(2011/07) July 2011

Nana

I pray that you'll be fine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] up till now I still do not have the guts to start work.

Hi all MTBs! Have been a silent reader for the past few mths as was too lazy to register and log on, but decided to finally do so since it's a new year ;) hope i can join u gals!

My EDD is 17 july and i've just started my 2nd trimester today, based on a 12week calculation. I did my oscar scan at almost 11 weeks as wanted to be able to tell relatives at xmas. Looks like i'm expecting a boy cos he showed his thing loud and proud during the scan haha! Knowing so early is probably not a good thing tho, cos started shopping for baby clothes online already hehe.

Re stretch marks cream: heard mustela double action cream is good, tho one friend complained it gave her rashes. I received a clarins huile oil for xmas and have started using- it's super cheap at seoul airport, only usd 30plus apparently- so if u know pple going there for holiday, can ask them to help u buy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hope everyone will feel less ill soon! 2nd tri's supposed to be the best part of pregnancy and we're supposed to glow then- am still patiently waiting haha :p

Selling this playpen with changing mat @ $95 in original packaging. Almost brand new & comes with mattress + bedsheet free. Kindly PM me if interested. Thanks.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4957469.jpg]

Morning all MTB, so excited to be going back to work atfer being on leave for 3 wks +...

Say goodbye to my afternoon naps... Afraid that I will fall aslp in office... Any tips to keep awake? I can just imagine looking at the pc screen and spacing out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi mtb

does anyone have headaches everyday?

im having that and on some special days,i hv bad migraine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

pinkrose, i hv bad migraine during 1st tri...i hv history of migraine before preggie but long time did not relapse but after know i m preggie, it come back....actually, ending of 1st tri, i getting better...jus slight headache on n off...soo now into 2nd tri, better off...

no choice la....part of the package, tolerate with it, very fast u will give it a pass....Jia U!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wah my colleague is eating lontong in the office. I really want to MERLION [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif](((

mtbs- is this OSCAR test a must?im 27 and my colleagues say no need for me to take the test..

its meant for those 30 and above..

im in dilemma now to take or not to take

pinky: not true. My husband's aunt gave birth to a DS kid when she was 25.. Age plays a part but its not the only factor for DS.. I am 26 and I still went for the oscar.. But some mummies dont go for it cos they will not consider termination of pregnancy even if baby is tested positive for DS.. so its really your choice if you want to go for it..

pinky > i also having headaches these few days. sometimes it starts in the afternoon, sometimes after dinner time.

hehe.. not sure how true.. But i was told, if during preggy and cannot stand the smell of fish, means having girl.

Hihi morning

welcome coopie... Wow so early 11wk can see gender me gg for my scan next fri hopefully can see the stick 2 hehehe

Yaya n lynn

My constipation better Liao hv try the prune yoghurt can work so happy

Seems like many wish for boy!

Xinyue, if so, i dun really like fish. Count or nt?

Sunshinebb, thats great. I was passing lots of gas in this wee morning! Stomach nw nt so bloated. Nausea got better liao. jus only got queasy at times..

Hello mummies!!!

cannot wait till tmr, i emailed my nurse to ask abt my blood test results!!! she checked and got back to me that everything ok!!! blood test result combine with scan result...bb is at low risk for DS!!! God Bless....one stone down!!!

Hope all mummies gg for oscan scan will hv good results too!!! Jia U....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi pinkyrose, thanks! Yah was surprised to find out the gender so early but actually, already had a feeling it was a boy cos my nose was getting rounder by the day :p Plus this Chinese physician (whom I saw in early days of pregnancy and who felt my pulse) plus facialist (who probably deduced from my awful dry skin) had also told me they thought I was having a boy. Funny how all these old wives tales came true in my case! I haven't tried the ring test yet though.

Re oscar test, I think no harm going for it regardless of age as it will give you peace of mind that baby's ok. Even if you won't terminate if (TOUCHWOOD) really DS, at least you will be mentally/ emotionally prepared before the baby comes and can make special arrangements re childcare etc? But it's a personal choice so up to you!

