(2011/06) June 2011

Excited mummy to be, yes, if u want gynae to do the scan personally, u may have to go KK TPS or any gynaes (most of them do the scan personally) in TMC since you are comfortable with these 2 hospitals. Actually MT A is not too ex, i actually tot of switching over to MT A since this is my last preg but then i feel too comfy with TMC already, lol! TMC have many good gynaes.

actually feel that i will choose KKH for the sake that it is still the hospital that have the best faciliaties when comes to complications delivery lor *TOUCH WOOD* *TOUCH WOOD*. Realise that no matter you are at Mt A or TMC etc...if any complications..they will still ambulance baby and mum to KKH cos the rest of the hosiptal is not as well equipped as KKH. I like KKH because of this reason! I dun quite like their nurses there..quite rough handling de!!But then...all my perferred gyane does not do delivery there. Even the gyane my SIL recommended me from KKH already left KKH! No choice leh.......Haiz

My gynae called today to inform me abt my blood test results for Oscar. It's only slightly better than using my age & ultrasound scan. Ratio is 1:6XX. Although my gynae told me i'm in the low risk group, I can't help but feel discouraged, when the ratio can go up to 1:25000.

Wondering if I should proceed with further tests. Have been pretty upset & troubled abt this. Any advice, mummies?

Leikela,From what I remember I woke in one hr.the op was fast.then rested for abt an hour,then I went home to rest.when I felt that I was able to walk,I went home already.

Eilomummy,haha me too!that I placed two pillows at sides of my body lor then try hard to sleep this way.if I wake up sideways also no choice lor.

Excited mummy to be,yah..abt 20% of preggies will not have any signs at all like my mil!she can't understand why I have ms,spot etc etc..coz it has never happen to her before when she had 2kids.try to do things slowly..

Qiuen,oh no...try to look for something u are comfy with when u get ms..sometimes Sweets work for me then almond drinks or warm milk..

My hub was staring at me just now as I was eating 2bowls of his rice at 3pm.coz I just had mee siam at 1pm.he just shake head n said :luckily u have ms.I really don't know how much weight u would have gain w/o ms.

But I was so hungry,my stomach can feel the emptiness.haiz so jia liat.luckily I m not into junk food like fried chicken or chips etc.

Hi Leilaka

I am also a Jun 2011 mum-to-be and have been following the thread silently. This is my 3rd pregnancy but I am expecting my 2nd child.

Like you, I had blighted ovum in my 1st pregnancy - only found sac but no foetus. Had my D&C done in my Gynae's clinic and went straight home after the GA worn off. If I remember correctly, I was given 5 days mc to rest after the procedure. I did a mini confinement i.e had confinement food for approx 2 weeks.

I truly understand how you feel now but pls do not be despair. I conceived very shortly after the incident and gave birth to a beautiful girl who is now 2.9 yrs old. Yes, I have phobia too; each gynae visit during my 2nd pregnancy; even this 3rd pregnancy is worrying and torment with anxieties but on the other hand, I kept remind myself to be positive. Frankly, we have no control over the development of our bb in our womb so just do our best and take good care of ourselves - eat well and have a positive mindset. What will be, will be...

Hi qiuen

Pls include me in the list:-

Nick: Manuka Chan

EDD: 27 Jun

Gynae: Dr Patricia Sim

Hospital: Mt A

bb: #2

Wish: A healthy normal baby

qiuen, i will update you after my scan on Monday as I still do not have any idea of wat is my EDD, and also the gynae.

JJ, quite a no of my frens gave birth there. they say quite good. but my medical condition is with KKH. so i hope i can get the best out of it. let me go check with KKH then i will update u ladies again. hope i can get to see the TPS next week.

clare, ya i know. the nurse also try to reassure me that MS dun happen to all pregnant ladies. sometime i jus wonder if i m. haha... but i had very bad breast tenderness, lots of breakout & hair loss... ARGH!

Thanks manuka, eliomummy, Clare and JJ for all the tips n encouragement...and also to syrah for SMS-ing me with all the confinement tips...I will hang in there n yes hopefully will eventually be blessed like all of u..everyone take care ok

Just need to vent my frustration. Told hub I washing toilet bowl later tonight. N he says. Shouldn't u b resting? And I ans, in case tomorrow I don't feel well, I want a clean toiletbowl. N he goes. Dunno what u want. Do whatever.

And he really let me wash it alone without helping!

Damm stupid man...

Think we should really meet up with his friend & wife soon to let him know that he is lucky to have a wife with so little ms.

