(2011/05) May 2011

Banana: last time my mil also feed him without putting BM, then he vomit e banana out after awhile, after that i tried to add BM into e banan and feed him, he still merlion out.. =( anyway, i think better add some BM so that easier to swallow and not so dry [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shang Hai: I love hairy crab (Da Zha Xie)!!! it is so yummy! haha... i was still pregy ard this period last yr, ppl said preggy woman cannot eat crab, but i cant resist and ate e hairy crab! hahaha... yum!! My hb was first time tasting hairy crab that time, and he was so impressed! =P

Mickyboy, i also think cheng huang miao's xiao long bao and sheng jian bao not bad leh =P

Bali trip: really it is a headache on transporting BM... Maybe you call the hotel and ask if they can help u look for source of dry ice? ask them if they know any company that u can order from?

Novi: I didnt go to the underwater world, didnt know there is, is it new? I went to Suzhuo and a water village (forgot e name :p) too! i prefer that 2 places more than Shanghai [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but i heard Hangzhuo is nicer, got xi hu (west lake)

2ww: WOW! Durian? your mil really 'best' leh... Lucky she dun have any allergy reaction or sth... really dun know to cry or to laugh hor? lol...

Viman: aiyo, so poor thing... u still bfing better eat things more nutrious la, maybe add an egg or sth, taste better also [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Ya, order delivery lah! hehe...

which part of m'sia u going? if short distance, can feed her before boarding? then bring some puree if she feel hungry on e plane? then at least no nid to bring BM on the plane?

Mimosa,

I had a glass of milk to make myself feel better about the maggi mee, hehe! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] No fixed plans yet, perhaps to Tioman or Redang. Will probably express at the airport itself so it can last the flight without needing to be chilled... In case she gets hungry in flight and is awake. Let's see. She's not taking well to solids so not sure if purée will help, but I will take some rice cereal or bottled purée anyway.

Mimosa,

I am not sure it's new or not. It's near Shanghai Pearl tower there. I think after have kids, we will go a place where the kids can enjoy it. Next week, maybe we'll go to zoo here..already promise with #1, just too bad #2 still can't enjoy it. Last week went to Shanghai Aquarium, she slept all the way.

Yes, agree hairy crab is very nice...month of november is egg season for the hairy crab [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].

2ww,

wow, your mil is so adventourous leh.

Banana, I haven't try banana yet to my #2. Dunno she'll like it or not. Here, not many choice of fruit because winter season now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hello Mummies

Thank you for your wishes, I am feeling better but still have not recover completely.

Mimosa - Saw yr FB's page, have to agree - you look good !

Banana - Gave my girl, she loves it. Now she see banana, she will scream to have it.

Apple - BTW my girl loves apples, I am giving her apples afrer her cereal now. When we go out, I will bring some out. While we are eating, she can have her apples too

Pears - I read from the website that pears are good for bb with acid reflux, so I will gaive her the yellow pears. Decided not to waste it.

My girl gg for jab tomo, cannot wait to find out her weight and height... LOL

Mickeyboy: oh, did not know that u r going without your baby. Enjoy your er2ren2si4jie4 ;) I expressed b4 I left for the airport and after checking into the hotel. Went with 2 other singles and paiseh that they have to accommodate my pumping schedule :p

Re Banana: I got the small bananas, not del monte type, added bm but bb still din like

Viman: Why maggi mee not nice? I love maggi mee. In fact I was just telling my mum today that I long time nv eat and wanted to eat badly. I love the curry flavor one. Yum yum!

Durians: I also got the urge to feed my baby durian when I was eating a couple of weeks ago coz baby kept looking at me. LOL. Then I researched online and totally cannot find when to start giving baby durians so nv give.

Durians: my aunt feed my gal once. She so happy sucking on it even hold on to my aunt hand dun let her take alway.....

Banana: my gal also dun like it.

