(2011/05) May 2011

Vicki, Thanks - No bows with Hannah

So looking ofrward to Saturaday, i will do the booking at Swensen's and will try to get a corner table ( so that less distractive, in case we get too loud !!)

Ha ha ...

Yeah, can eat and chat

Bunnymun - Feel for you. But you are so nice, still try to make peace with your MIL. I guess the most difficult person will be your hubby cause he is sandwhich in between.

Lucky thing is that your hubby understands the situation. Try to look on the positive side of thing (at least she is not staying with you).

Need to just rant in forum, let it out.. If not, can always join us for gathering... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hello mummies...

Been busy and stressful.

After my #1 cough/flu, now my bb's turn. Think he probably got it from korkor. BBies have their mum's antibodies for first 6mths so now that immunity is sorta of depleted.

Maid gave me trouble just now. Suddenly requested half day when she has no off. Already gave her off day at Hari Raya. Told me she needed to meet her friend urgently at Bedok and refused to say where. Also took her allowance which she asked me to safekeep for her all this while. So pissed off with her to chose this timing when my bb is unwell and now no one to cook dinner when my #1 comes home. Damned sian with maids. My mum just had her catarat ops yday and couldn't be of much help.

LittleFly - Cool down.. Helper is really - either they help you or give you more work.

She took all her allowance, a lot of $$ ? Then she is out, who look after your bb ? You on leave ?

Deon: thanks. She's back now. Phew. End up actually her friend just want to pass her something (i suspect its a farewell party).

No, i coudn't coz today jam packed with meetings so i work from home. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but bb cranky and i got quite distracted.First i forgot to attend one call until my colleague reminded me. Then, screwed up on one of the meeting i am supposed to coordinate. Arrgh.. can't blame others coz me, the meeting organizer also didn't show up. Haha.

Just now in my calls, i suspect my colleague can hear bb 'singing' but they are too shy to ask me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Now bb is back to playing and maid is back so feeling more uplifted.

Hello Mummies! long time nvr chat in here =P abit difficult to follow e thread already...

These two nights my bb other than wakes up every 2 hourly, now refuse to go bk to slp after woke up at 4am... dun know what is wrong... i am so sleepy, cant open my eyes =(

bunnymum: here is the info of e skin specialist, don't think it opens during Sunday or PH:

Dr Chan Yuin Chew

Gleneagles clinic

6 Napier Road

#07-14 Gleneagles Medical Centre

Singapore 258499

(65) 6471 1733 (Gleneagles clinic)

I bought e long sleeve bib, but haven't receive yet, will let u know whether good or not after i try k?

MIL: Understand your pain.... there was 1 period, i had bad relationshp with my mil too.. Did your hb try to talk to her nicely? ask him to try to say some good words about you? and ask her to put herself in yout shoes? I think at e moment only ur hb can make situation better since u have tried to be nice to her... But your MIL really v funny lo, she is not young already, still behave like a little kid, dun she want 'jia he wan shi xing'? if it still no improvement, then like what Sylvia said, bring her to see PD and let professional to tell her.. If still no change after u try all e thg that can be done, then keep practising '1 ear in 1 ear out' bah! And i wanna say u r such a kind person, u so nice to her, she shld be happy to have such a DIL! and u shld also feel happy that at least ur hb is on ur side, that is most impt! =)

bb development: my bb also cant sit steadily, will topple to the side after awhile or when he trying to move, hee.. Ya, Vicki, ur #1 really fast and furious loh! lol...

Teething: seems like many bb already have emerging tooth, mine still no sign of teething, hmm... seems abit slow huh.. =/

Starfruit: where u got the sleeping bag? seems good cos they cant kick it off... my bb always kick away his blanket.. u will put her in after she asleep? my bb will flip here flip there b4 he sleep, so i dun know whether i shld get sleeping bag...

Little Fly: you mean after 6months, there is no antibodies in our BM? why e immunity depleted? Hope your bb gets well soon!

preciousmom: U mean baby can get HFMD? I tot only a little bigger then might have the risk?

Mimosa: My baby dun kick the blanket away. He will grab the blanket and put in his mouth. Haha. Now whatever he sees he will grab and faster put in his mouth.

hello mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] how's everyone? i'm lost in the thread. hahaha..

2ww: my hb not tagging along. he'll be home taking care of bb and i can have some 'me' time outside [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yishun gathering: it's coming! 12th nov. 11am at swensens rite?

Thanks Mummies for all the kind advice and consolation. Really nowhere else to rant man..