If you really don't want, maybe an alternative is to ask the doctor during your next scan if he can see if the baby has a thick neck and whether the nose bridge looks ok enough. Not a guarantee that it'll be ok, but usually if no thick neck apparently it should be ok. My doc had already indicated even before my oscar test that she thought the baby should be fine, based on what she could see from the scan.

Re headaches: I get these on and off though not as bad as yours. Supposed to be a side effect of pregnancy, unfortunately. Hang in there!

Btw re strollers: have been advised that it's good to buy the kind where the baby faces the mother (and not outside). Supposed to build confidence for the baby and also you can continue to talk to and stimulate him as you push the pram. But I also would like my baby to see the outside world sometimes so trying to look for those strollers that can go both ways.

i would love a stroller that have both functions,face in and out, and as a car seat as well...hahaaa

save $$ but those that can be used as car seat that i came across, all only for babies up til less than a year.haa

coopie, u meant chinese sin-seh can tell if boy or gal from pulse reading??? i hv been with a chinese sin-seh after my 1st m/c till i got preggie again...he hv been nursing me back to health but i seen him once after i know i m preggie n i hv not been good gal to take his med...soo not sure wan to go back see him again...

feimei- congrats.1 less worry... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

can email nurse one huh?heehee....

Hello everyone.. Hv nt been loggng in for a few days. Hws everyone doing? Ytd marked 12 wks for me.. I am feeling much better nw. But still hv to wait another wk b4 can see bb.. Missed baby so much.. Hope everyone is doing fine..

congrats Feimei!

i will be going for the OSCAR scan this coming thursday morning. Pray hard that everything will goes well for me too! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wow sigh so 'not easy' to come to the much awaited for 12th weeks but yesterday a sudden bout of fresh bleeding with clots brought me to the gynae urgently panicking and in tears thinking 'this is it' liao...

thankfully the baby was ok at the scan, ok heartbeat and even bouncing a few times kicking and waving....

but gynae says now got to monitor until another 4 more weeks before I can relax...... sigh....

yaya.. not sure leh.. but i cannot stand the smell of fish.

did you dont like fish before preggy?

these days, my craving is bee tai mak soup.

Had that for lunch yest and today.

As i'm still on MC today, i bought an extra pack of chix rice for my tea break.

On the way home, the chix rice smell made me so nausea that i regretted buying it.

Reached home, gave my MIL the whole pack of chix rice. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/kao_confused.gif]

Pinky: I had my OSCAR when i was 28, pregnant with my 1st child. At that time i blur blur, doc say take, then i take lor. I think if $$ is not an issue for you, i think it will be good to go for OSCAR.

Coopie : Wah, that's early. I'm secretly hoping for a boy to complete the "hao" word. However, when i ask my daughter whether the new baby will be a girl/boy, she say girl. I'm still keeping my fingers crossed.

Re: Kaki Bukit Babystores

I have to agree with Daph. I went there when i had my first child, and my hubby and i do not like the service there. I find them pushy at times and prices are not all that cheap; although they do have many items under 1 roof. I think baby sales in departmental stores are better for value *especially those items they have marked out for reduced price*

Re: Stroller

Definately can buy later. I bought my stroller before baby was born, but in the end I didn't use it until baby was almost 1 year old. She hates to sit in the stroller and prefers to be carried.

jas > hehe.. same same.. i prefer soupy stuffs nowadays.

pinky > also take note that there is no 100% results for all these tests.

sunshine: yeah I'm on 1 week MC now.. supposed to start work back at school today but hubby say "baby don't wanna go to school" hope won't be the case when my baby grows up!

Gynae asked me if I strained myself carrying things or walking/exercising a lot but I really don't remember anything out of ordinary I did in the last few days. She could see some patches of blood near my waterbag but not coming from baby but the bleeding had stopped now.. no more fresh bleeding.. but really nearly 'heart attack'!