Hi hi, me checking in at this hour again, my boy had nightmare n I can't get back to sleep..

Mummies here r so encouraging n helpful ! So touched when I read the sharings...

KKH

U dun need to be in TPS to have gynae do the scan, TPS cost about 12 dollars more per visit... Normal clinic also have evening clinic in fact more... I never pay 3 digit before in KKH including scan n medicine for gynae visit n I am with TPS...However, kkh delivery charges r similar to private n not

the cheapest but hv better facilities n manpower... I look at total cost pregnancy plus delivery...

Personally I only check TMC and Mount Alvernia as my gynea delivers on these two places. Hubby wanted to see KKH also but I prefer private hospital and not changing gynea - at the end he let me decide =p

Fee wise, TMC, MT A and KKH is around the same as I will be taking the suite (reward for 9 months 'suffering' lol) so the subsidy etc does not really matter.

Jus a little update for myself. I went for my gyane appt ydae and he mentioned bb is growing well.. but bad news is he still want me to con't jab till nx week. BB now is abt 4.8 cm week 11, compare the the last visit, bb grow abt 2cm.. I so happy whenever i see bb =D

Eliomummy,

Glad that you r doing well.. jus take rest more n take care for yrself.

Leikela,

yes, do hang there.. Jiayou.. Rem the tips from all mummies.. Bu yr body well than you can start trying sooner or later. For myself, i rem my v 1st preg in yr 06, this happen to me too n i opt for D & C. After this I jus do a simple mini confinement and I start trying later after 3 months. And my boy was born in yr07.

qiuen,

Dun feel frustration, try to keep our mood happy. if not bb will feel it. Man normally r like that, or u jus tell him straight, than you help to wash tml. I did that too, if i din ask hubby to do, he sure act blur..hehe

Hi, I have 2 tubes of brand new Palmer's Cocoa butter (organic) for sale. Bought them in August. I have been using another bottle for 3 months and has no stretch marks at all.

Letting go at $25 per tube. Meet up possible at Pasir Ris or Tampines MRT stations. Email me [email protected] if keen. Thanks.

Hi jay mum

Thanks u . I m doing fine

Jus tat will feel abit cramp here n there but still can endure no need to take the painkiller

Hehehe

Nw I craving for alot of food hahaha

Sound opposite not like doing mini confinement hor

Hahaahaha tat day after the op

Hahaha I craving for roast pork with cha sou rice

Hahaha

My hv went to taobao for mi n I finished the whole packet

Lol

eliomummy> i decided on mount alvernia as personally i find the place more peaceful and the rooms are generally larger (also partial cuz it's catholic hospital and I'm a christian lol)

Claire : yup

Agreed with u

For my first child I wanna to choose Thomson but the traffics there is nt so smooth so in the end I get Mount A

Hahaha the service is good n the nurses are ver helpful n friendly

Must get one bedded room

So tat u can get enough rest

Jay mum,

Since you are also seeing Dr Koh, I want to know whether you feel that ms will become worse the next day after taking the jab?

For me, I feel that my ms worsen the next day and I want to ask him next week if I can stop taking the jab.

Afternoon ladies.

Do read the article in today's Mind your Body.

About how undereating and overeating during pregnancy will affect your baby.

Something like undereat and your baby will store food to prevent hunger = fats

overeat and your child will have fats too

Gheez...how to eat just right. haha

hey mtb

ltr i will have my 2nd appt at 9 weeks plus..

super ganjiong..pray for me again pls..hehe..

yday my ms was getting better..i thot going off soon..bt morning come back again..no appetite..hehe

im in wk 11 and still no ms, no breast tenderness, no weight gain, no cravings.. sometimes i wonder whether im really preg -_-''

wat i DO have is a really really bad cough, with lots of phlegm, which so far has triggered puking twice, but i dont think that's really related ms to pregnancy

do you guys take any medication for sickness during this period? i've been having headaches quite frequently and hubby absolutely refuses to let me take any kind of painkillers or cough syrup..

i'll be going for oscar testing tmr morning, and tmr also marks the day of my 1st miscarriage last nov.. lots of anxiety [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

altariel: i had a bad cough too after i found out i was pregnant. I visited a GP and chinese physician to seek treatment. But very important. Do let them know that you are pregnant. So that they will give you suitable medications.

Altariel,

I also have bad cough and I went to see a GP and not getting better. In the end , I went to chinese physician and after taking the cough mixture, I am ok now.

As what qiuen said, must tell them that you are pregnant.