Jenny,

Maggi mee is only nice when you crave it, not when you have to eat it cos no choice lor! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mummy zen,

Try mixing the brown rice with the purée?

viman: Haha. Last time before I got pregnant I eat maggi mee for at least once a week.

cereal: Bought happy times barley cereal for my baby today and he loves it. He even cried when the cereal is finished and I had to make another serving for him. I think I know what is the reason for my cereal to be watery, maybe I added too much milk. Will try lesser milk next time.

maggi mee: yeah, sometimes, i will crave for it too, esp during preggie time. but the thing is, my hb doesnt eat maggi mee at all. he has phobia haha! so when i buy one big packet, i'll hv difficulty to finish all the 5 small packets, some of them i keep until expire oso dunno... lol

jenny, ya perhaps, try lesser milk next time, hopefully ur bb will like it better then [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mummyzen, has to be patient, i think, sometimes bb can be quite resistant to new things. need to keep trying, now they dun like doesnt mean they dun like in the second try, jia you! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good morning mummies!! Finally is Friday!

I wanna tell u gals sth!! remember I post a weaning picture that given by my pd last time? Yday I make Beets root puree according to the chart, but my bb have reaction to it!! according to my mil, she feed abit to him, after that he keep wailing and keep rubbing his eyes v hard, tears very badly and runny nose! heard liao i also heart pain!! guess his eyes must be very itchy after eating it!! actually according to the wholesome baby food website, it suggests to intro after 8 months, but i tot it was ok since it is inside the chart! i shld have followed the website!! Then my son wont suffer so much! T_T poor baby...

mimosa, so the weaning pic that the pd gave is wrong? shd follow the website guidelines huh? did u call up the pd to ask him y is that so?

i tried carrot w brown rice n my bb also dun really like. he prefers plain brown rice. m planning to buy avocado today after work n try tom

Anyway, my bb finally settle down after dun know how long and my mil brought him down for a walk.. by e time we reached home after work, he seemed normal... but i will nvr follow that stupid chart again, will check e website b4 i intro any new food..

Mickyboy: i didnt call leh, maybe i shld.. i just throw e chart away, so angry with myself n e PD.. that PD sabo us twice already, first is e nestle, now e beets root =( I told my hb i dun wanna bring bb to see her again... but maybe it is not her fault la, but dun know le, she everytime like so rush and so impatient and fu1 yan3, like dun have "ai4 xin1' (love)... like dun care since it is not her kids =.=||| any mummy got good PD to intro? TIA!

Viman: oh ya, express in airport is a good solution!! i believe airport shld have a nice nursing room, altho i nvr take notice last time

Novi: totally agree! Kids are e priority! if they dun enjoy, dun think we will enjoy too, lol...

oh ya, winter really not much choice hor? nvm la, slowly lo, got vegi? maybe intro vegi first lo [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Deon: ehh.. thanks thanks! i feel paiseh liao la XD really not as good as what u ladies see in e pic, will know when u see me in person...

oh, ur gal gg for jab today ah? share with us her weight and height leh!! we also wanna kepo!! lol..

About good looking, in fact i would say Vicki's hb is good looking loh, not my hb... lol... and her two babies are so pretty!! @.@

Banana: small one better ah? maybe i will try to feed e small one... see he still merlion..

Pinky: wah, ur bb already ate durian ah? so no reaction for her? maybe next time can ask e pd when can give durian, hahaha... hmm.. but my bb's next visit is after he turns 1 yo, long way to go, lol...

mummyzen: ya, be more patient, alot mummies also try many times (some 10X) before their bb take puree.. keep on trying k?

Maggi mee: my hb sometimes will crave for it too, me not a fan.. only craved for it a few times when i was preg, but i like those dry type, hehe....

Jenny: u mean healthy time barley cereal? my bb took it too! hehe... glad that ur bb is eating more! my bb nowadays like cant really eat much...

Ash: maybe u wanna try butternut or pumpkin first? i find it easier for e bb to accept, most bb like it. but avocado and carrot not so.. =)

Ash: Yah, i think bb like butternut. It has a nice smell and sweet too.