Yes Hui really will get heart attack...so now u must be gd gal rest on bed dun move ard ask Hubby to treat u like a queen... Tht is wht I do... Cos my mum had Alrdy give me warning not to do any household... Wht I do is when working sit till knock off n at home rest on bed...even walking also like old granny

my Maclaren XT was rather well utilised by my #1.

But for #2, before he could walk, we carried him most of the time as he didn't like to sit in the stroller.

and when he started walking, all the more he doesn't want to sit in the stroller.

so now it's kept in the storeroom, for #3.

Hui: oh no so scary...pls rest well!

Anyone planning overseas holiday trp before they deliver? I'm thinking of going to HK next mth to enjoy before I deliver...else with 2 kids + im moving house end yr, I dun think I will have time to travel.....

hui.... wow.... u better take a gd rest ok. dun carry heavy things ya.

mummies... i will be having scan tomolo noon. so woli woli ;( scare the results nt gd. hw hw hw!!

thanks alicia and suying... will try my best to nuah... what to do..baby don't want me to work throw tantrum like this...

Hey I wonder MTBs, think flying no problem for 2nd trimester but how about err.. ferry/boat transportation huh?? Any pantangs or whatever?!

coopie - nice! at 11 week you found out about the gender of your baby le =D

Alicia - xie mu u~ i cant go oversea le.. my school starting in 10 Jan.. and its all the way to May/June =( by then.. too big to travel..

congrats coopie....

hpoing dat my result for tomolo will be gd & oso as lucky as u to knw the gender ;)

Hui: hmm, have never heard of any pantang abt ferry/boat...should be safe too!

I hope i can find out the gender at my scan this sat too....excited to find out so i can start getting or buying clothes...hehe. If its gal den I dun have to buy anything, all re-use from no. 1 haha.

anyone have any idea where to get affordable maternity wear? been to kiddy palace and those maternity shops at vivo. all are quite ex to me.

those at kiddy palace seems small for me.. as in, they seems to last till at most 6 mths preggy kind. not all the way till full term.

Gd afternoon all MTBs/Mummies! been a long time since i posted..hees *still in holiday mood*

Am also thinking of going on a "Babymoon" with dh in March maybe, before the little one comes out..prob to a beach resort to relax :p I just flew to Msia last week, no issue w the plane pressure or anything though.

I'm looking forward to my next gynae visit this coming sat.. it's been a long wait of 4 weeks! Hope everything is ok.. My gynae will be booking my DS scan appt when i go see her..hope to get the appt date asap..get it over n done with! Envy those who have theirs cleared and with good results..congrats! Coming to my 12th week tomorrow only.. Happy for those who have graduated from 1st tri!

thanks, pinky/sunshine/yaya!!!!

pinky, yes, my nurse give me her email add...so i trouble her to ask my qns to gynae lol...hahahaha....anyway, i will need to send her my wkly glucose reading for recording purpose, so need to email her as well....

suying, dun worry. ur bb will be fine. hopefully u can see gender tmr.

now having stomachache. think the fried kuey teow i ate at banquet is not cooked properly. or i accidently ate the cockles. feel so terrible now.

xinyue... ya lo. exp. i think nt worth it plus im nt getting maternity wear oso same for undergarments. cos i cant get use. so will be wearing normal wear but size could be bigger.... ;)

Congrats to those with good results and good luck to those who haven't gone for their oscar tests yet! Hope your babies open their legs big big too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Feimei: yah my Chinese sinsei (from Eu Yan Sang) felt my pulse and said she thought it was a boy. This was like a few days after I found out I was pregnant, and I wasn't sure whether to believe her, but turns out she was right, funny huh. I haven't gone back since and actually stopped taking the medicine after a few days cos it made me feel more nauseous than ever....I felt sick just thinking about drinking those things!

Never heard about pantang re travelling by boat, I think should be ok? The only thing I can think of is if you're still feeling nauseous, the boatride may make you feel worse?

I'm definitely going on a babymoon too, in March--goodness knows when the next holiday will be once the baby comes!

suying > for me, i think normal clothes cannot fit into in next few months.. till now, still can wear la.. so need to hunt for affordable maternity clothes.. i got no lobang somemore.