I have taken a step back now and decided not to intiate talk with her anymore no matter how thickskinned or 'kind' i am. everyone has tolerance right? She talks to her son and when i see my hubby duno what she is asking, i answered and she ignores me, n continue talking to my hubby. like i'm transparent! all these while i have been the one humouring, answering her qns instd of hubby. now both mother n son can go have fun on their own, i dun care anymore.

actually y do i even bother in the first place? if it's nt my hubby, i dun really care abt such person n hope she gets out of my life man. For someone who often blames my family for anythg. I bring bb to visit my grandparents every wkend as my parents and relatives will gather there as well. one stop for all. every mon she comes over she will say bb has rashes, must b i bring over to my grandparent's hse. bb sleep n wake up startled, must be someone there scare him. bb's shit green, must be scared by someone there. my grandparents for once has never spoken ill of her. instead my grandma often asked if mil likes my maid's cooking. grandma taught my maid how to cook asian style so that my mil will like her cooking and ok to stay with us during the few days she is here to help every week. Since when my grandparents will blame his mum for not looking after bb properly?? she has the cheek to b angry and complain to other relatives..so angry now.

has the cheek to b angry with me somemore. ever since she started to help tking care of bb, she hinted her fren's dil gave her fren allowance every mth of $1000 and son give $2000! My sis in law told me last time she told her dil give $2000 and son gave $3000! i guess must be becos my sis in law earn more than me. The way she HINTED for allowance - she must be rich in few yrs' time man!

Mimosa, my sleeping bags passed down from my no.1's time. either way, i can put her in the bag before she sleep or after she sleep.

i have 2 bags my first is Grobag (which i got from mothercare, after that i went to SMH BP and bought a 2nd much cheaper one.

My grobag looks like this.. exp its in thin cotton

http://www.gro-store.co.uk/doodle-zoo-grobag.html

I just went to gamrket and found 2 seller selling sleeping bags for baby too. u can try, its cheap.

http://list.gmarket.com.sg/item/KIZZIO-LOVELY-ANIMAL-BABY-AND/400993453?search_keyword=baby+sleeping+bag

http://list.gmarket.com.sg/item/EINDRA-STORE-SLEEPING-BAG-SOFT-AND-WARM-TOUCH/400966961?search_keyword=baby+sleeping+bag

Deon: Sorry, this week just whizzed past and I got a friend’s wedding tomorrow. Let’s arrange to meet next week to hand over the stuff to you? Wished I can go n meet all of you this Sat too…

2ww: How are you and bb now? Much better now?

Mimosa: my PD asked if my bb fell sick for first time and I said yes and then she shared that bb will have mummy’s antibodies for first 6mths and after that, they need to build their own. His runny nose is less drippy today and he’s still active and playful. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Me too, bb still shows no sign of teething either.

Starfruit: they will stay in sleeping bag for how long? I am tempted !

Precious: aiyo! Poor bb. Did he get it from his IFC? Need to separate his korkor/jiejie from him too. Hope he gets well soon.

Bunnymum: You have humbled yourself and she’s not burying the hatchet then possible for you to have another caregiver for your bb instead then you don’t have to face her? Even if you give her the allowance, would she be happy? Its stressful if you have to deal with her on daily basis if she gives you ‘face color’. Yes, come in and rant. We are all others DILs so can empathize.

Sumi, sunflower: I have the same struggles –especially in the evening. He so tired until rubbing eyes but once put down in yaolan, he start to scream and shout. It can last a grueling 10-15 minutes before he will settle in.

bunnymum, just ignore and smile and dun answer. she may just shut up after she realise she is not getting any reaction from u.. hehe.

actually maybe its time for u to make her feel guilty instead of her blaming u for all the things that is happening to your bb. Perhaps u should tell her that u feel hurt that she keeps blaming u for bb's ezcema.. and then u see her reaction. heheh

Little FLy, my no.1 was in a sleeping bag till 1 plus cos she keeps kicking ehr blanket.

bunnymum: If u have to give her so much money might as well be a SAHM. Even if I work full time I also wun get that kinda money. If it will make u better by not answering her, then just ignore her like how she ignored you. Dun bother abt her anymore and just treat her like singing.

Jenny: my bb also grab and eat his blanket! In fact he put almost everything in his mouth! haha... But when he is sleeping, he will flip left flip right, blanket can nvr stay on his body =P

Bunnymum: since she treat u transparent, then just dun bother abt her la, with that kind of allowance, u can have maid or quit ur job to stay at home loh! crazy =.=|||

Starfruit: Thanks alot for e links! I will browse e link, oh btw, do u have the SMH BP link as well? I like ur one that is sleeveless, easier to wear i think =)

Little Fly: ohh... but our BM still have antibodies right? but they will get sick easier cos they have no more mummies antibodies ya? hmmm... then we must be more careful after 6 months lo... anyway, glad to know ur bb is getting better! =D

Precious: ur bb also not feeling well ah? speedy recovery to him too!!

