(2011/05) May 2011

Hello Mummies

Ash - My girl got the jab already. N I must say I have been very lucky, so far after all her jab; no fever [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] She eook her 5 in 1 and Hep B today.

2ww - I prepared the yellowish pears, tried to get the greens one from supermarket but cannot find. Maybe I will start her with grapes or green beans instead.

Hayashi - Welcome to the forum !

Stephanie - Hello, getting better but have not fully recover. Maybe it is a full blown effect as too long never been sick. I was not sick when I was pregnant and now bb 6 months already then get sick. LOL

Mickey - The PD at Yishun is at Block 417 ?? If it is minor, I will go to Dr Ooi but if need better advise I will go to Dr Kumar at Kinder Clinic (Paragon). I would find Dr Ooi better as compared to his wife, his wife not so friendly.

Mimosa - Nice to receive compliment mah... Must share your beauty secrets with you. Me still trying to have my flat tummy back ! Haiz..

Baby Denise Height and Weight - Drum Roll..... At week 27 she is 8.6 kg and 66 cm (shorter than 2 weeks ago, dunno why).. ha ha ha

Champion ah...

But I realize she is losing some of her chubbiness, the folds on her hands are getting looser.. Her weight gain is also slower. It could be she is crossing the 6 months mark, PD said weight gain will slow down after that. Her milk intake remains at 100ml about 4 to 5 feeds per day and 2 feeds of cereal with vege or fruits.

mickey: yah, very exp but I feel that she's very good. I bought my baby to pds at polyclinic and nuh they all cun do anything to my baby. For her she knows what is wrong with my baby.

mimosa: a lot meh? I tot little bit only. He can still drink milk as per normal.

mummyzen: no wonder ur baby's name sounds lik a jap.

cereal: my baby happily finished his 10 scoops of barley cereal n cry for more after dat. think going to increase to 15 scoops tmr

Mimosa: haha finished filming on last friday [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

e doc gave me this antibiotic med called bactroban mupirocin 5g ointment, not sure if can get from pharmacy? Maybe u wanna check out e pharmacy near ur hse? It works for my bb n nw much better alr thou still have broken skin [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Deon: mus take good care! good weight for bb D! :D

Jenny... I've started on the nestle cereal this morning. Finished in 15 mins, it dim turn watery leh. Still thick thick same since from start.

twinkle: did u add a lot of milk? I gave the healthy times cereal and didn't add a lot of milk and it didn't turn watery, instead it got more and more sticky towards the end.

Last time I added 1 scoop fm, 30ml water to 1.5 scoop cereal. I think I added too much milk le. Will reduce the milk and see if its better. Thanks so much!

twinkle: check with u ur cereal isit sticky sticky consistency? Just now I added less milk and got a sticky consistency. Not sure if this is rite. But I let him try brown rice and he ate half and started crying.

Oh ok. Then I know what I always did wrong liao.

Anyway any mummies want nestle brown rice cereal? My baby developed slight rashes on the side of his tummy. Dun wan to continue this anymore.

Pinky,

The venue is in Novena so it will be shorter for you to pick us up. We can wait at the Victoria school bus stop on Marine Parade road. I will pm you my number on FB. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hello mummies, just to update now I'm in code red. My maid does not want to work anymore. She threw her temper yest cos she wanted to buy a pack of needles n I do not allow it. Problem is she did nt tell me b4hand n jus throw into basket like that. I saw it at cashier front n asked if the needles were hers n what she needs it for. She just replied me 'I need it'. Then I told no needles allowed at my Hse. Back Hm I asked if she needs to sew sthg as I hv it in my room n will bring out for her as what she has been doing. She said no need n where is her needle!!? Gosh. I told her I didn't get it n if she needs, I hv it in my room n she walked off! I asked her bk n asked if she needs to sew sthg, she said no. She just need it nxt time. What kind of reply is that?? I told her she's often missing this n that n cannot find. I dun wan to one day tell me one needle is missing n I worry sick if bb swallowed it. I will hv to bring to doc foe check n bb has to suffer all these.. Not right, right?? She said nvm, she's disapp in me n ask me send her bk. Gosh, v chum.

Now hv to find another one retrain, tired. But funny thg is when we decided to let her leave, she treats me with more respect. Duno is it my husband tell her must treat me w respect or what.

Bunnymum: sorry to hear tht abt ur maid.. Such bad attitude, I'd rather she leave than stay and harm my children. Actually I am giving up my maid for transfer cuz my kids don't really like her as she those serious kinda person who doesn't know how to play with kids. But personally I like her cuz she handles my household chores well and every morning she will match my shoes for me based on what I wear. I feel v guilty abt letting her go so I wanna look for a gd employer for her, so if ur priority is in housework, u might wanna consider her?

