(2011/06) June 2011

Syrah,

you can also ask for milk samples from your gynae, i think the common ones will be similac mum and anmum which they always pass to gynaes.

oh ya, mamil mama, they have sample too, call them to ask.

hi clare - you're so lucky you get to have afternoon nap :p, but i have to agree with you that it might be the big dinner. and lately i tend to feel very very thirsty at 3am so i have to wake up and have some water

mommies - on intimate wash, best is to check with gynae, some wash has very high Ph in the content, hence may not be suitable for preggy

Victoria - for the cold drinks, I was told by my mom/old-folks it tends to cause water retention. Especially icy water.

My first pregnancy I always have to drink water (probably carrying boy increases the body temperature), and my gynae did comment that I have water retention too early as normally it only happen when nearing 3rd trim (i had it in my 5th month) and was kinda told-off.. haa haa.. and during labour the nurse/anasthetic doctor were nearly unable to put the epidural for me (I opted for that), coz I had too much water retention. <sigh>

So for now, I'll try to avoid icy water where possible .. hiaz..

syrah,

dumex website can request samples for mamil mama...i tried and like it so going to buy that...similac until now haven't send me the sample and enfamama..i tink its too sweet...

regards milk, i no drink soya milk for ages as my gynae said soy prod promote fibroid growth, which i discovered two in my womb last time. after the op, i no take soy product as much as before. but my sis, who is a soya milk lover, have no fibroid though.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i am so sleepy now... waiting for conference to start, zzzzz......

my ms really seem to stop for a while except for one time merlion, hope bb doing ok, cant wait to see the bb this sat.

mi so funny - nt much of ms worry, no ms worry, got ms also worry..

after so much discussion,I guess moderation is the key to everything bah...

Thanks,Ladies!

Actually,I HATE milk.but coz' of bb,I drink one glass of milk n one glass of yogurt drink in the morning.(every morning seems dreadful)

Qiuen,haha...me too!!I had been naughty,eating raw stuff..even sushi,raw fish etc etc..but I have learned to control my cravings..

mummydee,yes.I get thirsty at night also.I drink lotsa then have to keep going to the toilet.I think my husband getting annoyed..haha

JJ,same sentiments.coz' they always say have ms means bb growing.having having ms is such a terrible process..

1st mc earlier this year,my ms suddenly stopped!I was so happy that day,and told my husband that day.2 days later,when I went to see my gyne,the foetus didn't develop anymore.so I guess I become more paraniod this time round about having ms..

Does anyone of you only survive by eating water and fruits. I have suffered very bad MS since 5th week, I am almost 10 weeks now.

I can´t eat anything at all. Sometimes I will also vomit after drinking water. Have lost 5 kg. haiz...

I feel so miserable. I can´t even stand my DH breath. Food court & hawker center is my enemy now. I don´t know what to do.

wow matahari, maybe you should try glucose / plain porridge water, atleast they are more nutrients.

hi sweety, yes, i have that too occasionaly. esp at night.. i think is cos the hormone change that result our nostril systems are thickening etc..

chil- no wonder i am feeling as if my nose is full of rubbish and trying to clear it every now and then. Thank you for responding.

matahari,I try eating plain porridge when I cant take oily food at times also.

sweety n chil,yah..same here.like having sinus sometimes..one nose get stuck badly...

matahari and clare, same here, i cant take oily food, i either have to take the soft plain rice with soup or porridge.

clare, ya lor, i quite worried when there is no ms, but just now went to throw out 2 times, so tat a relief for me though i hate ms visiting me.

sweety and chil, same here, we all have the same nose issue!

just went to nap inside the toilet for a good 15min, i simply too sleepy!

you all can try adding bovril to your plain porridge to give it some taste..read that bovril is good coz it has folic acid too...

Thanks JJ & Leikela! I'll get some sample to try. No rush now since still wana puke at the thought of it.

Matahari,

If your MS continues in this manner, it's best to check yourself into the hospital & be put on drip. Dehydration is very serious.