Mimosa: Luckily you talk abt beetroot. I was at supermarket last night and wanted to buy beet root too. as i was already carrying a butternut, my hb ask me to buy the next time we go supermarket.

MummyZen: yes yes, i think its good that you try a few more times. Its good to intro bb some new food. jia you k?

Deon: heard some mummies here say that yellow pear is a bit too liang for bb? if possible maybe can try the green one. I tried the green one and so far although bb give me the pui face, but will cont to try.

mimosa/2ww: noted ur comments. ok will go w butternut/pumpkin then. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mickey: Same here. My husband dun eat the noodles but I love it so much.

Mimosa: Yah its that cereal. How much u feed ur baby? Yest I only fed him 10 scoops of cereal (those milk powder scoops). Aiyah the chart is wrong? Seems like Dr Chan got a prob leh. Like give sample to ur baby and cause hives, and now this thing. Lose confidence in her liao.

Ash: My baby took pneumococcal already but its together with 6 in 1 which has possibility of developing a fever so I'm not sure. Going to bring baby for second dose next Sat. He just settled down from his crankiness yest and next week going to have another jab again. =(

Finally got my faulty phone replaced!

Back to bao dao here. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2ww: i giggled over the post of durian too coz I did it to my #1 last time n he merlioned.

Amk hub gathering - 22 Dec (thu)?

Mimosa,

Oh dear! Yeah just follow the website, I find it very logical and reliable. Am strictly sticking to the items listed there and so far no reaction touchwood.

Maggi:

Hehe... Looks like quite a few mummies crave maggi. Speaking of cravings, I have recently discovered Cadbury's rum and raisin dark chocolate. OMG I LOVE IT! The rum is only 2% but still can't have a lot of course. Told hb that I am gonna have like 5 big packets of that the day I stop breastfeeding, hehe! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

littlefly, eh ur phone spoilt ar? iphone ma? then maybe its time to get urself an iphone 4s ;)

amk hub gathering: frankly, i'm afraid this mth is difficult leh. bcoz as mentioned by 2ww (was it u ar?), i have been taking leave almost every wk ar. i'll need to take leave again in the week of 17/18 dec, either b4 or after (19th & 20th). bcoz i m attending my fren's wedding dinner that is in KL, will be one of her 'jie mei'... so i dun think i can cfm for 22 dec ar. or u ladies wanna proceed w it first, if most can make it? i can join for the next time rd [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mimosa,

PD is not made the chart by them. Then the website is made by a group of mothers who try all the item before they wrote it in their blogs.

But the best of all is follow your instinct as mother.

mimosa n jenny, u ladies going for the same PD huh? looks like its time to change maybe? haha.. but mimosa stays at somewhere at sengkang (i rem its north east side?) rite? jenny stays at Jurong side, then where is the PD clinic located, very centralised?

my PD is at Yishun. but most of the time i will just go to normal GP for jabs, unless kids falling sick for the same reason which i think will need professional opinion, then i'll bring him to PD. actually, i feel not easy to find a very caring PD, coz they have seen many babies in a day, all the "ai xin" would have gone when they see urs which maybe its the 40th one rite?

mickey: The pd is at paragon. But I usually wun go there unless really neccersary coz its too far away and I hate Orchard!!! But anyway there's no good pds in jurong. Been to 3 pds already and all are lousier than normal GPs!

The yishun pd good? I rem Deon had some probs with her baby many mths back and she said bring to Yishun the doc not good or wat.

haha jenny, orh paragon, then i think it will be quite expensive too rite?

hmmm.. in fact, i dun visit the PD too often de. well, i guess they are okay in the sense i will feel more 'an xin' after i hear what they said. bcoz sometimes GP doc not so professional ma. but i must admit the yishun PD, its husband & wife, i think the wife is rather fierce ar, haha... that time she scolded my #1 coz he keeps moving, dowan to let her check his backside (he has constipation problem that time)... haha the scene very funny though! :p

Little Fly: i tot you went shopping again! yuan lai its your phone spoilt. By the way, wat time is the outing on Thurs 22Dec? Im on leave tat day and will be back from HK. Wondering wat time you all meeting and see if i can make it?