MiMosa... Thanks for your finding.. i was so worry she will not have enuff nutrients and totally wean away frm milk if given too many solid food.. IF my MIl looking aft.. she will take 3 times solid food.. which include 1 time rice cereal, 1 time brown rice/ porridge then 1 time puree like fruits or potato but all top up with milk.. end up at nite.. she will not wanna drink any milk aft tat.

Viman..i got burp her... but once i took the teats out frm her mouth.. there's no way is goin back in her mouth again..

HI Deon.. thanks for the welcome..

Mummyzen, my gal smaller then your bb... she is 6 mths 2 weeks

Good morning Mummies… I find more tiring on weekends tending to my 2 kids. Salute all the SAHMs!

Mimosa: Yes, both PDs are good but waiting time is minimum 3-4hrs or even longer. Like queue outside to take number at 8.30am (coz clinic opens at 9am) then you got to see PD only at 2-3pm.

Deon: on tummy issue – you got company here…

Bunnymum: Your maid will stay until the new maid comes? Good to let her go if her attitude is poor, I remember you said she’s not a good helper either. Hope you can get a better one this time.

On bb food – what to introduce when – where to find the link again?

bunnymum, check your belongings and her belongings before sending her off. My colleague just recently sent off 1 maid that sew $$ and my colleague's ring in her clothings!!

Since she requested to buy needles, it sounds a lil fishy..take note on this.

HI Jenny,

Cereal with sticky consistency is ok..

easier for you to feed.. how big is your baby? if he know how to sit.. should be no problem.. my gal dun like it too watery

bunnymum: u must take note of tat coz hear frm my grandma maid said tat at their country there can use needle or wat to do something like black magic to let the u all listen to them de or wat...

Hayashi: ur baby dun wan to drink milk? Sometimes when my baby dun wan to suck I'll sing to him then he will start sucking again. It works very well for my baby maybe u can try too. And my baby used to be like urs, once teat comes out he will shut his lips so tight that there's no way of putting it back. But now its much better.

My baby is going to be 7 months next Sun, can sit on high chair but he doesn't know how to sit on his own yet.

Jenny, i did try singing.. and walking ard.. at first ok.. but aft a few times.. she reject again..

mine oso sit high chair.. need support then can sit...

Hayashi: IS ur baby's tummy bloated? There was once my baby only drank 1 bottle whole day and his tummy is forever very bloated and big.

BunnyMum: How come your maid like this? but it may be a blessing in disguise. dunno why she need the needle for. who knows you may get a better maid the next one?

Hayashi: Maybe ur baby prefers solid food than drinking milk? I also heard some babies are picky on the brand so the mum keep changing the brand. My baby is picky on the type of bottle and teat too. He doesn't want to drink from avent bottles and only use NUK bottle.

by the way, what is a zucchini? is it japanese cucumber?

my bb has been on butternut for the past 2 weeks. i tried making sweet potato over the weekend. But my mil told me not to give too much as it will cause wind. so will go back to butternut for this week too.

Bunnymom,needles?n refuse to tell reason.I would also associate with black magic wor

Lil fly,don't kill me.think I really no time to meet u alleven on 22dec tho I m suppose to collect my thumbdrives fr deon. Need to wait until next yr Liao. Maddness at work.4.5days left to finish all my reports/paperwork/pack my stuffs to shift office.no time to even research my Taiwan trip next week [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

2ww,Tho saw zucchini at ntuc d other day I still duno what it is. Also got red,green n red colour type.long shape like cucumber but i suppose d texture will b like bell pepper? Can start with other vege like potato,carrot,broccoli too Mah.no need to stick to butternut

Hayashi/mummyzen.welcome. Hayashi, if bb eating solid well,cld b she really dislike milk tho juz try n feed whatever u can.I oso had prob wif bottlefeedin my gal but nanny no issues.

HI Vicki.. my MIL feed she no issue.. but when i bring her back.. i feed.. she totally giving me headache refusing milk even is like 7 hrs interval.. i really dunno if tats normal..

2WW, thk is japanese cucumber, is crunchy...

Hello mummies! Monday again!

Viman: ya, upload e pic to fb! thx thx!! hehe...

Deon: oh, u still not feeling well ah? take care ah!

hehe... ya, nice to hear compliments but i must speak e truth!!! haha...

as for flat tummy, i think it is bfing that help me lose weight leh, bcos i still eat alot but ppl said i am more skinny than last time, plus bb still wakes up every 3 hrly every night... my hb said bb sucks me dry... =P lol...