Leikela,

I can't stand bovril or marmite. So in the end what I did was to pour soy sauce from pickled vegetables into the porridge for some taste.

Matahari, I can fully understand what you've been through, as I was like you in my 2nd preg, my ms was so serious that i lost 6kg plus in the first trim! But lucky I am not dehydrated. Check with your gynae whether you need to check into the hospital or not as too much ms will lead to dehydration.

syrah,

i love bovril ahaa..anywya ya the soy sauce from the pickled veg also works..i tried tt too...or the sauce from the canned peanuts used for porridge...

Thanks Chil, Clare, JJ & Syrah,

I have been trying to eat plain porridge with nothing, just plain, tasteless. On a good night, will manage to swallow half bowl. To make matter worst, I have insomnia & shivering with this pregnancy.

I will auto wake up at 3am and can´t sleep anymore. Then I have to go and work, everyday I feel like I can´t survive it.

Even under this hot weather, I have been sleeping with no aircon and covered with thick blanket. My poor DH have to go another room to sleep cos its too hot for him.

My Dr is Dr CH.KOH and he told me is fine. As long as I don´t get dehydration, its fine. only eat fruits and drink water its allright.

Re milk, I tried mamil mama before and find it nice, warm or even cool. Enfamana I drank 2 cups a day during 1st pregnancy and gained lots of weight... That was 6 yrs ago and not sure if Enfamana fat content still high or not now?

Re porridge, I love to add ingredients to cook together, like pumpkin, orange/purple sweet potatoes, chicken drumstick,

etc. It makes eating porridge more interesting! Actually hor, those sauce in canned food try not to eat, as they contain preservatives.

*sigh* still counting down to gynae appt on next week..

hey piscrean33, is tat the reason i GAIN ALOT OF WEIGHT cos i drank Enfamama alot during #1. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] aiya.. then wat shall i drink now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hi matahari, oh dear. maybe you can try those Chinese senseh to help you? my sis, coin. also under Dr Koh, dehydrate till she was hospitial in and out for her last two preg. Is weird that although yr nick is Matahari(Sun in malay) yet still feeling cold.. hope yr MS will be gone soon!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mummies... Just went for my first gynae appt...

Bb has a heartbeat!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anyway, not too sure abt my gynae... Don't really know if its good or bad.. Nothing much was done today.. Just a v-scan and consultation. Gave me multivits and folic and thats it.. Said nothing much.. Just showed me bb's hands, feet and heartbeat.. Told me edd, asked me for questions and thats it...

Is such a gynae first visit normal? What shd i make sure for my second visit.....

chil, I believe the milk contributed to some of the weight gain. I haven't started on milk, since I'm relying on other food to get calcium, and am taking multi-vit daily. If u are relying on milk for calcium, perhaps find the brand that has lesser fat content?

junebunny, congrats! I think that's normally what gynae do for problem-free pregnancy. You have to prepare your questions to ask during visits, if u have any. Good or bad, really depends on how comfortable or trusting that u feel towards your gynae.

Matahari,I also can't sleep well at night,despite the fact I have forced myself to stay awake the whole day. For me,I m always warm or like super hot leh. It's autumn now here so getting colder,my husband will always ask me to go and sleep first to warm up the bed.well,guess I m getting useful in some way.

thanks mummies... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i hope to sleep over it and probably decide it on the second visit.

after leaving his clinic then i realised that he didn't even take the basic height and weight for me... that was quite disturbing for me la.. coz i tot that it was the first thing you do for a first time patient... :p

anyways, mummies, the gynae told me that he will start prescribing me calcium for my next visit coz he says bb still small, so no need calcium for now....

but i think its always better to just start drinking some milk... i dunno if its the same as mummy formula milk.. but i drink those off the shelf chocolate milk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Junebaby, so happy for u! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm also warm at night. Will be in sphagetti top to sleep with a/c on. Previously I'm always cold & freezing.

