(2011/07) July 2011

Audrey, yes expecting twins...

I am considering what u r saying lor...I told my dh maybe we siong for the 1st 18 mths, then put them at childcare more affordable. Cos if ask my mum to quit means she will lose all medical benefits/freedom also...and I scared will hv conflicts when comes to tk care of babies.

U r right lor, give her $800 at the beginning, I not sure hw much to give her when the babies grow up...so this is something we need to consider...really headache.

Thanks all. I am actually worried..

I actually planned and paid for my Europe trip (2 weeks away from now) and can't cancel now. I will be in my 10th week when I travel. I have checked with gynae and he said it is alright to travel but lots of my friend asked me to forsake the trip.

I'm in a dilemna now... I really wanted to go for this trip and din expect to get preggie at this moment. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

talk about choosing hospital..

Mt Alvernia is the cheapest le =D supposingly cheaper den KK! =D and can have the BCG at the pigu! LOL (i feel so auntie)

Babychole - i wanna go for classes.. esp now so free... its sch holi will 2nd week jan.. u got lobang? yoga, pilates also nvm.. =D

My fren paid $700 for nanny for 1 and $1200 for 2. So I think nanny also cheaper but means I need to look around for good nanny soon...

babychole> can totally understand your situation. i think gg to infantcare is definitely more ex. why dun u ask ur mum to help and then hire a maid to help her? in a way, u can still ask e maid to help u wif some household chores.

audrey> its good tat you n hubby r having a great time. its a way you and him communicate. different couples uses different methods to express their love for each other. hmm...i m thinking shd i start calling my hubby 'daddy' now instead of 'darling'. later bb come out, call 'darling'. hahahaa

karen, if I were u, I will choose not to travel...possible to delay till u pass 1st tri? cos u need to consider the time difference, food, alot of walking etc? I not sure whether u hv MS and whether u can tahan during the trip lei.

audrey, deliver in KKH is not v cheap lor...what is BCG at the pigu?

I no lobang, thinking of going to prenatal classes which teaches us to take care,bathe babies etc but I not sure whether useful or not since we can learn these from CL and mum.

Babychole - I was hoping for twins! can Siew Gang.. den my hubby tell me. if i kenna 2 x girls how.. LOL..

yah.. have to be fair to mummy.. own mummy somemore.. =p ah boh.. if u dink.. 800 still siong hor.. pass her 600 or what.. den u do marketing for her lahh..

Jan - the room which i wanna let my CL stay is a maid room (floor plan write utility rm lah, more like a store room) LOLOL... and thats the only spare room i have lor.. see if the CL mind anot lor..

karen> cant you postphone e trip or try to put another name for you? sure in dilemna coz e package must be ex. which part of europe you gg?

audrey> yippee! i m definitely gg to mt alvernia plus my parents' hse very near.

bbchole, audrey,

dolphin posted before, got a centre that takes in 4mth infant leh....search for learnvision...tink the price abt the same as wat audrey mentioned....but of cos 4mth infant abit more ex becos they still very young....but if leave to nanny, also must find a trust-worthy one leh...haiz~~~thats the headache part!!!

sunshine,

i shld be taking 12wks only, the last mth will be taking as n when bb need to go for chkup...my boss will nag if i took full 16wks...he will go crazy!!!

Babychole - if deliver at KK.. they have the BCG jab at the arm.. and if its private hospital.. BCG jab at the buttock.. =) i wanna deliver in KK.. incase of any emergency.. i wun need to rip my bank account to pay for it..

audrey... wow... shopping shopping. so envy. i dun even have the mood.

janice... having taitai life... seems like all r gd life here. so envy ;) true oso as u knw spore... dunno will ppl employ part timer anot. by dat time u already 4mths le lo.

babychole... my BT is next tue plus seeing Dr. Loh at clinc D. scanning will be Jan. im oso taking Package B which cost S$321.00(we gt to pay half during our BT) if u dun mind can help mi check the private suit consultation timing. i might wan to change if the Q is nt as long as clinic D. ;)

hui... yes.. i having the same crump as u b4. last nite... i was in sharp pain n crump again too. dunno y like dat.

karen... y nt postpone yr trip. inform yr agency dat u r in such situation. bo pian lo. otherwise i knw u will oso lugi lei!!!

Audrey, I will hv to look into nanny then will consider mum...hehe...cos I scared if 18 mths put babies in childcare, then hor, my mum hw?

I dun mind 2 girls, but I kw my ILs sure unhappy de lor...but I dun care...