Pinky: i saw some mummies said e puff is for older bb, can give now already?

Mummyzen: oic! so u can speak japanese lo? =)

Jenny: last weekend, i tried to mix brown rice cereal with the barley cereal, Sat he still eat abt 3 scoop, then Sunday he totally dun want liao.. today my mil gave him pure barley cereal, he rejected again... haix... And he dun really eat porridge last two days too, hope later he eats his porridge bah... oh btw, just now we start to use the 0.7l Tiger porridge maker, hope it works! I remem WT said just nid to boil e rice then pour in keep for 2 hrs right? u tried already?

Steph: We didnt have chance to go pharmacy to look for e med, but his butt seems a little bit better, e pimple like rash seems dried up abit.. but if still cant recover, then we will go find e med ler..

BTW, i curious abt IFC, what the bb will do there huh? hehe...

bunnymum: sorry to know abt your maid... it is not a good sign that she has sth to hide from u... and her change of attitude maybe bcos she also uncertain abt leaving? maybe she request to leave just to threaten u but nvr expect u really sending her bk?

Hayashi: no prob =) Actually u can buy another brand to let bb try, bcos some bb prefer softer teats, like NUK one... Avent one quite hard... oh, and some bb prefer narrow neck, some prefer wide neck..

actually i also abit concern abt how much solid they shld take... bcos my bb milk intake v diff to keep track! and mil nvr help me record down.. i judge only based on how much milk left inside e fridge.. however, sometimes he cant finish his feed and we pour away e BM.. so i cant tell exactly how much milk he is taking... so far, bcos my pd mentioned b4 that e target is 2 tablespoon of cereal and 3 meals a day, so i based on that to roughly gauge and i try to think that bb won't starve themselves... Ah, maybe e document that Viman sent got mentioned? But really cant find time to read it up :p Viman: did u read it? any info there? :p

lil fly: wah, so long e waiting time! what if ur appointment is the first in the morning? also nid to wait? or cannot make appt?

here is e link: http://wholesomebabyfood.momtastic.com/index.htm

AMK hub gathering: I will be on leave that day bcos flying off to Penang at night, but 2-5pm is usally my bb's nap time, possible to do brunch, like 11am-1pm? Then maybe i can join u ladies =)

2ww: ya, sweet potato better dun eat too much, e first day i intro to my bb, e next day he poos 3 times :p So far, i intro peas, carrot, brocolli (alot of wind too) pumpkin, butternut, next wil be potato, u can try them =)

Zucchini: i saw e website said its skin abit diff to digest, so recom to intro at 8 months, but if ur bb got no digest prob can intro earlier. and i saw it is yellow or green color with a shape of cucumber =)

wow, vicki, you going to TW? will you be bringing your bb there? quite diff to bring bb rite? since she is still young?

i tried carrot and potato. but the last time i tried potato, she had constipation. maybe due to other causes but just dun wanna take the risk. As for carrot, some mummies here say dun take too much so gave her for a week only.

By the way, mummies who had started porridge.. may i know what is the texture of the porridge? can you all still see the grain(as in yi li yi li de)? coz i tried making porridge twice and it still end up i can see the grain. the point is bb dun have teeth yet, how are they going to chew? i tested the porridge before, its v soft but my MIL still insist that its too coarse. She expect the porrigde to be like cereal form-cant see the grain.

i rem asking mummies in facebook and they told me to grind the rice. sian.. coz i dun have a grinder. I afraid if i use my avent blender, the blade will be blunt coz the rice v hard.. any advice?

ok i will try to get the jap cucumber the next visit to ntuc. or better still, let me record this name in my phone.. hee hee

Puff: i bought the puff le but haven let my bb try. should let her try this weekend. hopefully no reaction! will update.

2ww: oh, potato gave ur bb constipation? maybe you can let her have some pear puree on the same day? then shld be balanced up?

oh, btw, since u have tried a few types of vegi, then u can try to mix them up to puree, like i tried to mix carrot with butternut, peas with pumpkin, avocado with banana etc =)

porridge: erm, e porridge my mil cooked still can see abit of grain la, but not so 'yi li yi li' already, as in can swallow tat kind. but at my mum place, e porridge she cooked like not so soft, maybe we didnt cook long enough, so i blend it after it is cooked. What kind of rice u using? We using pearl rice (zhen zhu mi) =)

Lol u mummies already tried so many different types of food for babies... I'm still at brown rice haha.

