(2011/05) May 2011

Little Fly,

I have seen at those small shops that sell household items. Or you can just mash it well with a spoon though. Just make sure no lumps. Which fruit do you have in mind? So far I have not needed to strain avocado or banana. Just mixed with bm and mashed it well. Pears, etc. I will steam anyway.

Bunnymum: i posted in our SMH group, r u in the group? if yes, even u nvr add me, u also can see my post there one =)

the doc gave my boy a Desowen cream and a cetaphil intensive moisturizing cream, was told e Desowen cream has v small amt of steroid.. But it is safe for bb... Then he said nid to slowly reduce the frequency of using e Desowen cream, like twice a day for 5 days, then once a day -> once every 2 days, then slowly stop using it. So far no white patches leh.. you wanna try him out? another mummy also bring her daughter to see him, and cures hers too =)

Ling: i saw that Gstamp can use to draw or exchange for coupons, but not v sure abt etoken, hehe...

Socks: i realise my bb has quite many socks already =P usually how many shld we have? thinking whether to buy, cos so cheap!! =P

Mummies, how may times a day to substitute solid food for milk feeds ?

Will it means that solid food will last longer then milk feeds ?

Thank you..

rdg socks, erm i still prefer to let my kids wear those whole bodysuits which d toes r also covered. cos even if u let them wear socks, there come a stage whereby they will either kick until d socks drop or they take it out themselves. but i oso did buy alot of socks for my gal previously on gmarket when they have $1 promo & free delivery. lol & i oso did try sleeping bag after my fren tell me it's super useful but so far i buy juz nice size, my gal outgrew it. if too big, she slip under it wic i feel not safe. end up i let her co-slp with me so tat i can juz pull up d blanket whenever she kick it off...

btw, my gal comin to 6mths old on 10th but still cant sit/call out single words like da,ma, gu, mom etc..startin to get abit worried cos my son can do all tis by now. tho my gal is on d small size but is this norm or shld i worry?hb keep tellin me is cos my son too fast too furious so dont compare but i c on fb some mommies d kids r sittin very well le & some can voice mama le.

oh bunnymum, u muz search using pc, hp unable to find grp. u shld try mimosa's tat skin specialist...really amazing & fast, d b4 & after...super handsome boy now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vicki, hehe .. me worry my gal too fast ... can sit/pull herself up in cot ...lucki she cant call out single words yet ...

dont worry lah ... each bb diff leh ...

u going overseas tis weekend?

Vicki,

Don't worry, some babies take their own time. My bb also quite small in size and can't flip from her back to tummy yet, forgetting sitting without support. It's hard la, but try not to compare with other babies. As long as doc not worried at check-up time, it's ok. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ling,ur gal is like my son pace hahaha.tho will b very bz but it's fun.easier to manage when gng out to b frank. Yup,gng overseas with d whole family n relatives. Hopefully my gal will b gd.

Viman,ya have to keep reminding myself nt to compare #2 to #1 as diff bbs diff experience. But juz abit worried on d talkin part cos I always tot girl's progress usually faster than boys.ok will tell myself to slow down [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starfruit/Little Fly: Next time if I see any promo on the bibs I'll post it on FB again. I'm sure they will have promo again but dunno when and how much.

Little Fly: Hmm, if normal mail not possible to check but if registered or courier, click on my gmarket then shipping info. In there will have a tracking no u can click on it then check the status.

bunnymum: Luckily u got back ur money. Its really irresponsible of the seller!

Mimosa: My socks haven't arrive yet if not I'll check the quality and size and order more.

Ling: etoken and mileage I totally dunno what to do with them. But for gstamps, u can go to http://www.gmarket.com.sg/gmkt.inc/Event/EventStampCoupon.aspx and exchange or draw for discount coupons.

vicki: Same here. My baby going to be 6 mths on 18th and still cun sit or say anything other than 'ok'. But he's flipping very well, too well. One min u dun see him he can flip at least 4 times already.

