccessarily come out "zhun zhun" on EDD. So most ppl will start maternity leave abit earlier, so that we can rest at home, and prepared to be admitted to hospital when there is any sign of labour. Sometimes baby will come out one week earlier, or maybe sometimes later.. very hard to say..

So, when nearing EDD, we have to prepare out hospital bags so that you will be prepared when labour sign shows.

SAHM

I was calculating my savings last night and has almost convince DH to let me resign for 1.5 years. Now thinking of how and when to resign. Was wondering if i can resign after maternity leave, at least can earn the 3 months maternity before I go off.........???

By that time, it would be tough time for me coz I will be taking care of 2 kids, and will be preparing my #1 to child card in Jan 2012..

Morning all! I m taking train to wk cos hubby nt able drive me to wk. I m hoping stomach gets bigger to show pple i m p!! Although nw my stomach big( wi fats majority), pple see me as fat loh!

By the way, i jus got my oscar result yesterdae. Clinic said low risk. So more fan xin liao. I look forward 22nd gynae visit liao!

Maelyn, if i were u. I will take ml 1st before quiting.

morning mummies.... woo hoo... tomolo will be my 13weeks ;) during the scan on wed. they measure my weight. N i hav lose abit. it could be i wear light clothes that day. lollzz....

Hmm... think most of my kelics knws im pregnant le lo. no more secret in office liao ;)

lizzie... i accept u le. look so beautiful in gown ;)

Hi chujie, audrey n lynn, thks for sharing. I ate quie alot ytd nite. but i am still hungry till abt 3 plus.. I was thinking that i can't be possibly eating all the way.. So i decided to sleep.. But guess wat.. I vomit this mrng bcoz i am too hungry first thing in the morning when i wake up.. Argh.. Nw stomach more pain aft vomiting.. Drank a cup of milo n ate biscuit..Feeling terrible.. Hv to look aft this boy somemore.. Haiz..

re: taking leave before actual delivery day

For my company, I read that we can take up to 1 mth max ahead of EDD (based on gynae estimate).

MTBs, just now, on my way to work, got some fumigation process going on...I accidentally inhale some fumes thru my mouth tho i used my cardigan to cover my nose...

Shld be ok hor? :eek:

Hihi morning all mtbs

Had funny dream again...dream tht I in labour just with 1push bb is out...then the most scary part is bb nail apply red nail col n the face is old granny face...omg when can I hv peaceful slp

lizzie... ya lo... make up does wonders ;)

fumigation shld be ok. cos accidently ma. my office always have all dis. so always kana smell abit...

sunshine, dun worry, soon u will hv good sleep!!! into 2nd tri...will be better...my pee session now is only once...then i can sleep till morning...soo something better lol...thout still feel tire but compared to 1st tri...is better off!!!

simone, yap. my gynae said if do in the morning, on the late afternoon will get it liao. v fast...

Hi morning all..

maelyn: please check carefully with your company.. if I am not wrong, maternity leave does not count as resign notification.. that mean.. if you want to tender.. you need to tender after your maternity leave.. and serve the company for the notification time..

And some company if they know that you are going to resign.. they may even horribly ask you to resign earlier than your EDD.. they can't fire you but force yourself to resign..

Sorry maelyn.. When I said check carefully with your company.. doesn't mean to ask them directly.. you can check your employee handbook or contract for detail..

for mummies who intend to take no pay leave for more than 1 yr, I wan to ask, for our CPF, cos using to pay housing mah, do we need to ensure a minium sum?

I worry i not enuf if i no income....

Maternity leave > i will not be taking maternity leave earlier cos I am opting for c-sect. Will noe the operation date much earlier and i intend to deliver on a Thurs or Fri so that hb can maximise his pathetic 2 days paternity leave. sigh..

maelyn, best if u serve ur 4mths maternity leave first and then come back and work for a mth or so before resigning. that way ur boss will nto tink that u r taking advantage of the company..haha. that's wat i did for my #1. I took full 4mths, came back in April and left in Oct..cos just happen after i came back, my boss needed an operation so i gotta stand in for her. this tiem round, i will stay till Apr 2012 then ciao!

hunger > i oso feel hungry more often now but the moment see food, i alr feel full! Hahaha.. but i feel like eating all kinds of food, like laksa etc but i dun dare to tell my hb cos this time round, i m trying to keep my weight gain within 10kg!! dun wanna eat like a pig.. :p

kimifin, for wat i understand, no need min sum in ur cfp...if all used up then they will inform u not sufficient fund for deduction, either u put in $$ to ur acct or u pay by cash/chq....

alicia, u actually stock up 16 packs already? wow, that is fast. I dare not buy so much cos scared no breast milk leh.haha. since when u bought? dh said he might not go bkk. he will be at chiang mai, so hopefully there have. 6 shld be enough for first timer right?

feimei,

I did read up a bit, it is for 55yrs and above then need.