It's strange, at 5 months, my son was showing immense interest in food on the table, but when we started introducing solids to him, he became all clingy and always ask for milk.

Now I'm his super express milk bar already...

i have decided to send maid off since she packed her bags the min she threw her temper. moreover, it is not unpacked till now. My hubby and i asked her a few times yesterday and last night. she confirmed she wants to leave. It is very funny. Her verdict is not the same. In the morning, she said she need it. back home, she said she dun need, next time need. At night when she cooled down, i asked her she said for her shorts but she usually ask me for the needle n thread in my room. very weird person. After we said ok we will send her off, she started to respect me suddenly and do everything nicely n properly. Then i asked her again if she confirmed leaving. she still said yes and i told her i dun understand her. she could have just said she needs it for her shorts and finish with it. But why must she hide the truth in the morning and say never hear me say not buying? and she acknowledge me that ok, not buying! and bb starts to like her now, she leaves. she started grabbing my bb and cry. gosh, scary!

now starting to think should hire entirely new maid or ex sin again. sigh..afterall this experienced one is so ex and yet duno much. i found out my colleague just hired a new one for $400 without off day!

2ww, if u usin avent to blend,suggest u cook until ripe le then use it to blend. Rem I don't have blender,I use slow cooker to slow cook.d texture is like Maggie instant porridge.or do u eat crystal jade porridge those texture?.anyway if not fine enuf,cos my bowl I m using pigeon tat "8" shape so still can 'scrub' d grain if not fine enuf. Juz use abit of rice with loads of water.

Nope,I m leavin d kids at Hm wif mil,er ren shi jie wif hb.oops.

Mimosa,I m still struggling to bf tho I gave in to fm for d nite n mornin feed.slim down very fast initially but ever since came back work d tummy budge til machiam pregnant again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hayashi,u bf?I suspect my gal can smell me thus refuse to drink n wan latch.

Mimosa: I tried the porridge maker already. On fri nite 10pm I boiled the porridge for 10 min then put in the porridge maker, the next day at 12.30pm I feed my baby the porridge is still piping hot! No need to warm at all! I blend the rice grains first then I cook it. But a bit sticky so need to use the spoon provided to stir then can pour out. I mixed his porridge with commercial veg puree and he eats it. He doesn't want to eat homemade puree. =(

Bunnymum,

I think get a good maid is about a luck. My current maid is a transfer maid before, but she's quite ok. never give me any problem.

2ww,

maybe you can blend the porridge using blender? Last time I use the slow cooker to cook porridge for my #1 and I cook with chicken stock (homemade chicken stock) so the porridge is not a bland porridge have a little bit of taste.

Zuccini is not Japanese cucumber..don't be wrong. It's a squash family. The other name of zuccini is Courgette.

Puff: i haven't try puff for my #2 yet, but so far i give her a rice cracker snack from Pigeon.

mimosa: I'm now thinner than I used to before pregnancy. There's once baby was slping and my husband and I having lunch then my husband asked me where my flesh gone to. I told him in the room slping. LOL.

2ww: I bought Akira blender to blend the rice. That one not bad, can blend ice too. Intend to make ice blended chocolate but till now still no chance yet.

Jenny: no no I dun think I will get another blender! My hse now full of equipments! I bought the thermo cooker to cook porridge but it's not smooth enough. Then I buy slow cooker. Now another blender just to make porridge?!? Tink my hubby will just label me as "not able to cook"

Vicki: I also hope tAt my porridge like those crystal jade porridge but can u imagine!? I cook the porridge from 12 to 630pm my porridge still yi li yi li?!? Do u all use high power all the way? I use high power for 2 hrs le still failed.. Could it b the rice I'm using? I'm using polished brown rice. Pls pls advise.. Cant be I blend each time after I cook coz I need to teach my mil to do it same way as me. N I dun have another blender at her hse.

Mimosa: may I know wat type of pea u cook for bb? Is it those yi li yi li green pea tat can be found in frozen section of supermarket?

By the way wat colour of the zu... should I buy? Green right?

hello mummies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mimosa: oops sorry i missed e part on IFC. erm mostly play there with fellow bb-s, den listen to music, nap, eat... haha i put bb there is to have a break [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hahaha! let him interact but he's more of an independent bb, can play on his own

weight/flat tummy: envy mummies with weight lower than pre preg and with flat tummy! how i wish i can have that too...i still have 3kg to lose but i'm becoming lazier to wear girdle [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

porridge: i think can use more water cook with less rice to get more runny texture without so much yi li yi li? den use spoon to mash if still have?