(2011/07) July 2011

pillow, boots brand - their inhouse brand. I dunno how much is it or how many bags per box. get as many as u can lor..cos if u cannot finish using them, can sell away. sure got ppl buy. last time i used more than 200bags leh..but that's cos i breastfeed for 1 year

ST, 2 way of defrosting. I defrost by taking the milkbag out from freezer the night before and place them in the fridge and they will melt by next morning. to heat up the milk from the milk bag, pour the amt u want to milk bottle, and warm up using hot water or food warmer.

What infantcare did was take out milkbag from freezer, put them in a container, fill the container wif water and then the milk will defrost faster.

modisch: you bought a standalone freezer just for your breast milk? how big is one, is it very expensive? what's going to happen to it after you stop breastfeeding?

I'm also planning babymoon sometime in Mar or April... Most prob to a resort to rest and relax... Have yet to decide where to go...

Shopping dun think will be able to go on shopping spree to HK,JPN or BKK... Need too much walking, also getting breathless very easily...Might go and get bb things during maternity leave though [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

coopie, no lar..i din buy standalone freezer..cos my freezer at home is empty one and it's 2-layer so can store quite alot. Need to stack the milkbags properly! I hv extra milk i store in my son's school freezer when he was in infantcare and then some i store in office's freezer (oso empty)..haha

but my sis bought a standaloen freezer after breastfeeding, sell away as well

I personally feel that latching is more convenient then expressing out.

Cos latch, no need to wash the pumping items and no need to warm up milk etc..

but sometimes need to express if bb did not drink a lot and got engorgement.

I quite lazy to pump esp in the wee morning...

modisch, tks for the explaination. at least now i am clearer... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

coopie/ST: I bought a standalone freezer as well. It cost me $200+, not cheap. I breastfeed for 1 yr so i have ALOT of milk. haha. My house 2 layer freezer also not enough. My hb faints each time he sees it and I even use the milk to do milk mask on him n myself. LOL. I gave my mum to do milk bath too!

Hi modisch...oh i see...hmm so seems like milk bags is a must for mummies who BF. Coz last time ppl use milk bottles...fridge must be very big then can store so many milk bottles. Oh so you put your 1st cild in infant care? how is it? i am thinking of putting mine in infant care after i go back to work but so far ppl who knows are discouraging me coz they say bb easy get sick. i dont want a maid coz difficult to monitor, so thought of infant care.

pinkyrose: there are apparently different methods of calculating the trimester periods, but the most common one is to treat the 1st trimester as being the 1st 12 weeks.

As for babymoon, going to HK is definitely safe don't worry! You can tell your DH about my friend who in the FIRST trimester, already went to Thailand and UK. In the second, she's going to Japan and then nearing the third, she's going to UK again and then flying from UK to New York before coming back to Singapore! Her doctor said ok to all this.

I was so inspired by her, I'm going to the States for my babymoon too haha. Apparently the baby stuff there is alot cheaper, so am going for a mega shopping trip [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Alicia...the breastmilk can do milk mask? effective ah? so funny...1st time heard this...if next time i have alot of milk can do also..haha

Modisch: hahah you store in the office freezer??? I think some male colleagues would freak out if they knew hahaha.

But OMG Alicia's milk mask and milk bath is even more hilarious!!!!!!! I can't imagine my DH agreeing to putting my breast milk on his face, ur hubby is cool!!

ST, i will also discourage u to go infantcare unless really no choice n u cannot find bbsitter that is good.

my son indeed did fall sick very often. See PD for flu n cough almost every 2 weeks! Expensive, not good for his long term health.

Pro is they get to mix ard with other babies so they are more sociable and will not develop stranger anxiety.

i pulled him out after 7mths!

modisch..thnaks for the advise...i am in a dilema also...my mum is quite old already so she cant take care of my bb coz she still have to do housework. hmm will give a thought to this.

modisch, how many mths when u send ur son to infantcare? looks like i will oso need to put in infantcare if i can't find reliable bbsitter...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

feimei, when he is 3mths old.. that time heavily subsidised rate cos i was a bank staff and with $600 mcys subsidy, i onie pay $388 per mth! cheaper than bbsitter but medical fee oso high. each tiem visit pd, $250 gone! Hahaha..