I had a bowl of Yong Tao foo for lunch & then feel slight aching soon after. Wonder if it's too 'cold' to consume now. I know we shldnt take too cooling stuff like barley now. Dunno if it's due to the beancurd.

Chil, that's very true. My nickname is sun but I am cold like an ice.

Clare, yesterday again I woke up at 2.30 and never sleep till morning. Can see Chinese dr at this stage? Cos I am not sure whether it is safe to take any Chinese med at this stage.

mummies, the thread is moving so fast that i only read right side, never read left side...

hi matahari, i will also feel cold, the reason being we din eat, so it's a vicious cycle. since u still can take fruits, take more to get water n energy... u r almost done w 1st tri liao...

Thanks ann01 for the encouragement. I kept telling myself that. Hopefully ms will be over by week 12.

It's almost school holiday and I wonder whether I will have the energy to bring my son for a short weekend getaway.

So happy today is a PH, now whole day lying on my bed only.

Matahari,I don't think you should take Chinese medication. Ask ur gyne to see what can be done.can take vitamin b 6 to lessen the ms.my gyne gave me b6. My mum took some Chinese med when she was 7mth preg n lost her bb.

Had a scare just now.I constipated for 2days liao,finally went 2 the toilet today.but I was bleeding heavily,scared the he'll out of me.so I rushed to my gyne,my bleeding stopped.luckily bb is fine,still with a strong stable hb n grown bigger.whew...my husband has ordered me to go back bed rest again.

Oh Clare tat sound really scary!! But glad is over and bb is safe!! Tis weather is juz gd to be lying on bed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

First time mum here, having difficulty adjusting to the weird food / drink taste. Like, what's the logic of water taste 'funny'? lol Water not supposed to taste weird right?

And I was drinking Anmum (gynea gave samples and I find okay so I go ahead n buy one package) - everything was well until 2 weeks ago, suddenly the taste make me vommit :/ To compromise I'm eating yogurt instead (those with strawberries inside hehehehehe) - but a bit worried whether enough calcium or not.

Also I can't really eat vege though I'm find with fruits, but totally unbalance diet.

The websites also post conflicting reports (e.g. dried sour plum, camomile tea, honey, etc - some said can, some said die die cannot) it droves me paranoid. Now I've stopped reading the websites all together and use common sense instead (no raw food, no uncooked items, etc)

But all in all, everything is very interesting [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

CW,

I agree a lot of food is trial n error now. I won't know if I'll like the taste till it's in the mouth. I agree with u to use common sense in choosing food now. Hopefully all of us will get thru this first tri soon & have our appetite back!

Clare u take care yah. Try to drink more water n take fibrous food like prunes yah. That should ease ur constipation.

Thank you ladies.

It is quite a shock it see blood dripping like that.luckily,it stopped quite fast.

Now I m just lying down with my iPad.gotta download more games for the next few weeks.

Clare, have a good rest ok? Dun worry too much.

So scary to hear that your mum lost her baby after taking the Chinese med. That's why even though I can't sleep, I dare not go and see a Chinese med.

Thanks matahari.

I really think u should talk to ur gyne. For my mum,she totally forget abt the complications,it just slipped her mind.

Not that every Chinese doc isn't good,but we really don't know it is 100%safe a not especially in the first few weeks.

Clare, that was really a scare, do rest well ok?

Mdmkhoo, it's normal as our hormones are changing due to our pregancny, I hate the fishy/curry/cooking/foodcourt/subway/amos cookies/pepper lunch's smell. Some of them i just discovered today when i walked past the shops. eekss!!

I am having terrible sore throat due to cough now... going to get cough mixture from my gynae when i see her tomorrow for my 1st appt...

clare, i was like you, contispated for 2 days too. I am taking yogurt now to ease the contispation.

JJ > oh dear pls do take care ya [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i think if u mention not only food... the air freshener... dried food smell...

the smell of fragrance powder and soap... my BIL walk passed me i feel dizzy le...