Stephanie, you are not bringing your bb to the gathering? Tot our bbs can be frens!! but its fine, i believe one day they will meet if we cont to meet up often.

Little Fly: Thanks for your concern. My BB is alright now. For the last few days, she has not been smiling much and drinking much. I was so upset about it. I brought her out to Raffles City on Monday and she has been vomitting. i started on Butternut Pumpkin that night. but who knows on Monday, she seems to bounce back! She drank 150ml that night and last night she drank 180ml before she went to sleep! Phew! Im just glad that she is fine now.

BunnyMum: Just ignore your MIL la. some mothers are like that. They hope that their children can give them money even though they have their own family. When we are old, we will also be happy if our children can give us $$ right?

From your side of story, it really seems like your MIL is hard to get along with. Anyway, you dun have to talk to her. I always ask my HB to tell my MIL this and that so that they will assume its their son who wants it and not us. Guess it will make the situation better.

JIAYOU!!

By the way, Little Fly, how come your gathering a weekday? you are my retail therapy bestfren leh.. how can i not attend that outing?? its ok, hopefully you all have a weekend gathering in the future, then i can see you and your bB. Will you all be posting photos here or in FB?? maybe i should really join you all in FB too..

ya after trying a few more times of talking and she ignores and answered to my hubby only, i stopped. last night i basically just went on n do my own thgs n never talk to her. Her face was even blacker!!!

I used to be those she say me, i just ya ya or if i sian of agreeing, i just kept quiet then she will accuse me of doign the same thing she complains abt cos i hv no reaction. sometimes i will start reacting esp the part where she asked if i m going to still visit my parents every week after getting married that type of qn?? last time i said i will try to do it still. she exclaimed v loudly that i might as well dun get married, she only visited her mum once a yr! i'm totally shocked! she dares not even tell my sis in law this man. sis in law stayed near her parents and my mil feels they are v rich as staying in Executive masionette. Probably see me no up..

actually i have permission fr my co to start working fr home but i think my hubby will find it hard to open his mouth tell his mum no need to tk care of bb anymore. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

2ww

U r so lucky, I didn't tell hubby tell mil abt blaming me matter. He heard n tell her dun say that cos I'm v sad abt my own bb's rashes already n she still blame me. Then mil CRy liao. Told hubby dun tell her or correct her nxt time since she cannot tk it, abit cry.

I do give my mumn grandma $ cos they brought me up. If I hv to give her $1k I hv to earn alot $$$ to upkeep them.

Bunnymum, you dun have to tell your hubby about your MIL. Just going forward, if you need to tell your MIL anything, ask your HB to say la.

i believe your grandma and your mum will be happy to receive $$ from you. it is not the $$ tat counts but the thoughts.

bunnymum: Why must ask a qn like whether u are going to visit ur parents? Fei hua rite? If her daughter get married and dun visit her how? After my rom I even stay overnight at my mum's house once every week and only stopped after my baby was borned! I'm very 'sticky' towards my mum and now I go to her house once a week and will increase when my baby gets bigger!

Mummies, do u wash ur baby's clothes by hand or machine? I see my husband quite tired, have to wake up and wash early in the morning before work. I'm thinking if those undergarments bag can wash baby's clothes coz my machine is very rough type, will definitely tear my baby's clothes if wash just like that. But yest I searched a bit all seems to be like ball type which u place the bra on e ball then zip it up and wash. I dun think it will work for baby's clothes. Any recommendations?

How long do your babies take to finish one feed from bottle? Mine is still taking close to an hour to finish 120 ml...

Jenny: Im a lazy mummy. I will use machine to wash baby's clothes. Just that it is a little waste of water.

Viman: My bb will take about 15 mins to finish 120ml. How big is your teat? Mine is #4, 4 holes avent teat.

Im not sure if you sure switch the teat. Coz NUK to Avent is different. Maybe you can try to see how many holes are there in the teat that you have. Its good to give more holes coz the bb can train to drink faster. what is the interval between each feed? 3 hrs?

2ww,

This one only has one hole. Interval is about 3.5 hours. She's has no weight gain for a few weeks already, so getting worried...

Mimosa, Jenny: Same, mine will also eat his pillows and his korkor’s if he can reach. LOL

Starfruit: thanks. Would it be too warm if wear in non air-con room ? coz we only use fans for my bb.