Audrey> Oh you in NIE! Bravo to be studying and being preggie too. Btw have you checked with admin office rdging your benefits? When my fren gave birth while in NIE, she dun have maternity leave, or seemed like it. Better ask 1st.

Hui> Are you also a teacher? If so, YES! maternity leave can offset bond de!

Karen: I was also travelling when I realised I had conceived. Do be careful not to carry heavy things, pack light and ask hubby to carry EVERYTHING for u okie? Another thing I found was I became cold very easily - Europe is very cold now - you might want to get some extra heat packs. Otherwise, everything was ok when I got back, the flying itself didn't affect the baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jan - we call the beanie 那个瓜 and 小瓜 LOL ... which i dink is mean lahh.. will give a proper nick to call when i know it is boy or girl.. i have friends who call beanie 小朋友 even till the baby is delivered.. so cute

feimei, leaving babies with 3rd party is always worrying, bt no choice for working mums...sigh!

Audrey, oh, will hv BCG and Hep B jab at the same time. I just sign the form for approval to jab once they come out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I hv no choice but to deliver in KK cos twins ma....who is yr gynae? U choose le ma? I heard Dr John Tee is not bad, u can consider.

bbchole> Me teacher... so can take max up to 2 yr childcare leave, unpaid lar. Just that when report for work again, MOE may post to a new sch. Some of my colleagues give birth, take 2 yr leave, some back preg again then disappear again. Wahhaha!

Suying: Yeaah! Dunno why also [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] in the end every morning wake up feel stoned!

babyJOsh: I am but not an MOE teacher [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I teach in a special school but I think also can use to offset bond :p

Audrey: Ur hubby and u so cute! hahaha I imagine the baby helping u to 'block' ur bladder!

Audrey...me 2 love shopping now nowsdayevery 30min hv to find a bench to sit down n rest n feeling breathless...also backache too if stand too long...now hope tummy show up faster hopefully ppl tend to be kind enough to offer their seat in the bus/mrt for me...

Janice...heard fr my gf...aft she give birth the nurse will pass the form 4 u to fill to apply for the bb bonus

ya babychole...waiting time at TPS is better n they also hv msg service to inform u when is abt ur turn...cos my visit during the evening slot aft work...so i also go 4 dinner 1st...love their milo thr (can help urself)...hehehe

Suying...the nurse hv not inform me or make appt for the oscar test maybe still early ba

Yes Hui...i m those once slp will oni wake up the in the morning type...even heavy rain also won't wake up de...but aft pregg..i wake up at 2times something is to pee, will wake up ard 3am n 5am...dun know is it too caution will wake up to check on my slping position scare i slp on my tummy...LOL

Stylomilo....hmm think at long we serve the notice period sign in our appt letter shld be ok...now can't stand my com mangement hope to go asap

babychole - I do not have MS. The trip can't be delayed or cancelled cos part of the trip was sponsored by my company [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] All application form has been submitted and approved.

jan-ice - I'll be going to Paris, Venice, Rome, Milan and Amsterdam. 18 days in total.. F&E

What I did was to take the an tai pills from chinese physician plus folic acid...

BabyJosh - i m delivering after i have grad.. hehe.. i calculated properly for 3 years liao.. and i heng heng got it the 1st month i try =p hehee.. Bravo part is.. i'll be serving my practicum when my tummy is at its biggest... studying part is not the tiring one..

BabyChole - tats why i was asking u to think for ur mummy after the 1st 18month lro.. cant possibly reduce her $ also mah.. haha

feimei - 4mth sounds good lehh.. i might consider putting at 5th month liao.. =D

hui> sounds super good. she meets all my criteria. Dr Joycelyn Wong. is her charges ex?? also traveling will be a big issue for me. no car and me only take mrt. is there a free shuttle to thomson?

babychole> can understand. my mum also working. anyway my mum-in-law already agreed to care for e grandchild. only prob is e CL now.

Feimei, hui,

You're most welcomed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'm really speaking from my experience and really want you girls to enjoy during that crucial one month period.

Modisch

Mine I paid $2000. Abit expensive but I really don't mind as long as they are good. When she came I gave $20 angbao, when she left I gave $200 coz she also cook for my in-laws. (in-laws buay pai seh, ask her to cook for them.) chey!