Altariel, can take panadol. It's classifed as category A drug for pregnacy,which means it's proven no side effect on fetus. I will always on internet and check each drug doc gave to double check. Up to cat B is ok, according to doc, and friends of mine who are pharmacists and nurses. If you totally donot take meds, the illness may affect baby also, especially if you have fever

Forgot to intro myself. I'm a mum of one, another on the way. Due date expected to be end june. Beena silent reader so far

Anybody wearing contact lens 1-day Acuvue Moist at -7.50 degree? I have 44pcs to let go. Done LASIK and thus contact lens not needed anymore. Selling at $40 for 44pcs. Price negotiable.

Please email [email protected] if interested. Thanks!

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4757792.jpg]

thanks to all the mummies for the replies.. think i will mention the cough to the gynae when i go down tmr and see wat he say abt it. he told me before panadol is ok but hubby still paranoid

i highly doubt hubby will allow me to go see chinese sensei if western med doesnt work.. when my mum mentioned that juz before go into delivery muz drink one bottle chicken essence my hubby also say cannot! he has bad exp at chinese doc before so he thinks its all rubbish so im not allowed any chinese med or any tonics at all [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] he said all those ang mo dun even do confinement or take any chinese tonics after or during preg too and they are perfectly healthy.. which is sort of true too right?

lamagier, wat website do u use to check ur medication?

Jaymum, glad to hear bb growing well... I paid for duphaston which my gynae prescribed for standby purpose, is v expensive but i never take, cos the normal nausea is bad enough, once i take duphaston, i will feel terrible...

in fact, everyday i dread 4-5pm to 12am cos i will be v bloated n totally no appetite... and have the puking feeling....

Altriael, u r so lucky not to have the symptons ! Can go for a few more kids ! Ha ha !

altariel - I was coughing real badly for 3 weeks till I'm 6 weeks. out of desperation went to see gynae at 5 weeks to get some cough medi to ease my cough cos its disturbing my sleep. I recovered after a week taking the med, though I'm paranoid taking the med but really left with no choice & I'm very sure my gynae won't put my baby in danger with any med thats unsafe to my precious

chix essence I'll resume in 2nd tri cos simply can't stand the smell now, I still have a lot so must finish them if not waste money

mummies, any one of you here investing on bird nest? I am thinking of buying those concentrated without rock sugar to eat. but still thinking of the heavy investment. i have not try drinking chicken essence cos i cant stand the smell.

Altriael, i also dun have MS but have very bad breast tenderness, bad hair loss & lost of breakout.

excited mum-to-be, may i know the reasons for eating bird nest, is it for bb complexion...etc ?

my gynae advise taking chinese herbs leh...

Hey mummies only can take bird nest when bb is abt 5mths wor

Some ppl said is good for bb n mummy

Other ppl said eat too much nt good for bb

This is wat I hear from other

eliomummy - my mum has been brewing for me since the day I announce preggy... she say is to nourish her grandkid, not me!

Altariel, can check mims singapore online. It's an online medicine database. All clinics would have a hard copy and most of the time i see GPs refer to it to check on medicine when i inform them i'm pregnant/breastfeeding

Re: tonics

what i understand is in the first trimester, fetus gets nutrients from the yolk, not directly from the mother. Hence tonics etc are more for the mother. And perhaps that's why most people say no need to take tonics.

But for ladies who has low iron, it may be good to take iron supplement as the body need to maintain higher vol of blood and lack of iron may be a possible cause of giddiness and breathelessness. (red blood cells to carry oxygen around the body)

ann> partly is for health nourishment & BB complexion. cos bird nest is know for renewing your "qi" (energy) in the body. especially when one is pregnant and you will lose the energy. when ur BB get bigger, you will lose more energy. oh, ur gynae did say something abt chinese herbal. i been avoiding most herbal things except bird nest. haha... think can start early...

eilomummy, i had a few fren said the same too. but i still have some other frens who eat them once they got pregnant. think should be ok rite?

i know another dessert is good for BB complexion cos my mum recommended. I told most of my frens, they tried and agreed. it is barley & gingko with beancurd skin.

lamagier> i m taking iron supplement cos i got low blood due to my past records of super heavy periods. getting better now but cannot go to too crowded place especially alone. i will feel giddy & short of breath. SIGH!!

Ho ho ho

For my first preg I start to eat when bb is abt 5mths

I eat twice a month

So I m fine is ok la

Hehehe

Anyone wanna to buy bird nest

I can recommend

Purely cave bird nest