Just now went to my mum's house and something funny happened. In the evening baby suddenly cried very loud like being abused. Then my mum told my bro to see what happened then he say maybe I beat my baby up, then I went in the room carrying baby and my mum ask me if I got beat him so he cried so loudly. Then I say I only walked into the kitchen to take a plastic bag. He cried coz of his separation anxiety. So funny.

Jenny: My boi also have the same habit of crying out very suddenly loudly. Once he did that just because I coughed! I think it's especially when he's sleepy, and the brain is 'switching' off mode then sudden actions like me coughing or a toy dropping will startle him.

Hi mummies, it's been a long time since i chatted on forum [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] it's the weekend already, and a long one too!

wearing booties and mittens: i also let my bb wear mittens and booties when sleeping in aircon room and put a blanket over his lower body to keep him warm. during day time i don let him wear mittens or booties so that he can explore his limbs, but when go out to aircon place i'll let him wear booties and standby mittens if too cold [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bb development: my bb oso cant reli sit up yet, or call out single words, only goo goo gaga at times [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but he don like to sit, he likes to stand, already can stand for about 10sec with little hand support and starting to want to crawl soon. healthy most impt [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

separation anxiety: i think my bb oso has it. thou he is not as happy to see me as to see his dad, whenever i leave the room or he's alone, he'll cry too.

amk hub gathering: i might be able to make it, but gotta confirm again when the date draws nearer [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

teething: any mummies have bb teething already? mine seemed to be having a tooth trying to erupt soon and these 2 days he vomited milk twice. he nv vomit milk before. is it normal for bb to vomit milk when teething? TIA!

WT: I rem when my baby was a few days old, I coughed once and he cried nonstop. Then I told him angrily that in future if I need to cough, I will tahan till death also dun dare to cough in front of him. Haha but luckily now ok liao. Maybe our babies wan mummy to be healthy.

Hmm, tmr baby having another jab, pray hard hard everything will be fine.

sunflower: wow that's fast [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hmmm yalor mine getting v fussy. yesterday he kena scolding from me the whole day [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Viman: Thanks. BB still got specks of rashes here and there. Probably can only start next weekend. Arrgh. I start my #1 with Apple, pear and he merlioned coz he don’t know how to swallow. Maybe coz I didn’t use the strainer.

Gmarket: I have same query on etokens

Mimosa: Buy more for #1. Next time your #2, #3 can also use

FB – I remember previously there are docs on matching names/nicks and bb weaning but I don’t them now…

Vicki: Agree with viman. If PD not worried, then we don’t worry too.

Jenny: Not all bb will develop fever/rashes after jab. If you worry, my PD say can give fever right after the jab.

Little Fly,

Could be a case of bb not being fully ready for solids. My bb doesn't open her mouth for solids and eats very very little of it. Dun wanna forcefeed cos surely merlion. I suspect she's not fully ready too. Will go more slowly I guess..

Jenny,

I remember you asking where to buy Ganilia supplements other than KK. Today I saw at Watsons in Parkway Parade.

Little Fly: Everytime before and after my baby's jab I'll be praying. Today I told the nurse to inject only 6 in 1, supposed to be pneumococcal + 6in1 but too much for my baby.

Viman: Thanks a lot for remembering! Watsons Parkway Parade is so far, maybe I'll check out other Watsons branches. =)

When my baby eats cereal, he hates liquid or watery cereal and will spit them out or take the spoon and throw away, making a mess. But if its very dry, he loves it and keep opening his mouth wanting for more. Maybe u can try other forms of solid like fruits which is sweeter?

starfruit/little fly: I just saw the gmarket bib site. The seller replied in one q&a this ",I will update the stocks next tuesday,pls don't place order until wednesday,there will be promotion on Wednesday:) thks."

So I'm guessing there might be another round of promo.