get someone to recommend bbsitter.. good bbsitter is hard to find but hv oso. how i find is through word of mouth. i ask the grocery shop aunty to ask the aunties ard my estate and then bbsitter from tampines called me too! dun undermine these aunties..very power!

pillow: milkbags can only be used once so that's y gotta but ALOT to stock up. So far, boots milkbags is still the cheapest n good! 120 baht/ 40 bags....I already stock up 16 boxes at home!

coopie: HAHA, my hb find it gross too but I dun care, make him drink n put on his face. lol. but my mum, she likes it, she said makes her skin very soft!

feimei: I send my gal to infantcare at 4+ mths....she caught HFMD during 6 mths...n indeed fall sick quite often, always kena flu...but i also dun like maid so choice....

pillow: you should not recycle milkbags as they are pre-sterilize.. wash and dry not as clean.. baby tummy v. vulnerable.. must take good care..

modisch: I use Lansinoh ok leh.. max up about 11-12oz.. (exceed then risk to burst).. I used the standalone deep freezer.. doc said can keep as long as 6 months.. if use home freezer I think around 3 months..

Last time I got so much stock till I fill the whole deep freezer and have to give away some a few times..

Wow Alicia

Tht a gd idea...but dun know whether hv lots of milk...presently I m Hving this needle poking feeling everyday on my left boobs...so painful sometimes in office wish to put my hand in Yo massage...lol it is always on the left side so m thinking maybe left side will produce more milk...wohaha

Mtbs...know wht..Hubby was telling me he wnt to taste the milk raw...

chujie, i always fill up to 250ml!! sometimes more cos if each pump yields 300, then gotta split to 2bags, troublesome. lansinoh is cheap too..but later part i switch to blue egg, can store 300ml no prob but i store them standing up, even defrost oso must place them in standing position..haha

maelyn, i bought my lansinoh from the WTS section..mabbe that mummy kept too long their, the sides are not good alr? i dunno..even at infantcare the teacher n other mummies said Lansinoh no good wor..n they all used blue egg, so i oso switch..

Alicia: hahah glad your milk is being put to extremely good use!! Maybe you can use it to cook as well? Breast milk pork chops/ beef stew etc ;)

Sunshine: hmm that sounds a bit kinky to me hehe...

thanks for ur info, modisch and alicia!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

if i still in tamp, i simply can find bbsitter easily becos some of my frenx mum r bbsitter...but now i in jurong...very 'mo-sheng' to this area...soo abit difficult to hunt down gd ppl....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] will still try to look for bbsitter but need to hv backup plan too lol...infant care!!! -,-"

kimifin,

I also got the Avent Via cups. But I feel its quite expensive ler.. I bought a set for my son's puree. I ever asked Phillips Consumer whether can use more than 6 times, they say can. They specify 5 times coz they scared the via cups will be out of shape. As long as can close properly, does not leak, its ok to use.

I'm also one of the mum's that will not want maid... So cmost likely will also have to send to infant care...

My colleagues ask me to start looking around early as most gd infant care places also have a long wait list....

Planning to send bb there once 3 mths before I start to go back to work... Well will play by ear when time comes i suppose... Praying that my mum willing to help me to take care at least till 18 mths... Although she has been a SAHM for 20+ yrs nw that we are all grown up she is enjoying her freedom too much to be tied down again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I can get discounted price for avent... But cos need to ask Fren to help me buy. If u really keen, I m ok to help buy.

i oso hv avent cup cos i used the manual pump from avent (no good) haha

yes yes, better start looking for infantcare cos not many places have and remember to look at the teachers qualification etc.. those good ones hv very long q

modisch: I actually put them in lying position when freeze.. cuz it is consume lots of space if standing.. and as lansinoh got zipper.. lying position also don't leak.. flat flat easy to store in freeze.. But I usually put the new pack in the flag area to freeze, next day then stack up with other packs.. I mainly like it cuz of the zipper.. some other need to use strap.. might leak easily..

And one thing.. you cannot drop the pack once it is frozen.. then it might really leak when defroze..

Sunshine - ur hubby very cute

My best friend tasted his wife de Liao he regretted.. Say east like perspiration.. Say smelly smelly haha...

chujie, i freeze them standing. once frozen place them lying down. i do agree lansinoh bag is slimmer compared to pigeon or blue egg but i still hv prefernce towards blue egg cos it's thicker n they have this side hold when pouring will not leak.