MickeyBoy: how do you differentiate PD with GP ah? you mean they will write specifically that they are PD? I really need to find one PD coz i dun like polyclinic at all! all my bb jabs are done at polyclinic but i still dun feel that they are doing a good job.

Viman: Wow, they say once pple stop BFding, they will put on weight! now i know why.. coz no restraint on FOOD!!!

2ww,

Hahahahaha! Yeah I'll permanently have a large chocolate bar in one hand and a large glass of margarita in the other! ;) I will also go to the gym like that hahaha! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hello mummies! I'm totally lost here...haha...

PD: I recommend my bb's PD. he's dr Keoy from novena children clinic. I think he's quite good, patient w bb n clear diagnosis of prob (my bb had rashes in butt crack for a wk n he managed to help solve e prob in 1-2days) n thou quite alot of ppl, but waiting time not long [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Deon: are u feeling better already? Nice to bump into u the other day [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Littlefly/mickeyboy: iPhone 4s good, battery life I think abt e same as my old iphone 3 but features better [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Amk gathering: I can't make it on weekdays alr cos got to teach tuitions. Put bb in infant care for weekday half day for me to take a break from him n I can go teach to keep myself sane [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] nw its e second day n he seemed ok. Keep playing n playing den concussed at night. Haha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2ww: ya, better dun give beetroot first.. but it also depends on bb de, maybe ur bb can take it, but better dun take e rish lah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ash: my bb just took his 2nd 6in1 + Pneumoccocal, i believe there is a possibility of fever, we let him took 1 dose of fever med after we rch home (even he had no fever that time), luckily no fever at all, and not really cranky too, *touch wood* =)

Jenny: wah! ur boy can eat so much? i am not sure how much my mil giving him, forgot to ask her detail.. but last time i tried to give him 4 milk powder scoops (which is almost 2 Tablespoon) of brown rice cereal b4, sometimes he cant finish it... hmm... am i giving him too little?

lil fly: I tot u go holiday liao, haha.. btw, u go to the kid's clinic at rivervale right? i heard e doctos r good but got to wait v long, is it true?

Viman: haha.. till now i still nvr eat choco, choco cake is my fav!!! somemore now is xmas, many cute choco log cake!!! so tempting! i still enduring!! u like to drink margarita ah? so u r a good drinker lo? i cant drink, so if i stop bfing, i will be choco cake in 1 hand and bubble milk tea in the other! *drooling* =P hehe... i long nvr drink milk tea too!! since i preg i stop all tea and choc =( Think i will put on weight after stop bfing too :p

Novi: true that it is not made by e PD herself, but she passed it to me means she approves it what... it is no difference from making it herself... =.= but anyway, i know cant blame her much la, cos other bb might not have any reaction at all... but i would think beet root shld be under e higher chance catogory lo...

Steph: hey! star mummy is here =) hehe...

The clinic is at novena ah? btw, my bb seems like having the same rash as ur bb leh, last time e rash can heal after 1-2 days, recently the rash cannot recover even after more than a week! what kind of cream e doc gave to ur bb huh? can get it from pharmacy?

oh, u pump into deon ah? u always pump into e mummies here one hor? hehe..

u start to put bb in IFC already ah? what they play there? seems fun, haha... no more fliming already? =)

Nooning Ladies.. I am a slient reader here all this while... really glad that most mummies here are so close to ea other.. helping out and encouraging ea other.. in times of confusions and fustrations.. my gal is oso born on may 2011.. she is consider small size.. but she seems to be on Milk strike everytime i try to feed her.. maybe my MIl gave her too many tasty food tat affect her taste bud.. meaning.. she is too picky... i abit worry cos of that her intake of milk is not enuff.... any advice on this?

THanks!