Saw alot of u buying fr gmarket. R they good? Local or overseas shipping? I saw the long sleeve Disney bib. R they good? Can just buy 1-2 only? Worth it?

bunnymum: The bib site can only buy max 2 pcs each day. Not sure good anot, all are preorders now so still waiting to reach me. I'm now eyeing on the waterproof ones after I read no need to wash, can just wipe or rinse with water. Like that I dun need a lot of bibs and wait for them to dry. That seller is from local but I believe got some others are from korea. Maybe u can wait till Wed and see wats the promo and buy one or two to try.

vicki, my ger hitting 6 mths on the 21st. She also can't sit up on her on. CG no good, everytime i let her sit, she will topple forward or sideway. maybe cause she can't sit well thus i am not that keen to start her on solid too.

She also dunno how to say mama, i tot i heard it once but i think its more of shouting and does not really mean a thing. I think your #1 is super fast, esp since he is a boy!.

I use sleeping bag, its re-ued from m,y #1's time. love it cos its very safe and keeps baby warm, i dun have to worry that the blanket covers her face cos she likes to grab the blankets now and kick using her legs.

Viman, i think my baby also not interested in food, which is why i dun think i want to start solid so early.

Jenny, thanks, will keep a look out tomorrow and see if its really on promo. i bought so many bibs for her, its crazy, cos i also threw away a few pieces which has became damn digusting. Cos she throws up milk so i need a lot of bibs.

Today forum very quiet... wonder where are all the mummies?

Jenny: Thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Your bb ok w jab ? now waiting for bb socks to arrive and see if they are good.

Afternoon mummies,how's everyone's long weekend?

Wow forum is quiet.

I oso got 'poison' by d baby cubes. Tho I wonder if I will do purée food or stick to porridge straight like #1. but I guess worst case scenario I juz use it to store soup base for d porridge or store tidbits. Have to admit I m 1 lousy mommy who don't know how to cook. Tho I try to imitate wat my mom n mil do when cook for d kids. But sumhow my boy still prefer grandmas cooking lol

Little Fly: Hmm baby quite cranky after the jab but thankfully no fever. Next mth gonna bring him for the pneumococcal. Seems like after that not much jabs left.

it has been a long time since i come into forum.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vicki: pls dun say urself as a lousy mummy as I am aso not a gd cook myself.. is only edible dishes which lucky my hb n kids still can accept them... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but of course to compare wif my mum and grandma, this is really nothing lor.. but i guess i still cook better than my mil.. :p...

having 3 kids, i wld say my #3 is more fortunate as he is nw given puree to eat, rather than my 1st 2.. cereal n then jumped to porridge directly..hehe... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jenny: my baby is aso due for his 6in1 jab tis week.. sigh.. aso worried he may get fever frm it as recently he just recovered frm stomach flu n fever aso..

vicki/preciousmom: I've seen a very bad cook before so I dun think u two are considered bad. My cousin in law, I've seen her porridge she cooked for her baby is all black in color coz its burnt. She still forces her baby to eat when she refuses.

preciousmom: Rem to give ur baby fever syrup after the jab. Wow ur baby so small already have stomach flu? Poor thing.

Little Fly: I received my socks liao. Those 9-15cm ones just nice, but not going to buy more coz I think baby's foot will grow big very fast. The 12-15cm one with shoe design seemed to be very big though.

Really v sian.. Rem I said last week my mil blamed me for bb's eczema cos I took hormone pills when preggie? I was v frustrated then that she has repeated this Blame for 4 times ever since bb born. During my confinement period I still explained hw eczema comes abt, not worried if I will get postnatal depression.. She jus went on with cradle cap also accumulation of medicine!

Anyway last wk when she said it again I felt tired of explaining to such a mil already n stormed off. My hubby heard her blaming me n told her nt to do so as bb has rashes, I felt sad enough. I had to tk hormone pills that time cos threatened miscarriage n did nt hv a choice. My mil started crying ! Hubby did nt even scold her! Gosh

After that we stopped talking n I saw how poor thg my hubby was trying to talk to her ever since n she does nt wan to reply. This week she came to help bb sit a few days again n to mk my hubby feel better, I talk to her 1st. But she treated me like transparent! So many times that I do not wish to talk to her anymore. V frustrating. I hv not even blamed her for letting bb taste adult biscuits when he is allergic to even rice based cereal, she still gets angry that we told her to stop pinning blame on my family n me.