Hi Ladies..

Just went for my appointment this morning. I'm 14w3days and baby is doing great, growing well and at 7.6cm already. weeeee!!!!

Next appointment, I should be able to find out the gender at 19w plus. It'll be an emotional day for me and Hubby. After that, shopping for clothes will start!!!!

I'm starting Obimin and Fish Oil today. Both pills sux big time. Smelly & huge. aarrgghh!!!

Enjoy the journey, ladies!!

Congrats BellaTwins! Yeah shopping for clothes is the best part about knowing the sex--can't understand those who don't wanna know the sex till the baby's born--how to buy clothes like that?? Haha.

Infantcare: not sure where you all live but heard of this very famous one somewhere in the north if not wrong, run by the ex St Nick's principal. Dunno the name though, you may wanna ask around. Supposed to be super long queue so better book early!

hi feimei, sent you the list le.. =)

Hi guys, how long before you guys taking maternity leave? My boss asked me to submit my maternity leave soon.. haha.. My EDD is July 12th, so i think i will take 1st July off till end of October. She asked me if i need to take extra days off to rest as well after the 4 mths leave.. =) But i think i will just take that 4mths first and see how. As i am handling APJ region myself in my company and working alone in asia (Boss in UK), thus have to get a temp in to cover me.

I also got issue with taking care of bb after my leave. After sorting out, my mil says she will get her friend to come in to our place and take care of bb as she is experienced. She dun like the idea of maid taking care though we have one. So, that auntie will help during office hours and come to our house instead (i stayed with pil) as she can peep and take care when she is free at home. So, luckily this is settled. I intend to send bb to childcare only after 18 mths.

So many things to plan ahead.. cant wait to start shopping after knowing bb gender! hehe..

Hi maelyn, sent to ur email already. hehe.. Girls, the cl list i compiled are all recommendations i found online through this forum and sgmummy. i copy and paste the whole comments as well so hope it helps. =) The list contains bad experience CL as well in a separate document.

Appreciated ur sharing, wendy! Thanks very much! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Woww...soo nice of ur boss leh...i worried mine will ask me back by 3rd mth n let me take last mth in flexible day...gt pro n cons, hv to realli tink abt it!!!

Infant care: i found out that ntuc did hv infant care leh...shld be ok bahhh....let me post the link tmr at office or u gals can google on My first skool...they hv quite a num of ctr...jus jurong west gt 2 tat is near me!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi feimei, ya lor.. got pros and cons leh.. i still thinking should i take 3 months den last mth flexible not.. haha.. but i saw alot of comments say "never enough" haha.. I realize hor, govt says is 4 mths but not full 4 mths lor.. It is counted 28days per month, so is 112days (including weekends and PH). Argg.. So if i take on 4th July, my last day of leave is on 21st October.. haha.. i thought till end of October.. =( My boss is pretty supportive and ask me today if i have issue with taking care of bb after that ( i think she scared i quit). Haha.. Maybe she is an ang mo, so she is more flexible.

I just filled up the declaration form for employee and normally the form need to be submitted to HR one month before (various companies might diff), cos HR need to process them. My boss asked me to do all these now lor, so she can planned and company got enough time to process the leave.

So if wan BF must prepare a lot of milk bags?

Thanks for sharing the info. I tot just let the baby drink from the breast will do

Mummies, i need help here.. Today i am beginning to regain appetite n i am happy.. But the prob is aft i ate a meal aft an hr i began hungry again n starts to shiver as though nv eat earlier on n will vomit out if i nv get anything to eat.. I nv exp this before during my first preg.. Being hungry is normal but i keep shivering n vomit out.. Any one exp this?????

wendy, ya....to be exact shld be 112days, my co stated this very clear! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but ok la, we will get 6days of child care leave....hahahahaha...my big boss oso ang mo but is a He...guy mre bo chap whereas gal mre supportive!!! Hv nt ask my boss wat is his plan yet...my immed boss is a typical stingy local...dun tink he will hire temp for me, the worse senarios, ask my other team mate cover me then they will die!! n when i back, their turn to take leave n i will work like hell.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] best is trf someone fr other branch...but c hw he plan lol cos i m his 1st female employee! Hahahhaaha