Mimosa,

Hahahahaha! Naah I am not a good drinker, maybe once in a few months but I really like mango margarita and I haven't had it since August last year so missing it, kekeke! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I saw the Christmas log cakes in the newspapers, Wah so tempting! I will make my own this year, with biscuits. It's healthier and uses less chocolate. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hayashi,

Welcome! (Your nick is very familiar... Have you posted here before?) some of us have also faced or are facing milk strikes, hehe! What is your baby's weight and how many times/ml is she drinking? You tried changing teat? At this point, try not to give too much of solids because milk should still be the main form of nutrition till our babies turn 1. Solids are just for trying out only at this point.

HI Viman,

Yup.. i posted once or twice.. a long long time ago... lol...

6.5 kg.. now.. last time 160ml every 4 - 5 hrs.. now down to 120ml.. every 4 - 5 hrs..

sometimes 120 oso cannot finish... Alot of times, i have to throw away the whole btl of milk cause aft 1 hr she still relunctant to drink... T_T

try changing FM but worst.. she dun even take a sip

Hayashi,

Wah my memory so good, hehe! My bb is even smaller than yours! 6 kg and drinking 120 ml twice a day and latching about 3-4 times. She was also on milk strike, struggling to finish even 100 ml until I changed to 6-18 mo teat (NUK). She also has some supps added to her milk so I used teat size M which works better than size S. Did her intake go down after starting solids? How much of solids are you giving? Sometimes if you give a lot of solids before a milk feed, they won't drink much. Also, do you still burp her? I have noticed that my bb will drink 40 ml and then totally reject the bottle until she burps and then she will willingly take the bottle again.

mummies, u all can try zucchini, its super yummy. remember to skin and steam before giving to baby.

Ash, i just bought half a small butternut today, this weekend, will start her on it. yeah i am skipping carrot cos i think butternut yummier.. after this i will intro zucchini then pear. Will leave avacado later, can;t deal with raw fruit later.

it a busy friday... now than can sign in... o i'm so lost..

mummies have u all give ur bb puff... if too many will it case consipation?

Viman.. i am lost.. dunno wat to do with her attitude when drinking milk.. her pattern keep changing.. i can't keep up.. now trying to let her drink using avent.. but seems slower..

she nowadays seldom burp.. is it ok?

Viman: wah, u can bake ah? hope got chance to taste it ! hehe... i only tried to bake with those pre-mix, hehe...

Hayashi: Welcome welcome!! =D

you bb on FM ah? how many ml she is drinking in total for a day? usually bb milk intake will reduce when they start solid. ya, sometimes e teats will affect too. what kind and size of teats u using now? which brand u used last time?

Pinky: long time no 'see' u bao dao here leh! hehe... what kind of puff??

mummyzen: oh, are you from Japan? =)

Hi hi Mimosa... so far 600ml if she guai guai finish up whole 120ml.. i using avent teats..

last time using one milk botl frm spring maternity.. that one look like rocket.. hmm. can't rem the name.. but is damn ex

mummy zen... how old is your boy?

Hayashi: i just check babycenter website, it says: "A baby who is enjoying infant formula at six months can continue to use it up to and beyond one year of age. The suggested minimum is 500-600mls (about a pint) a day of infant formula or follow-on formula, up to one year of age. After this time a minimum of 350mls/ 12oz milk (breast, formula or cows' milk) is suggested." http://www.babycenter.com.sg/baby/startingsolids/milkat6mnths/

So if your baby is taking 600ml should be ok? how much solid she is eating now?

Starfruit,

The momtastic website says wait 8 months before giving zucchini?

Hayashi,

I have read that until baby can properly sit up by herself, we need to burp them. Try burping her and see if it makes a difference? Just make her sit up with support and lean a bit forward and she will burp immediately.

Mimosa,

I can't bake to save my life! Haha! The biscuit log cake I am making is the freezer kind. Very easy to make. Ok after I make, I post pic on FB ok? If you like what you see, I'll send you the recipe. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]