Audrey

I assigned a separate room for CL to sleep with bb. That room has air con but CL doesn't turn it on. Think for bb's sake or something. Don't worry abt bb feeling hot. they are usually warmly swaddled in the first week or so coz they are cold and needs comfort. (imagine that time the moment bb came into his cot my mil adjusted the fan and blow directly on bb. Claimed that bb is very hot. Use brain also know that bb should be feeling cold la, been in our warm womb for 9 months leh! Thank God CL say, cannot blow wind directly. So CL words powerful MIL also must listen. if I say you think she will listen meh? Wahah!)

suying, TPS operates every Wed (3pm to 720pm) and Fri (2-5pm) for Dr Loh's schedule. My package B costs abt $410 cos twins more expensive.

Janice:honestly I didn't compare charges...cos I went to see a few other gynaes before her due to hormonal issues and all, and think she is the best so far. she will 'help' to save money for u too like suggest u buy vitamins elsewhere etc. There isn't a free shuttle unfortunately [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Normally I take MRT to Novena and grab a cab down or something if the hubby can't fetch me there.

hui - Thanks for your advice. Now the problem is I'm travelling with few gfs. So probably I have to take care of my own luggage. I just got to be more careful and walk slower..

babyjosh, at least u hv an option to tk longer childcare leave or not. Pte sector is a no-no lor.

sunshinebb, u with Dr Loh also? I agree TPS is better. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hehe...

karen, if cannot postpone, then u hv to take extra care when travel. Its better u can let ppl ard u who travel with u to kw u r preggie so that they can tk care of u.

Babychole - i will assign a gynea in my 2nd Trimester =p i m under subsidy now.. dun waste it.. cos many many test to do.. save $$ .. hehe.. i have a few gyneas in mind.. John T is one of them...

BabyJosh - Serious ah? 2 years? but i must finish bond anot? I m thinking of making use of my 3year bond to give birth to 3 kiddos leh..LOL =p if cant get the 2 years UPL den can consider stay longer..

Hui - yah.. we raise 2 hands up.. pretend we are the beanie to block the bladder lor.. or use the shoulder to block.. LOL.. so silly lahh.. people outside tot we are crazy.. not like we care.. den sometimes we do the swimming gestures.. LOL ...

Sunshine - yeap... must rest regularly de.. taech u how to get a seat in MRT.. kip rubbing ur lower tummy =D LOL denw hen ppl let u sit hor.. hold ur lower tummy while sitting down.. LOL it works for me .a.a hahahah ...

Sunshine: [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/proud.gif] Cannot sleep on tummy!?! Something I accidentally will find I do that! uh Oh anything to worry at night!

karen: Maybe one thing to 'reassure' yourself is perhaps find where you can locate a gynae at the different parts of your trip. Just in case you need to find one to check you up, you already know where to go? I think if u get travel insurance, shd be able to claim for it?

audrey,

yalol...will try to tok to my boss when dates nearer, if he allow mi to take 16wks, then 5mth i can bring beanie to infant care lol...no need headache find nanny...infant care all trained nanny, oso more safer then leaving to 'stranger' nanny bahhh...but...still need to discuss with DH...he sure got alot of qns one...unless he quit to take care, i go work....hahahahaha....

sunshine... oso a shoping queen same as audrey. really have the mood to shop sia. mi will normally shop online only. no time for resting at all. lollzz... or im being too lazy???

so u r in TPS too?? So the waiting time is much shorter/better dan clinc D. If so i might wan to change. even since i gv an ans. during my last visit. they had make a appt for mi within the day. unless u haven gv them a ans. dats y no appt make for the scan.

Hui... mi too pee a lot at nite. jus like non-stop. N am wake up i feel so sleepy.

Karen: Do pack light and use roller trolley yeah. Tell ur gfs ba.. if kerb down kerb they can help you. Cannot paisay, just need to ask for help :D I'm sure they will be more than happy to assist you one! Don't be garang okie! Its for the pea's sake!

tt time when I was travelling, I try to be garang, continue to carry my backpack and end up I had quite bad spotting later part of the trip. Worry like siao cos dunno where to find gynae...

babychole - for singleton .. undersubsidy, package B, i paid 150.. =p i m so unwilling to move out of my subsidy zone .. but no choice.. the tot of trainee gynea delivering for me.. i wanna faint le.. scared they anyhow sew my opening.. midwives not that bad.. but trainee... omg.. maybe i overreacted..

suying> no job = no income..no good. i guess everything is fated for me coz didnt realised preg can be soooo hard.

audrey> hehee..so funny. i already keep saying your son your son.. i m desperate to have a bb boy.

sunshinebb> thanks all for e infor on bb bonus.

karen> wow so many places, you better take care. btw you can hop onto those tour buses which will cover all the places of interest. then you dun have to walk. but must paid. got 1 day or 2 day passes. also another note while buying your metro tickets, be beware of some ladies who walked up to you and offered to help you coz of e language barrier on the screen. Coz after purchasing your tickets, your remainders coins or notes will be snatch away by them. they will NOT return you back, saying you have to pay for their services.

audrey, really can save alot under subsidy hor...I hv been a pte patient ever since I choose Dr Loh...so no choice, now cannot chg back to subsidy liao.