2ww: I can’t do weekend coz my #1 will sure want to tag along and I can’t handle both. Don’t intend to bring hb coz then can talk behind his back too. Haha. So Dec 2, can you make it too?

For FB, can PM me your address then add you as friend? No, can't add nicks there.

I am still using 2 hole Avent teat. My bb tend to choke coz he gulps very fast leh.

Bunnymum: is your hb only son? Maybe she’s jealous or what? I used to suffer in silence until I learn to suan my mil/sil back, tit for tat. If they are nice, I will be nicer.

Viman: Dont worry abt not gaining weight. My BB only gain 500g in her 4th month check up and 200-300g in her 5mth checkup. I know they are supposed to gain 1kg a month but since she started solid, she drank lesser milk. (though she started drinking more last 2 days). I ask the nurse who weigh my BB and she says if bb is still playing and happy, shouldnt be too big an issue. Maybe more exp mummies can advise on this.

Little FLy: Cannot take leave on that fri leh. Coz took 1 week leave in dec liao (going to HK for shopping triP!!!). Sent you a PM. Thanks for adding me to FB.

I using 3 hole avent teat for bb to drink water and #4 for her to drink milk. She is taking it well though the milk will spill initially.

2ww: I added you as friend first, then try to add you to the group. I think you need to accept friend request.

Mimosa: Replied your PM. *wink*.

Viman: If my boy in good mood he can finish in 10-15min. But normally the evening and nite feed he will take 45-60min and must sing to him if not he wun suck. I'm using 6-18m NUK teats coz I find him sucking very hard at 0-6m teats.

2ww: I think my washing machine lousy! A lot of my clothes the rubber all spoil coz of the spinning power.

Little Fly: Recently my baby will flip and turn on bed to reach for our pillows and blankets and eat them. So cute!

Little Fly, your bb has nice dimples!! *Envy*

Jenny: Your bb with DOUBLE CHIN!! *Cute*

Weight: My baby also only gained 10g in one whole mth. Not even 100g. Kinda worried abt him too but luckily he put on a lot of weight in the first 4 mths.

2ww: i added you as friend but cannot add you to group. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] sorry, don't know who's the admin?

its ok.. no worries. I have sent a request for the group. Hopefully the adminstrator will add me!

Jenny: Its ok la, your bb a michelin bb already. somemore got double chin.. guess you dun need to worry so much!

2ww: Baby's double chin not so obvious now le. But its cute and good for baby to be chubby chubby. =)

bunnymum: Ur mil dun stay with u rite? Since she got 4 sons maybe just tahan her for a while. I think when her other children have babies she will go and help out too.

Stephanie: I'm now trying to bring baby out more often. This Sat going to try again, will bring stroller and sling. If he cries then sling him and eat. But must sling inwards if not his hands will ka jiao. Haha.

Good morning mummies... this week has been a crazy working week for me. Coz just transferred to a new dept, so work is rather busy this week, hopefully things will get better in the near future. TGIF!! ^o^

So tmr gathering on rite? What time is it huh? So who are bringing bb? So no one go w hb?

bunnymum, i dunno lar, sometimes i will feel '人善被人欺'. if being nice to her, is not going to help. i agree w littlefly, maybe we need to talk back abit? aih, need to find the balance. cant be too nice, sometimes, but of coz cannot be too mean oso lar, after all she helps to look after ur bb ma. Jiayou!

Amk gathering: oops, now then i realised it's on a friday ar. i think, i wont be able to take leave ar, may need to skip the gathering le.

TGIF!!

Such a happy word to greet mummies here!! I think my hb will send me n bb for the outing n he roam ard there.. Since no one bringing hb there.

The outing is 11am. Hopefully we will have some mummies who will do gate crash n we will see more mummies!! I'm not bringing stroller or sling n hopefully my bb will let me eat in peace!

cereal: my babysitter commented that bb still doesnt know how to swallow yet. does it mean she needs to make it more watery? or it means, bb still not ready for cereal yet? or, shd we try to put the cereal into the bottle (she asked me to cut the hole to make it bigger?) and let him drink?

walker: we can now let bb sit in the walker le rite? i realised, she always make bb sit inside the walker, whenever she needs to do sth. i hope this wont hurt his back or what?

sleeping: my babysitter makes bb sleep in the net bouncer, she rock until he sleeps, and actually its quite fast. she insists dowan yaolan, but to use this method, and it really helps. so mummies whose bb have difficulty in sleeping, may wanna try this method?

yaya deon, me bringing bb too..

actually ok lar, small gathering got its advantage too, easier to talk ma rite [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]