I really duno how to treat n face this type of mil anymore. I bet all the relatives already heard herSADstory as she is so fond of complaining abt me n I often hear pple asking abt the thgs I did n most r not true! All her one-sidedstory.

bunnymum: Is she the caregiver for ur baby? If yes, u might wan to consider changing? Dun feel too upset, most impt is u and ur baby rite now. And try to think of the good things ur mil did. I always do that now to make myself feel better when my mil makes me angry like putting her dirty unwashed finger into my baby's gums each and every time she comes.

Mummies..

Ages since I posted here.. :p

Rem last time I mentioned my Bb needs alot of carrying before he sleep.. Now he getting better as he finally takes to sarong after repeated tries...

But jus now, he wakes up at 3am for milk, we try putting him to sarong after that, but till now he still dun wan to sleep.. Grrrrr Ultra uber ultimate tiring[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] transfer him to bed and he is still singing away while I type this.. Gosh, wonder how long he gg to takes before he finally wan to sleep.. It's always a battle to mAke him sleep... It gets better as they get older doesn't seems to apply for my Bb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sumigrace, you're not alone. even at 6mos, im oso facing difficulty esp wen it comes to nap time, be it day or night. in de past, pacy n patting her works. now, it doesnt always work. not too sure if its bcos of teething tho. these few days ive been pouching her even at hm as she slps faster tis way. gotta trial n error..

sumigrace, did u try yao lan? my #1 i think ard 6mths + onwards then he really slp better. prior to that we also have to carry & rock him. cant put straight into yao lan either. if put into yao lan have to on throughout else he'll still wake up. jiayou k. it really does get better

Deon/yishun mummies, do u ladies have any ribbons with Hannah? cos i'll be pickin mine fr her this fri, if want, i can help you collect & pass to you on sat's gathering

Thanks for your sharing.. It's make me feel better that i'm not alone in this.. :p

He's offically 6mth today.. keeping my finger crossed that he would be better..

Vicki: yes, had put him in yaolan, but it doesn't work all the time.. He pattern liao liao de..

Bummymum: Jiayou!!!! Mayb u can try turn a deaf ear to wat yr MIL say.. one ear in one ear out.. Sometime old pp jus like to comment n comment.. that what's my buddy do also.. As long as we are doing the best for bb, we just tune off all the the -ve remarks. Wait for her to cool down n approach u to tok mayb?

jenny: my poor baby even kana HFMD at such young age still.. sigh.. really poor him..

bunnymum: i feel u.. but mayb i not v care abt my mil kind.. so at times i will say her back.. but i try to say it as nicely as possible..haha.. at times when i really fed up liao.. i will hint my hb to response or i just 'emm emm' back.. :p hehe.. i noe it sure to feel hurt esp being accused of being e 1 tat caused ur baby's ezcema, where esp our baby is our flesh n life.. try to turn a deaf ear to it since u noe she is such a person.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

finally have the time to post! have been really sick for the past few days and bb also sick.. haiz..

by the way for Yishun gathering, any HB tagging along?

Bunnymum, tell you what. Next time your bb has appt with the PD u bring your MIL along and get the doc to tell her that your hormone pills will not affect eczema. Sometimes the old ppl's thinking are very traditional and warped so they'll only believe in respected personnels such as doctors.

Can imagine your pain, especially when the mum is to be blamed for everything that happens to the child. Actually sometimes if I made my mil upset I will apologise to her even though I am unhappy about it so as to make our lives better cuz we live together. I ever ignored my mil for the whole day twice, which I think is very rude of me, but later I try to make up to her and appease her loh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Nvm you can complain to us k! We will be here for you!

Sunflower: I think it's the 6 mths slp regression. I read that when the bb is hitting milestones, they will not be able to sleep well until they have fully met that milestone. Now our bbs are learning how to sit so they can't sleep well?

Having a cranky baby is tough, especially when they don't sleep.. maybe you can bring your bb out for a walk and stimulate her brain with the different sounds and sights so that hopefully she can become tired and slp better?