I need to plan to make sure i can still finance my flat while on no-pay leave.

will be calling my ins agent to check.

kimifin, is it??? i rem my bro is doing that...his cfp not enuff...becos he use for investment...soo when fund not enuff, they sent u letter to rem u to top up or pay cash/chq worrr...my bro still far fr 55yrs old... =P

kimifin, the minimum of $60K to be maintained in ur CPF is only when you intend to purchase a 2nd property or do investment..but servicing current loan do not have such regulation..cant have lar..haha. once buy flat, cpf wiped out, how can hv $60k almost immediately.. :p

Feimei> the infant care my girl attending not bad. She has been there since she's 2 months plus. Fell sick quite frequently initially but after abt 3 mths, she ok le. Now almost 5 mths we nv visit doc le, except for jabs la. I feel that cos it's the first time they are exposed to so many pple thus will fall sick. This stage will come eventually when we send them to childcare. So now that she's stronger, I think she'll be less likely to fall sick when she's joining playgroup at 18 months. The one she's attending at Cherie Hearts @ Gombak. Fees wise very cheap. $650 after subsidy. But location wise is rather inconvenient if u dun drive. It's inside Mindef. So far to HFMD cases, I find them controlling very well. Nv see any wide spread for since my girl joined. My #2 will be going there as well. ;)

modisch, wow got leakage ah... was contemplating asking dh to buy when he go thai le. hai.. now dunno how.

btw, i see now a lot of ppl looking for infant care le. i still hv not settled this. i dunno what am i gg to do after my ML cos my mum stays in JB and dun think she can come in cos my SIL will be giving birth in 2 weeks time. so i am now avoiding the prob... cos dunno how to solve. i am trying not to hire maid nor place bb in Infant care le. headache

pillow4,

If you dun want maid nor infant care, then another option is nanny lo.. otherwise last option is SAHM [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

just wondering, do we have to look for infant care so soon? I thought when time comes, then start to enquire and can just send our baby in anytime. Or is this too idealistic? hee pardon my ignorance. My MIL also staying in Msia, and dh says doubt she'll want to stay long term in SG cos can't get used to the life here plus all her close siblings back in msia and they always hang out tog. We are also contemplating the option of infant care. My own mum working full time still, so she didnt volunteer/express interest in helping to take care.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Btw i've been down with a bad cough since the beginning of the week. Throat v itchy and i cough till my tummy hurts sometimes. Yest went to see a GP to get cough med..Hope this cough wont affect the bb? it must have been a v bumpy ride for bb this whole week! ha

And that GP ask me to take my weight. and he asked (smilingly) why i gain so much (abt 6-7kg), and told me not to blame it on the pregnancy! He said, do you know you are supposed to only gain 2kg per mth from 4th mth to 10th mth. So total preg weight gain shd be ard 12kg. I have now more than halfway of the weight gain and barely reached 2nd tri! Argh this sounds bad... :'-(

feimei: NTUC has another infantcare which My gal is inside now. Its called Little Skool House. Its expensive coz its at Raffles Plc, near my office. I pay $1k a mth after govt subsidy....cant wait for her to grad to childcare den I will save alot....

pillow: my fren juz went to bkk recently and I asked her to buy for me. hehe. I KS la, scared not enough so I buy more. For my 1st child, I used alot of boxes until not enough, I have to buy from SG which is so exp....

maelyn: agree that its user problem. My boots milkbag also leak once or twice coz I put too full. the bag expanded n broke....so its my fault not the bag fault.

Maelyn: Wooo okie.. cos I always hear people 'work until I got labour pains!" then I wonder is that the norm or what?! Heeee but from initial contractions to the time baby comes out,.. still a lot of time right?

Gals...need ur advise....just Rec a call fr my ex boss to ask me whether interested to go back help him...I hv with him 4 almost 4yrs...I leave becos of some management changes

N furthermore he give me more freedom to do thing benefit is better

As more mtbs knew my present job....is a evil com keep on sly on it's staff..feeling so xin ku to tong till ML

But still hv not improve my ex boss I'm pregg dun know he ok not via go back few mth then go ML

hi sunshinebb, i think you go and talk to your ex boss about the maternity leave. If he agrees, i think if you are more comfortable to work with your ex boss, you go ahead since you mentioned you have an evil company now.. hehe..

kacey> DH drive to work but gg to Gombak abit out of way lol...ntuc got two branches which both r within our reach, i can send bb go n otw to work lol...quite convenient but not sure how good...hv email them, waiting for reply...

alicia> yes, i tink little skool hse is another category for infant care...i oso working in raffles plac...walking dist to raffles place mrt...but as u say...abit ex horrr...hahahaaa...if can save abit...put near my hse, if i can't make it, can ask DH go n fetch bb lol...how long it takes when u enroll ur gal???

ixoral> need to look c look c ard lol...by the time u cfm...already abt time lol...n can start doing calculation on the $$$....time flies n jus a blink of eye...bb will be in our arm ler....

sunshine, agree with wendy, tell him frankly n see what he say, since he is the one asking u back....my co oso re-hire a gal for a few mths n she went for ML...she worked here before as temp but now they re-hire her as perm but that time she join back, she already 5mths lol...now she on ML lol...soo some co did accept preggie lol...go try tok to him...n u can work happily there n bb oso can grow happily.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Girls, mine also same.

Up to four(4) weeks prior to the birth of the child and twelve (12) weeks immediately after the birth of the child. The first eight (8) weeks of leave must be taken continuously.

The final eight (8) weeks can be taken flexibly over a period of twelve (12) months upon manager approval. Minimum leave duration during the last 8 weeks needs to be for at least 1 week.

My company provide reimbursement for health care expenses incurred during the delivery of the child, up to a maximum of S$3,000 per delivery. =)