Babychloe, I'm in a similar position as u. Both of us working, my mum doesn't even live near me n I dun have a mil at all. I'm stuck between maid, infantcare which is gg to cost alot, babysitter, I really am lost on this. My mum goes on holiday all e time n I dun wana tie her down. Infantcare close at 7 n I usually finish work at 9pm or maybe slightly earlier. Tat is my challenge. Maid n bb sitter I'm not too sure abt tat. Headache la whenever I think abt it.

Sometimes I wish I had a mil to help me out. I live only with my Hubby n fil. Living with bachelors u can imagine la. When I think of CL I also got headache, Hubby ask me to stay with my mum for 1 month n he will stay with me too. But If I get a CL to stay with me at my mums, where is e CL gg to sleep n all. If I take her 9 to 5pm I can't expect my mum to feed at

night n I can't have my rest too.. Confuse n troubled.

babychole: u r right KKH is not cheap as we thou...my 1st vist cost $180+ 2nd vist cost $120+ total is abt $300 liao...understand some clinic hv package aft 1st tri oni $500+ this package will include all ur visit to c ur gune except pill u hv to buy.

hv ask KKH to e-mail me the cost of deliver liao...we hv to choose A1 or A2 ward inorder ur gyne to deliver 4 u....think A1 ward aft cpf still hv to pay abt cash 2k+ for normal delivery

mine gyne is DR John Tee

Jan - i wan a baby boy too... my MIL hopes for a girl (she is crazy!)

feimei - bosses in private sector really that mean de ah ? imagine they deprive u of ur 16weeks.. ask u go back in say... 8 weeks.. omg!

what about no pay leave lehh...

in NIE.. if it is exam week.. u nid to go back for exam irregardless when u gib birth (eg.. the day b4) and if its is school term.. they gib u 2 weeks maternity break.. o.0" if not happy.. they can choose to break bond and pay the liquidate losses.. o.0" LL ...

infantcare > i sent my #1 to little skool house @ ocbc center last time when he was 4mths old..they accept child 4mths and above. fee is the same for infant no matter how old they are. as i m staff, i hv subsidised rate and then with govt $600 subsidy, it is quite worth it. downside with infantcare is that baby fall sick very often. almost every other week, it's a visit to the PD.. n not all infantcare teachers are good though they are qualified. I hv so much unhappiness with them esp when ur kid fell (u noe when they started to crawl n learn to sit, they are not stable so tend to fall sideways or backwards or forward), u would expect the school to call n inform but they did not and i onie found out when i saw bruises. I question, they feigned ignorance. last straw came when my son turn 7 mths and he got bronchiolitis (persistent cough) till he has to be on nebuliser. i quickly found a babysitter and pull him out of infantcare. i m quite lucky to have found this babysitter cos she's really good with kids having 6 of her own and my son now is 2yo still wif her and he called her Ma Ma (grandma)..my 2nd one will also be parked with her.. no more infantcare for me no matter hwo much subsidy govt give us.

btw, for #1 and #2, govt will give $4K as cash gift. this $4k will be spread across 4 payments till baby turn 18mths. then there is a CDA whereby it is a savings for baby and can be used for medical, school fees etc. every dollar saved by parents will be matched by govt to a max of $6K. e.g. u put in $1K in ur CDA, govt will match with $1K. If u max out the savings of $6K, govt will give u $6K so in total u will hv $12K to be used till the kid turns 7 after that u can opt to continue with other type of savings, i tink is called PSEA or sumthing or take out the money n park somewhere.. but hor, the cash gift is not enuf lor..each injection the kid take alr cost few hundred..n they gotta take quite a number of jabs till they are 18mths old.

Karen, can't u hv yr confinement at home so that CL can stay at yr place? Are u expecting singleton? If singleton, I wun consider so much,. straight put into infantcare when I goes back to work. My concern is financial cos I am expecting twins. If u need to work late, then can get nanny and negotitate with nanny to bring back yr baby later, maybe pay her a bit more? Or can get yr hubby to fetch yr bb back first if he KO earlier?

I think there is no P/T CL right? The CL will stay with us for 1 mth.